DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the surface" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the surface" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the power-utilization module in claim 9.
The structure described in figure 2 of the specification par[0035], [0036] for the power-utilization module is described as a hardware assembly that comprises a filter and a decimator.
Therefore, Examiner finds the claims are reasonably supported by the structure described in the specification pertaining to 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) and (b) (or 35 U.S.C. 112, first and second paragraphs, pre-AIA ) whether 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is invoked or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang et al. (US2021/0199004A1) hereafter Ang, in view of Spalt et al. (US2021/0373518A1) hereafter Spalt.
Regarding claim 1, Ang discloses a method for improved utilization of electrical power supplied to a downhole component within a wellbore, the method comprising:
receiving electrical power at the downhole component (fig 1:108; par[0016]: The telemetry module 116 is directly connected to and sends and receives telemetry signals on the wireline 108, which also serves as the primary electrical pathway between the tool 112 and equipment at the surface for power transmission purposes.);
applying a filter to the electrical power (fig 3A-3B:304; par[0022]: A low-pass filter 304 in the power converter 313 filters out any high frequency components and a DC-DC converter 305 converts the power to an appropriate operating voltage for the tractor motor 303.); and
causing a mechanical or logging operation to be performed within the wellbore based on the interpreted one or more signals (par[0022], [0023], [0021]: The telemetry signals are received by a modem receiver 311 in the telemetry module 312 where an analog signal conditioner 306 conditions the signals and an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter 307 converts the signals to a digital format. The modem receiver 311 thereafter provides the converted telemetry signals to a controller 308 of the telemetry module 312, which may be a microcontroller or the like, for further processing and forwarding. The microcontroller 308 is programmed to execute a telemetry application (e.g., telemetry application 220) that includes functionality for controlling the flow of telemetry signals processed by the microcontroller 308 (e.g., communication flow control 222), as well as functionality that provides noise cancellation for the telemetry signals (e.g., noise cancellation 224), including active cancellation of any in-band noise generated by the tractor motor 303. The telemetry application 220 operates to perform telemetry related functionality for the telemetry module 116, including functionality for managing and controlling the flow of information to and from various systems connected to the telemetry module 116, indicated at 222. The telemetry application 220 also operates to provide noise cancellation functionality on the telemetry signals received by the telemetry module 116, including functionality for active cancellation of the in-band noise generated by the well tractor 114, indicated at 224. In some embodiments, the in-band noise cancellation indicated at 224 may be performed using a lookup table 226 containing transfer function filter coefficients, as explained later herein.).
Ang does not explicitly disclose the method comprising: applying a filter to the electrical power to generate a stream of data points representing the electrical power over time; categorizing data points of the stream into a plurality of bands to form data bands; interpreting the data bands as one or more signals.
Spalt discloses the method comprising:
applying a filter to the electrical power to generate a stream of data points representing the electrical power over time (fig 2:228; par[0074], [0075], [0076]: The data repository 220 can include filters 228. A filter 228 can refer to or include a signal processing filter, such as a low pass filter, bandpass filter, or high pass filter. A smoothness filter can create an approximating function that attempts to capture patterns or trends in the data, while leaving out noise or other fine-scale structures or instantaneous spikes or dips. A filter 228 can include a filter to smooth utility grid data or signals, such as a smoothness filter. The utility grid data or signals can be digitally recorded by a respective device on the utility grid 100, and transmitted to the data processing system 202 for processing. The data processing system 202 can receive the utility grid data as a real-time feed or stream. Real-time can refer to receiving signals from the utility grid 100 responsive to the devices on the utility grid 100 measuring or detecting values for the signal, as opposed to receiving the signals in a batch upload that occurs periodically or based on a time interval (e.g., every 6 hours, 12 hours, 24 hours, 48 hours or some other time period). Receiving the signals in real-time can refer to receiving the signals within 30 minutes of a device measuring or detecting the signals, 15 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 1 minute, 30 seconds, 10 seconds, 5 seconds or less. The data processing system 202 can receive a real-time feed or stream of signals. The signals can be sampled at a sampling rate. Signals can be sampled at a same rate, or different rates. Different types of signals can be sampled at different rates. Signals from different devices, although a same type of signal, may be sampled at different rate due to different device configurations or capabilities);
categorizing data points of the stream into a plurality of bands to form data bands (par[0074]: A filter 228 can include a filter to smooth utility grid data or signals, such as a smoothness filter. A smoothness filter can create an approximating function that attempts to capture patterns or trends in the data, while leaving out noise or other fine-scale structures or instantaneous spikes or dips. The data processing system 202, using a smoothness filter, can modify data points of a signal so individual points can be reduced, and points that are lower than the adjacent points are increased, leading got a smoother signal.);
interpreting the data bands as one or more signals (par[0074]: A smoothness filter can create an approximating function that attempts to capture patterns or trends in the data, while leaving out noise or other fine-scale structures or instantaneous spikes or dips. The data processing system 202, using a smoothness filter, can modify data points of a signal so individual points can be reduced, and points that are lower than the adjacent points are increased, leading got a smoother signal.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Ang and the Spalt references since both pertain to the field of power systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Ang with the filtering feature as disclosed by Spalt to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of filtering noisy high-voltage power protects sensitive equipment, ensuring reliable operation, improving data and power communication performance, and helping meet regulatory compliance by removing unwanted high-frequency noise and voltage spikes, leading to cleaner power delivery and enhanceing safety.
Regarding claim 2, Ang in view of Spalt discloses the method of claim 1, wherein interpreting the data bands as one or more signals comprises comparing the data bands to one or more data-band patterns (Spalt par[0074], [0084]: A smoothness filter can create an approximating function that attempts to capture patterns or trends in the data, while leaving out noise or other fine-scale structures or instantaneous spikes or dips. The data processing system 202, using a smoothness filter, can modify data points of a signal so individual points can be reduced, and points that are lower than the adjacent points are increased, leading got a smoother signal. The data cleaning component 208 can compare sample values of a signal with a threshold, nominal value, or statistical metric to determine whether the sample value is an outlier or erroneous.) stored in a memory storage (Ang fig 2:206&210; par[0018], [0019]: The telemetry module 116 may also include a main memory 206, such as a random-access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device coupled to the bus 202 for storing computer-readable instructions to be executed by the controller 204. The main memory 206 may also be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of the instructions by the controller 204. The telemetry module 116 may further include a read-only memory (ROM) 208 or other static storage device coupled to the bus 202 for storing static information and instructions for the controller 204. A computer-readable storage device 210, such as a nonvolatile memory (e.g., Flash memory) drive or magnetic disk, may be coupled to the bus 202 for storing information and instructions for the controller 204.).
Regarding claim 3, Ang in view of Spalt discloses the method of claim 1, wherein interpreting the data bands as one or more signals further comprises matching the data bands to a closest fitting data-band pattern (Spalt par[0074], [0084]: A smoothness filter can create an approximating function that attempts to capture patterns or trends in the data, while leaving out noise or other fine-scale structures or instantaneous spikes or dips. The data processing system 202, using a smoothness filter, can modify data points of a signal so individual points can be reduced, and points that are lower than the adjacent points are increased, leading got a smoother signal. The data cleaning component 208 can compare sample values of a signal with a threshold, nominal value, or statistical metric to determine whether the sample value is an outlier or erroneous.) stored in a memory storage (Ang fig 2:206&210; par[0018], [0019]: The telemetry module 116 may also include a main memory 206, such as a random-access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device coupled to the bus 202 for storing computer-readable instructions to be executed by the controller 204. The main memory 206 may also be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of the instructions by the controller 204. The telemetry module 116 may further include a read-only memory (ROM) 208 or other static storage device coupled to the bus 202 for storing static information and instructions for the controller 204. A computer-readable storage device 210, such as a nonvolatile memory (e.g., Flash memory) drive or magnetic disk, may be coupled to the bus 202 for storing information and instructions for the controller 204.).
Regarding claim 5, Ang in view of Spalt discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising causing the downhole component to collect, analyze, or send telemetry information to a surface device (Ang par[0015], [0016]: The surface panel 111 also typically includes information handling systems and one or more data buses as well as a network interface that allows the surface panel to transmit and receive communications to and from other systems. The user also uses the surface panel 111 to control the tool 112 to perform data collection operations and other downhole operations. A telemetry module 116 is coupled to the tool 112 at the wireline end thereof to facilitate communication between the surface panel 111 and the tool 112. The telemetry module 116 is directly connected to and sends and receives telemetry signals on the wireline 108, which also serves as the primary electrical pathway between the tool 112 and equipment at the surface for power transmission purposes).
Regarding claim 9, Ang discloses a wireline system for performing operations within a wellbore, the system comprising:
a tool string (fig 1:112; par[0014]: A downhole tool 112 technically equivalent to the tool string, is attached to the wireline 108 and conveyed into the wellbore 104, specifically a horizontal section thereof, by at least one well tractor 114. It is of course possible to convey the tool 112 into the wellbore 104 using other conveyance means, such as slickline, coiled tubing, and the like, within the scope of the disclosed embodiments.);
a surface controller (fig 1:111; par[0015]: A control panel 111, also called a surface panel, may be located in or proximate to the wireline unit 110 for allowing user control of the tool 112 and tractor 114 from the surface. Although not detailed herein, the surface panel 111 typically includes conventional computing capability and user interface equipment, such as a keypad or keyboard, mouse, video displays, and so forth. The surface panel 111 also typically includes information handling systems and one or more data buses as well as a network interface that allows the surface panel to transmit and receive communications to and from other systems.); and
a wireline operatively coupling the surface controller to the tool string ( fig :108; par[0014]: the rig 102 is being used to deploy the intervention system 101 by suspending a wireline 108 being spooled into the wellbore 104 from a wireline unit 110, such as a wireline truck. A downhole tool 112 is attached to the wireline 108 and conveyed into the wellbore 104, specifically a horizontal section thereof, by at least one well tractor 114.), the wireline configured to supply electrical power to the tool string (par[0016]: The telemetry module 116 is directly connected to and sends and receives telemetry signals on the wireline 108, which also serves as the primary electrical pathway between the tool 112 and equipment at the surface for power transmission purposes.),
wherein the tool string comprises a power-utilization module configured to perform stages comprising- receiving the electrical power at the downhole component (par[0016]: The telemetry module 116 is directly connected to and sends and receives telemetry signals on the wireline 108, which also serves as the primary electrical pathway between the tool 112 and equipment at the surface for power transmission purposes.);
receiving electrical power at the downhole component (fig 1:108; par[0016]: The telemetry module 116 is directly connected to and sends and receives telemetry signals on the wireline 108, which also serves as the primary electrical pathway between the tool 112 and equipment at the surface for power transmission purposes.);
applying a filter to the electrical power (fig 3A-3B:304; par[0022]: A low-pass filter 304 in the power converter 313 filters out any high frequency components and a DC-DC converter 305 converts the power to an appropriate operating voltage for the tractor motor 303.); and
causing a mechanical or logging operation to be performed within the wellbore based on the interpreted one or more signals (par[0022], [0023], [0021]: The telemetry signals are received by a modem receiver 311 in the telemetry module 312 where an analog signal conditioner 306 conditions the signals and an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter 307 converts the signals to a digital format. The modem receiver 311 thereafter provides the converted telemetry signals to a controller 308 of the telemetry module 312, which may be a microcontroller or the like, for further processing and forwarding. The microcontroller 308 is programmed to execute a telemetry application (e.g., telemetry application 220) that includes functionality for controlling the flow of telemetry signals processed by the microcontroller 308 (e.g., communication flow control 222), as well as functionality that provides noise cancellation for the telemetry signals (e.g., noise cancellation 224), including active cancellation of any in-band noise generated by the tractor motor 303. The telemetry application 220 operates to perform telemetry related functionality for the telemetry module 116, including functionality for managing and controlling the flow of information to and from various systems connected to the telemetry module 116, indicated at 222. The telemetry application 220 also operates to provide noise cancellation functionality on the telemetry signals received by the telemetry module 116, including functionality for active cancellation of the in-band noise generated by the well tractor 114, indicated at 224. In some embodiments, the in-band noise cancellation indicated at 224 may be performed using a lookup table 226 containing transfer function filter coefficients, as explained later herein.).
Ang does not explicitly disclose the system comprising: applying a filter to the electrical power to generate a stream of data points representing the electrical power over time; categorizing data points of the stream into a plurality of bands to form data bands; interpreting the data bands as one or more signals.
Spalt discloses the system comprising:
applying a filter to the electrical power to generate a stream of data points representing the electrical power over time (fig 2:228; par[0074], [0075], [0076]: The data repository 220 can include filters 228. A filter 228 can refer to or include a signal processing filter, such as a low pass filter, bandpass filter, or high pass filter. A smoothness filter can create an approximating function that attempts to capture patterns or trends in the data, while leaving out noise or other fine-scale structures or instantaneous spikes or dips. A filter 228 can include a filter to smooth utility grid data or signals, such as a smoothness filter. The utility grid data or signals can be digitally recorded by a respective device on the utility grid 100, and transmitted to the data processing system 202 for processing. The data processing system 202 can receive the utility grid data as a real-time feed or stream. Real-time can refer to receiving signals from the utility grid 100 responsive to the devices on the utility grid 100 measuring or detecting values for the signal, as opposed to receiving the signals in a batch upload that occurs periodically or based on a time interval (e.g., every 6 hours, 12 hours, 24 hours, 48 hours or some other time period). Receiving the signals in real-time can refer to receiving the signals within 30 minutes of a device measuring or detecting the signals, 15 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 1 minute, 30 seconds, 10 seconds, 5 seconds or less. The data processing system 202 can receive a real-time feed or stream of signals. The signals can be sampled at a sampling rate. Signals can be sampled at a same rate, or different rates. Different types of signals can be sampled at different rates. Signals from different devices, although a same type of signal, may be sampled at different rate due to different device configurations or capabilities);
categorizing data points of the stream into a plurality of bands to form data bands (par[0074]: A filter 228 can include a filter to smooth utility grid data or signals, such as a smoothness filter. A smoothness filter can create an approximating function that attempts to capture patterns or trends in the data, while leaving out noise or other fine-scale structures or instantaneous spikes or dips. The data processing system 202, using a smoothness filter, can modify data points of a signal so individual points can be reduced, and points that are lower than the adjacent points are increased, leading got a smoother signal.);
interpreting the data bands as one or more signals (par[0074]: A smoothness filter can create an approximating function that attempts to capture patterns or trends in the data, while leaving out noise or other fine-scale structures or instantaneous spikes or dips. The data processing system 202, using a smoothness filter, can modify data points of a signal so individual points can be reduced, and points that are lower than the adjacent points are increased, leading got a smoother signal.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Ang and the Spalt references since both pertain to the field of power systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Ang with the filtering feature as disclosed by Spalt to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of filtering noisy high-voltage power protects sensitive equipment, ensuring reliable operation, improving data and power communication performance, and helping meet regulatory compliance by removing unwanted high-frequency noise and voltage spikes, leading to cleaner power delivery and enhanceing safety.
Regarding claim 10, Ang in view of Spalt discloses the system wherein interpreting the data bands as one or more signals comprises comparing the data bands to one or more data-band patterns (Spalt par[0074], [0084]: A smoothness filter can create an approximating function that attempts to capture patterns or trends in the data, while leaving out noise or other fine-scale structures or instantaneous spikes or dips. The data processing system 202, using a smoothness filter, can modify data points of a signal so individual points can be reduced, and points that are lower than the adjacent points are increased, leading got a smoother signal. The data cleaning component 208 can compare sample values of a signal with a threshold, nominal value, or statistical metric to determine whether the sample value is an outlier or erroneous.) stored in a memory storage (Ang fig 2:206&210; par[0018], [0019]: The telemetry module 116 may also include a main memory 206, such as a random-access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device coupled to the bus 202 for storing computer-readable instructions to be executed by the controller 204. The main memory 206 may also be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of the instructions by the controller 204. The telemetry module 116 may further include a read-only memory (ROM) 208 or other static storage device coupled to the bus 202 for storing static information and instructions for the controller 204. A computer-readable storage device 210, such as a nonvolatile memory (e.g., Flash memory) drive or magnetic disk, may be coupled to the bus 202 for storing information and instructions for the controller 204.).
Regarding claim 11, Ang in view of Spalt discloses the system wherein interpreting the data bands as one or more signals further comprises matching the data bands to a closest fitting data-band pattern (Spalt par[0074], [0084]: A smoothness filter can create an approximating function that attempts to capture patterns or trends in the data, while leaving out noise or other fine-scale structures or instantaneous spikes or dips. The data processing system 202, using a smoothness filter, can modify data points of a signal so individual points can be reduced, and points that are lower than the adjacent points are increased, leading got a smoother signal. The data cleaning component 208 can compare sample values of a signal with a threshold, nominal value, or statistical metric to determine whether the sample value is an outlier or erroneous.) stored in a memory storage (Ang fig 2:206&210; par[0018], [0019]: The telemetry module 116 may also include a main memory 206, such as a random-access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device coupled to the bus 202 for storing computer-readable instructions to be executed by the controller 204. The main memory 206 may also be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of the instructions by the controller 204. The telemetry module 116 may further include a read-only memory (ROM) 208 or other static storage device coupled to the bus 202 for storing static information and instructions for the controller 204. A computer-readable storage device 210, such as a nonvolatile memory (e.g., Flash memory) drive or magnetic disk, may be coupled to the bus 202 for storing information and instructions for the controller 204.).
Regarding claim 13, Ang in view of Spalt discloses the system further comprising causing the downhole component to collect, analyze, or send telemetry information to a surface device (Ang par[0015], [0016]: The surface panel 111 also typically includes information handling systems and one or more data buses as well as a network interface that allows the surface panel to transmit and receive communications to and from other systems. The user also uses the surface panel 111 to control the tool 112 to perform data collection operations and other downhole operations. A telemetry module 116 is coupled to the tool 112 at the wireline end thereof to facilitate communication between the surface panel 111 and the tool 112. The telemetry module 116 is directly connected to and sends and receives telemetry signals on the wireline 108, which also serves as the primary electrical pathway between the tool 112 and equipment at the surface for power transmission purposes).
2. Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang in view of Spalt, in view of Duncan et al. (US2023/0417116A1) hereafter Duncan, and further in view of Cammack et al. (US2022/0307323A1) hereafter Cammack.
Regarding claim 4, Ang in view of Spalt does not explicitly disclose the method wherein the mechanical operation is at least one of moving a tool in a direction, changing an operating speed of the tool, and operating an anchor, an arm, or a linear actuator associated with the tool.
Duncan discloses the method the method wherein the mechanical operation is at least one of moving a tool in a direction, changing an operating speed of the tool, and operating an anchor, an arm, or a linear actuator associated with the tool (par[0075], [0076]: The automation controller 304 can receive the operational information provided by the WDAS 400 and the PDAS 500 via the processor device 300. The automation controller 304 can analyze the operational information, determine if an adjustment is required and automatically generate an automated adjustment command that is sent to either or both of the wireline controller 312 and the pump-down controller 314. Upon receipt of the automated adjustment command, the wireline controller 312 may change the speed at which the wireline is being moved downhole or pulled uphole by changing the operational parameters of the wireline brake system and/or the wireline spool motor system. For example, upon receiving an automated adjustment instruction, the wireline controller 312 may increase or decrease the speed at which the wireline spool is rotating, change the direction that the wireline spool is rotating, stop the wireline spool from rotating or combinations thereof.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ang, Spalt and Duncan and references since all pertain to the field of power systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Ang with the changing status of the tool as disclosed by Duncan to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing one or more systems and methods that allow a user monitor and change one or more operational parameters of the operation using an automated control of one or more operational parameters in real time.
Ang in view of Spalt and Duncan does not explicitly disclose the method wherein the mechanical operation is at least one of operating an anchor, an arm, or a linear actuator associated with the tool.
Fanini discloses the method wherein the mechanical operation is at least one of operating an anchor, an arm, or a linear actuator associated with the tool (par[0022]: the linear actuator 35 may be attached to a downhole tool, represented in FIG. 3 by the robotic shuttle module 9 to Which the actuator 35 is attached. The downhole tool may be conveyed by a wireline 56 that may provide power from the surface of the earth and/or communication capability with an operator at the surface of the earth. The downhole tool may also include the extendable brace 12 to lock the downhole tool in place and imaging and lighting capability such that the operator at the surface can view operation of the linear actuator 35 and, thus, remotely control the linear actuator 35 via commands transmitted over the wireline 56.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ang, Spalt, Duncan and Fanini references since all pertain to the field of power systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Ang with the linear actuator feature as disclosed by Fanini to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing a precision control, versatility, low maintenance, and energy efficiency, converting rotational motion into precise linear movement for tasks from lifting heavy loads to intricate positioning, excellent repeatability and can hold positions without power, reducing overall system complexity and cost.
Regarding claim 12, Ang in view of Spalt does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the mechanical operation is at least one of moving a tool in a direction, changing an operating speed of the tool, and operating an anchor, an arm, or a linear actuator associated with the tool.
Duncan discloses the system wherein the mechanical operation is at least one of moving a tool in a direction, changing an operating speed of the tool, and operating an anchor, an arm, or a linear actuator associated with the tool (par[0075], [0076]: The automation controller 304 can receive the operational information provided by the WDAS 400 and the PDAS 500 via the processor device 300. The automation controller 304 can analyze the operational information, determine if an adjustment is required and automatically generate an automated adjustment command that is sent to either or both of the wireline controller 312 and the pump-down controller 314. Upon receipt of the automated adjustment command, the wireline controller 312 may change the speed at which the wireline is being moved downhole or pulled uphole by changing the operational parameters of the wireline brake system and/or the wireline spool motor system. For example, upon receiving an automated adjustment instruction, the wireline controller 312 may increase or decrease the speed at which the wireline spool is rotating, change the direction that the wireline spool is rotating, stop the wireline spool from rotating or combinations thereof.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ang, Spalt and Duncan and references since all pertain to the field of power systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Ang with the changing status of the tool as disclosed by Duncan to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing one or more systems and methods that allow a user monitor and change one or more operational parameters of the operation using an automated control of one or more operational parameters in real time.
Ang in view of Spalt and Duncan does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the mechanical operation is at least one of operating an anchor, an arm, or a linear actuator associated with the tool.
Fanini discloses the system wherein the mechanical operation is at least one of operating an anchor, an arm, or a linear actuator associated with the tool (par[0022]: the linear actuator 35 may be attached to a downhole tool, represented in FIG. 3 by the robotic shuttle module 9 to Which the actuator 35 is attached. The downhole tool may be conveyed by a wireline 56 that may provide power from the surface of the earth and/or communication capability with an operator at the surface of the earth. The downhole tool may also include the extendable brace 12 to lock the downhole tool in place and imaging and lighting capability such that the operator at the surface can view operation of the linear actuator 35 and, thus, remotely control the linear actuator 35 via commands transmitted over the wireline 56.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ang, Spalt, Duncan and Fanini references since all pertain to the field of power systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Ang with the linear actuator feature as disclosed by Fanini to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing a precision control, versatility, low maintenance, and energy efficiency, converting rotational motion into precise linear movement for tasks from lifting heavy loads to intricate positioning, excellent repeatability and can hold positions without power, reducing overall system complexity and cost.
3. Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang in view of Spalt, in view of Walters et al. (US2019/0101663A1) hereafter Walters.
Regarding claim 6, Ang in view of Spalt does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising causing the downhole component to execute a software script.
Walters discloses the method further comprising causing the downhole component to execute a software script (fig 2:160; par[0037], [0038]: The applications 154 can include software applications, scripts, programs, functions, executable code, or other modules that are interpreted or executed by processor 160. For example, applications 154 can include an inversion engine and/or other algorithms to generate a three-dimensional image with proper depth perspective based on logging data. Processor 160 can execute instructions, for example, to generate output data based on data inputs. For example, processor 160 can run applications 154 by executing or interpreting the software, scripts, programs, functions, executable code, or other modules contained in applications 154.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ang, Spalt and Walters and references since all pertain to the field of power systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Ang with the software script feature as disclosed by Walters to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing software scripts that are automation, increased efficiency, and error reduction by defining a set of instructions to perform tasks that would otherwise require manual intervention by the user to operate the wellbore system.
Regarding claim 14, Ang in view of Spalt does not explicitly disclose the system further comprising causing the downhole component to execute a software script.
Walters discloses the system further comprising causing the downhole component to execute a software script (fig 2:160; par[0037], [0038]: The applications 154 can include software applications, scripts, programs, functions, executable code, or other modules that are interpreted or executed by processor 160. For example, applications 154 can include an inversion engine and/or other algorithms to generate a three-dimensional image with proper depth perspective based on logging data. Processor 160 can execute instructions, for example, to generate output data based on data inputs. For example, processor 160 can run applications 154 by executing or interpreting the software, scripts, programs, functions, executable code, or other modules contained in applications 154.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ang, Spalt and Walters and references since all pertain to the field of power systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ang with the software script feature as disclosed by Walters to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing software scripts that are automation, increased efficiency, and error reduction by defining a set of instructions to perform tasks that would otherwise require manual intervention by the user to operate the wellbore system.
4. Claim(s) 7-8 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang in view of Spalt, in view of Petty et al. (US2022/0364442A1) hereafter Petty.
Regarding claim 7, Ang in view of Spalt does not explicitly disclose the method wherein the electrical power, when provided from the surface, fluctuates between at least two levels selected based on an instruction provided by a user.
Petty discloses the method wherein the electrical power, when provided from the surface, fluctuates between at least two levels selected based on an instruction provided by a user (par[0029], [0030]: the computer system 210 may be configured to communicate with an operator in real-time regarding the capacity and power level of the battery pack 220. when the power level of the battery pack 220 descends below a predetermined lower threshold, the computer system 210 may send an alert to the operator prompting the operator to action to restore the battery pack 220 to a predetermined minimum power level. The minimum power level may be, for example, 50% capacity, 75% capacity, 90% capacity, or any other desired percent capacity of the battery pack 220. Once one power source becomes inoperable or a change is merely desired, the operator may be able to select another power source (e.g., from the control display in the operations cabin 206). upon receiving the alert from the computer system 210, the operator may have the option of selecting the desired power source to recharge the battery pack 220. The operator may then manually or electronically commence power generation via the generators 224, 230 or direct power flow to the battery pack 220 from the external power source 232).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ang, Spalt and Petty and references since all pertain to the field of power systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Ang with the fluctuation feature as disclosed by Petty to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of communicating with an operator in real-time regarding the capacity and power level of the tool, when the power level of the tool descends below a predetermined lower threshold, the computer system may send an alert to the operator prompting the operator to action to restore the tool to a predetermined minimum power level.
Regarding claim 8, Ang in view of Spalt and Petty discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the mechanical operation corresponds to the instruction provided by the user (Ang par[0016]: The user also uses the surface panel 111 to control the tool 112 to perform data collection operations and other downhole operations. A telemetry module 116 is coupled to the tool 112 at the wireline end thereof to facilitate communication between the surface panel 111 and the tool 112. The telemetry module 116 is directly connected to and sends and receives telemetry signals on the wireline 108, which also serves as the primary electrical pathway between the tool 112 and equipment at the surface for power transmission purposes.).
Regarding claim 15, Ang in view of Spalt does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the electrical power, when provided from the surface, fluctuates between at least two levels selected based on an instruction provided by a user.
Petty discloses the system wherein the electrical power, when provided from the surface, fluctuates between at least two levels selected based on an instruction provided by a user (par[0029], [0030]: the computer system 210 may be configured to communicate with an operator in real-time regarding the capacity and power level of the battery pack 220. when the power level of the battery pack 220 descends below a predetermined lower threshold, the computer system 210 may send an alert to the operator prompting the operator to action to restore the battery pack 220 to a predetermined minimum power level. The minimum power level may be, for example, 50% capacity, 75% capacity, 90% capacity, or any other desired percent capacity of the battery pack 220. Once one power source becomes inoperable or a change is merely desired, the operator may be able to select another power source (e.g., from the control display in the operations cabin 206). upon receiving the alert from the computer system 210, the operator may have the option of selecting the desired power source to recharge the battery pack 220. The operator may then manually or electronically commence power generation via the generators 224, 230 or direct power flow to the battery pack 220 from the external power source 232).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ang, Spalt and Petty and references since all pertain to the field of power systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ang with the fluctuation feature as disclosed by Petty to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of communicating with an operator in real-time regarding the capacity and power level of the tool, when the power level of the tool descends below a predetermined lower threshold, the computer system may send an alert to the operator prompting the operator to action to restore the tool to a predetermined minimum power level.
Regarding claim 16, Ang in view of Spalt and Petty discloses the system wherein the mechanical operation corresponds to the instruction provided by the user (Ang par[0016]: The user also uses the surface panel 111 to control the tool 112 to perform data collection operations and other downhole operations. A telemetry module 116 is coupled to the tool 112 at the wireline end thereof to facilitate communication between the surface panel 111 and the tool 112. The telemetry module 116 is directly connected to and sends and receives telemetry signals on the wireline 108, which also serves as the primary electrical pathway between the tool 112 and equipment at the surface for power transmission purposes.).
Conclusion
US12221881B2 to Toniolo discloses an apparatus can have a seal module located at an upper portion thereof. The apparatus can also have a mud line formed through the upper portion of the apparatus and a mud outlet in fluid communication with the mud line. The apparatus can also include a mud pulser adjacent the mud outlet, wherein the mud pulser is configured to be actuated to open, partially close, and close the mud outlet.
US2024/0018837A1 to Eitschberger discloses a wireline release tool may include a casing configured to couple to a wireline and a connector configured to couple to a tool string. The casing may have a first end, a second end, and a chamber therebetween, and the connector may be detachably attached to the second end of the casing. A gas generator may be disposed in the chamber and may be capable of generating gas pressure in the chamber sufficient to overcome a pressure differential between the chamber and the external wellbore environment and to detach the connector from the casing.
/AMINE BENLAGSIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688