Detailed Action
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear whether “a direction” that an inner peripheral portion depressed in refers to the any of the previously claimed axial direction and radial direction in claim 1, or a different direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder 20210332979 in view of Salazar Lois 11662096 and as evidenced by Ichihashi 20210055000.
Regarding claim 1, Snyder teaches the invention as claimed: A combustor (58, Fig. 2) of a gas turbine (20, Fig. 1), the combustor (58, Fig. 2) comprising:
a combustion chamber (102);
a swirler (124, Fig. 2 and [0037]) including an outer peripheral surface (an outer surface of 124, marked in solid line in annotated Fig. 4) and an injection port (103, Fig. 2) directed to the combustion chamber (110);
a bulkhead (120, Figs. 2 and 4) fitted to the outer peripheral surface (see Fig. 4 and annotated Fig. 2) of the swirler (124);
a panel (114, Fig. 4) located outside the swirler (124, see Figs. 2 and 4) in a radial direction (annotated Fig. 2) of the swirler (142, see Figs. 2 and 4) so as to cover the bulkhead (120, Figs. 2 and 4) from the combustion chamber (102) while being spaced apart (because of the radial protrusion of 124 radially abuts 114) from the outer peripheral surface (the outer surface of 124, marked in solid line in annotated Fig. 4) of the swirler (124) in the radial direction (annotated Fig. 2) by a radial gap (annotated Fig. 4) and spaced apart from the bulkhead (120) in an axial direction (annotated Fig. 2) of the swirler (124) by an axial gap (an air cavity between 120 and 114, see annotated Fig. 4), a coefficient of thermal expansion of the panel (114) is determined (per [0044], 114 including ceramic matric composite and contact 120); and
a seal ring (160 that forms around hole 134 in Fig. 3B and annotated Fig. 4; per [0043], 160 extending from surface 138 of panel 114; as evidenced by Ichihashi at [0039] and Fig. 3 and 4A, a ring 104 extending from panel 74 and contacting bulkhead 60 forms a seal) that is fitted to the outer peripheral surface (the outer surface of 124, marked in solid line in annotated Fig. 4) of the swirler (124) in the axial gap (the air cavity between 120 and 114, see annotated Fig. 4) and is in contact with (see annotated Fig. 4; note: the claim language does not require the seal ring and the panel are two separated components) the panel (114) in the axial direction (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4), wherein:
the bulkhead (120, Figs. 2 and 4) includes a cooling air hole (a most-radial-inner 174, see annotated Fig. 4) that is open toward the axial gap (the air cavity between 120 and 114, see annotated Fig. 4); and
the panel (114) includes a cooling air hole (where 172 exits the axial gap, see Fig. 3B and annotated Fig. 4) which is located outside the seal ring (160 that forms around hole 134 in Fig. 3B and annotated Fig. 4; per [0043], 160 extending from surface 138 of panel 114; as evidenced by Ichihashi at [0039] and Fig. 3 and 4A, a ring 104 extending from panel 74 and contacting bulkhead 60 forms a seal) in the radial direction (annotated Fig. 2), is open to the axial gap (the air cavity between 120 and 114, see annotated Fig. 4), and makes the axial gap (the air cavity between 120 and 114, see annotated Fig. 4) communicate with the combustion chamber (102; as shown in Fig. 4, airflow 172 exits the axial gap and enters chamber 102).
Snyder as evidenced by Ichihashi does not teach a coefficient of thermal expansion of the panel being smaller than each of a coefficient of thermal expansion of the swirler and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the bulkhead.
However, Salazar Lois teaches a combustor (26) comprising: a swirler (58, Fig. 4), a bulkhead (61) fitted to the swirler (58), a panel (56) located outside the swirler (58) in a radial direction (relative to axis 110, see Fig. 4) of the swirler (58) so as to cover the bulkhead (61) from the combustion chamber (62, Fig. 2) while being spaced apart from the bulkhead (61) in an axial direction (relative to axis 110, see Fig. 4) of the swirler (58) by an axial gap (see Fig. 4), a coefficient of thermal expansion of the panel (56) being smaller than each of a coefficient of thermal expansion of the swirler (58) and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the bulkhead (61; per col. 6, ll. 50-67 and col. 2, ll. 25-40, panel 56 include CMC and both of the swirler 58 and bulkhead 61 are metallic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide Snyder as evidenced by Ichihashi with Salazar Lois’ forming swirler and the bulkhead with metallic materials, such that
a coefficient of thermal expansion of the panel being smaller than each of a coefficient of thermal expansion of the swirler and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the bulkhead
because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material, in this case, metallic materials, on the basis of its suitability for the intended use, in this case, forming a swirler and a bulkhead as taught by Salazar Lois, as a mater of obvious design choice, MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 2, Snyder in view of Salazar Lois as evidenced by Ichihashi further teaches wherein: the swirler (Snyder’s 124) and the bulkhead (Snyder’s 120) include metal (per Salazar Lois’ col. 6, ll. 50-67 and col. 2, ll. 25-40, both of Salazar Lois’ swirler 58 and bulkhead 61 are metallic); and the panel (Snyder’s 114) include a CMC (per Snyder’s [0044], Snyder’s 114 including ceramic matric composite).
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder 20210332979 in view of Salazar Lois 11662096 and as evidenced by Ichihashi 20210055000, and in further view of Low 10488046.
Regarding claim 3, Snyder as evidenced by Ichihashi further teaches an extended axis (annotated Fig. 4) of a discharge port of the cooling air hole (the most-radial-inner 174, see annotated Fig. 4) of the bulkhead (120) includes a component extending in the axial direction (annotated Fig. 4) toward the panel (114), and the seal ring (160 that forms around hole 134 in Fig. 3B and marked in annotated Fig. 4; per [0043], 160 extending from surface 138 of panel 114; as evidenced by Ichihashi at [0039] and Fig. 3 and 4A, a ring 104 extending from panel 74 and contacting bulkhead 60 forms a seal) is located radially inward from the extended axis (see annotated Fig. 4).
Snyder in view of Salazar Lois as evidenced by Ichihashi does not teach the seal ring is located on the extended axis.
However, Low teaches a cooling air hole (124, which is located at most-radial-inner portion of 96) of the bulkhead (96) comprising a discharge port inclined radially inward, such that an extended axis (represented by β-angled-arrow in Fig. 11) of the discharge port of the cooling air hole (124, which is located at most-radial-inner portion of 96) of the bulkhead (96) includes a component extending in the axial direction (the actuate angle β including an axial component and a radial component, see Figs. 9 and 11) toward the panel (98); and the ring (the ring 138 forms the most-radial-inner corner 128, see Figs. 10-11) is located on the extended axis (represented by β-angled-arrow in Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Snyder in view of Salazar Lois as evidenced by Ichihashi with Low’s discharge port inclined radially inward, such that
the seal ring is located on the extended axis
in order to facilitate effective cooling of the region around the fuel nozzle (Low, col. 7, l. 60 to col. 8, l. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Snyder as evidenced by Ichihashi further teaches the outer peripheral surface of the swirler includes:
a first outer peripheral surface portion (marked in solid-straight-line in annotated Fig. 2) located at an opposite side to the axial gap (annotated Fig. 2) across the bulkhead (120),
a second outer peripheral surface portion (marked in dot-straight-line in annotated Fig. 2) located inside the first outer peripheral surface portion (marked in solid-straight-line in annotated Fig. 2) in the radial direction (annotated Fig. 2), the bulkhead (120) being fitted to the second outer peripheral surface portion (see Fig. 4 and annotated Fig. 2), and
a third outer peripheral surface portion (marked in solid-curve-line in annotated Fig. 2) located inside the first outer peripheral surface portion (marked in solid-straight-line in annotated Fig. 2) in the radial direction (annotated Fig. 2), the seal ring (160 that forms around hole 134 in Fig. 3B and marked in annotated Fig. 2; per [0043], 160 extending from surface 138 of panel 114; as evidenced by Ichihashi at [0039] and Fig. 3 and 4A, a ring 104 extending from panel 74 and contacting bulkhead 60 forms a seal) being fitted to the third outer peripheral surface portion (see Fig. 4 and annotated Fig. 2); and
the cooling air hole (the most-radial-inner 174, see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1) of the bulkhead (120) extends in the axial direction (annotated Fig. 2) so as to be directed to the axial gap (annotated Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1).
Snyder in view of Salazar Lois as evidenced by Ichihashi does not teach the cooling air hole of the bulkhead extends diagonally relative to the axial direction so as to be directed to the axial gap and the inside in the radial direction. However, Low teaches the cooling air hole (124, which is located at most-radial-inner portion of 96) of the bulkhead (96) extends diagonally (represented by β-angled-arrow in Fig. 11) relative to the axial direction (relative to axis F in Fig. 11) so as to be directed to the axial gap (an axial gap between 96 and 98 that includes radial inner corner 128) and the inside in the radial direction (radially inward relative to axis F, see Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Snyder in view of Salazar Lois as evidenced by Ichihashi with Low’s extending the cooling air hole of the bulkhead diagonally relative to the axial direction, so as to be directed to the axial gap and the inside in the radial direction in order to facilitate effective cooling of the region around the fuel nozzle (Low, col. 7, l. 60 to col. 8, l. 6).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichihashi 20210055000 in view of Salazar Lois 11662096.
Regarding claim 1, Ichihashi teaches the invention as claimed: A combustor (50) of a gas turbine (10, Fig. 1), the combustor (50) comprising:
a combustion chamber (56);
a swirler (92, Fig. 4A) including an outer peripheral surface (annotated Fig. 4A) and an injection port (88) directed to the combustion chamber (56);
a bulkhead (60) fitted to the outer peripheral surface (annotated Fig. 4A) of the swirler (92);
a panel (74) located outside the swirler (92) in a radial direction (relative to axis 94 in Fig. 4A) of the swirler (92) so as to cover the bulkhead (60) from the combustion chamber (56) while being spaced apart from the outer peripheral surface (annotated Fig. 4A) of the swirler (92) in the radial direction (relative to axis 94 in Fig. 4A) by a radial gap (annotated Fig. 4A) and spaced apart from the bulkhead (60) in an axial direction (relative to axis 94 in Fig. 4A) of the swirler (92) by an axial gap (98); and
a seal ring (104 in Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 4A and per [0039], 104 extending from panel 74 and contacting 60 to form a seal) that is fitted to the outer peripheral surface (annotated Fig. 4A) of the swirler (92) in the axial gap (98) and is in contact with the panel (74) in the axial direction (relative to axis 94 in Fig. 4A; note: claim language does not requires seal ring and panel are two separated components), wherein:
the bulkhead (60) includes a cooling air hole (one of the plurality of 100s) that is open toward the axial gap (98); and
the panel (74) includes a cooling air hole (152 or 136) which is located outside the seal ring (104) in the radial direction (relative to axis 94 in Fig. 4A), is open to the axial gap (98), and makes the axial gap (98) communicate with the combustion chamber (56, see Fig. 4A).
Ichihashi does not teach a coefficient of thermal expansion of the panel
being smaller than each of a coefficient of thermal expansion of the swirler and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the bulkhead.
However, Salazar Lois teaches a combustor (26) comprising: a swirler (58, Fig. 4), a bulkhead (61) fitted to the swirler (58), a panel (56) located outside the swirler (58) in a radial direction (relative to axis 110, see Fig. 4) of the swirler (58) so as to cover the bulkhead (61) from the combustion chamber (62, Fig. 2) while being spaced apart from the bulkhead (61) in an axial direction (relative to axis 110, see Fig. 4) of the swirler (58) by an axial gap (see Fig. 4), a coefficient of thermal expansion of the panel (56) being smaller than each of a coefficient of thermal expansion of the swirler (58) and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the bulkhead (61; per col. 6, ll. 50-67 and col. 2, ll. 25-40, panel 56 include CMC and both of the swirler 58 and bulkhead 61 are metallic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ichihashi with Salazar Lois’ forming the panel with CMC and forming both of the swirler and the bulkhead with metallic materials, such that
a coefficient of thermal expansion of the panel being smaller than each of a coefficient of thermal expansion of the swirler and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the bulkhead
because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material, in this case, CMC and metallic materials, on the basis of its suitability for the intended use, in this case, forming a panel with CMC and forming a swirler and a bulkhead with metallic materials as taught by Salazar Lois, as a mater of obvious design choice, MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichihashi 20210055000 in view of Salazar Lois 11662096, and in further view of Cunha 20170159936.
Regarding claim 7, Ichihashi further teaches the bulkhead (60) includes an inner peripheral portion (annotated Fig. 4A) that is depressed in such a direction (an axially upstream direction) as to be away from the panel (74) along the axial direction (relative to axis 94 in Fig. 4A);
the axial gap (98) includes
a cooling chamber (an inner portion of 98, see annotated Fig. 4A) defined between the inner peripheral portion (annotated Fig. 4A) of the bulkhead (60) and the panel (74) and
a clearance space (an outer portion of 98, see annotated Fig. 4A) that extends outward in the radial direction (relative to axis 94 in Fig. 4A) from the cooling chamber (annotated Fig. 4A); and
the cooling air hole (the most-radially-inner 100, see annotated Fig. 4A) of the bulkhead (60) and the cooling air hole (154) of the panel (74) are open to the cooling chamber (the inner portion of 98, see annotated Fig. 4A).
Ichihashi in view of Salazar Lois does not teach said clearance space is smaller in dimension in the axial direction than said cooling chamber.
However, Cunha teaches an axial gap (106Aa and 106Ab, Figs. 10-11) forming between a liner (68 or 70, Fig. 10) and a heat shield (72A or 74A, Fig. 10) in an axial direction (relative to the axis in annotated Fig. 11) and including a cooling chamber (a radial inner portion of the axial gap, see annotated Fig. 11) and a clearance space (a radial outer portion of the axial gap, see annotated Fig. 11) in a radial direction (relative to the axis in annotated Fig. 11), wherein the clearance space (the radial outer portion of the axial gap, see annotated Fig. 11) is smaller in dimension in the axial direction (because each of the 106Aa and 106Ab converges in the radial direction, see Fig. 11 and [0068]) than the cooling chamber (the radial outer portion of the axial gap, see annotated Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ichihashi in view of Salazar Lois with Cunha’s converging axial gap, such that
a clearance space is smaller in dimension in the axial direction than the cooling chamber
to accelerate and direct impingement airflow on the respective radial end of the axial gap for film cooling in order to meet desired service life requirement (Cunha, [0004-0005]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichihashi 20210055000 in view of Salazar Lois 11662096, and in further view of Ganiger 11781753.
Regarding claim 8, Ichihashi further teaches a fixture (102, Fig. 3 and [0038]) by which the panel (74) is attached to the bulkhead (60).
Ichihashi in view of Salazar Lois does not teach a fixture by which the panel is elastically attached to the bulkhead.
However, Ganiger teaches a fixture (flexible fixture71, Figs. 2-3) by which the panel (68 formed with CMC, col. 6, ll. 5011) is elastically (via spring 124, Fig. 3) attached to the bulkhead (67, Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ichihashi in view of Salazar Lois with Ganiger’s flexible fixture, such that
a fixture by which the panel is elastically attached to the bulkhead
in order to overcome thermal expansion and vibrations during operation (Ganiger, col. 1, ll. 25-35).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
Examiner further considered at least the references listed below.
Reynolds 20190003711 teaches A combustor of a gas turbine, the combustor comprising: a swirler including an outer peripheral surface and an injection port directed to the combustion chamber; a bulkhead fitted to the outer peripheral surface of the swirler; a panel located outside the swirler in a radial direction of the swirler so as to cover the bulkhead from the combustion chamber while being spaced apart from the outer peripheral surface of the swirler in the radial direction by a radial gap and spaced apart from the bulkhead in an axial direction of the swirler by an axial gap, a coefficient of thermal expansion of the panel being smaller than each of a coefficient of thermal expansion of the swirler and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the bulkhead; and a seal ring that is fitted to the outer peripheral surface of the swirler in the axial gap and is in contact with the panel in the axial direction.
Dahlke 20090077974 teaches a gap formed between a liner and a heat shield, the heat shield comprising a panel and a flange vertically extending from the panel, a seal is fitted to between the flange and the liner in the vertical direction.
Bunel 20140318138 teaches A combustor of a gas turbine, the combustor comprising: a swirler including an outer peripheral surface and an injection port directed to the combustion chamber; a bulkhead fitted to the outer peripheral surface of the swirler via a sheath; a panel located outside the swirler in a radial direction of the swirler via the sheath so as to cover the bulkhead from the combustion chamber while being spaced apart from the outer peripheral surface of the swirler in the radial direction by a radial gap and being spaced apart from the bulkhead in an axial direction of the swirler by an axial gap, a seal ring that is fitted to the outer peripheral surface of the swirler via the sheath and is in contact with the panel in the axial direction, wherein: the bulkhead includes a cooling air hole that is open toward the axial gap; the panel includes a cooling air hole which is located outside the seal ring in the radial direction, is open to the axial gap, and makes the axial gap communicate with the combustion chamber, the seal ring includes a tubular portion welded to the sheath and a flange portion projecting outward in the radial direction from an end portion of the tubular portion which is located closer to the panel than to the bulkhead.
DAVENPORT 20160061448 teaches a gap formed between a liner and a heat shield, the liner comprising a plate and a flange vertically extending from the plate, and the heat shield comprising a panel and a seal ring vertically extending from the panel, wherein the seal ring comprises a concave portion configured to receive the flange of the liner.
GEREND 20150260401 and Pearce 5509270 teach a coupling assembly comprising a one-piece component that is integrally forming a flange and a panel together or comprising a ring and a panel that are two separated components.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 4, the prior arts on the record themselves and in combination do not teach in combined with other limitations of claim 4, “the seal ring includes a tubular portion fitted to the outer peripheral surface of the swirler and a flange portion projecting outward in the radial direction from an end portion of the tubular portion which is located closer to the panel than to the bulkhead”, which requires a swirler, a bulkhead fitted to the outer peripheral surface of the swirler, a panel having a coefficient of thermal expansion smaller that both of a coefficient of thermal expansion of the swirler and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the bulkhead and being spaced apart from the outer peripheral surface of the swirler in the radial direction by a radial gap and spaced apart from the bulkhead in an axial direction of the swirler by an axial gap, a seal ring fitting to the outer peripheral surface of the swirler in the axial gap and is in contact the panel in the axial direction, wherein the sealing ring comprises a tubular portion fitted to the outer peripheral surface of the swirler and a flange portion projecting outward in the radial direction from an end portion of the tubular portion which is located closer to the panel than to the bulkhead.
Claim 5 is allowable because claim 5 depends on claim 4.
Regarding claim 9, the prior arts on the record themselves and in combination do not teach in combined with other limitations of claim 9, “wherein at least one of the seal ring or the panel includes a thermal barrier coating on a surface where the seal ring and the panel are in contact with each other”, ”, which requires a swirler, a bulkhead fitted to the outer peripheral surface of the swirler, a panel having a coefficient of thermal expansion smaller that both of a coefficient of thermal expansion of the swirler and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the bulkhead and being spaced apart from the outer peripheral surface of the swirler in the radial direction by a radial gap and spaced apart from the bulkhead in an axial direction of the swirler by an axial gap, a seal ring fitting to the outer peripheral surface of the swirler in the axial gap and is in contact the panel in the axial direction, wherein the sealing ring is a separated component from the panel, and a thermal barrier coating is applied on a surface of the seal ring or the panel where the seal ring and the panel contact to each other.
Conclusion
/JINGCHEN LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 3741