Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 8/21/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are pending. Claim(s) 2 and 11 has/have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0339644) in view of Dobner et al. (US 2022/0352126).
Claim 1: Kim teaches a Micro-LED vehicle headlight system comprising: a Micro-LED panel (200, fig. 6) comprised of one or more Micro-LED tiles (220, fig. 6) containing multiple Micro-LEDs (160, 200, 920, figs. 6-12B) (see para [0086] – [0092]); a substrate (210, 910) to which at least one of the one or more Micro-LED tiles (220) is bound (see figs. 6-12b); a connector (connector of 100, fig. 2) integrating electronics (130, 170, fig. 2) of the Micro-LED panel with a vehicle (see fig. 1); and wherein the Micro-LED panel performs a function of a vehicle headlight (head lamp, see para [0025]).
However, Kim fails to teach a laminate material coating the Micro-LED panel and adhering the Micro-LED panel to a pane of glass.
Dobner teaches a micro-LED panel (3,4, fig. 1A) containing Micro-LEDs (4, fig. 1A), a substrate (3, fig. 1A), a laminate material (11, fig. 1A) (connection layer, see para [0040]) coating the micro-LED panel (3, 4) and adhering the micro-LED to a pane of glass (1, fig. 1A) (carrier layers 1, 2 made of glass, see para [0039]).
Therefore, in view of Dobner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a laminate material coating the Micro-LED panel and adhering the Micro-LED panel to a pane of glass, in order to install the micro-LED onto desired panel.
Claim 3: Kim teaches multiple small Micro-LED tiles (tile of 200, fig. 9A) are integrated together into a larger flat plate (see fig. 9A).
Claim 4: Kim teaches the Micro-LED panel (200, fig. 9a) contains the multiple Micro-LEDs (920, fig. 9A) in a density to enable creating a same light as conventional LED and non-LED headlights (see para [0041] – [0047]).
Claim 5: Kim teaches the Micro-LED panel uses RGB Micro-LEDs or Blue Micro-LEDs with Phosphorus to get white light (see para [0215] – [0217]).
Claim 6: Kim teaches the substrate is one of silicon, glass, sapphire, or any material (copper clad laminated substrate, see para [0092]) to which the one or more Micro-LED tiles are bounded or any combination of these materials.
Claim 7: Kim teaches the substrate further houses or is bound to electronics (electrodes, fig. 7) which connect to the Micro-LEDs (920) (see para [0202] – [0206]).
Claim 8: Kim teaches a first element is a connector (110, 130, 165, fig. 2) allowing electronics of the Micro-LED panel to connect to electronics system of a vehicle which further allows the Micro-LED panel to be powered and controlled by the vehicle, and give a feedback information to the vehicle (see para [0060] – [0086] and [0107] – [0140]).
Claim 9: Kim teaches a second element (housing of 100, fig. 1) is a structure housing the Micro-LED panel and conforms to a shape of headlights (see fig. 1) (see para [0043] – [0045], [0050] – [0051], fig. 1).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0339644) in view of Dobner et al. (US 2022/0352126) as applied to claim(s) 9 above, and further in view of Kuepper et al. (US 2015/0146447).
Claim 10: Kim in view of Dobner fails to teach the shape interchangeable with non-Micro-LED headlights of existing vehicles.
Kuepper teaches the shape interchangeable with non-Micro-LED headlights of existing vehicles (see para [0006], [0011], [0017] [0018]).
Therefore, in view of Kuepper, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the housing of Kim where the shape interchangeable with non-Micro-LED headlights of existing vehicles, in order to provide a desired shape and aesthetic.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 has/have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENG SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875