DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-9 of the amended claim set received 6/10/2025 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tentorio (US 2017/0205069) in view of Dressier (US Pat. 5,072,785).
Regarding Claim 1, Tentorio discloses in Fig. 7, a combustor of a gas turbine, the combustor comprising:
an outside wall 50 surrounding a combustion chamber (where flow A is shown);
a liner 52A located inside the outside wall and facing the combustion chamber;
a spacer 84 at least part of which is located between the outside wall 50 and the liner 52A;
a fastener 76+78 at least part of which is located outside the outside wall; and
a fixture by which the liner is attached to the outside wall and which includes a head 68 supporting the liner and a shaft portion 70 penetrating the outside wall 50 and fastened to the fastener 76+78,
wherein:
the fastener includes a bore 80 forming a first air passage along the fixture and the spacer includes a bore 64 forming a second air passage along the fixture through which air from the first air passage is received (follow flow arrows E, F, H).
Tentorio does not disclose the first air passage through a fastener groove or the second air passage through a spacer groove.
Dressier teaches in Figs. 1 and 3, including grooves 23 and 33 along the peripheral edge of bores 21 and 32 and extending along a fixture 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the fastener bore and the spacer bore of Tentorio to include the grooves as taught by Dressier in order to ensure that the flow of cooling air is not excessively impeded if the bolt, i.e. fixture of the claim, is not centered in the respective bore (Dressier col. 3, ll. 29-35).
Regarding Claim 3, Tentorio in view of Dressier teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Tentorio further discloses in Fig. 7, wherein the fastener 76+78 includes an air inlet 82 which is open to an outside space located outside the outside wall 50 and through which the air is taken from the outside space into the first air passage 80.
Regarding Claim 4, Tentorio in view of Dressier teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Tentorio further discloses in Fig. 8, wherein the spacer 84 includes an air outlet 92 which is open to a space located between the outside wall 50 and the liner 52A and through which the air having flowed through the second air passage is discharged to the space (functional recitation; Tentorio is capable of providing this function given the same combustor conditions present in the instant application Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 5, Tentorio in view of Dressier teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Tentorio further discloses in Fig. 7, wherein the fastener 76+78 includes a support 76 including an inner peripheral surface (see annotation of the figure below) coupled to the fixture 68+70 (all surfaces of the support 76 are coupled to the fixture 68+70 given what is shown in Fig. 7, i.e., nut 78 and fixture 68+70 are fastened and couple all the shown components and their respective surfaces together) the and a nut 78 coupled to an outer peripheral surface (shown in the annotation) of the support 76 (coupled as discussed). Given that the fastener grooves taught by Dressier are formed on the support bore 80 as discussed in the rejection above and the support bore 80 is formed by the indicated inner peripheral surface, the fastener groove(s) of the combination is located on the inner peripheral surface of the support.
Regarding Claim 6, Tentorio in view of Dressier teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Tentorio further discloses in Figs. 7, the support includes a cutout (the bore 80) in which the fixture 68+70 is located and which extends in a direction (left-to-right in the figure) perpendicular to a central axis direction of the fixture 68+70 (vertical within the figure).
Regarding Claim 8, Tentorio in view of Dressier teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Tentorio further discloses in Fig. 7, wherein the liner 50 includes a liner groove 90 extending along the head 68 of the fixture, a third air passage being located at the liner groove (follow flow arrows).
Regarding Claim 9, Tentorio in view of Dressier teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Tentorio further discloses in Fig. 7, wherein the fixture includes a fixture groove (groove between two circumferentially adjacent member 72) extending along the head 68 of the fixture, a third air passage being located at the fixture groove.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tentorio (US 2017/0205069) in view of Dressier (US Pat. 5,072,785) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Sampath (US 2023/0296251).
Regarding Claim 2, Tentorio in view of Dressier teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Tentorio further discloses the fastener and the fixture include metal (read para. 0089). Tentorio does not disclose the outside wall includes metal and the liner includes a CMC.
Sampath teaches in Fig. 3 a combustor comprising an outside wall 202 includes metal and a liner 204 includes a CMC (read para. 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Tentorio further such that the outside wall includes metal and the liner includes CMC given the art recognized suitability of metal for an outer wall material and CMC for a liner material. See MPEP 2144.07.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art of record does not disclose or reasonably render obvious the following in combination with the base claim limitations, “the spacer includes a main body portion located between the outside wall and the liner and a projecting portion located in a through hole of the outside wall which is penetrated by the fixture; and the spacer groove is located at both of the main body portion and the projecting portion.”
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached Notice of References Cited.
Contact Information
/R.D.F/ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741