DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller (US 3,604,612).
Claim 1:
Miller discloses a device for machining an annular workpiece (abstract), wherein the machining device comprises:
a fastening system (34, 36, 39, 40 and 43) for removably fastening the machining device to the workpiece (fig. 4, col. 3, lines 4-13);
a machining tool (cutting tool or grinding tool) for machining at least one zone of the workpiece to be machined (col. 6, lines 56-60);
a carriage (carriage) for conveying the machining tool (col. 2, lines 40-45); and,
a rail (30) shaped to guide the conveying carriage in translation along the zone of the workpiece to be machined, the rail (30) being flat and having the shape of an arc of a circle (fig. 1, col. 2, 3-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black (US 5,227,601) in view of Miller (US 3,604,612).
Claim 1:
Black discloses a device for processing an annular workpiece, (abstract) comprising:
a fastening system (25) for removably fastening the device to the workpiece (fig. 4, col. 7, lines 14-17);
a working tool for processing at least one zone of the workpiece to be processed (col. 4, line 62 bridging col. 5, line 3);
a carriage (B) for conveying the working tool (col. 7, lines 17-23); and,
a rail (24) shaped to guide the conveying carriage (B) in translation along the zone of the workpiece to be processed, the rail (24) being flat and having the shape of an arc of a circle (figs. 1-3, col. 7, lines 14-17).
Black fails to disclose a machining tool. Instead, Black discloses a processing tool or welding tool for processing or welding at least one zone of a workpiece (col. 4, line 62 bridging col. 5, line 3).
Miller discloses a fastening system (34, 36, 39, 40 and 43) for removably fastening the machining device to the workpiece (fig. 4, col. 3, lines 4-13);
a machining tool (cutting tool or grinding tool) for machining at least one zone of the workpiece to be machined (col. 6, lines 56-60);
a carriage (carriage) for conveying the machining tool (col. 2, lines 40-45); and,
a rail (30) shaped to guide the conveying carriage in translation along the zone of the workpiece to be machined, the rail (30) being flat and having the shape of an arc of a circle (fig. 1, col. 2, 3-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the processing device of Black by providing a machining tool as taught by Miller in order to cut or grind away rust or irregularities in the surface and otherwise to expose a clean metal surface preparatory to welding to provide the predictable effect of merely mounting different tools on the carriage as required (Miller, col. 6, lines 56-53). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues examiner’s 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections are improper because the prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest at least “the rail being flat and having the shape of an arc of a circle,” as recited in claim 1. Examiner disagrees. Applicant identifies disclosed rail (40) as satisfying the limitation that “the rail [is] flat,” even though rail (40) is a three-dimensional member having finite thickness and curved inner and outer circumferential surfaces. Miller’s track (30) has the same relevant geometric characteristics: it is a three-dimensional arcuate member having planar side faces extending along the circular arc of the track. Therefore, under the interpretation of “flat” advanced by Applicant through reliance on disclosed rail (40), Miller’s track (30) is likewise reasonably regarded as a flat rail having the shape of an arc of a circle. The apparent difference in the relative width of the planar side faces does not distinguish the claimed rail because claim 1 does not recite a minimum face width, a maximum rail thickness, a width-to-thickness ratio, or any other dimensional proportion.
Applicant cannot rely on the planar arc-shaped side geometry of rail (40) to establish that rail (40) is “flat,” while simultaneously disregarding the corresponding planar arc-shaped side geometry of Miller’s track merely because Miller’s planar sides have different relative dimensions.
The same claim construction must be applied consistently to the disclosed embodiment and the prior art. Applicant cannot treat the planar arc-shaped side faces as sufficient to make it own three-dimensional rail “flat,” while demanding that Miller satisfy an unclaimed additional requirement, such as a minimum face width, plate-like proportion, or particular width-to-thickness ratio.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 8:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the machining device according to claim 1, wherein the fastening system comprises two additional fastening elements each arranged at one end of the rail, the additional fastening elements are configured to fasten the rail to a frame supporting the workpiece.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Apolinari (US 2023/0001494 A1) discloses a pipe cutting apparatus.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lee A Holly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726