DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it refers to the purported merits of the invention. Corrections are required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Furthermore, the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The disclosure does not recite that the application claims the benefits of an international application, PCT/CN2023/135755 filed on 01/12/2023. The applicant is reminded to update the continuity data of their invention. Correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 should recite “the at least two temperature control modules” in line 3, instead of “the temperature control modules”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the pressure control module" in 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2013145788 to Okuda (hereinafter “Okuda”, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Okuda teaches a cleaning process of a chemical vapor deposition furnace (English translation [0025, and 0065], and figure 1) comprising the steps of sealing a chamber with a layer to be cleaned inside, setting the environmental condition inside the chamber (English translation [0085-0089]), introducing cleaning gas from the bottom of the chamber (English translation [0034 and 0090], and figure 1), cleaning the layer to be cleaned in the chamber, wherein setting the environmental condition inside the chamber includes that the temperature inside the chamber is controlled from bottom to top in a gradient from high to low (English translation [0085-0096]).
Regarding claim 2, Okuda further teaches that the cleaning gas is a fluorinated gas (e.g., fluorine gas, nitrogen trifluoride gas, and chlorine trifluoride gas) (English translation [0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Okuda further teaches that after the layer to be cleaned in the chamber is cleaned, nitrogen gas is continuously introduced into the chamber for a period of time to remove any foreign matter (reads on “by-product”) present in the chamber (English translation [0095]).
Regarding claim 9, Okuda teaches a chemical vapor deposition furnace with a cleaning function (English translation [0025, and 0055-0057, and 0085-0088] and figure 1) comprising at least two temperature control modules for heating a sealed chamber of the furnace (figure 1, #207a to 207e) (English translation [0030-0032]), a control module (figure 1, #121, control unit) configured to control the temperature control modules to adjust the environmental condition inside the chamber (English translation [0032 and 0059]), and controlling cleaning gas to be introduced to the chamber from the bottom of the chamber (English translation [0034 and 0090], and figure 1) to clean a layer to be cleaned in the chamber, wherein the environmental condition includes that the temperature inside the chamber is controlled from bottom to top in a gradient from high to low (English translation [0085-0096]).
Regarding claim 10, Okuda further teaches that each temperature control module comprises at least one heating unit (English translation [0030-0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2013145788 to Okuda (hereinafter “Okuda”, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 3, Okuda does not teach that setting the environmental condition inside the chamber comprises that the pressure inside the chamber is set to 0.1-1.2 torr.
However, the pressure inside the chamber is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the pressure inside the chamber is too low, it risks insufficient removal of contaminants from the chamber, while if the pressure inside the chamber is too high, it risks safety and equipment damage. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate pressure inside the chamber with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
Regarding claim 4, Okuda teaches that the temperature of the second zone (figure 1, #207e) (temperature at the bottom of the chamber) is set higher than the temperatures of the first zones (figure 1, #207a to 207d) (temperature at the top of the chamber) (English translation [0087]).
However, Okuda does not teach that the temperature at the bottom of the chamber is 15-30°C higher than the temperature at the top of the chamber.
However, the temperatures at the bottom and top of the chamber are result effective variables. For example, if the temperature at the bottom of the chamber and/or the temperature at the top of the chamber is too low, it risks insufficient removal of contaminants from the chamber, while if the temperature at the bottom of the chamber and/or the temperature at the top of the chamber is too high, it wastes energy. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate temperature at the bottom and top of the chamber with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
Regarding claim 8, Okuda teaches that after the layer to be cleaned in the chamber is cleaned, nitrogen gas is continuously introduced into the chamber for a period of time to remove any foreign matter present in the chamber (English translation [0095]).
Okuda does not teach that the flow rate of the nitrogen gas introduced into the chamber is 1.5SL- 2SL, and that the nitrogen gas is continuously introduced for a period of 3-5 minutes.
However, the flow rate at which the nitrogen gas is introduced into the chamber is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the flow rate of nitrogen gas is too low, it risks insufficient removal of byproducts from the chamber, while if the flow rate of nitrogen gas is too high, it risks excessive dilution of the cleaning gas, and/or wastes the nitrogen gas. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate flow rate of nitrogen gas with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
In addition, the amount of time that the nitrogen gas is introduced into the chamber is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the amount of time that the nitrogen gas is introduced into the chamber is too low, it risks insufficient removal of byproducts from the chamber, while if the amount of time that the nitrogen gas is introduced into the chamber is too high, it wastes the nitrogen gas. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate amount of time that the nitrogen gas is introduced into the chamber with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
Regarding claim 11, Okuda further teaches that the control module (figure 1, #121, control unit) is configured to control a pressure control module (exhaust system) to adjust the environmental condition inside the chamber, wherein the environmental condition includes the pressure inside the chamber (English translation [0058 and 0059]).
Okuda does not teach that the environmental condition includes that the pressure inside the chamber is 0.1-1.2 torr.
However, since the apparatus of the Okuda teaching includes the structural features of the claimed system, it is the base presumption that the apparatus of the Okuda teaching is fully capable of being used wherein the environmental condition includes that the pressure inside the chamber is 0.1-1.2 torr.
Moreover, the pressure inside the chamber is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the pressure inside the chamber is too low, it risks insufficient removal of contaminants from the chamber, while if the pressure inside the chamber is too high, it risks safety and equipment damage. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate pressure inside the chamber with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
Claims 5, 6, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2013145788 to Okuda (hereinafter “Okuda”, see attached English translation) in view of CN101134202 to Pinru et al. (hereinafter “Pinru”, presented in the IDS filed on 06/09/2025, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 5, Okuda does not teach that after the layer to be cleaned in the chamber is cleaned, the cleaning gas is continuously introduced for a period of time.
Pinru teaches a method for automatically determining the endpoint of the cleaning process of reactor tubes comprising the step of introducing a clean gas into a reaction furnace tube, causing the clean gas to undergo a chemical reaction at a specific temperature, measuring the temperature at multiple locations on the reactor tubes, monitoring the temperature change at one of the aforementioned locations until the temperature converges to within the allowable deviation value for a specific temperature, and performing an over-etching step for a period of time after the temperature has converged at all locations of the reactor tube to remove any deposits still attached to the inner wall of the reactor tube. (English translation [0011, and 0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Okuda wherein after the layer to be cleaned in the chamber is cleaned, the cleaning gas is continuously introduced for a period of time, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of removing any deposits still attached to the inner wall of the chamber as disclosed by Pinru (English translation [0011, and 0030] of Pinru).
Regarding claim 6, Okuda/Pinru does not teach that after the layer to be cleaned in the chamber is cleaned, the time for continuously introducing the cleaning gas is 3-5 minutes.
However, the amount of time that the cleaning gas is introduced into the chamber after the layer to be cleaned in the chamber is cleaned is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the amount of time that the cleaning gas is introduced into the chamber after the layer to be cleaned in the chamber is cleaned is too low, it risks insufficient removal of deposits and/or contaminants attached to inner walls of the chamber, while if the amount of time that the cleaning gas is introduced into the chamber after the layer to be cleaned in the chamber is cleaned is too high, it wastes the cleaning gas and/or risks equipment damage. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate amount of time that the cleaning gas is introduced into the chamber with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
Regarding claim 12, Okuda/Pinru further teaches that after the layer to be cleaned in the chamber is cleaned, nitrogen gas is continuously introduced into the chamber for a period of time to remove any foreign matter (reads on “by-product”) present in the chamber (English translation [0095] of Okuda).
Regarding claim 13, Okuda/Pinru teaches that after the layer to be cleaned in the chamber is cleaned, nitrogen gas is continuously introduced into the chamber for a period of time to remove any foreign matter present in the chamber (English translation [0095] of Okuda).
Okuda/Pinru does not teach that the flow rate of the nitrogen gas introduced into the chamber is 1.5SL- 2SL, and that the nitrogen gas is continuously introduced for a period of 3-5 minutes.
However, the flow rate at which the nitrogen gas is introduced into the chamber is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the flow rate of nitrogen gas is too low, it risks insufficient removal of byproducts from the chamber, while if the flow rate of nitrogen gas is too high, it risks excessive dilution of the cleaning gas, and/or wastes the nitrogen gas. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate flow rate of nitrogen gas with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
In addition, the amount of time that the nitrogen gas is introduced into the chamber is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the amount of time that the nitrogen gas is introduced into the chamber is too low, it risks insufficient removal of byproducts from the chamber, while if the amount of time that the nitrogen gas is introduced into the chamber is too high, it wastes the nitrogen gas. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate amount of time that the nitrogen gas is introduced into the chamber with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
Conclusion
/A.I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714