DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 06/10/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-13 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the tool/tool performing screwing, drilling, riveting operations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 6th - Claim Interpretation
Claims 8 and 13 have the limitation “means” for determining, for subtracting, for comparing, for issuing an alert, for controlling, and for measuring invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 8 and 13 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The phrase “means” for determining, for subtracting, for comparing, for issuing an alert, for controlling, and for measuring is interpreted as any device capable of determining, subtracting, comparing, issuing an alert, controlling, and measuring since the specification does not recite any structural member or any device other than controller 50.
In the instant specification the phrase “All the means are controlled by the means for controlling/commanding the tool such as a controller 50 which may be in whole or in part external or internal to the tool. This controller especially comprises all the memories and processors necessary to control the tool and implement a method according to the invention” (page 15, lines 20-24) is vague and unclear what members are involved in the measure and what controller 50 is limited to. Is the controller the only device? Does the controller perform every step in the method as claimed? The drawings do not make up for this deficiency either.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 2ND
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-7, the phrase “similar operations” is analogous to the phrases "such as" "for example" and/or "or the like" which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d) and because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "similar operations"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. Also, the later phrase “the operations belonging to the group consisting of screwing, drilling, riveting” is contradictory and unclear if the operations are limited to screwing, drilling, riveting operations or not. Also, In the specification the phrase “All the means are controlled by the means for controlling/commanding the tool such as a controller 50 which may be in whole or in part external or internal to the tool. This controller especially comprises all the memories and processors necessary to control the tool and
implement a method according to the invention” (page 15, lines 20-24) is vague and unclear what members are involved in the measure and what controller 50 is limited to.
In claims 8-13 The term/phrase “means” for determining, for subtracting, for comparing, for issuing an alert, for controlling, and for measuring” in claims 8-13 is not clear what the “means” is limited to and is vague and indefinite. The phrase “means” for determining, for subtracting, for comparing, for issuing an alert, for controlling, and for measuring is interpreted as any device capable of determining, subtracting, comparing, issuing an alert, controlling, and measuring since the specification does not recite any structural member or any device.
In the instant specification the phrase “All the means are controlled by the means for controlling/commanding the tool such as a controller 50 which may be in whole or in part external or internal to the tool. This controller especially comprises all the memories and processors necessary to control the tool and implement a method according to the invention” (page 15, lines 20-24) is vague and unclear what members are involved in the measure and what controller 50 is limited to. Is the controller the only device? Does the controller perform every step in the method as claimed? The drawings do not make up for this deficiency either.
Since claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C § 112; it is improper to rely on speculative assumptions regarding the meaning of a claim and then base a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 on these assumptions. (In re Steele 305 F.2d 859,134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NISHINOMIYA et al. (JP 2019123027 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 7-8, NISHINOMIYA et al. discloses a method for performing, by using a tool (1), similar operations, said operations belonging to the group consisting of screwing, drilling, riveting ([1,31,98-103], 112) said method comprising at least: a step of measuring in real time at least one operating parameter of said tool during the performance of at least one prior operation (battery voltage [70-76]);
a step of determining a threshold for evaluating an ability of said tool (1) to perform at least one subsequent operation to an end of the at least one subsequent operation, said threshold being determined based on said at least one operating parameter of said tool measured in the previous step of measuring, said step of determining said threshold being implemented at an end of said at least one of said at least one prior operation ([70-76]);
a step of comparing, with said threshold, a limit data of operation of said tool (1, [70-76]); and a step of issuing an alert message and/or of inhibiting said tool (1), at an end of said step of comparing, when said threshold is incompatible with said limit data of operation of said tool ([59, 92-93]).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 12-13, NISHINOMIYA et al. discloses operating parameter is a remaining charge percentage of a battery supplying power to said tool, wherein said method comprises: determining the a charge percentage of said battery consumed during the performance of said at least one prior operation; determining in real time the remaining charge percentage of said battery; subtracting, from said battery remaining charge percentage, said charge percentage of the battery consumed during said prior operation, said threshold being equal to the a result of said subtraction; comparing said threshold with a predetermined minimum charge percentage of the battery to remain at the end of said subsequent operation, constituting said limit data of operation of said tool; issuing an alert message and/or of inhibiting said tool, at the anend of said comparison comparing said threshold with a predetermined minimum charge percentage, when said threshold is lower than said limit data of operation of said tool and determining a charge percentage of said battery consumed during the performance of said at least one prior operation; means for determining in real time the remaining charge percentage of said battery; means for subtracting, from said battery remaining charge percentage, said charge percentage of the battery consumed during said prior operation, said threshold being equal to the a result of said subtraction; means for comparing said threshold with a predetermined minimum charge percentage of the battery to remain at the end of said subsequent operation, constituting said limit data of operation of said tool; means for issuing an alert message and/or for inhibiting said tool, at an end of said comparing said threshold with a predetermined minimum charge percentage, when said threshold is lower than said limit data of operation of said tool ([14, 59, 70-76, 92-93]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Orrell et al. (US 4720897 A) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Orrell et al. (US 4720897 A) in view of Feng et al. (US 20260045860 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 7-11, Orrell et al. discloses a method for performing, by using a tool (10), similar operations, said operations (drilling and riveting) belonging to the group consisting of screwing, drilling, riveting (automatic drilling and riveting machine – capable of also screwing) said method comprising at least: a step of measuring with means (heat sensor 150, controller 142) in real time at least one operating parameter (temperature/heat) of said tool during the performance of at least one prior operation (drilling/riveting [70-76]) and controller means (142) for performing-
a step of determining a threshold (maximum temperature) for evaluating an ability of said tool to perform at least one subsequent operation to an end of the at least one subsequent operation (100 and 102 define the continuous operating range), said threshold being determined based on said at least one operating parameter (thermal limit) of said tool measured in the previous step of measuring, said step of determining said threshold being implemented at an end of said at least one of said at least one prior operation (switch from continuous to intermittent load operating rang and load amount);
a step of comparing, with said threshold, a limit data of operation of said tool (maximum temperature); and a step of issuing an alert message and/or of inhibiting said tool (visual display/ readout 156 alarm), at an end of said step of comparing, when said threshold is incompatible with said limit data of operation of said tool, wherein said operating parameter is the an operating temperature of said tool motor (temperature/heat of motor 70, col. 2, lines 25-67, col. 4, lines 32-67, col. 5, line 27-col. 7, line 8, figs. 1-8) and teaches controlling on/off with speed and torque control with set maximums (tachometer readout device 202), wherein said method comprises: determining a rise in temperature of said tool during the performance of said at least one prior operation; determining in real time a current temperature of said tool; determining a sum of said rise in temperature and said temperature measured in real time (fig. 7 curve with sections 100,102 and 104), said threshold being equal to said sum; comparing said threshold with a maximum permissible temperature of said tool constituting said limit data of operation of said tool; issuing an alert message and/or of inhibiting said tool, at an end of said comparing said threshold with the maximum permissible temperature, when said threshold is higher than the maximum permissible temperature of said tool, wherein said operating temperature of said tool is a temperature of a motor of said tool, of a battery of said tool or of a controller of said tool, (col. 5, lines 7-25, col. 7 lines 1-67, figs. 1-8).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 7-11, In the alternative, if it can be argued that Orrell et al. fails to disclose determining a threshold for evaluating an ability of said tool to perform at least one subsequent operation to an end of the at least one subsequent operation and determining a sum of said rise in temperature and said temperature measured in real time, said threshold being equal to said sum; comparing said threshold with a maximum permissible temperature of said tool constituting said limit data of operation of said tool –
Feng et al. teaches a power tool (100, handheld power tool, a table power tool, a manned mower, a smart mower, an all-terrain vehicle, and an electric motorcycle [0148], figs. 1-9) having a controller (21) for determining a threshold (temperature threshold) for evaluating an ability of the tool (100) to perform at least one subsequent operation (low-speed and high-load operating condition or a high-speed operating condition) to an end of the at least one subsequent operation and determining a sum of said rise in temperature and said temperature measured in real time, said threshold being equal to said sum; comparing said threshold with a maximum permissible temperature of said tool constituting said limit data of operation of said tool ([0092-0148], figs. 1-9).
Given the teachings of Orrell et al. to have a controller for determining temperature thresholds to avoid overheating, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the controller with determining a threshold for evaluating an ability of said tool to perform at least one subsequent operation to an end of the at least one subsequent operation and determining a sum of said rise in temperature and said temperature measured in real time, said threshold being equal to said sum; comparing said threshold with a maximum permissible temperature of said tool constituting said limit data of operation of said tool to have precise adjustment of speed/torque for more precise operation of the tool and more precise action on a workpiece (avoid overshoot/damage to the workpiece) and/or for battery/tool preservation purposes and safety purposes as taught by Feng et al.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: US 20240246215 A1 – controller determines temperature, over-discharge, voltage thresholds and other motor parameters to operate power tool and see form 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731