DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final office action in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 06/09/2026.
Claims 1-59, 66-68, 70, 73-74, 76-77, 79-81, 84, 87-90, 92, 94, 96-98, 100, 107-108, 110, 112-115, 117-121, and 123-126 are canceled.
Claims 62-66, 69, 71-72, 75, 78, 83, 85-86, 91, 93, 95, 99, 102, 106, 109, 111, 116, and 122 are currently amended.
Claims 121-134 are new.
Claims 60-65, 69, 71-72, 75, 78, 82-83, 85-86, 91, 93, 95, 99, 101-102, 106, 109, 111, 116, 122, and 127-134 are rejected.
Objections to the Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Paragraph [0073], Line 4, cockpit element“103” should be replaced with “13.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 111, 128, and 132 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 111 Line 3 is grammatically improper, reading, “wherein the electric power source one or more batteries.” An amendment of Applicant’s choice should be implemented to resolve the issue.
Claims 128 and 132 end with two periods and should be corrected to have only one.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 60-65, 72, and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by They. (US 11,511,832 B2, hereinafter They)
Claim 60 Discloses: (Original)
“A method for controlling propulsion of an aircraft across a water surface”
They teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-4) “Provided is a taxiing system for steering an amphibious aircraft on a body of water with a steering means, a control console and a power source all in operable and electrical communication,” wherein, (Page 17, Column 3, Lines 7-9) “Some embodiments of the invention may consist of or consist essentially of one or more elements, components, method steps, and/or methods of the invention.”
“comprising: actuating an electronic controller connected to a water propulsion system of an aircraft having a flotation surface, the electronic controller generating a plurality of control signals to control the water propulsion system of the aircraft,”
They teaches, (Page 17, Column 3, Lines 46-49) “a control console in operable communication with the means for steering; and a power source in electrical communication with means for steering and the control console,” wherein, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 5-6) “The control console is in operable and electrical communication with the taxiing systems and a power source,” and that, (Page 13, Column 1, Lines 49-53) “The device comprises a pair of pods, a control console and a power source. Each of the pair of pods has a proximal end and a distal end and each is mounted on a float on the aircraft.”
“the aircraft further including an aircraft engine to control airborne flight, and a flight control system; and actuating the water propulsion system having a propulsion thruster to control movement of the aircraft across a water surface.”
They teaches, (Page 14, Column 3, Lines 3-5) “FIG. 3C is a magnified front view of the thruster in FIG. 3B showing the housing, fan and motor drive,” wherein, (Page 16, Column 7, Lines 42-43) “The thruster deployment assembly independently actuates the thrusters within the pods in a left or in a right direction,” and additional capability to execute a, (Page 18, Column 5, Line 1) “flight mode,” a person of ordinary skill in the art of which would understand would utilize some form of engine.
Claim 61 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 60 wherein actuating the propulsion thruster comprises generating the plurality of control signals including a first set of control signals to control a first waterjet of the propulsion thruster”
They teaches, (Page 15, Column 6, Lines 47-50) “The thrusters are configured for left and right deployment and are independently operable. The thruster has a thruster housing that contains a drive motor or first drive motor and a thruster fan and provides structural support for the thruster.”
“and generating a second set of control signals to control a second waterjet of the propulsion thruster.”
They teaches, (Page 16, Column 7, Lines 41-45) “The thruster deployment assembly independently actuates the thrusters within the pods in a left or in a right direction. The thruster deployment assembly comprises, inter alia, a second drive motor.”
Claim 62 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 61, wherein generating the plurality of control signals further comprises generating electric power control signals to regulate battery power to the water propulsion system.”
They teaches, (Page 15, Column 6, Lines 16-19) “a power source, for example, a direct current power source that delivers about 14 volts to about 35 volts, in electrical communication with the thruster, the thruster deployment assembly and the control consol,” wherein for example, (Page 20, Column 9, Lines 55-57) “A hold button 10 enables a user to “nose” the aircraft up to a dock by bringing the thrusters to full power.”
Claim 63 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 61, wherein generating the plurality of control signals includes a motor rotation velocity signal,”
They teaches, (Page 21, Column 11, Lines 7-18) “Rotation of the impeller enabled by the drive motor generates a negative pressure at the impeller eye that is in proximity to the intake duct 55 at the first intake end 55a thereof. This siphons the water from outside the amphibious aircraft at 66 into the impeller assembly at 67 via the intake port 56 at the second intake end 55b of the intake duct and through the intake duct. As the siphoned water flows through the vanes of the impeller, the flow path area increases resulting in a velocity decrease and consequent pressure increase in the solenoid valve in the proximity of the forward and reverse thruster ducts,” wherein, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 28-29) “The control console has a pair of joystick controllers that operate the taxiing systems,” further wherein, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 16-20) “Optionally, the control console is provided with a speed sensor configured to monitor speed of the amphibious aircraft during taxiing and to override the mode selector switch and to shut down the steering systems if the amphibious aircraft's speed exceeds a preset value.”
They additionally teaches, for example, (Page 20, Column 9, Lines 55-57) “A hold button 10 enables a user to “nose” the aircraft up to a dock by bringing the thrusters to full power.”
“a deflector position control signal, and a nozzle position control signal.”
They teaches, (Page 18, Column 6, Lines 65-67 & Page 19, Column 7, Lines 1-3) “Depending on whether the forward or reverse port is electrically actuated to an open configuration by the user, the water exits the impeller assembly via the forward thruster nozzle or reverse thruster nozzle causing the aircraft to be propelled on the body of water in the forward or reverse direction respectively.”
Claim 64 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 60, wherein the electronic controller is programmed to execute a plurality of preset operating parameter values corresponding to operating modes of the water propulsion system.”
They teaches, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 10-15) “The mode selector switch enables a user to switch the aircraft between flight mode and taxi mode. Moving the switch to taxi mode provides power to the jet-drive system or the tunnel thruster propulsion system. Similarly, moving the switch to flight mode cuts power to the steering systems.”
Claim 65 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 64 further comprising operating a first operating mode wherein the preset operating parameter values are configured to operate an airplane takeoff mode of the water propulsion system or operating a second operating mode wherein the preset operating parameter values are configured for a manual control mode of the water propulsion system by a pilot of the aircraft or operating a third operating mode wherein the preset operating parameter values are configured for remote control of the water propulsion system by a remote controller and operating the remote controller by manual operation wherein a manual controller includes a display that displays an operating condition of the aircraft.”
They teaches, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 10-15) “The mode selector switch enables a user to switch the aircraft between flight mode and taxi mode. Moving the switch to taxi mode provides power to the jet-drive system or the tunnel thruster propulsion system. Similarly, moving the switch to flight mode cuts power to the steering systems.”
They additionally teaches, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 39-49) “The control console optionally has a remote control. The remote control has control buttons to move the aircraft in the forward or reverse directions for proper alignment with the dock before being manually secured thereto. A cavity or pocket or other suitable space is formed on the side of the control console enclosure for removably securing the remote control within the control console. The remote control is in wireless communication with the control console. This enables use of the remote control either from within the amphibious aircraft, or from the dock in the proximity of the aircraft,” wherein it may be further applicable to a pilot for manual control.
Notably, as the warning of Figure 1E portrays, the unit must be in flight mode to initiate takeoff.
Claim 72 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 60 further comprising operating the electronic controller in response to a wireless communication signal received from a wireless receiver mounted on the aircraft, the wireless communication signal being configured to control the water propulsion system and wherein the wireless communication signal includes a speed of operation and a direction for movement of the aircraft to be executed by the electronic controller.”
They teaches, (Page 18, Column 5, Lines 6-10) “Further to these embodiments and aspects thereof the control console may comprise a remote control in wireless communication therewith configured to taxi the aircraft in a forward or in a reverse direction,” wherein, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 35-38) “the steering systems are controlled by the control console using a wireless means including, but not limited to, BLUETOOTH™, WiFi and other radio communication means,” further wherein, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 45-49) “The remote control is in wireless communication with the control console. This enables use of the remote control either from within the amphibious aircraft, or from the dock in the proximity of the aircraft,” a person of ordinary skill in the art of which would understand a mounted receiver would be used to facilitate the wireless communication.
They additionally teaches, for example, (Page 20, Column 9, Lines 55-57) “A hold button 10 enables a user to “nose” the aircraft up to a dock by bringing the thrusters to full power,” a person of ordinary skill in the art of which would understand would correspond to a desired speed.
Claim 75 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 60 further comprising communicating operating the electronic controller that communicates with the flight control system of the aircraft wherein the flight control system further comprises one or more displays for viewing by a pilot wherein the one or more displays is configured to display operating parameters and/or sensor data from the electronic controller.”
They teaches, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 39-49) “The control console optionally has a remote control. The remote control has control buttons to move the aircraft in the forward or reverse directions for proper alignment with the dock before being manually secured thereto. A cavity or pocket or other suitable space is formed on the side of the control console enclosure for removably securing the remote control within the control console. The remote control is in wireless communication with the control console. This enables use of the remote control either from within the amphibious aircraft, or from the dock in the proximity of the aircraft,” wherein it may be further applicable to a pilot for manual control.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over They in view of Nolan et al. (US 2018/0244362 A, hereinafter Nolan)
Claim 69 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 60 wherein the remote controller indicates position coordinates of the aircraft and wherein the position coordinates comprise satellite positioning system coordinates (GPS or GNSS).”
They does not explicitly teach wherein the remote controller indicates position coordinates of the aircraft and wherein the position coordinates comprise satellite positioning system coordinates (GPS or GNSS).”
They does teach that, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 39-49) “The control console optionally has a remote control …This enables use of the remote control either from within the amphibious aircraft, or from the dock in the proximity of the aircraft.”
However it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the preceding limitations in light of Nolan.
Nolan is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Abstract, Lines 1-3) “An amphibious vehicle having a smart marine throttle which, when enabled, will control the power to right and left propulsors,” comprising, (Paragraph [0018]) “A remote control feature applied by a vehicle commander or via a wireless and/or via secure HF or SATCOM so that the vessel is essentially an “Unmanned Amphibious Drone”.
Particularly, Nolan teaches that, (Paragraph [0042], Lines 1-9) “FIG. 1 illustrates the present invention. The smart throttle device 10 includes left and right speed-and-direction control paddles (handles) 12, an input section for entering the arrival latitude and longitude 14 and controls 16 to start and stop the autopilot. The interface panel 17 may also include visual screens such as compass headings. The autopilot computer (Global Positioning System-Inertial Navigation System (GPS-INS)) 20 is shown in cutaway of the throttle device housing 10.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the remote control feature of the seaplane as taught by They, with the explicit display device comprising GPS coordinates and additionally contains remote control functionality as taught by Nolan, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of providing GPS data to a remote controller in order to properly ascertain the location of an amphibious vehicle during travel. As Nolan describes, (BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION, Paragraph [0003], Lines 1-5) “Mobile navigation systems are used to guide a traveler to a desired destination. Generally, these systems take advantage of global positioning system (GPS) transceivers to note the location of the traveler. The location is often noted in longitude and latitude coordinates,” and that, (Paragraph [0007], Line 1) “There are prior art marine GPS systems.”
Claims 71, 78, 82-83, 85-86, and 93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over They in view of Robertson et al. (US 2019/0016448 A1, hereinafter Robertson)
Claim 71 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 60 wherein the electronic controller includes, or is connected to, a memory for storing coded instructions to be executed to control a plurality of control operations of the electronic controller.”
They does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic controller includes, or is connected to, a memory for storing coded instructions to be executed to control a plurality of control operations of the electronic controller.
However it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate these features, in light of for example, Robertson.
Robertson is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to teaching an amphibious vehicle comprising, (Paragraph [0077], Line 8) “flight computer or flight controller,” wherein, (Paragraph [0014]) “The invention can be implemented in numerous ways, including as a process; an apparatus; a system; a composition of matter; a computer program product embodied on a computer readable storage medium; and/or a processor, such as a processor configured to execute instructions stored on and/or provided by a memory coupled to the processor.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the control console of They with an explicit memory for storing coded instructions to be executed to control a plurality of control operations of an electronic controller as evidenced by Robertson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the extremely well-known benefits of processors executing instructions stored on a memory to execute computer functions. As Robertson describes, (Paragraph [0014], Lines 11-16) “a component such as a processor or a memory described as being configured to perform a task may be implemented as a general component that is temporarily configured to perform the task at a given time or a specific component that is manufactured to perform the task.”
Claim 78 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 60 further comprising operating a battery management system connected to a battery that provides power to the water propulsion system … and further comprising communicating control signals between the battery management system and a waterjet control system,”
They teaches, (Page 15, Column 6, Lines 16-19) “a power source, for example, a direct current power source that delivers about 14 volts to about 35 volts, in electrical communication with the thruster, the thruster deployment assembly and the control console,” wherein for example, (Page 20, Column 9, Lines 55-57) “A hold button 10 enables a user to “nose” the aircraft up to a dock by bringing the thrusters to full power.”
“wherein the flotation surface comprises a first float and a second float and further comprising operating the battery management system that comprises a first power controller in a first float and a second battery controller in a second float”
They does not teach the preceding limitations.
Robertson does teach the preceding limitations.
Robertson teaches, (Paragraph [0041]) “From the front view shown in diagram 300, floats (304) are visible … As will be described in more detail below, the floats are also used to store the batteries which power the rotors,” wherein, (Paragraph [0064]) “Putting the batteries and electronics (e.g., rotor controller for each rotor) in the floats also shortens the electrical lines running between the batteries and electronics in the float and the rotors which they power and control. Shorter lines mean less power loss (e.g., for the shorter power lines running from the batteries) and better control of the rotors (e.g., for the shorter control lines running from the rotor controllers).”
“… and further comprising monitoring a temperature of the battery with a temperature sensor.”
Robertson teaches, (Paragraph [0077], Lines 1-5) “In some embodiments, a thermometer is used to track and/or measure the temperature of the battery (604). For example, each battery in FIG. 4 may have a built-in digital thermometer (e.g., in the same can or package as the battery cells).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the waterjet propulsion system, the overall seaplane of which comprises floats as taught by They, with the explicit methodology of placing the batteries in the floats and monitoring the temperature as taught by Robertson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of battery failure redundancy and overall pilot safety. As Robertson describes, (Paragraph [0058]) “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a float which includes batteries … By having an independent battery for each rotor (404), multiple rotors will not fail if a single battery goes out,” and additionally describes that, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 1-5) “Storing the batteries in the float may be desirable for safety reasons. In the event of a hard landing (assuming the aircraft does not flip over), the batteries will strike the ground before the pilot will, absorbing much of the kinetic energy of the impact and reducing impact force on the pilot.”
Claim 82 Discloses: (Original)
“A float system for a seaplane comprising: a float attachable to an aircraft wherein the float supports the aircraft during movement across a water surface,”
They teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-6) “Provided is a taxiing system for steering an amphibious aircraft on a body of water with a steering means, a control console and a power source all in operable and electrical communication. The steering means is a jet drive coupled to an impeller assembly mounted inside each float.”
They additionally teaches, (Page 14, Column 3, Lines 3-5) “FIG. 3C is a magnified front view of the thruster in FIG. 3B showing the housing, fan and motor drive,” wherein, (Page 16, Column 7, Lines 42-43) “The thruster deployment assembly independently actuates the thrusters within the pods in a left or in a right direction.”
“… a battery management system connected to the battery, the battery management system being connected to a system controller whereby the battery provides power to the aircraft propulsion system.”
They teaches, (Page 15, Column 6, Lines 16-19) “a power source, for example, a direct current power source that delivers about 14 volts to about 35 volts, in electrical communication with the thruster, the thruster deployment assembly and the control console,” wherein for example, (Page 20, Column 9, Lines 55-57) “A hold button 10 enables a user to “nose” the aircraft up to a dock by bringing the thrusters to full power.”
“the float comprising a fluid impermeable housing enclosing a battery providing power to an aircraft propulsion system,”
They does not explicitly teach the preceding fluid impermeable housing enclosing a battery providing power.
They teaches, (Page 18, Column 5, Lines 21-28) “the propulsion system is a jet drive propulsion system comprising a pair or jet drives, each jet drive mounted on or in a float on the amphibious aircraft, comprising a waterproof drive motor with a shaft disposed axially therethrough; and an impeller assembly with an impeller intake port, a tunnel opening configured to receive the shaft therein, and an impeller discharge port at an axially opposing end to the tunnel opening,” wherein, (Page 18, Column 5, Lines 49-51) “each of the jet drives may be mounted onto an inner surface of the float on the amphibious aircraft.”
Robertson does teach the preceding limitations.
Robertson teaches, (Paragraph [0041]) “From the front view shown in diagram 300, floats (304) are visible … As will be described in more detail below, the floats are also used to store the batteries which power the rotors,” wherein, (Paragraph [0064]) “Putting the batteries and electronics (e.g., rotor controller for each rotor) in the floats also shortens the electrical lines running between the batteries and electronics in the float and the rotors which they power and control. Shorter lines mean less power loss (e.g., for the shorter power lines running from the batteries) and better control of the rotors (e.g., for the shorter control lines running from the rotor controllers),” wherein, (Paragraph [0067], Lines 6-8) “the cover is sealed over the opening using an externally-applied adhesive, such as a waterproof tape.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the waterjet propulsion system, the overall seaplane of which comprising floats as taught by They, with the explicit methodology of placing the batteries in the floats in a fluid impermeable housing as taught by Robertson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of battery failure redundancy and overall pilot safety. As Robertson describes, (Paragraph [0058]) “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a float which includes batteries … By having an independent battery for each rotor (404), multiple rotors will not fail if a single battery goes out,” and additionally describes that, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 1-5) “Storing the batteries in the float may be desirable for safety reasons. In the event of a hard landing (assuming the aircraft does not flip over), the batteries will strike the ground before the pilot will, absorbing much of the kinetic energy of the impact and reducing impact force on the pilot.” Combining the references would additionally yield the benefits of preventing water from damaging electronic components. As Robertson describes, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 9-11) “A variety of waterproofing techniques and/or materials may be used to ensure that the partition walls are watertight.”
Claim 83 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 82 wherein the aircraft propulsion system comprises a water propulsion system mounted to the float, the water propulsion system comprising a waterjet having a fluid intake and a fluid thrust output.”
They teaches, (Page 18, Column 5, Lines 21-28) “the propulsion system is a jet drive propulsion system comprising a pair or jet drives, each jet drive mounted on or in a float on the amphibious aircraft, comprising a waterproof drive motor with a shaft disposed axially therethrough; and an impeller assembly with an impeller intake port, a tunnel opening configured to receive the shaft therein, and an impeller discharge port at an axially opposing end to the tunnel opening,” wherein, (Page 18, Column 5, Lines 49-51) “each of the jet drives may be mounted onto an inner surface of the float on the amphibious aircraft.”
Claim 85 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 82 wherein the float comprises a first float element and a second float element, the first float element having a first propulsion unit and the second float element having a second propulsion unit.”
They teaches, (Abstract, Lines 6-8) “the steering means is a propulsion system with a pair of tunnel-type thrusters mounted inside the floats in the aircraft.”
Claim 86 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 82 further comprising a sensor that measures a characteristic of the water propulsion system, the sensor including at least one of a temperature sensor, a motion sensor that measures a rotation rate of an impeller of the water propulsion system, a motion sensor measures a displacement of a waterjet nozzle, and a motion sensor measures a displacement of a reverse deflector.”
They does not explicitly teach the sensor options in the preceding limitations.
Robertson does explicitly teach the sensor options in the preceding limitations.
Robertson teaches, (Paragraph [0077]) “a thermometer is used to track and/or measure the temperature of the battery (604). For example, each battery in FIG. 4 may have a built-in digital thermometer (e.g., in the same can or package as the battery cells) or an external one located on a nearby printed circuit board (e.g., with other electronics). In some embodiments, in the event a temperature threshold is exceeded, the thermometer signals to a flight computer or flight controller that a particular battery has failed and that landing should be initiated.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the electrically powered waterjet propulsion system, the seaplane of which comprises floats as taught by They, with the explicit battery thermometer present in a float as taught by Robertson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of measuring if the propulsion system is in danger of overheating. As Robertson describes, (Paragraph [0077]) “in the event a temperature threshold is exceeded, the thermometer signals to a flight computer or flight controller that a particular battery has failed and that landing should be initiated.”
Claim 93 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 83 wherein the water propulsion system comprises a float controller connected to the battery management system and the system controller and wherein the float controller is connected to a direct current motor that actuates a rotating drive shaft of a waterjet impeller.”
They teaches, (Page 15, Column 6, Lines 16-19) “a power source, for example, a direct current power source that delivers about 14 volts to about 35 volts, in electrical communication with the thruster, the thruster deployment assembly and the control console,” wherein, (Page 17, Column 3, Lines 57-64) “the means for steering is a jet drive propulsion system comprising a pair or jet drives, each jet drive comprising a waterproof drive motor with a shaft disposed axially therethrough; and an impeller assembly with an impeller intake port, a tunnel opening configured to receive the shaft therein, and an impeller discharge port at an axially opposing end to the tunnel opening,” further wherein, (Page 18, Column 5, Lines 49-51) “each of the jet drives may be mounted onto an inner surface of the float on the amphibious aircraft.”
Claim 91 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over They in view of Robertson, further in view of Kwon et al. (US 10,543,905 B1, hereinafter Kwon)
Claim 91 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 82 wherein the housing of the float has a water impermeable seal around an access port”
They does not explicitly teach wherein the housing of the float has a water impermeable seal around an access port.
Robertson does teach the preceding limitations.
Robertson teaches, (Paragraph [0041]) “From the front view shown in diagram 300, floats (304) are visible … As will be described in more detail below, the floats are also used to store the batteries which power the rotors,” wherein, (Paragraph [0064]) “Putting the batteries and electronics (e.g., rotor controller for each rotor) in the floats also shortens the electrical lines running between the batteries and electronics in the float and the rotors which they power and control. Shorter lines mean less power loss (e.g., for the shorter power lines running from the batteries) and better control of the rotors (e.g., for the shorter control lines running from the rotor controllers),” wherein, (Paragraph [0067], Lines 6-8) “the cover is sealed over the opening using an externally-applied adhesive, such as a waterproof tape.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the waterjet propulsion system, the overall seaplane of which comprising floats as taught by They, with the explicit methodology of placing the batteries in the floats in a fluid impermeable housing as taught by Robertson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of battery failure redundancy and overall pilot safety. As Robertson describes, (Paragraph [0058]) “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a float which includes batteries … By having an independent battery for each rotor (404), multiple rotors will not fail if a single battery goes out,” and additionally describes that, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 1-5) “Storing the batteries in the float may be desirable for safety reasons. In the event of a hard landing (assuming the aircraft does not flip over), the batteries will strike the ground before the pilot will, absorbing much of the kinetic energy of the impact and reducing impact force on the pilot.” Combining the references would additionally yield the benefits of preventing water from damaging electronic components. As Robertson describes, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 9-11) “A variety of waterproofing techniques and/or materials may be used to ensure that the partition walls are watertight.”
“ and wherein the float has a center of gravity along a longitudinal axis of the float.”
They and Robertson do not explicitly teach wherein the float has a center of gravity along a longitudinal axis of the float.
However, Kwon, which refers to the same amphibious vehicle of Robertson, does explicitly does the preceding limitations.
Kwon teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-3) “a system for battery shifting for center of gravity (CG) control includes a battery holder and a controller,” wherein for example, (Page 20, Column 11, Lines 65-67 & Page 20, Column 12, Lines 1-6) “In the hover position, the vehicle is substantially level (or slightly pitched back at about 5 degrees so that the nose of the vehicle is farther from the ground than the tail of the vehicle) meaning that the longitudinal axis of the vehicle is substantially parallel with the ground as shown. In this example, the battery is installed in the position L shown, which means that the COT and center of gravity (CGH) are aligned along the normal axis,” wherein, (Page 20, Column 11, Line 55) “One or more batteries are provided in the float 504.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the systems of They and Robertson with an explicit float/battery alignment with the longitudinal axis as taught by Kwon, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield well-known stability benefits. As Kwon describes, (Page 20, Column 12, Lines 64-65) “The battery can be shifted according to the techniques described below to improve stability and reduce load.”
Claims 95, 99, and 133 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over They in view of Robertson, further in view of Bower at al. (US 2024/0101253 A1, hereinafter Bower)
Claim 95 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 93 wherein the float comprises a first float and a second float mounted to a fuselage of the aircraft, each float having a waterjet float controller
They teaches, (Abstract, Lines 6-8) “the steering means is a propulsion system with a pair of tunnel-type thrusters mounted inside the floats in the aircraft,” the aircraft of which comprises a fuselage with a left and right structure mounted containing the thrusters/floats on each side as seen in Fig. 2C and Figs 3A-3B.
“and wherein the aircraft comprises a flight control system”
They teaches, (Page 16, Column 1, Lines 8-9) “The present invention is in the field of aircraft control systems,” wherein (Page 20, Column 9, Lines 36-40) “The control console comprises a mode selector switch 1 that enables a user to switch the aircraft from flight mode 2 to taxi mode 3 and vice versa.”
“and a flight propulsion system and the battery provides power to the flight control system and/or the flight propulsion system”
They does not explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
Robertson does teach the preceding limitations.
Robertson teaches, (Paragraph [0058], Lines 4-8) “the float (400) includes 5 batteries (402), one for each rotor on this side of the multicopter. By having an independent battery for each rotor (404), multiple rotors will not fail if a single battery goes out.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the waterjet propulsion system, the overall seaplane of which comprising floats as taught by They, with the explicit methodology of executed a flight control system with applicable batteries as taught by Robertson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of battery failure redundancy and overall pilot safety. As Robertson describes, (Paragraph [0058]) “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a float which includes batteries … By having an independent battery for each rotor (404), multiple rotors will not fail if a single battery goes out,” and additionally describes that, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 1-5) “Storing the batteries in the float may be desirable for safety reasons. In the event of a hard landing (assuming the aircraft does not flip over), the batteries will strike the ground before the pilot will, absorbing much of the kinetic energy of the impact and reducing impact force on the pilot.
“and further comprising a second battery mounted in a fuselage of the aircraft.”
They and Robertson do not explicitly teach a second battery mounted in a fuselage of the aircraft.
However it would have been obvious to a arrive at the preceding limitations in light of Bower.
Bower is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Title) “Systems and Methods for power Distribution in Electric Aircraft.”
Bower particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 1-8) “FIG. 2A illustrates a power distribution architecture for powering the EPUs (112, 114) of aircraft 100, according to various embodiments. Although FIGS. 1A-2A illustrate 12 EPUS (numbered 1-12 in FIG. 2A) mounted to wings 104 aircraft according to various embodiments can have any suitable number of EPUs, including four, six, eight, ten, fourteen, eighteen, twenty, or more. The EPUs are powered by a plurality of battery packs 200,” wherein, (Paragraph [0079], Lines 1-5) “The battery packs for powering the EPUs can be located in any suitable locations of the aircraft, including in the fuselage and/or the wings. The number and power of the EPUs can be selected according to the desired performance parameters (e.g., target payload, airspeed, and altitude).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the systems of They and Robertson with an additional battery located in a fuselage as evidenced by Bower, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would implement a well-known location for an additional battery placement to meet the performance parameters of a particular flight application. As Bower describes, (Paragraph [0079], Lines 1-5) “The battery packs for powering the EPUs can be located in any suitable locations of the aircraft, including in the fuselage and/or the wings. The number and power of the EPUs can be selected according to the desired performance parameters (e.g., target payload, airspeed, and altitude).”
Claim 99 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim95 wherein the flight propulsion system comprises a propeller driven by a flight engine”
Figure 2C of They portrays a propeller, a known component of a flight propulsion system on the leftmost portion front facing portion of the aircraft. An engine connected to said propeller is not explicitly shown. However, a person of ordinary skill int e art would understand an aircraft would contain an engine feature to drive the propeller in a similar fashion to the manner in which the jet drives are actuated.
As They describes, (Page 17, Column 3, Lines 59-60) “each jet drive comprising a waterproof drive motor with a shaft disposed axially therethrough.”
“and further comprising a dynamic positioning system for the aircraft.”
They teaches, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 39-49) “The control console optionally has a remote control. The remote control has control buttons to move the aircraft in the forward or reverse directions for proper alignment with the dock before being manually secured thereto. A cavity or pocket or other suitable space is formed on the side of the control console enclosure for removably securing the remote control within the control console. The remote control is in wireless communication with the control console. This enables use of the remote control either from within the amphibious aircraft, or from the dock in the proximity of the aircraft,” wherein there is, (Page 18, Column 5, Lines 3-4) “a speed sensor configured to monitor speed of the amphibious aircraft during taxiing.”
Claim 133 Discloses: (New)
“The system of claim 127, wherein the aircraft comprises an autonomous vehicle.”
The aircraft of They and Robertson are not explicitly autonomous.
Bower does teach an autonomous vehicle.
Bower teaches, (Paragraph [0082], Lines 5-8) “In some embodiments, the aircraft is configured to operate autonomously without any onboard pilot and with or without one or more passengers.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the systems of They and Robertson with an explicit autonomous function as evidenced by Bower, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the vehicle to travel without a pilot. As Bower describes, (Paragraph [0082], Lines 5-8) “In some embodiments, the aircraft is configured to operate autonomously without any onboard pilot and with or without one or more passengers.”
Claims 101-102, 106, 109, 111, and 127-132 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over They in view of Koster et al. (WO 2015/073084 A1, hereinafter Koster)
Claim 101 Discloses: (Original)
“A aircraft control system for controlling propulsion of an aircraft comprising: an aircraft having a fuselage,”
Figure 2C of They portrays an aircraft having a fuselage.
“… and a flotation surface;”
They teaches, (Page 13, Column 1, Lines 49-53) “The device comprises a pair of pods, a control console and a power source. Each of the pair of pods has a proximal end and a distal end and each is mounted on a float on the aircraft.”
“a water propulsion system connected to the aircraft to propel the aircraft across a water surface, the water propulsion system including an electronic controller mounted to the aircraft that controls operation of a water propulsion device that propels the aircraft on the water surface;”
They teaches, (Page 15, Column 6, Lines 16-19) “a power source, for example, a direct current power source that delivers about 14 volts to about 35 volts, in electrical communication with the thruster, the thruster deployment assembly and the control console,” wherein, (Page 16, Column 7, Lines 41-45) “The thruster deployment assembly independently actuates the thrusters within the pods in a left or in a right direction. The thruster deployment assembly comprises, inter alia, a second drive motor.”
“a flight control system, a hybrid propulsion system for propelled airborne flight, … and an electric power source connected to the hybrid propulsion system and the water propulsion system.”
They does not explicitly teach a hybrid propulsion system for propelled airborne flight.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the preceding limitations in light of Koster.
Koster teaches a, (Abstract, Line 5) “hybrid propulsion system and vehicle,” wherein said vehicle may be defined as, (Paragraph [0086], Lines 5-8) “Seaplanes are aircraft that land on water, and they fit into two broad classes: Flying boats are supported on the water by their fuselage. A float plane's fuselage remains clear of the water at all times, the aircraft being supported by two or more floats attached to the fuselage and/or wings. Some examples of both flying boats and float planes are amphibious, being able to take off from and alight on both land and water,” wherein, (Paragraph [0015]) “FIG. 8 shows the power flow of the hybrid design with one ICE and one EM, including optional charging (photovoltaic, fuel cells, other) of batteries.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the seaplane of They with the explicit hybrid prolusion vehicle capable of being implemented in a seaplane as taught by Koster, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known hybrid transmission implementation of a vehicle’s powerplant which yield energy savings. As Koster describes, (Paragraph [0004]) “In a typical hybrid transmission for, e.g., an aeronautical vehicle, a first engine/motor is connected to the sun gear, a second engine/motor is connected to the planet carrier; the ring gear combines and transmits power (torque) to the propeller. The motors can be of same kind, such as dual electric motors, dual internal combustion engines, or a combination of electric motor and internal combustion engine,” and additionally in relation to marine vessel like thrusters, (Page 27, Lines 7-9) “An outboard motor is a propulsion system for boats that can be used as a torque or power source for clutchless c-axial hybrid transmission system, consisting of a self-contained unit that includes engine, gearbox and propeller or jet drive.”
Claim 102 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 101 wherein the hybrid propulsion system comprises a first engine connected to a fuel source and a second engine connected to the electric power source wherein the first engine comprises a combustion engine that can be coupled to a propeller shaft and wherein the second engine comprises an electric motor that can be coupled to a propeller shaft”
They does not teach the preceding limitations.
Koster does teach the preceding limitations.
Koster teaches, (Paragraph [0015]) “FIG. 8 shows the power flow of the hybrid design with one ICE and one EM, including optional charging (photovoltaic, fuel cells, other) of batteries,” wherein, (Paragraph [0040], Lines 7-9) “Torque can be applied to the output (e.g., propeller) by operating the first torque source (e.g., an internal combustion engine) and the second torque source (e.g., an electric motor) individually or cooperatively.”
“and further comprising a hybrid propulsion system controller connected to the flight control system wherein the hybrid system controller is programmed to switch between the first engine and the second engine to drive rotation of a propeller shaft with a transmission system.”
Koster teaches, (Paragraph [0023], Lines 6-8) “The source of the first torque (e.g., the internal combustion engine) connects to the sun gear via an inner shaft, and the source of the second torque (e.g., the electric motor) connects the planet carrier via an outer hollow shaft,” wherein, (Paragraph 0042], Lines 11-12) “The control system is capable of switching between the two different throttling mechanisms from the ground.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the seaplane of They with the explicit hybrid propulsion vehicle capable of being implemented in a seaplane as taught by Koster, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known hybrid transmission implementation of a vehicles powerplant which yield energy savings. As Koster describes, (Paragraph [0004]) “In a typical hybrid transmission for, e.g., an aeronautical vehicle, a first engine/motor is connected to the sun gear, a second engine/motor is connected to the planet carrier; the ring gear combines and transmits power (torque) to the propeller. The motors can be of same kind, such as dual electric motors, dual internal combustion engines, or a combination of electric motor and internal combustion engine.” Combining the references additionally provides safety benefits from powerplant redundancy. As Koster describes, (Paragraph [0025]) “With the dual engine/motor hybrid system, should one engine/motor fail during operation/flight, the second engine/motor can seamlessly take over propulsion and thereby increase safety by providing safe landing opportunities.”
Claim 106 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 101 further comprising a cockpit in the aircraft wherein a pilot operates the flight control system of the aircraft and the water propulsion system of the aircraft and further comprising a manual controller in the cockpit for operating the water propulsion system, the manual controller being connected to the electronic controller,”
They teaches, (Page 19, Column 7, Lines 8-14) “Any electrically operable actuating means may be used that enables remote actuation of the solenoid valve from within the cockpit of the aircraft. For example, the actuating means is an electrically actuated plunger that is in operable communication with the control console located in the cockpit.”
They additionally teaches, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 39-49) “The control console optionally has a remote control. The remote control has control buttons to move the aircraft in the forward or reverse directions for proper alignment with the dock before being manually secured thereto. A cavity or pocket or other suitable space is formed on the side of the control console enclosure for removably securing the remote control within the control console. The remote control is in wireless communication with the control console. This enables use of the remote control either from within the amphibious aircraft, or from the dock in the proximity of the aircraft,” wherein it may be further applicable to a pilot for manual control.
“ wherein the flotation surface comprises a first float and a second float, each float being attached to the aircraft fuselage wherein the flotation surface comprises a first float flotation surface on the first float and a second float flotation surface on the second float.”
They teaches, (Abstract, Lines 6-8) “the steering means is a propulsion system with a pair of tunnel-type thrusters mounted inside the floats in the aircraft,” the aircraft of which comprising a fuselage with a left and right structure comprising the thrusters/floats mounted on each side as seen in Fig. 2C and Figs 3A-3B.
Claim 109 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim101 wherein the water propulsion device comprises a first float electric motor that drives a first waterjet mounted to the first float and a second float electric motor that drives a second water jet connected to the second float,”
They teaches, (Abstract, Lines 6-8) “the steering means is a propulsion system with a pair of tunnel-type thrusters mounted inside the floats in the aircraft.”
“the first electric motor and the second electric motor being controlled by the electronic controller and further comprising a first float electric motor controller connected to the first float electric motor and a second float electric motor controller connected to the second float electric motor, each float electric motor controller being connected to the electronic controller.”
They teaches, (Page 15, Column 6, Lines 16-19) “a power source, for example, a direct current power source that delivers about 14 volts to about 35 volts, in electrical communication with the thruster, the thruster deployment assembly and the control console.”
Claim 111 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 101 … and wherein the electric power source one or more batteries that provide power to at least the water propulsion system and further comprising a power management system that controls delivery of electrical power to the water propulsion system, the power management system connected to a first battery in a first float and a second battery in a second float.”
They teaches, (Abstract, Lines 6-8) “the steering means is a propulsion system with a pair of tunnel-type thrusters mounted inside the floats in the aircraft.”
They additionally teaches, (Page 15, Column 6, Lines 16-19) “a power source, for example, a direct current power source that delivers about 14 volts to about 35 volts, in electrical communication with the thruster, the thruster deployment assembly and the control console.”
“wherein the aircraft comprises one or more wings having flight control surfaces operative in response to the flight control system and a fuel tank that supplies fuel to the aircraft engine”
They does not explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
However, it would have been obvious to arrive at the preceding limitations in light of Koster.
Koster teaches, (Paragraph [0056], Lines 1-5) “One optional form of propulsion for unmanned and manned aeronautical, marine or amphibious vehicles that can be included for use with a clutchless c-axial hybrid transmission system include the use of a propeller or airscrew operably linked to a propulsion drive shaft. A propeller or airscrew comprises a set of small, wing-like aero foils set around a central hub which spins on an axis aligned in the direction of travel. Spinning the propeller creates aerodynamic lift, or thrust, in a forward direction.”
Koster additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0075], Lines 1-3) “An internal combustion engine is an engine in which the combustion of a fuel (which can be, but is not limited to, a fossil fuel or hydrocarbon) occurs with an oxidizer (usually air or other combustible/gas or gas mixture) in a combustion chamber.” Koster always describes in relation to marine thruster that the system may comprise, (Paragraph [0096]), “integral fuel tanks,” a person of ordinary skill in the art of which would understand would also be well known to supply fuel to an ICE designed for flight.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the seaplane of They with the explicit air foil and fuel tank components of Koster, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of being able to provide fuel and control the flight direction of a hybrid aircraft. As Koster describes, (Paragraph [0056], Lines 1-5) “One optional form of propulsion for unmanned and manned aeronautical, marine or amphibious vehicles that can be included for use with a clutchless c-axial hybrid transmission system include the use of a propeller or airscrew operably linked to a propulsion drive shaft. A propeller or airscrew comprises a set of small, wing-like aero foils set around a central hub which spins on an axis aligned in the direction of travel. Spinning the propeller creates aerodynamic lift, or thrust, in a forward direction,” and additionally describes, (Paragraph [0075]) “An internal combustion engine is an engine in which the combustion of a fuel … In an internal combustion engine the expansion of the high-temperature and -pressure gases produced by combustion applies direct force to some component of the engine, such as pistons, turbine blades, or a nozzle. This force moves the component over a distance, generating useful mechanical energy.”
Claim 127 Discloses: (New)
“A aircraft control system for controlling propulsion of an aircraft comprising: an aircraft having a fuselage,”
They teaches, (Abstract, Lines 6-8) “the steering means is a propulsion system with a pair of tunnel-type thrusters mounted inside the floats in the aircraft,” the aircraft of which comprising a fuselage with a left and right structure comprising the thrusters/floats mounted on each side as seen in Fig. 2C and Figs 3A-3B.
“a flight control system,”
They teaches, (Page 16, Column 1, Lines 8-9) “The present invention is in the field of aircraft control systems,” wherein (Page 20, Column 9, Lines 36-40) “The control console comprises a mode selector switch 1 that enables a user to switch the aircraft from flight mode 2 to taxi mode 3 and vice versa.”
“an electric propulsion system including an electric motor for propelled airborne flight, an electronic controller and a flotation system having a flotation surface; and a battery system within the flotation system and electrically connected to the propulsion system.”
They does not explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
Robertson does teach the preceding limitations.
Robertson teaches, (Paragraph [0058], Lines 4-8) “the float (400) includes 5 batteries (402), one for each rotor on this side of the multicopter. By having an independent battery for each rotor (404), multiple rotors will not fail if a single battery goes out.”
Robertson additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0041]) “From the front view shown in diagram 300, floats (304) are visible … As will be described in more detail below, the floats are also used to store the batteries which power the rotors,” wherein, (Paragraph [0064]) “Putting the batteries and electronics (e.g., rotor controller for each rotor) in the floats also shortens the electrical lines running between the batteries and electronics in the float and the rotors which they power and control. Shorter lines mean less power loss (e.g., for the shorter power lines running from the batteries) and better control of the rotors (e.g., for the shorter control lines running from the rotor controllers),”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the waterjet propulsion system, the overall seaplane of which comprising floats as taught by They, with the explicit methodology of placing the batteries in the floats as taught by Robertson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of battery failure redundancy and overall pilot safety. As Robertson describes, (Paragraph [0058]) “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a float which includes batteries … By having an independent battery for each rotor (404), multiple rotors will not fail if a single battery goes out,” and additionally describes that, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 1-5) “Storing the batteries in the float may be desirable for safety reasons. In the event of a hard landing (assuming the aircraft does not flip over), the batteries will strike the ground before the pilot will, absorbing much of the kinetic energy of the impact and reducing impact force on the pilot.”
Claim 128 Discloses: (New)
“The system of claim 127, wherein the electric motor comprises a first electric motor connected to a battery of the battery system..”
They teaches, (Page 15, Column 6, Lines 16-19) “a power source, for example, a direct current power source that delivers about 14 volts to about 35 volts, in electrical communication with the thruster, the thruster deployment assembly and the control console,” wherein for example, (Page 20, Column 9, Lines 55-57) “A hold button 10 enables a user to “nose” the aircraft up to a dock by bringing the thrusters to full power.”
Claim 129 Discloses: (New)
“The system of claim 127, further comprising a power management system that controls delivery of electrical power to the electric propulsion system.”
They teaches, (Page 15, Column 6, Lines 16-19) “a power source, for example, a direct current power source that delivers about 14 volts to about 35 volts, in electrical communication with the thruster, the thruster deployment assembly and the control console,” wherein for example, (Page 20, Column 9, Lines 55-57) “A hold button 10 enables a user to “nose” the aircraft up to a dock by bringing the thrusters to full power.”
Claim 130 Discloses: (New)
“The system of claim 129, wherein the power management system connected to a first battery in a first float and a second battery in a second float.”
They does not explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
Robertson does teach the preceding limitations.
Robertson teaches, (Paragraph [0041]) “From the front view shown in diagram 300, floats (304) are visible … As will be described in more detail below, the floats are also used to store the batteries which power the rotors,” wherein, (Paragraph [0064]) “Putting the batteries and electronics (e.g., rotor controller for each rotor) in the floats also shortens the electrical lines running between the batteries and electronics in the float and the rotors which they power and control. Shorter lines mean less power loss (e.g., for the shorter power lines running from the batteries) and better control of the rotors (e.g., for the shorter control lines running from the rotor controllers),” wherein, (Paragraph [0067], Lines 6-8) “the cover is sealed over the opening using an externally-applied adhesive, such as a waterproof tape.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the waterjet propulsion system, the overall seaplane of which comprising floats as taught by They, with the explicit methodology of placing the batteries in the floats as taught by Robertson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of battery failure redundancy and overall pilot safety. As Robertson describes, (Paragraph [0058]) “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a float which includes batteries … By having an independent battery for each rotor (404), multiple rotors will not fail if a single battery goes out,” and additionally describes that, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 1-5) “Storing the batteries in the float may be desirable for safety reasons. In the event of a hard landing (assuming the aircraft does not flip over), the batteries will strike the ground before the pilot will, absorbing much of the kinetic energy of the impact and reducing impact force on the pilot.”
Claim 131 Discloses: (New)
“The system of claim 127, wherein the propulsion system further comprises a water propulsion system that is mounted to a bracket with the water intake and exhaust along the longitudinal axis within the flotation system.”
They teaches, (Page 18, Column 5, Lines 21-28) “the propulsion system is a jet drive propulsion system comprising a pair or jet drives, each jet drive mounted on or in a float on the amphibious aircraft, comprising a waterproof drive motor with a shaft disposed axially therethrough; and an impeller assembly with an impeller intake port, a tunnel opening configured to receive the shaft therein, and an impeller discharge port at an axially opposing end to the tunnel opening,” wherein, (Page 18, Column 5, Lines 49-51) “each of the jet drives may be mounted onto an inner surface of the float on the amphibious aircraft.”
Claim 132 Discloses: (New)
“The system of claim 127, further comprising a cockpit in the aircraft wherein a pilot operates the flight control system that includes a manual controller in the cockpit for operating the water propulsion system, the manual controller being connected to the electronic controller..”
They teaches, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 39-49) “The control console optionally has a remote control. The remote control has control buttons to move the aircraft in the forward or reverse directions for proper alignment with the dock before being manually secured thereto. A cavity or pocket or other suitable space is formed on the side of the control console enclosure for removably securing the remote control within the control console. The remote control is in wireless communication with the control console. This enables use of the remote control either from within the amphibious aircraft, or from the dock in the proximity of the aircraft,” wherein it may be further applicable to a pilot for manual control.
Claims 116 and 134 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over They in view of Koster, further in view of Robertson.
Claim 116 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 101 wherein the electronic controller has a first operating mode without operation of the hybrid propulsion system such that the aircraft is propelled across the water surface solely by the water propulsion system and wherein the electronic controller has a second operating mode to control the water propulsion system during takeoff of the aircraft from the water surface”
They teaches, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 10-15) “The mode selector switch enables a user to switch the aircraft between flight mode and taxi mode. Moving the switch to taxi mode provides power to the jet-drive system or the tunnel thruster propulsion system. Similarly, moving the switch to flight mode cuts power to the steering systems.”
They additionally teaches, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 39-49) “The control console optionally has a remote control. The remote control has control buttons to move the aircraft in the forward or reverse directions for proper alignment with the dock before being manually secured thereto. A cavity or pocket or other suitable space is formed on the side of the control console enclosure for removably securing the remote control within the control console. The remote control is in wireless communication with the control console. This enables use of the remote control either from within the amphibious aircraft, or from the dock in the proximity of the aircraft,” wherein it may be further applicable to a pilot for manual control.
Notably, as the warning of Figure 1E portrays, the unit must be in flight mode to initiate takeoff.
“and further comprising at least one of a sensor that senses a condition of the hybrid propulsion system wherein the sensor that senses a condition of the electric power system including a battery that provides power to the water propulsion system, a temperature sensor.”
They and Koster do not explicitly teach the temperature sensor of the preceding limitations.
Robertson does teach the preceding limitations.
Robertson teaches, (Paragraph [0041]) “From the front view shown in diagram 300, floats (304) are visible … As will be described in more detail below, the floats are also used to store the batteries which power the rotors,” wherein, (Paragraph [0064]) “Putting the batteries and electronics (e.g., rotor controller for each rotor) in the floats also shortens the electrical lines running between the batteries and electronics in the float and the rotors which they power and control. Shorter lines mean less power loss (e.g., for the shorter power lines running from the batteries) and better control of the rotors (e.g., for the shorter control lines running from the rotor controllers).”
Robertson teaches, (Paragraph [0077], Lines 1-5) “In some embodiments, a thermometer is used to track and/or measure the temperature of the battery (604). For example, each battery in FIG. 4 may have a built-in digital thermometer (e.g., in the same can or package as the battery cells).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the waterjet propulsion system, the overall seaplane of which comprises floats as taught by They and Koster, with the explicit methodology of placing the batteries in the floats and monitoring the temperature as taught by Robertson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of battery failure redundancy and overall pilot safety. As Robertson describes, (Paragraph [0058]) “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a float which includes batteries … By having an independent battery for each rotor (404), multiple rotors will not fail if a single battery goes out,” and additionally describes that, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 1-5) “Storing the batteries in the float may be desirable for safety reasons. In the event of a hard landing (assuming the aircraft does not flip over), the batteries will strike the ground before the pilot will, absorbing much of the kinetic energy of the impact and reducing impact force on the pilot.”
Claim 134 Discloses: (New)
“… wherein the flotation surface is attached to the aircraft fuselage,”
They teaches, (Abstract, Lines 6-8) “the steering means is a propulsion system with a pair of tunnel-type thrusters mounted inside the floats in the aircraft,” the aircraft of which comprising a fuselage with a left and right structure comprising the floats/thrusters mounted on each side as seen in Fig. 2C and Figs 3A-3B.
“the aircraft further comprising … and one or more batteries providing electrical power to the aircraft.”
They teaches, (Page 15, Column 6, Lines 16-19) “a power source, for example, a direct current power source that delivers about 14 volts to about 35 volts, in electrical communication with the thruster, the thruster deployment assembly and the control consol.,”
“The system of claim 127, … one or more wings having flight control surfaces operative in response to the flight control system”
Figure 2C of They portrays an aircraft having wings.
They and Robertson do not explicitly teach wing flight control surfaces operative in response to the flight control system.
However, it would have been obvious to arrive at the preceding limitations in light of Koster.
Koster teaches, (Paragraph [0056], Lines 1-5) “One optional form of propulsion for unmanned and manned aeronautical, marine or amphibious vehicles that can be included for use with a clutchless c-axial hybrid transmission system include the use of a propeller or airscrew operably linked to a propulsion drive shaft. A propeller or airscrew comprises a set of small, wing-like aero foils set around a central hub which spins on an axis aligned in the direction of travel. Spinning the propeller creates aerodynamic lift, or thrust, in a forward direction.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the seaplane of They with the explicit aero foil components of Koster, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of being able to control the flight direction of a hybrid aircraft. As Koster describes, (Paragraph [0056], Lines 1-5) “One optional form of propulsion for unmanned and manned aeronautical, marine or amphibious vehicles that can be included for use with a clutchless c-axial hybrid transmission system include the use of a propeller or airscrew operably linked to a propulsion drive shaft. A propeller or airscrew comprises a set of small, wing-like aero foils set around a central hub which spins on an axis aligned in the direction of travel. Spinning the propeller creates aerodynamic lift, or thrust, in a forward direction.”
Claim 122 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over They in view of Koster, further in view of Bamba., (US 2016/0311510 A1, hereinafter Bamba) further in view of Bower.
Claim 122 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim[[s]] 101 wherein the aircraft comprises an unmanned autonomous vehicle or wherein the aircraft comprises a cockpit having a flight control panel with at least one display”
They teaches, (Page 19, Column 7, Lines 8-14) “Any electrically operable actuating means may be used that enables remote actuation of the solenoid valve from within the cockpit of the aircraft. For example, the actuating means is an electrically actuated plunger that is in operable communication with the control console located in the cockpit.”
They additionally teaches, (Page 19, Column 8, Lines 39-49) “The control console optionally has a remote control. The remote control has control buttons to move the aircraft in the forward or reverse directions for proper alignment with the dock before being manually secured thereto. A cavity or pocket or other suitable space is formed on the side of the control console enclosure for removably securing the remote control within the control console. The remote control is in wireless communication with the control console. This enables use of the remote control either from within the amphibious aircraft, or from the dock in the proximity of the aircraft,” wherein it may be further applicable to a pilot for manual control.
“and further comprising a display configured to operate a graphic user interface wherein the display is connected to the electronic controller to receive water propulsion data and hybrid propulsion system data that is displayed on the display”
They and Koster do not teach preceding limitations involving the graphic user interface.
Bamba does teach the preceding limitations.
Bamba is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Abstract, Line 1) “A vessel display device [which] displays information on a vessel.”
Bamba teaches, (Abstract, Lines 13-16) “display information generator may generate display information which sequentially displays the same type of information on the plurality of propulsion machines,” (Paragraph [0122], Lines 10-13) “the prime mover of the propulsion machine may be an electric motor or a hybrid type in which an internal combustion engine and an electric motor are combined.”
Bamba additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0069], Lines 1-6) “A display screen 60 displayed on the display 41 of the touch panel 40 by the supply of the display information from the processor 43 includes, in the example of FIG. 3, three engine rotation speed display portions 65P, 65C, and 65S that respectively display the engine rotation speeds of the three propulsion machines 3P, 3C, and 3S,” and that, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 10-12) “The vessel operation screen is, for example, a screen that includes an operation button for an automatic vessel operation.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the control console display of They with the hybrid aircraft systems and graphical user interface of Koster and Bamba, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of displaying pertinent information in an uncluttered fashion to an operator so that they may make applicable control decisions. As Bamba describes, (Paragraph [0012], Lines 1-6) “In this arrangement, the same type of information on a plurality of propulsion machines included in the vessel is displayed on a single scale. Hence, since the same type of information on a plurality of propulsion machines is displayed in a small display region, the display region is effectively utilized.”
“and wherein the electric power source further comprises a battery mounted in the fuselage and a battery management circuit connected to the battery.”
They, Koster, and Bamba do not explicitly teach a battery mounted in a fuselage of the aircraft.
However it would have been obvious to a arrive at the preceding limitations in light of Bower.
Bower is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Title) “Systems and Methods for power Distribution in Electric Aircraft.”
Bower particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 1-8) “FIG. 2A illustrates a power distribution architecture for powering the EPUs (112, 114) of aircraft 100, according to various embodiments. Although FIGS. 1A-2A illustrate 12 EPUS (numbered 1-12 in FIG. 2A) mounted to wings 104 aircraft according to various embodiments can have any suitable number of EPUs, including four, six, eight, ten, fourteen, eighteen, twenty, or more. The EPUs are powered by a plurality of battery packs 200,” wherein, (Paragraph [0079], Lines 1-5) “The battery packs for powering the EPUs can be located in any suitable locations of the aircraft, including in the fuselage and/or the wings. The number and power of the EPUs can be selected according to the desired performance parameters (e.g., target payload, airspeed, and altitude),” and that, (Paragraph [0075], Lines 1-3) “FIG. 3 is a block diagram of circuitry connecting one battery pack 300 to a pair of EPUs 302, 304, according to various embodiments.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combining the systems of They, Koster, and Bamba with an additional battery located in a fuselage as evidenced by Bower, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would implement a well-known location for an additional battery placement to meet the performance parameters of a particular flight application. As Bower describes, (Paragraph [0079], Lines 1-5) “The battery packs for powering the EPUs can be located in any suitable locations of the aircraft, including in the fuselage and/or the wings. The number and power of the EPUs can be selected according to the desired performance parameters (e.g., target payload, airspeed, and altitude).”
RELEVANT, BUT NOT CITED PRIOR ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Wiplinger (US 11,208,210 B2) teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “The invention provides a firefighting float plane having a fuselage and two floats mounted to the fuselage.”
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664