DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. As such, the effective filing date is December 22nd, 2022 (the filing date of EP 22215803, which applicant requested foreign priority to).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 6th, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2023/0158670 A1), herein “Lin”, filed November 19th, 2021.
Regarding Claims 1 and 19, Lin discloses a method and apparatus of collision avoidance for a kinematic structure (See 0006, “[…] method and system for dynamic collision avoidance motion planning for industrial robots […]”), comprising:
receiving input data at least indicating a current state of the kinematic structure and a current state of at least one obstacle (See 0018-0019, “[…] obstacle data typically includes a minimum robot-obstacle distance, and may also include other data about the position (including spatial shape) and velocity of any obstacles […] actual robot state vector X represents the robot position and velocity at the current control cycle time step, either in Cartesian space or in joint space.”); and
determining a target pose for a collision-free target state of the kinematic structure with respect to the at least one obstacle based on their current states (See 0024, “[…] commanded robot motion qcmd is the robot motion in joint space which will take the robot tool to the target location while avoiding any obstacles in the robot workspace.” See also 0043, “[…] robot moves the tool center point from the start point 510 to the target point 512 along an obstacle avoidance path 540. The obstacle avoidance path 540 deviates significantly from the reference path 520 in order to provide safe clearance from the obstacle moving along the obstacle path […]”),
wherein the target pose is determined based on carrying out at least one target pose determination process comprising:
resolving, in a region of interest estimated based on a relative velocity between the kinematic structure and the at least one obstacle in accordance with their current states as a potential region of collision, any overlap or intersection between the kinematic structure and the at least one obstacle by adapting the state of the kinematic structure (See 0030-0032, “[…] the relative velocity of the obstacle 320 with respect to the robot 300 (that is, the rate of change of the minimum distance) is greater than zero […] taking relative velocity into account—being less restrictive of robot motion when the obstacle is moving away from the robot, and using a simple calculation to compensate for approach velocity when the obstacle is moving toward the robot.”); and
determining the target pose based on the adapted state of the kinematic structure (See 0024 and 0043 as referenced above. See also 0025, “[…] updates the robot control commands at each control cycle based on the actual robot joint positions qact and the commanded robot motion qcmd.”).
Regarding Claim 2, Lin further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein adapting the state of the kinematic structure comprises adapting one or more kinematic chain parameters of the kinematic structure (See 0036, “[…] inequality constraints which must be met during the iterative optimization computation. In Equations (1)-(3), {dot over (q)} and {umlaut over (q)} are the joint velocities and accelerations, respectively, for all joints in the robot […]”).
Regarding Claim 3, Lin further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the region of interest is distanced from the kinematic structure and/or the at least one obstacle by a relative velocity vector indicating the relative velocity between the kinematic structure and the at least one obstacle (See 0030-0032 as referenced above. See also 0037, “[…] d is the minimum robot-obstacle distance and {dot over (d)} is the rate of change of the minimum robot-obstacle distance. For Case 2 (approaching), the behavior is similar, but further compensated for approach velocity.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Lin further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the region of interest is estimated by projecting the kinematic structure and/or the at least one obstacle, by a relative velocity vector indicating the relative velocity between the kinematic structure and the at least one obstacle, from a first position corresponding to a position according to the current states of the kinematic structure and the at least one obstacle to a second position corresponding to the region of interest (See 0030-0032 and 0043 as referenced above).
Regarding Claim 5, Lin further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the kinematic structure comprises or is formed of a kinematic chain, and the at least one obstacle is an element of the kinematic chain (See 0036 as referenced above. See also 0029, “[…] a robot 300 having an end-of-arm tool 310 operates in a workspace. An obstacle 320 is also present in the workspace.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Lin further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one obstacle comprises an obstacle separate from the kinematic structure (See 0029 as referenced above. See also 0015, “[…] obstacles may be static structures such as machines, fixtures and tables, or the obstacles may be dynamic (moving) objects such as people, forklifts and other machines.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Lin further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein resolving any overlap or intersection between the kinematic structure and the at least one obstacle comprises adapting the state of the kinematic structure to keep a minimum distance between the kinematic structure and the at least one obstacle (See 0030-0032, 0037 and 0043 as referenced above. See also 0034, “[…] modified during optimization to avoid any obstacles […]”).
Regarding Claim 8, Lin further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein resolving any overlap or intersection between the kinematic structure and the at least one obstacle comprises:
determining a collision-free initial state of the kinematic structure with respect to the at least one obstacle by removing the at least one obstacle from the region of interest (See 0043 as referenced above. See also 0002, “[…] obstacles may also be dynamic objects which move into or through the robot workspace at random. Dynamic objects must be accounted for in real-time calculations by the robot controller, where the robot must maneuver around the objects while performing an operation.” See also 0030, “[…] positive relative velocity could be due to the obstacle 320 moving away from the robot 300, or due to the end-of-arm tool 310 moving away from the obstacle […]”); and
iteratively re-introducing the at least one obstacle into the region of interest and adapting the initial state of the kinematic structure by performing collision avoidance with respect to the at least one obstacle during its re-introduction to obtain the target pose for the region of interest (See Claim 12, “[…] motion optimization module computes the commanded robot motion using an iterative optimization computation having an objective function which minimizes deviation from the design robot motion and a safety constraint determined based on a robot-obstacle minimum distance […]”).
Regarding Claim 9, Lin further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein, at the end of its re-introduction into the region of interest, the at least one obstacle is at a position estimated for the at least one obstacle (See Claim 12, 0002, 0030 and 0043 as referenced above.).
Regarding Claim 11, Lin further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising generating control data for controlling the kinematic structure based on the target pose (See 0035, “[…] robot controller provides the commanded robot motion to a robot. The robot controller may perform computations or transformations in order to provide suitable robot joint motion commands to the robot.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Lin further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising performing inverse kinematics on the target pose and generating control data for controlling the kinematic structure based on the inverse kinematics (See 0035 as referenced above and, “[…] the robot actually moves based on the joint motion commands from the controller. The robot and controller operate as a closed loop feedback control system, where the actual robot state qact (joint positions and velocities) is fed back to the controller for computation of updated joint commands.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Lin further discloses the method of claim 12, wherein performing the inverse kinematics comprises:
receiving pose data indicating the target pose for the kinematic structure and time data indicating an update interval used to control the kinematic structure (See 0035 and 0043 as referenced above. See also 0035, “[…] robot and controller operate on a control cycle having a designated time period […]” See also 0050, “[…] commanded motion computation time for each control cycle (the time to provide an output from the dynamic motion optimization module 220) […]”);
performing a constrained optimization process on inverse kinematics of the target pose in accordance with the time data to obtain for the respective update interval one or more kinematic chain parameters associated with the collision-free target state of the kinematic structure (See Claim 12, 0035-0036 and 0050 as referenced above); and
generating control data for controlling the kinematic structure based on the one or more kinematic chain parameters (See 0035-0036 as referenced above).
Regarding Claim 14, Lin further discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the optimization process utilizes a number of cost functions and/or constraints to solve a number of objectives (See 0024, “[…] dynamic motion optimization module 220 performs an optimization computation which minimizes tracking deviation from the planned robot motion udes while including robot mechanical limitations and a collision avoidance safety function as constraints.” See also 0036, “[…] Equation (1) is the optimization objective function (tracking deviation from the planned motion udes) to be minimized, and Equations (2)-(4) are inequality constraints which must be met during the iterative optimization computation.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Lin further discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the optimization process comprises penalizing closeness of the kinematic structure to the at least one obstacle to obtain optimized one or more kinematic chain parameters (See 0024, 0030-0032 and 0037 as referenced above).
Regarding Claim 16, Lin further discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the optimization process comprises penalizing such kinematic chain parameters and/or states of the kinematic structure that violate one or more constraints associated with hardware limitations of the kinematic structure to obtain optimized one or more kinematic chain parameters (See 0024 and 0036-0037 as referenced above. See also 0038, “Upon convergence, the optimization computations yield the commanded robot motion {umlaut over (q)}cmd which represents the robot motion having the minimum tracking deviation while satisfying the inequality constraints.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Lin further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target pose determination process is carried out during runtime of the kinematic structure (See 0024 as referenced above. See also 0006, “[…] two feedback loops perform planning, command and control calculations in real time, including responding to dynamic obstacles […]”).
Regarding Claim 20, Lin further discloses a robotic system, comprising:
an apparatus according to claim 19 (See 0006, “[…] system for dynamic collision avoidance motion planning for industrial robots are described and shown. An obstacle avoidance motion optimization routine receives a planned path and obstacle detection data as inputs, and computes a commanded robot path which avoids any detected obstacles. Robot joint motions to follow the tool center point path are used by a robot controller to command robot motion.”); and
a robotic device configured to operate based on the target pose (See 0006 as referenced above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lin et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2023/0158670 A1) in view of Park et al. (“ITOMP: Incremental Trajectory Optimization for Real-Time Replanning in Dynamic Environments”).
Regarding Claim 10, Lin does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 8, wherein re-introducing the at least one obstacle into the region of interest comprises re-introducing the at least one obstacle from different directions into the region of interest and combining the respective adaptations of the state of the kinematic structure for each direction.
Park, in a similar field of endeavor (motion planning in dynamic environments), teaches re-introducing the at least one obstacle into the region of interest comprises re-introducing the at least one obstacle from different directions into the region of interest and combining the respective adaptations of the state of the kinematic structure for each direction (See Fig. 6 shown below and Pg. 208, “[…] picks pairs of configurations along a collision-free path and invokes a local planner to attempt to replace the intervening sub-path […] which use a combination of mass-spring systems and gradient-based methods to compute minimum-energy paths” Examiner notes Fig. 6 clearly shows multiple obstacles introduced in the robot environment from different directions).
In view of Park’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the dynamic collision avoidance motion planning system and method as disclosed by Lin, using incremental trajectory optimization by introducing obstacles from different directions, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the method and system likewise performs collision avoidance using successive control cycles based on obstacle position and velocity information, and incorporating incremental optimization for obstacle directions would predictably improve responsiveness to changing and non-static obstacle states.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lin et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2023/0158670 A1) in view of Kang et al. (“RCIK: Real-Time Collision-Free Inverse Kinematics Using a Collision-Cost Prediction Network”).
Regarding Claim 18, Lin does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the target pose determination process is carried out multiple times for different kinematic structure information data and obstacle information data to obtain a training data set for training a machine-learning model for determining the target pose for the kinematic structure, and wherein the method further comprises determining the target pose for the kinematic structure by the trained machine-learning model during runtime of the kinematic structure.
Kang, in a similar field of endeavor (collision-free inverse kinematics), teaches the target pose determination process is carried out multiple times for different kinematic structure information data and obstacle information data to obtain a training data set for training a machine-learning model for determining the target pose for the kinematic structure, and wherein the method further comprises determining the target pose for the kinematic structure by the trained machine-learning model during runtime of the kinematic structure (See Fig. 5 shown below and Pg. 617, “[…] real-time solving in static and dynamic environments by quickly predicting collision costs using a deep neural network […] generation method of IK candidates using a generative model […]” Examiner notes the distributed obstacles shown below are used explicitly to obtain training data for the network).
In view of Kang’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the dynamic collision avoidance motion planning system and method as disclosed by Lin, collision-free inverse kinematics and collision-cost prediction techniques, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the method and system already performs real-time optimization of robot motion using obstacle position and velocity along with robot joint constraints. Therefore, applying these techniques would have been a predictable modification for converting desired collision-free poses into accurate and safe robot joint commands.
Conclusion
/BRYANT TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/THOMAS E WORDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658