Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following:
Figs. 1-2, 4, 19, and 21-22 lack cross-hatching which makes it difficult to view the invention. See CFR 1.84(h)(3) that require hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object, and must be by regularly spaced oblique parallel lines spaced sufficiently apart to enable the lines to be distinguished without difficulty.
Fig. 6a shows two instances of “34” and it seems like one of them should be “36”.
Figs. 3a-23 of the applicant’s invention include the same reference numerals as the prior arts in Figs. 1-2 such as at least reference numerals “5”, “6”, and “9” which is confusing in the specification when using the same numerals if they are directed to the prior art or applicant’s invention.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “fastener element” of claims 10 and 11 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. The drawings do not adequately show what the fastener element is that allows fastening of the locking member 30. The fastener element “34” appears to just be a surface of the locking member, however, such a feature should not be left to speculation. Also, the specification does not adequately describe the fastener element to allow one of ordinary skill in the art to understand what allows fastening by the claimed fastener element. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of pin protruding portions separated by pin recessed portions…a plurality of box protruding portions separated by box recessed portions” of claim 13 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1). In this case, Figs. 3a-3c, 5a-15, and 17-18 appear to be photographs or photocopies of photographs which is not the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention as evidenced by at least the other figures that are not photographs or photocopies.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the recitation “(Figure 5a…abstract)” should be deleted since it is not part of the abstract. Additionally, abstracts do not typically include the reference numerals to the individual components. See MPEP 608.01(b)(I)(E) of examples of proper abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 4-5, 7-8, 11, and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 in line 1 recites “, comprising:” and should be “, the coupling assembly comprising:” to avoid any ambiguity of what comprises the features after “comprising”.
Claim 1 recites “the at least one first groove being circular and circumferential, non-helical;” and should be “the at least one first groove being circular, and non-helical;” to be grammatically correct.
Claim 1 recites “the at least one second groove being circular and circumferential, non-helical;” and should be “the at least one second groove being circular, and non-helical;” to be grammatically correct.
Claim 1 recites “form a circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel” and should be “form [[a]] at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel” since the previous at least one first groove and at least one second groove form the channel, therefore, the channel should be at least one or more.
Claim 3 recites “wherein material of the…than material” and should be “wherein a material of the…than a material” to avoid ambiguity of proper antecedent basis.
Claim 4 recites “(30)” and should be deleted to avoid ambiguity of what may be implied by parenthesis.
Claim 5 recites “a fluid may be injected” and should be “a fluid can be injected” since recitation of “may” can be ambiguous of positively including what follows after.
Claim 7 recites “such that they isolate” and should be “such that the external circumferential seal groove and the internal circumferential seal groove isolate” to avoid ambiguity of what “they” refers to.
Claim 8 recites “the at least one channel” and should be “the at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel” to avoid ambiguity that the at least one channel is a different channel.
Claim 11 recites “a slot in vicinity” and should be “a slot in a vicinity”.
Claim 13 recites “a pin protruding portion of the plurality of pin protruding portions…a designated box recessed portion of the box recessed portions…a box protruding portion of the plurality of box protruding portions…a designated pin recessed portion of the pin recessed portions” to avoid ambiguity if the singular recited parts are the same or different from the previously recited plural parts.
Claim 14 recites “a fluid may be injected” and should be “a fluid can be injected” since recitation of “may” can be ambiguous of positively including what follows after.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a pin member” and “a box member” which the terms “pin” and “box” are known terms in the art of having threads, however, in light of applicant’s specification, describes the pin member and the box member can be connected without threads that are conventionally for pin and box connections. Therefore, it is unclear of applicant’s intent of using the terms “pin” and “box” and whether the claimed “pin” and “box” require threads or not or to completely exclude any threading. In light of applicant’s specification and drawings, the pin member and box member may be better described as a spigot member and a socket member or a male member and a female member. For examination purposes, the limitations will be interpreted as “a male member” and “a female member” and any other instances of “pin” and “box” will be interpreted as male and female, respectively, in order to be consistent with applicant’s specification and drawings and to avoid ambiguity of the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the first groove and the corresponding second groove” which is unclear if the previously recited “at least one first groove” and “at least one second groove” is limited to singular first and second grooves or not. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the at least one first groove and the corresponding at least one second groove” to be consistent with the previously recitation.
Claim 1 recites “for receiving the elongated flexible locking member” which is unclear if the previously recited one or more elongated flexible locking member is singular or not. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “for receiving the one or more elongated flexible locking member”.
Claim 2 recites “the circular grooves” which is unclear of which grooves this is referring to in claim 1 since claim 1 recites at least one first groove and at least on second groove. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the at least one first groove and the at least one second groove are arranged respectively perpendicular” to be consistent with the recitation in claim 1 and to avoid ambiguity of any other grooves not previously claimed or mentioned.
Claim 2 recites “the box and pin” which is unclear for the same reasons above for claim 1 and lacks antecedent basis because claim 1 uses the term “member” after pin and box. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the female member and the male member
Claim 4 recites “the elongated flexible locking member” which is unclear if claim 4 intended to narrow the previously recited “one or more elongated flexible locking member” in claim 1 to a singular locking member. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the one or more elongated flexible locking member” to be consistent with the language in claim 1.
Claim 5 recites “a second opening penetrating the pin surface or the box surface” which is unclear how the second opening penetrates the pin surface. The second opening is for allowing an injected fluid from outside the box surface to the inside of the box surface by penetrating through the box surface in order to be between the box surface and the pin surface. Penetration through pin surface would seem to allow the injected fluid to leak through the pin. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “a second opening penetrating
Claim 6 recites “wherein the grooves” which is unclear of which grooves since claim 1 also recites grooves. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the external circumferential seal groove and the internal circumferential seal groove” since it appears the grooves refer back to the seal grooves in claim 6 and to avoid ambiguity of the grooves in claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “the seal grooves” which is unclear if this is the same or different from the grooves in claim 6. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the external circumferential seal groove and the internal circumferential seal groove”.
Claim 9 recites “the first cavity and the second cavity” which is unclear if claim 9 intended to narrow the previously recited “at least a first cavity…at least a second cavity” to be singular or not. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the at least first cavity and the at least second cavity” to be consistent with the language of claim 8 from which claim 9 depends from.
Claim 10 recites “the locking member” which is unclear if this is the same or different from the locking member in claim 1 and if it is, it is unclear if claim 10 intended to narrow the previously “one or more elongated flexible locking member” to a singular member. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the one or more elongated flexible locking member”.
Claim 11 recites “the insertion port” which is unclear if claim 11 intended to narrow the previously recited “at least one insertion port” to a single port or not. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the at least one insertion port” to be consistent with the previous language.
Claim 12 recites “wherein length” which lacks proper antecedent basis and unclear if claim 12 intended to initially introduce a length or not. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “wherein a length” such that claim 12 initially introduces a length.
Claim 12 recites “the locking member” which is unclear for similar reasons above for claim 10. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the one or more elongated flexible locking member”.
Claim 12 recites “to circumference” which is unclear for similar reasons above for “wherein length”. Applicant is suggested to review all the claims to have proper antecedent basis such as including “a” or “the”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “to a circumference”.
Claim 12 recites “the channel” which is unclear for similar reasons above. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel”.
Claim 14 recites “the elongated flexible locking member” which is unclear for similar reasons previously. It is also unclear why there are various inconsistent recitations of the locking member and applicant is suggested to have a consistent recitation of each feature to avoid confusion. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the one or more elongated flexible locking member”.
Claim 14 recites “into cavity or cavities” and is unclear for similar reasons as previously mentioned. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “into a cavity or cavities”.
All dependent claims of these claims are rejected under 112th second paragraph by virtue of their dependency. Thus, claims 3, 8, and 13 are rejected under 112th second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahoney (US 2,458,714).
In regard to claim 1, Mahoney discloses a coupling assembly for elongated elements (Fig. 1 shows a coupling assembly which is at least for elongated elements similar to applicant’s invention), the coupling assembly comprising:
a male member having an outward-facing male surface (Fig. 1, the part 1 defines a male member since it inserts into 2 and the male member 1 has an outward-facing male surface), and a female member having an inward-facing female surface (Fig. 1, part 2 defines a female member having an inward-facing female surface), said male surface and female surface configured for mating engagement (Fig. 1 shows the male surface inserts into the female surface for mating engagement similar to applicant’s invention), wherein:
the coupling assembly comprises one or more elongated flexible locking member (Fig. 1, shaft or cable 11 defines an elongated flexible locking member) and in that:
the male member comprises at least one first groove (Fig. 1, the part 1 has at least one first groove that receives a portion of 11), the at least one first groove being circular, circumferential, and non-helical (Fig. 1, the at least one first groove at 11 is circular, circumferential, and non-helical);
the female member comprises a corresponding at least one second groove (Fig. 1, the female member 2 has a corresponding at least one second groove that receives the other half portion of 11), the at least one second groove being circular, circumferential, and non-helical (Fig. 1, the at least one second groove at 11 is circular, circumferential, and non-helical); and
the female member comprises at least one insertion port, aligned with the at least one second groove (Figs. 1 and 2, insertion port at 13 which is radially aligned with the at least one second groove);
whereby, when a male-and-female connection is made up, the at least one first groove and the corresponding at least one second groove are aligned and form an at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel (Figs. 1 and 2, when a male-and-female connection of 1 and 2 is made up, the at least one first and second grooves form at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel that surrounds 11) shaped and dimensioned for receiving the one or more elongated flexible locking member (Figs. 1 and 2, the at least one channel at 11 is for receiving 11 similar to applicant’s invention).
In regard to claim 2, Mahoney discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one first groove and the at least one second groove are arranged perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the female member and the male member (Fig. 1, the at least one first groove and the at least one second groove are arranged perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the female member 2 and the male member 1).
In regard to claim 4, Mahoney discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein the one or more elongated flexible locking member is a wire or flexible rod (Figs. 1 and 2, 11 is defined as a flexible shaft or cable which can be reasonably be interpreted as a wire or flexible rod).
In regard to claim 5, Mahoney discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein an at least one bore has a first opening (Fig. 1, at 6 there is a port which defines a bore having a first opening) configured for connection to an injection fluid reservoir (Fig. 1, the first opening of the port that faces the outside is capable of connection to an injection fluid reservoir) and a second opening penetrating the female surface (Fig. 1, the bore at 6 has a second opening which penetrates the female surface), whereby a fluid can be injected into a cavity formed between at least a portion of an outer male surface and a corresponding inner female surface portion (Fig. 1, the port at 6 allows a fluid to be injected into a cavity formed between at least a portion of an outer male surface of 1 and a corresponding inner female surface portion of 2 similar to applicant’s invention).
In regard to claim 8, Mahoney discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein at least a first cavity is arranged on one side of the at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel (Fig. 1, a first cavity can be defined on one axial side of 11 towards the gasket 8) and at least a second cavity is arranged on the other side of the at least one channel (Fig. 1, a second cavity can be defined on the other axial side of 11 towards 3).
In regard to claim 10, Mahoney discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein the one or more elongated flexible locking member further comprises a fastener element (Fig. 1, 11 comprises at least a fastener element at 14 which fastens to the insertion port at 13).
In regard to claim 11, Mahoney discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein the female member comprises a slot in a vicinity of the at least one insertion port (Fig. 2, female member 2 has a threaded slot in a vicinity of the at least one insertion port at 13), the slot configured for receiving a fastener element (Fig. 2, the threaded slot is for receiving a fastener element 14).
In regard to claim 12, Mahoney discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein a length of the one or more elongated flexible locking member corresponds to a circumference of the at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel (Fig. 2 shows a length of 11 corresponds to circumference of the at least one channel since 11 fits within the at least one channel).
In regard to claim 14, Mahoney discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein the one or more elongated flexible locking member comprises an axial bore (See image below, the flexible locking member is described as a shaft or cable which as shown below as a cable has an inner diameter and outer diameter defining an axial bore), whereby a fluid can be injected into a cavity or cavities formed between the male and female surfaces (See image below, a fluid can be injected into a cavity or cavities formed between the male and female surfaces since 11 includes an axial bore similar to applicant’s invention).
Claims 1-2, 4, and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richard (DE 102014111436 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Richard discloses a coupling assembly for elongated elements (Fig. 1 shows a coupling assembly), the coupling assembly comprising:
a male member having an outward-facing male surface (Fig. 1, part 3 defines a male member having an outward-facing male surface), and a female member having an inward-facing female surface (Fig. 1, part 4 defines a female member having an inward-facing female surface), said male surface and female surface configured for mating engagement (Fig. 1 shows the male surface and female surface in mating engagement), wherein:
the coupling assembly comprises one or more elongated flexible locking member (Fig. 1, at 10 and/or 11 defines one or more elongated flexible locking member) and in that:
the male member comprises at least one first groove (Fig. 1, part 3 at 10 and/or 11 define at least one first groove), the at least one first groove being circular, circumferential, and non-helical (Figs. 1 and 2, the first groove is circular, circumferential, and non-helical);
the female member comprises a corresponding at least one second groove (Fig. 1, part 4 at 10 and/or 11 define at least one second groove corresponding to the first groove), the at least one second groove being circular, circumferential, and non-helical (Figs. 1 and 2, the second groove is circular, circumferential, and non-helical); and
the female member comprises at least one insertion port, aligned with the at least one second groove (Fig. 2, insertion port at 17);
whereby, when a male-and-female connection is made up, the at least one first groove and the corresponding at least one second groove are aligned and form an at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel (Fig. 1, channels at 10 and/or 11 when the first and second grooves are made up) shaped and dimensioned for receiving the one or more elongated flexible locking member (Fig. 1, at 10 and/or 11 is for receiving one or more elongated flexible locking member).
In regard to claim 2, Richard discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one first groove and the at least one second groove are arranged perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the female member and the male member (Fig. 1, at 10 and/or 11 the first and second grooves are arranged perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of 4 and 5 as shown).
In regard to claim 4, Richard discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein the one or more elongated flexible locking member is a wire or flexible rod (Fig. 2, the locking member 16 is at least a wire or flexible rod in order to fit circumferentially in to the channels).
In regard to claim 8, Richard discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein at least a first cavity is arranged on one side of the at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel (Fig. 1, channels at 10 and/or 11 have at least a first cavity on one axial side) and at least a second cavity is arranged on the other side of the at least one channel (Fig. 1, channels at 10 and/or 11 have at least a second cavity opposite the axial side of the first cavity).
In regard to claim 9, Richard discloses the coupling assembly of claim 8, wherein the at least first cavity and the at least second cavity are defined by respective portions of an outer surface of the male member and an inner surface of the female member (Fig. 1, the first and second cavities are defined by respective portions of an outer surface of the male member 3 and the female member 4), and respective sets of seals (Fig. 1, the cavities can also be defined by the set of seals at 18 and 19).
In regard to claim 10, Richard discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein the one or more elongated flexible locking member further comprises a fastener element (Fig. 2, 16 has at least threaded shear elements 15 threaded onto 16 which can be reasonably defined as a fastener element).
In regard to claim 11, Richard discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein the female member comprises a slot in a vicinity of the at least one insertion port (Fig. 2, slot at 17 which is in the vicinity of the insertion port), the slot configured for receiving a fastener element (Fig. 2, the slot at 17 allows for receiving 15).
In regard to claim 12, Richard discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, wherein a length of the one or more elongated flexible locking member corresponds to a circumference of the at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel (Fig. 2, 16 has a length that corresponds to a circumferential the channel as shown in order to prevent axial disconnection between 3 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahoney (US 2,458,714).
Mahoney discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein a material of the one or more elongated flexible locking member includes a higher strength than a material of the female member and the male member.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the locking member relative to the material of the female member and the male member of Mahoney to try designing the material of the locking member relative to the material of the female member and the male member with a reasonable expectation of success because there are a finite number of solutions of designing the material strength of the locking member relative to the material of the female member and the male member which the locking member has a material strength higher, lower, or equal to the female member and the male member. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). In this case, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the material strength of the locking member to be higher than the female member and the male member since it is the crucial component that locks the female member and the male member together. It would even seem common sense to have the locking member to have a material strength greater than the male member and the female member since it is such an important component that prevents disconnection of the male member and the female member.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahoney (US 2,458,714) in view of Barr (US 3,445,120).
In regard to claim 6, the coupling assembly of claim 5, Mahoney discloses wherein the female member comprises an internal circumferential seal groove (Fig. 1, at 7 the female member has an internal circumferential seal groove) for receiving a seal (Fig. 1, seal at 8).
Mahoney does not expressly disclose the male member has an external circumferential seal groove and wherein the external circumferential seal groove and the internal circumferential seal groove are configured and arranged for alignment when the male-and-female connection is made up.
In the related field of pipe coupling assemblies having seal connections, Barr teaches a coupling assembly (Fig. 2 shows a coupling assembly) having a female member comprises an internal circumferential seal groove (Fig. 2, female member at 17 having an internal circumferential seal groove at 10) and a male member has an external circumferential seal groove (Fig. 2, male member at 15 which has an external circumferential seal groove 48) and wherein the external circumferential seal groove and the internal circumferential seal groove are configured and arranged for alignment when a male-and-female connection is made up (Fig. 2, the internal and external seal grooves are in radial alignment when a male-and-female connection of 15 and 17 are made up as shown), for receiving a seal (Figs. 1 and 2, seal 10) in order to have advantage of a connection for various diameters, a gasket that fits tightly, and reduced danger of cold flow that allows a strong and reliable seal connection (In 1:68-72 to 2:1-9 discloses the advantages of the gasket connection of the coupling assembly).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the seal connection of Mahoney for the seal connection of Barr that includes an external seal groove on the male member that is in radial alignment with the internal seal groove with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a connection for various diameters, a gasket that fits tightly, and reduced danger of cold flow that allows a strong and reliable seal connection as taught by Barr. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
It is also noted that Barr also teaches an alternative embodiment shown in Fig. 7 similar to Mahoney that only has a internal seal groove on the female member which would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that either type of connection can be used when utilizing a known and reliable gasket as that of Barr.
Additionally, it is noted that O-ring gaskets are typically not between two grooves because pressure gets trapped between the grooves leading to unpredictable sealing and possible failure. Since applicant’s specification describes the seal as not being illustrated and a special type of seal similar to Barr would be required to fit between parallel seal grooves, then one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably suggest applicant’s seal grooves lack criticality and appears arbitrary absent showing and/or describing the seal that fits within the seal grooves.
In regard to claim 7, Mahoney and Barr discloses the coupling assembly of claim 6, wherein the external circumferential seal groove and the internal circumferential seal groove are arranged such that the external circumferential seal groove and the internal circumferential seal groove isolate the cavity from the at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel formed by the at least one first groove and the at least one second groove when the male-and-female connection is made up (See Fig. 1 of Mahoney at the seal groove at 7 which in combination with Barr would have both seal grooves at the location at 7 would at least isolate the cavity from the channel at 11. See claim 6 above for the same reasons to combine Mahoney and Barr.).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahoney (US 2,458,714) in view of Richard (DE 102014111436 B2).
Mahoney discloses the coupling assembly of claim 8, wherein the at least first cavity and the at least second cavity are defined by respective portions of an outer surface of the male member and an inner surface of the female member (Fig. 1, the first cavity and the second cavity are defined by respective portions of an outer surface of the male member and an inner surface of the female member since the cavities are on opposite axial sides of 11), but does not expressly disclose respective sets of seals (Fig. 1 only shows one seal at 8).
In the related field of pipe coupling assembly having at least one locking member, Richard shows at least sets of seals on both axial sides of a locking member (Fig. 1, locking member at 13 or 14 which have sets of seals at 18 and 19 on opposite axial sides of 13 and 14) in order to have at least a strong and reliable sealing connection (Fig. 1, having more seals such as at 18 and 19 would allow for at least a stronger and reliable seal connection allowing for a backup seal in case one fails).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling assembly of Mahoney to include sets of seals on opposite sides of the locking member with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a strong and reliable seal connection to have at least a backup seal in case one fails as taught by Richard.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahoney (US 2,458,714) in view of Deneke (US 11,079,050 B2).
Mahoney discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the male surface comprises a plurality of male protruding portions separated by male recessed portions, and the female surface comprises a plurality of female protruding portions separated by female recessed portions; and
wherein a male protruding portion of the plurality of male protruding portions is shaped and dimensioned to fit into a designated female recessed portion of the female recessed portions, and
wherein a female protruding portion of the plurality of female protruding portions is shaped and dimensioned to fit into a designated male recessed portion of the male recessed portions.
In the related field of pipe coupling assembly, Deneke teaches a connection between a male member and a female member (Fig. 2, male member at 2 and female member at 4) that includes wherein the male surface comprises a plurality of male protruding portions separated by male recessed portions (Fig. 2, the contours at 5 define plurality of protrusions separated by recessed portions), and the female surface comprises a plurality of female protruding portions separated by female recessed portions (Fig. 2, the contours at 6 have a plurality of protrusions separated by recessed portions); and
wherein a male protruding portion of the plurality of male protruding portions is shaped and dimensioned to fit into a designated female recessed portion of the female recessed portions (Figs. 2 and 4, protrusions of 5 fits into the recesses of 6), and
wherein a female protruding portion of the plurality of female protruding portions is shaped and dimensioned to fit into a designated male recessed portion of the male recessed portions (Figs. 2 and 4, the protrusions of 6 fits into the recesses of 5) in order to have at least the advantage of increased load capacity and a known reliable way to prevent unwanted axial disconnection (In 9:1-20 discloses the advantage of increased load capacity and preventing unwanted disconnection).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling assembly of Mahoney to include the male surface having a plurality of protrusions separated by recessed portions that fit respectively with the female surface having a plurality of protrusions separated by recessed portions with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of increased load capacity and a known reliable way to prevent unwanted axial disconnection as taught by Deneke.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard (DE 102014111436 B2).
Richard discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein a material of the one or more elongated flexible locking member includes a higher strength than a material of the female member and the male member.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the locking member relative to the material of the female member and the male member of Richard to try designing the material of the locking member relative to the material of the female member and the male member with a reasonable expectation of success because there are a finite number of solutions of designing the material strength of the locking member relative to the material of the female member and the male member which the locking member has a material strength higher, lower, or equal to the female member and the male member. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). In this case, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the material strength of the locking member to be higher than the female member and the male member since it is the crucial component that locks the female member and the male member together. It would even seem common sense to have the locking member to have a material strength greater than the male member and the female member since it is such an important component that prevents disconnection of the male member and the female member.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard (DE 102014111436 B2) in view of Mahoney (US 2,458,714).
Richard discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein an at least one bore has a first opening configured for connection to an injection fluid reservoir and a second opening penetrating the female surface, whereby a fluid can be injected into a cavity formed between at least a portion of an outer male surface and a corresponding inner female surface portion.
In the related field of pipe coupling assembly with at least one locking member, Mahoney teaches wherein an at least one bore has a first opening (Fig. 1, at 6 there is a port which defines a bore having a first opening) configured for connection to an injection fluid reservoir (Fig. 1, the first opening of the port that faces the outside is capable of connection to an injection fluid reservoir) and a second opening penetrating the female surface (Fig. 1, the bore at 6 has a second opening which penetrates the female surface), whereby a fluid can be injected into a cavity formed between at least a portion of an outer male surface and a corresponding inner female surface portion (Fig. 1, the port at 6 allows a fluid to be injected into a cavity formed between at least a portion of an outer male surface of 1 and a corresponding inner female surface portion of 2 similar to applicant’s invention) in order to have at least the advantage of having the option to supply a lubricant within the coupling assembly (In 1:42-49 discloses 6 allows for a lubricant to be injected).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling assembly of Richard to include a port defining a bore to allow injection into a cavity formed between the male member and the female member with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of having the option to supply a lubricant within the coupling assembly as taught by Mahoney.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard (DE 102014111436 B2) in view of Mahoney (US 2,458,714) and further in view of Barr (US 3,445,120).
In regard to claim 6, Richard and Mahoney disclose the coupling assembly of claim 5, and Richard further discloses wherein the female member comprises an internal circumferential seal groove (Fig. 1, at 19 the female member has an internal circumferential seal groove) for receiving a seal (Fig. 1, seal at 19) or the male member comprises an external seal groove (Fig. 1, external seal groove at 18) for receiving a seal (Fig. 1, seal at 18).
Richard in view of Mahoney does not expressly disclose the seal grooves have opposite grooves that are configured and arranged for alignment when the male-and-female connection is made up.
In the related field of pipe coupling assemblies having seal connections, Barr teaches a coupling assembly (Fig. 2 shows a coupling assembly) having a female member comprises an internal circumferential seal groove (Fig. 2, female member at 17 having an internal circumferential seal groove at 10) and a male member has an external circumferential seal groove (Fig. 2, male member at 15 which has an external circumferential seal groove 48) and wherein the external circumferential seal groove and the internal circumferential seal groove are configured and arranged for alignment when a male-and-female connection is made up (Fig. 2, the internal and external seal grooves are in radial alignment when a male-and-female connection of 15 and 17 are made up as shown), for receiving a seal (Figs. 1 and 2, seal 10) in order to have advantage of a connection for various diameters, a gasket that fits tightly, and reduced danger of cold flow that allows a strong and reliable seal connection (In 1:68-72 to 2:1-9 discloses the advantages of the gasket connection of the coupling assembly).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the seal connection of Richard in view of Mahoney for the seal connection of Barr that includes an external seal groove on the male member that is in radial alignment with the internal seal groove at each seal location with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a connection for various diameters, a gasket that fits tightly, and reduced danger of cold flow that allows a strong and reliable seal connection as taught by Barr. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
It is also noted that Barr also teaches an alternative embodiment shown in Fig. 7 similar to Richard in view of Mahoney that only has an internal seal groove on the female member which would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that either type of connection can be used when utilizing a known and reliable gasket as that of Barr.
Additionally, it is noted that O-ring gaskets are typically not between two grooves because pressure gets trapped between the grooves leading to unpredictable sealing and possible failure. Since applicant’s specification describes the seal as not being illustrated and a special type of seal similar to Barr would be required to fit between parallel seal grooves, then one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably suggest applicant’s seal grooves lack criticality and appears arbitrary absent showing and/or describing the seal that fits within the seal grooves.
In regard to claim 7, Richard, Mahoney, and Barr disclose the coupling assembly of claim 6, wherein the external circumferential seal groove and the internal circumferential seal groove are arranged such that the external circumferential seal groove and the internal circumferential seal groove isolate the cavity from the at least one circular, non-helical, and circumferential channel formed by the at least one first groove and the at least one second groove when the male-and-female connection is made up (See Fig. 1 of Richard at the seal grooves at 18 and 19 which in combination with Barr would have both internal and external seal grooves at each 18 and 19 and would at least isolate the cavity from the channel at 13 and 14. See claim 6 above for the same reasons to combine Richard, Mahoney, and Barr.).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard (DE 102014111436 B2) in view of Deneke (US 11,079,050 B2).
Richard discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the male surface comprises a plurality of male protruding portions separated by male recessed portions, and the female surface comprises a plurality of female protruding portions separated by female recessed portions; and
wherein a male protruding portion of the plurality of male protruding portions is shaped and dimensioned to fit into a designated female recessed portion of the female recessed portions, and
wherein a female protruding portion of the plurality of female protruding portions is shaped and dimensioned to fit into a designated male recessed portion of the male recessed portions.
In the related field of pipe coupling assembly, Deneke teaches a connection between a male member and a female member (Fig. 2, male member at 2 and female member at 4) that includes wherein the male surface comprises a plurality of male protruding portions separated by male recessed portions (Fig. 2, the contours at 5 define plurality of protrusions separated by recessed portions), and the female surface comprises a plurality of female protruding portions separated by female recessed portions (Fig. 2, the contours at 6 have a plurality of protrusions separated by recessed portions); and
wherein a male protruding portion of the plurality of male protruding portions is shaped and dimensioned to fit into a designated female recessed portion of the female recessed portions (Figs. 2 and 4, protrusions of 5 fits into the recesses of 6), and
wherein a female protruding portion of the plurality of female protruding portions is shaped and dimensioned to fit into a designated male recessed portion of the male recessed portions (Figs. 2 and 4, the protrusions of 6 fits into the recesses of 5) in order to have at least the advantage of increased load capacity and a known reliable way to prevent unwanted axial disconnection (In 9:1-20 discloses the advantage of increased load capacity and preventing unwanted disconnection).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling assembly of Richard to include the male surface having a plurality of protrusions separated by recessed portions that fit respectively with the female surface having a plurality of protrusions separated by recessed portions with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of increased load capacity and a known reliable way to prevent unwanted axial disconnection as taught by Deneke.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Inglehart (US 11,703,170 B2), Leavitt (US 2022/0268380 A1), Clapper et al. (US 10,443,766 B2), Coogan et al. (US 9,568,120 B2), Washburn et al. (US 6,921,114 B1), Clarke (US 5,816,625), and Toon (US 5,255,945) disclose a coupling assembly having male member inserted into a female member and locked by at least one flexible wire or rod similar to applicant’s invention and such type of locking mechanism with a flexible wire or rod is also known as a spline connection.
Blue (US 290,663) and Persent et al. (US 2019/0136642 A1) disclose a male member having a plurality of protrusions separated by recesses that fits respectively with a plurality of protrusions separated by recesses of a female member in order to prevent axial disconnection and to form a coupling assembly similar to applicant’s invention.
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679