DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-12, 17-18, 20, 23, 26, 28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1/a2 as being anticipated by U. S. Publication No. 2021/0321980 to Miyamoto.
Regarding Claims 1, 17, and 18 Miyamoto teaches a transvaginal ultrasound probe assembly, comprising: an elongated body, having a distal end configured to be inserted through a pelvic orifice of a subject, and a proximal end configured to be positioned outside said pelvic orifice (figs. 1-4 and 7 and para 033-0035); an imaging portion in said elongated body, near or at said distal end (figs. 1-4 and 7 and para 033-0035); a handle mechanically coupled in a rigid angle to said elongated body such that when said handle is held by the subject, at least a portion of said elongated body comprising said imaging portion is insertable through said pelvic orifice to a specific location in the subject body suitable for ultrasound imaging (para 022-025 teaches ultrasonic imaging); an actuator configured to rotate the elongated body with the imaging portion; and wherein the elongated body is curved causing the distal end, when rotated, to form at least part of a circular contour with a preselected radius, around an elongated axis originating from the proximal end of the elongated body (figs. 1-4 and 7 and para 021-023 and 033-0035 teaches a transrectal/transvaginal probe).
Regarding Claim 3, Miyamoto teaches that at least one angle adjuster configured to adjust said rigid angle between said elongated body and said handle using at least one angle lock, wherein said at least one single adjuster comprises a variable angle joint, and wherein said handle is coupled to said elongated body via said variable angle joint (figs. 1-4 and 7 and para 034 and 039 teaches adjusting the angle).
Regarding Claim 7-9, Miyamoto teaches that the elongated body comprises multiple parts that are connected by joints and each part is connected at a selected angle to a preceding part (para 034 and 039 teaches adjusting the angle at the distal end).
Regarding Claim 10, Miyamoto teaches that the curvature of the elongated part defines the radius of the contour and is selected by the user by selecting the angles between the multiple parts (figs 1-4 teaches the curvature of the elongated part).
Regarding Claim 11, Miyamoto teaches that said handle comprises a gripping portion having a first face facing said elongated body distal end comprising an inwardly curved surface shaped and sized to receive a palm of a hand, and a second opposite face having an outwardly curved surface shaped and sized to contact fingers of said hand (figs. 1-4 teaches a curved surface where the fingers are in contact).
Regarding Claim 12, Miyamoto teaches that said probe assembly comprises a cap rigidly coupled to said elongated body distal end, configured to cover said imaging portion and to contact walls of a body cavity. wherein said cap comprises an opening shaped and sized to allow passage of ultrasound beams through the cap, a tubular cover configured to be placed around at least a portion of said tubular body between a proximal end of said tubular body and to be coupled to said cap, wherein said tubular cover is configured to seal said covered portion of said tubular body from body fluids of the body cavity (figs 1-4 teaches a distal end with a cap).
Regarding Claim 20, Miyamoto teaches adjusting by an expert a transvaginal ultrasound probe to have said angle and said length; and wherein said adjusting is performed while said transvaginal ultrasound probe in positioned at least partly within said vagina of said subject, rigidly fixing by said expert said length and said angle following said adjusting (para 034 and 039 teaches adjusting the angle).
Regarding Claim 23, Miyamoto teaches selecting by said expert a scanning cap configured to cover an imaging portion of the transvaginal ultrasound probe based on determining an inner width of said vagina and wherein said cap is selected based on said determined inner width rigidly fixing said scanning cap to said elongated body by said expert, rigidly fixing by said expert a tubular cover to said elongated body and/or to said cap such that at least a portion of said elongated body between said cap and a proximal end of said elongated body is surrounded by said cover (para 028-031 teaches a cover).
Regarding Claim 26, Miyamoto teaches determining a distance between a vagina orifice and said fornix or said cervix external orifice based on previously performed measurements and/or by introducing a measuring tool or a transvaginal ultrasound probe into said vagina, and wherein said providing comprises providing said transvaginal ultrasound probe with an elongated body having said length based on said determined distance and/or determining a penetration angle of said elongated body into said vagina based on previously performed measurements and/or by introducing a measuring tool or a transvaginal ultrasound probe into said vagina, and wherein said providing comprises providing said transvaginal ultrasound probe with an elongated body having said angle based on said determined distance (figs. 1-4 and 7 and para 034, 039 and 040).
Regarding Claim 28, Miyamoto teaches that instructing said subject to use said provided transvaginal ultrasound probe at home for imaging of at least one organ or tissue in a pelvis of said subject (para 004 and 021 teaches transrectal/transvaginal probes).
Regarding Claim 30, Miyamoto teaches that said length is within a range of 6.5 cm - 8.5 cm, and wherein said angle is within a range of 10 degrees to 90 degrees (figs. 1-4 teaches angle range between 10 to 90 degrees).
Conclusion
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798