Detailed Action
This is the final office action for US application number 19/137,361. Claims are evaluated as filed on August 31, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the a method comprising both “a hook having a first portion that curves above a longitudinal axis of the shaft” and “positioning a first portion of the offset drill guide beneath a meniscus and above a tibial plateau such that the hook extends over a tibial edge” of claims 11 and 10-11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 7-8 should read “a hook at the distal end of the offset drill guide, the hook having a first portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1 recites/recite the limitation "the distal end of the medical instrument " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “an offset drill guide at [[the]]a distal end of the medical instrument”.
Claim(s) 1 is/are unclear with regards to “an offset drill guide at the distal end of the medical instrument having a proximal and distal end connected to the shaft at the proximal end of the offset drill guide” in line 4-5 and how it can be reasonably construed that the distal end of the medical instrument has a proximal and distal end that are connected to the shaft at a proximal end of the offset drill guide as claimed when line 2 provides that the handle is at a proximal end of the instrument and line 7 provides that the hook is at the distal end as shown in Fig. 1A. Further, the intended effect on the scope of claiming that the distal end comprises a proximal and distal end is unclear. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “an offset drill guide at [[the]]a distal end of the medical instrument, the offset drill guide having a proximal and distal end, wherein the proximal end of the offset drill guide is connected to the shaft
Claim(s) 9 recites/recite the limitation "the medical device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “from the distal end of the medical instrument.”.
Claim(s) 2-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for its/their dependence on one or more rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Petersen et al. (US 2009/0143784, hereinafter “Petersen”).
As to claim 1, Petersen discloses a medical instrument (28, 14) comprising: a handle (14) at a proximal end (upper end as shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 1); a shaft (34, 36) connected to the handle (Fig. 1); and an offset drill guide (38) at a distal end of the medical instrument (lower end as shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 1), the offset drill guide having a proximal and distal end (upper end and lower end, respectively, as shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 1), wherein the proximal end of the offset drill guide is connected to the shaft (Fig. 1), the offset drill guide comprising one or more openings (50, 42) at the proximal end of the offset drill guide (Figs. 1 and 1a) and a hook (see illustration of Fig. 1a, Fig. 1a) at the distal end of the offset drill guide (Figs. 1 and 1a), the hook having a first portion (see illustration of Fig. 1a, Fig. 1a) that curves above a longitudinal axis of the shaft (see illustration of Fig. 1a, Figs. 1 and 1a) and a second portion (see illustration of Fig. 1a, Fig. 1a) that extends below the longitudinal axis of the shaft (Figs. 1 and 1a).
As to claim 2, Petersen discloses that the offset drill guide further comprises: a channel (46) that extends from the one or more openings to the distal end of the offset drill guide such that the hook is forked (Figs. 1 and 1a).
As to claim 5, Petersen discloses that the shaft is substantially circular in cross-section (Figs. 1 and 1a).
As to claim 6, Petersen discloses that the offset drill guide is substantially flat (Figs. 1 and 1a).
As to claim 7, Petersen discloses that the offset drill guide is one or more of a single piece (Figs. 1 and 1a) with the shaft and connected to the shaft via a fusion, welding, crimping, or soldering process (Figs. 1 and 1a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen.
As to claim 3, Petersen discloses the invention of claim 2 as well as the distance 48 being approximately 8-10 mm (¶63), which is shown on Fig. 1a, and therefore appears to show that the channel has a width of about 1mm (Fig. 1a).
Petersen is silent to an express disclosure that the channel has a width of about 1mm.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention specify that the width of the channel of Petersen is about 1mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change/specification in the size of a component in order to enable lateral passage of the target wire therethrough (Petersen Figs. 6 and 7, ¶s 74 and 81) as the device is removed from the operation site (Petersen Figs. 6 and 7, ¶s 74 and 81). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 4, Petersen discloses the invention of claim 1 as well as the distance 48 being approximately 8-10 mm (¶63), which is shown on Fig. 1a, and therefore appears to show that the offset drill guide has a length of about 0.75in and a width of about 0.25in (Fig. 1a), i.e. a length of about 19 mm and a width of about 6.4 mm.
Petersen is silent to an express disclosure that the length is about 0.75in and the width is about 0.25in.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention specify the length and the width of the offset drill guide of Petersen as the length is about 0.75in and the width is about 0.25in, since such a modification would have involved a mere change/specification in the size of a component in order to serve to target and introduce bore channels into a tibia in the vicinity of a knee joint during ligament reconstruction (Petersen Figs. 2-7, abstract). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 9, Petersen discloses the invention of claim 1 as well as the distance 48 being approximately 8-10 mm (¶63), which is shown on Fig. 1a, and therefore appears to show that the one or more openings are located one of about 4mm, about 6mm, or about 8mm from the distal end of the medical instrument (Fig. 1a).
Petersen is silent to an express disclosure that the one or more openings are located one of about 4mm, about 6mm, or about 8mm from the distal end of the medical instrument.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention specify that the one or more openings of Petersen are located one of about 4mm, about 6mm, or about 8mm from the distal end of the medical instrument, since such a modification would have involved a mere change/specification in the size of a component in order to serve to target and introduce bore channels into a tibia in the vicinity of a knee joint during ligament reconstruction (Petersen Figs. 2-7, abstract). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen in view of McGuire (US 5,681,320).
As to claim 8, Petersen discloses the invention of claim 1 as well as at least one of the one or more openings (52 is disclosed to be elongate in ¶61, Figs. 1 and 1a, ¶61) comprises first and third circular portions (top and bottom portions of 52 as shown in Fig. 1a, Fig. 1a) aligned along a longitudinal axis of the offset drill guide (Fig. 1a) and the distance 48 being approximately 8-10 mm (¶63) and the length of the longer axis of opening 52 is approximately 8-10 mm (¶64), which is shown on Fig. 1a, and therefore appears to show that the at least one of the one or more openings having a diameter of about 1.6 mm to about 5.6 mm (Fig. 1a).
Petersen is silent to a second circular portion that partially overlaps each of the first and third circular portions as well as an express disclosure that the one or more openings having a diameter of about 1.6 mm to about 5.6 mm.
McGuire teaches a similar medical instrument (60, Figs. 7a and 7b, col. 6 lines 39-40) comprising: a drill guide (col. 6 lines 39-40) comprising one or more openings (Fig. 7B), wherein the one or more openings comprise first, second, and third circular portions (left 66, 64, and right 66 respectively, Fig. 7b) aligned along a longitudinal axis of the drill guide (Fig. 7b, col. 6 line 65), wherein the second circular portion partially overlaps each of the first and third circular portions (Fig. 7b).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the at least one of the one or more openings that comprises first and third circular portions as disclosed by Petersen to include a second circular portion that partially overlaps each of the first and third circular portions as taught by McGuire in order to form two parallel columns on opposite sides of the central column (McGuire col. 6 lines 50-52) to provide space for a tendon/ligament alongside a bone plug (McGuire Figs. 5 and 6, col. 7 lines 11-30). Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention specify that the diameter of the one or more openings of Petersen is about 1.6 mm to about 5.6 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change/specification in the size of a component in order to enable passage of the target wire therethrough (Petersen Figs. 5 and 6, ¶76) or appropriate sizing for a particular patient and correspondingly sized implant. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen in view of Pilgeram et al. (US 2013/0030442, hereinafter “Pilgeram”).
As to claim 10, Petersen discloses the invention of claim 1.
Petersen is silent to one or more measurement lines on the offset drill guide between the one or more openings and the shaft.
Pilgeram teaches a similar medical instrument (Figs. 1-11) comprising: a handle (122) at a proximal end (Fig. 2); a shaft (168, 166) connected to the handle (Fig. 2); and an offset drill guide (162, 170, 176, 178, 169s, i.e. portion of 160 including and below 169s as shown in Figs. 4 and 5, Figs. 4 and 5) at a distal end of the medical instrument (Fig. 2), the offset drill guide having a proximal and distal end (Fig. 2), wherein the proximal end of the offset drill guide is connected to the shaft (Fig. 2), the offset drill guide comprising one or more openings (178, Fig. 2) and a hook (Fig. 2), wherein one or more measurement lines (169s) on the offset drill guide between the one or more openings and the shaft (as defined, Fig 4).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify offset drill guide between the one or more openings and the shaft as disclosed by Petersen by adding measurement lines as taught by Pilgeram in order to indicate a planar distance from the straight first portion to a respective marking line (Pilgeram ¶33) in a drill guide for arthroscopic surgery (Pilgeram ¶7; Petersen Figs. 2-7, abstract) for drilling a tibial tunnel in a tibia for arthroscopic ligament reconstruction (Pilgeram ¶10; Petersen Figs. 2-7, abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775