DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8, 11-13, 16-21, 23-24 and 26 are presented for examination.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is acceptable for examination purposes.
Drawings
The drawings received on 06/10/2025 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
The reference(s) listed in the disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2025 have been considered. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 11-13, 16-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiki Matsumine’s “A Low-Complexity Probabilistic Amplitude Shaping With Short Linear Block Codes” (Reference from IDS) herein Matsumine in view of Doan et al (US 20210211229 A1), herein Doan.
As per claim 1, Matsumine teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising (This would make the proposed scheme suitable for applications where computational capabilities at the transmitter and the receiver sides are asymmetrical, such as downlink communication from base station to user terminals in mobile networks; Matsumine Page 2):
generate a set of shaping bits based at least in part on a plurality of information bit sequences, each information bit sequence of the plurality of information bit sequences comprising a respective stream of a demultiplexed bit sequence (we split a binary information sequence u ∈ F(m−1)Nsymbol→into m − 1 streams, denoted as (u0,...,um−2) with ui ∈ FN2 , i ∈{0,...,m− 2}. These binary sequences are converted to amplitude symbol sequences by shaping operation…es ∈ FK2 is a shaping bit sequence; Matsumine Page 3)(component receiving u and outputing u00um-2 is DEMUX; Matsumine Page 3; FIG. 1)
wherein the set of shaping bits is based at least in part on a quasi-cyclic graphical code (generator matrix of a binary block code (N, K) used for shaping with its information and codeword lengths given by K and N, respectively; Matsumine Page 3);
apply a bitmask sequence to a first information bit sequence of the plurality of information bit sequences to form a masked bit sequence (the 0th bit-plane sequence c0 is expressed as c0 = u0 ⊕ v (where ⊕ denotes element-wise modulo-2 addition), whereas the remaining bit-planes are left unchanged, i.e., ci = ui for i ∈ {1,...,m− 2}; Matsumine Page 3),
wherein the bitmask sequence is based at least in part on the set of shaping bits and one or both of a generator matrix or a parity-check matrix associated with the quasi-cyclic graphical code (Let Gs ∈ FK× N2 denote a generator matrix of a binary block code (N, K) used for shaping with its information and codeword lengths given by K and N, respectively. A code rate of a shaping code is then defined as Rs = K/N. We attempt to control distribution of amplitude symbols by superposing a shaping codeword v = sGs (this equates bitmask sequence) ∈ FN2 onto the bit level of amplitude symbols that has the highest impact on a signal power, i.e., u0,wheres ∈ FK 2 is a shaping bit sequence. Letting c =(c0,...,cm−2) with ci ∈ FN2 , i ∈{0,...,m−2}, denote bit-plane sequences after shaping operation, the 0th bit-plane sequence c0 is expressed as c0 = u0 ⊕ v (this is applying bit mask) (where ⊕ denotes element-wise modulo-2 addition), whereas the remaining bit-planes are left unchanged, i.e., ci = ui for i ∈ {1,...,m− 2}; Matsumine Page 3);
and transmit a message including the masked bit sequence (transmitted as the signs of PAM symbols together with parity bits of an FEC code; Matsumine Page 5).
Matsumine does not explicitly teach a processor memory in electronic communication with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor, quasi-cyclic graphical code and wherein the bitmask sequence is based at least in part on the set of shaping bits and one or both of a generator matrix or a parity-check matrix associated with the quasi-cyclic graphical code.
However, Doan in an analogous art teaches a processor memory in electronic communication with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor (at least one modem, at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one modem, and at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code; Doan p. 0011):
wherein the set of shaping bits is based at least in part on a quasi-cyclic graphical code (the non-legacy LDPC code may be based on a quasi-cyclic (QC) parity-check matrix. Such codes may be referred to as QC LDPC codes; Doan p. 0150); and
wherein the bitmask sequence is based at least in part on the set of shaping bits and one or both of a generator matrix or a parity-check matrix associated with the quasi-cyclic graphical code (A parity-check matrix for a QC LDPC code may be represented by a base matrix and expansion submatrices for expanding the elements of the base matrix…the parity-check matrix 1300 (or a generator matrix based on the parity-check matrix 1300) may be used by the systematic encoder 1220 to generate the codewords ; Doan p. 0150-0151).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Matsumine with the teachings of Doan by using processors and memories to execute the method and making the set of shaping bits be based on a quasi-cyclic graphical code.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ quasi-cyclic graphical code in the system of Matsumine because Doan teaches combining the first encoding operation with a second encoding operation having a coding rate of 7/8 to close the gap between the channel capacity attainable by a transmitting device (Doan p. 0040).
As per claim 8, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined above, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: generate the bitmask sequence based at least in part on the set of shaping bits and the generator matrix, wherein applying the bitmask sequence is based at least in part on generating the bitmask sequence (generator matrix of a binary block code (N, K) used for shaping with its information and codeword lengths given by K and N, respectively…a shaping codeword v = sGs (this equates bitmask sequence) ∈ FN2 onto the bit level of amplitude symbols that has the highest impact on a signal power, i.e., u0,wheres ∈ FK2 is a shaping bit sequence…where ⊕ denotes element-wise modulo-2 addition), whereas the remaining bit-planes are left unchanged, i.e., ci = ui for i ∈ {1,...,m− 2}; Matsumine Page 3).
As per claim 11, Matsumine teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
generate at least two sets of shaping bits based at least in part on segmenting each of a plurality of information bit sequences into a plurality of segments (Let τ =⌈Nsymbol/N⌉ denote the number of shaping code blocks per transmit symbol length, where⌈·⌉denotes the ceiling function.3 Then, the shaping bit sequence corresponding to τ shaping encoders is denoted as s= (s1,...,sτ) ∈FτK; Matsumine Page 4)(When a block length N symbol is not dividable by a shaping code length N, we puncture the last (τN−Nsymbol)bits of one shaping code to match the lengths; Matsumine Page 4), each information bit sequence of the plurality of information bit sequences comprising a respective stream of a demultiplexed bit sequence (Letting Nsymbol denote modulation symbol
length (i.e., block length), we split a binary information sequence u ∈ F(m−1)Nsymbol→into m − 1 streams, denoted as (u0,...,um−2) with ui ∈ FN2 , i ∈{0,...,m− 2}. These binary sequences are converted to amplitude symbol sequences by shaping operation…es ∈ FK2 is a shaping bit sequence; Matsumine Page 3)(component receiving u and outputing u00um-2 is DEMUX; Matsumine Page 3; FIG. 1);
generate two or more bitmask sequences based at least in part on a generator matrix associated with a block code and each set of shaping bits of the at least two sets of shaping bits (Let Gs ∈ FK× N2 denote a generator matrix of a binary block code (N, K) used for shaping with its information and codeword lengths given by K and N, respectively. A code rate
of a shaping code is then defined as Rs = K/N. We attempt to control distribution of amplitude symbols by superposing a shaping codeword v = sGs (this equates bitmask sequence) ∈ FN2 onto the bit level of amplitude symbols that has the highest impact on a signal power, i.e., u0,wheres ∈ FK2 is a shaping bit sequence; Matsumine Page 3);
apply a bitmask sequence to a first information bit sequence of the plurality of information bit sequences to form a masked bit sequence (the 0th bit-plane sequence c0 is expressed as c0 = u0 ⊕ v (where ⊕ denotes element-wise modulo-2 addition), whereas the remaining bit-planes are left unchanged, i.e., ci = ui for
i ∈ {1,...,m− 2}; Matsumine Page 3),
wherein the bitmask sequence comprises a concatenation of the two or more bitmask sequences (Let τ =⌈Nsymbol/N⌉ denote the number of shaping code blocks per transmit symbol length, where⌈·⌉denotes the ceiling function.3 Then, the shaping bit sequence corresponding to τ shaping encoders is denoted as s= (s1,...,sτ) ∈FτK (obviousness show this functionally equates concatenation as the masks collectively form the mask over the transmit-symbol length stream; Matsumine Page 4);
and transmit a message including the masked bit sequence (transmitted as the signs of PAM symbols together with parity bits of an FEC code; Matsumine Page 5).
Matsumine does not teach a processor; memory in electronic communication with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor.
However, Doan in an analogous art teaches a processor; memory in electronic communication with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor (at least one modem, at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one modem, and at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code; Doan p. 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Matsumine with the teachings of Doan by using processors and memories to execute the method.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ using a processor and memory for the method of Matsumine because Doan teaches combining the first encoding operation with a second encoding operation having a coding rate of 7/8 to close the gap between the channel capacity attainable by a transmitting device (Doan p. 0040).
As per claim 12, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 11,
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
desegment the two or more bitmask sequences to form the concatenation of the two or more bitmask sequences (Let τ =⌈Nsymbol/N⌉ denote the number of shaping code blocks per
transmit symbol length, where⌈·⌉denotes the ceiling function.3 Then, the shaping bit sequence corresponding to τshaping encoders is denoted as s= (s1,...,sτ) ∈FτK (obviousness show this functionally equates concatenation/desegmentation as the masks collectively form the mask over the transmit-symbol length stream; Matsumine Page 4)(Let Gs ∈ FK× N2 denote a generator matrix of a binary block code (N, K) used for shaping with its information and codeword lengths given by K and N, respectively. A code rate of a shaping code is then defined as Rs = K/N; Matsumine Page 3),
wherein applying the bitmask sequence is based at least in part on desegmenting the two or more bitmask sequences (We attempt to control distribution of amplitude symbols by superposing a shaping codeword v = sGs (this equates bitmask sequence) ∈ FN2 onto the bit level of
amplitude symbols that has the highest impact on a signal power, i.e., u0,wheres ∈ FK
2 is a shaping bit sequence; Matsumine Page 3)(the 0th bit-plane sequence c0 is expressed as c0 = u0 ⊕ v (where ⊕ denotes element-wise modulo-2 addition), whereas the remaining bit-planes are left unchanged, i.e., ci = ui for i ∈ {1,...,m− 2}; Matsumine Page 3).
As per claim 13, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 11,
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
demultiplex the bit sequence to form the plurality of information bit sequences, each information bit sequence of the plurality of information bit sequences having a first modulation symbol length (Letting Nsymbol denote modulation symbol length (i.e., block length), we split a binary information sequence u ∈ F(m−1)Nsymbol→into m − 1 streams, denoted as (u0,...,um−2) with ui ∈ FN2 , i ∈{0,...,m− 2}. These binary sequences are converted to amplitude symbol sequences by shaping operation…es ∈ FK2 is a shaping bit sequence; Matsumine Page 3)(component receiving u and outputing u00um-2 is DEMUX; Matsumine Page 3; FIG. 1),
wherein the block code is associated with a first block size (Let Gs ∈ FK× N2 denote a generator matrix of a binary block code (N, K) used for shaping with its information and codeword lengths given by K and N, respectively. A code rate of a shaping code is then defined as Rs = K/N; Matsumine Page 3);, the first block size being less than the first modulation symbol length (We assume that a shaping code is shorter than the FECblock length. Let τ =⌈Nsymbol/N⌉ denote the number of shaping code blocks per transmit symbol length, where⌈·⌉denotes the ceiling function.3; Matsumine Page 4);
and segment each of the plurality of information bit sequences into the plurality of segments, a quantity of the plurality of segments being based at least in part on the first modulation symbol length and the first block size (Let τ =⌈Nsymbol/N⌉ denote the number of shaping code blocks pertransmit symbol length, where⌈·⌉denotes the ceiling function.3; Matsumine Page 4), and
wherein generating the at least two sets of shaping bits is based at least in part on the segmenting (Then, the shaping bit sequence corresponding to τ shaping encoders is denoted as s= (s1,...,sτ) ∈FτK (obviousness show this functionally equates concatenation/desegmentation as the masks collectively form the mask over the transmit-symbol length stream; Matsumine Page 4).
As per claim 16, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 11,
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to decode each segment of the plurality of segments using the block code (Let τ =⌈Nsymbol/N⌉ denote the number of shaping code blocks per transmit symbol length, where⌈·⌉denotes the ceiling function.3 Then, the shaping bit sequence corresponding to τshaping encoders is denoted as s= (s1,...,sτ) ∈FτK (obviousness show this functionally equates concatenation/desegmentation as the masks collectively form the mask over the transmit-symbol length stream; Matsumine Page 4)(Code-based shaping attempts to control transmit signals based on soft decision decoding of shaping codes at the transmitter side…We introduce a novel PAS approach where the capacity approaching signal distribution is generated by decoding of linear block codes…the shaping implementation based on decoding algorithm of short linear block codes; Matsumine Page 2).
As per claim 17, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 11,
wherein: the at least two sets of shaping bits are generated in parallel (the shaping encoder 710 may perform the first encoding operation on the first stream of amplitude bits to provide a first PAM symbol stream in parallel with independently performing the first encoding operation on the second stream of amplitude bits to provide a second PAM symbol stream (which may ultimately be combined with the first PAM symbol stream to obtain a QAM symbol stream); Doan p. 0080)
As per claim 18, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
generate a first set of shaping bits based at least in part on a plurality of information bit sequences, each information bit sequence of the plurality of information bit sequences comprising a respective stream of a demultiplexed bit sequence, wherein the first set of shaping bits is based at least in part on a first block code (Let τ =⌈Nsymbol/N⌉ denote the number of shaping code blocks per transmit symbol length, where⌈·⌉denotes the ceiling function.3 Then, the shaping bit sequence corresponding to τshaping encoders is denoted as s= (s1,...,sτ) ∈FτK; Matsumine Page 4)(When a block length N symbol is not dividable by a shaping code length N, we puncture the last (τN−Nsymbol)bits of one shaping code to match the lengths; Matsumine Page 4);
generate a second set of shaping bits based at least in part on the plurality of information bit sequences wherein the second set of shaping bits is based at least in part on a second block code (Let τ =⌈Nsymbol/N⌉ denote the number of shaping code blocks per
transmit symbol length, where⌈·⌉denotes the ceiling function.3 Then, the shaping bit sequence corresponding to τ shaping encoders is denoted as s= (s1,...,sτ) ∈FτK; Matsumine Page 4)(When a block length N symbol is not dividable by a shaping code length N, we puncture the last (τN−Nsymbol)bits of one shaping code to match the lengths; Matsumine Page 4);
apply a first bitmask sequence to a first information bit sequence of the plurality of information bit sequences to form a first masked bit sequence (the 0th bit-plane sequence c0 is expressed as c0 = u0 ⊕ v (where ⊕ denotes element-wise modulo-2 addition), whereas the remaining bit-planes are left unchanged, i.e., ci = ui for i ∈ {1,...,m− 2}; Matsumine Page 3),
wherein the first bitmask sequence is based at least in part on the first set of shaping bits and a first generator matrix associated with the first block code (Let Gs ∈ FK× N2 denote a generator matrix of a binary block code (N, K) used for shaping with its information and codeword lengths given by K and N, respectively. A code rate of a shaping code is then defined as Rs = K/N. We attempt to control distribution of amplitude symbols by superposing a shaping codeword v = sGs (this equates bitmask sequence) ∈ FN2 onto the bit level of amplitude symbols that has the highest impact on a signal power, i.e., u0,wheres ∈ FK2 is a shaping bit sequence. Letting c =(c0,...,cm−2) with ci ∈ FN2 , i ∈{0,...,m−2}, denote bit-plane sequences after shaping operation, the 0th bit-plane sequence c0 is expressed as c0 = u0 ⊕ v (this is applying bit mask) (where ⊕ denotes element-wise modulo-2 addition), whereas the remaining bit-planes are left unchanged, i.e., ci = ui for i ∈ {1,...,m− 2}; Matsumine Page 3);
and transmit a message including the first masked bit sequence and the second masked bit sequence (transmitted as the signs of PAM symbols together with parity bits of an FEC code; Matsumine Page 5)
Matsumine does not explicitly teach a processor; memory in electronic communication with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor;
applying a second bitmask sequence to a second information bit sequence of the plurality of information bit sequences to form a second masked bit sequence, wherein the second bitmask sequence is based at least in part on the second set of shaping bits and a second generator matrix associated with the second block code;
However, Doan in an analogous art teaches a processor; memory in electronic communication with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor (at least one modem, at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one modem, and at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code; Doan p. 0011);
applying a second bitmask sequence to a second information bit sequence of the plurality of information bit sequences to form a second masked bit sequence, wherein the second bitmask sequence is based at least in part on the second set of shaping bits and a second generator matrix associated with the second block code (the shaping encoder 710 may perform the first encoding operation on the first stream of amplitude bits to provide a first PAM symbol stream in parallel with independently performing the first encoding operation on the second stream of amplitude bits to provide a second PAM symbol stream; Doan p. 0080)(the pre-shaping parser 704 or the shaping encoder 710 itself may separate or divide the plurality of amplitude bits into separate streams of amplitude bits (for example, in a round robin fashion) and perform an independent prefix encoding operation on each of the streams of amplitude bits in parallel…the first stream of amplitude bits for the first PAM symbol stream into m parallel data streams. Similarly, the pre-shaping parser 704 may further divide the second stream of amplitude bits for the second PAM symbol stream into m parallel data streams; Doan p. 0100);
As per claim 19, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 18,
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select the first block code for generating the first set of shaping bits based at least in part on the first information bit sequence being associated with a higher transmit power than the second information bit sequence, wherein generating the first set of shaping bits is based at least in part on selecting the first block code (We attempt to control distribution of amplitude symbols by superposing a shaping codeword v = sGs (this equates bitmask sequence) ∈ FN2 onto the bit level of amplitude symbols that has the highest impact on a signal power, i.e., u0,wheres ∈ FK2 is a shaping bit sequence; Matsumine Page 3)(the 0th bit-plane sequence c0 is expressed as c0 = u0 ⊕ v (where ⊕ denotes element-wise modulo-2 addition), whereas the remaining bit-planes are left unchanged, i.e., ci = ui for i ∈ {1,...,m− 2}; Matsumine Page 3).
As per claim 20, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 18,
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select the second block code for generating the second set of shaping bits based at least in part on the second information bit sequence being associated with a lower transmit power than the first information bit sequence, wherein generating the second set of shaping bits is based at least in part on selecting the second block code (the bit level of amplitude symbols that has the highest impact on a signal power, i.e., u0,wheres ∈ FK2 is a shaping bit sequence; Matsumine Page 3).
As per claim 23, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 18,
wherein the first block code and the second block code comprise a same block code (Let Gs ∈ FK× N2 denote a generator matrix of a binary block code (N, K) used for shaping with its information and codeword lengths given by K and N, respectively; Matsumine Page 3) (the shaping encoder 710 may perform the first encoding operation on the first stream of amplitude bits to provide a first PAM symbol stream in parallel with independently performing the first encoding operation on the second stream of amplitude bits to provide a second PAM symbol stream (which may ultimately be combined with the first PAM symbol stream to obtain a QAM symbol stream); Doan p. 0080).
Claims 2-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumine in view of Doan in further view of Moritz Beermann’s “Highly Flexible Design of Multi-Rate Multi-Length Quasi-Cyclic LDPC Code” (Reference from IDS), herein Beermann.
As per claim 2, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 2.
However, Beermann in an analogous art teaches wherein the quasi-cyclic graphical code is associated with a set of lifting factors for lifting a base graph having a quantity of bit nodes and generating the set of shaping bits is based at least in part on the set of lifting factors (QC LDPC codes inherently support multiple code lengths by using different lifting factors together with a common lifting matrix to construct codes of different lengths without changing the underlying code structure…The QC check matrix is given…with the lifting factor Z; Beermann Page 1/37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Matsumine in view of Doan with the teachings of Beermann by configuring the quasi-cyclic graphical with a set of lifting factors for lifting a base graph having a quantity of bit nodes and generating the set of shaping bits.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ lifting factors in the system of Matsumine in view of Doan because Beermann teaches multiple code lengths by using different lifting factors together with a common lifting matrix allowing to use a single hardware implementation (Beermann Page 37)
As per claim 3, Matsumine in view of Doan in further view of Beermann, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 2,
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
demultiplex the bit sequence to form the plurality of information bit sequences, each information bit sequence of the plurality of information bit sequences having a first modulation symbol length (Letting Nsymbol denote modulation symbol
length (i.e., block length), we split a binary information sequence u ∈ F(m−1)Nsymbol→into m − 1 streams, denoted as (u0,...,um−2) with ui ∈ FN2 , i ∈{0,...,m− 2}. These binary sequences are converted to amplitude symbol sequences by shaping operation…es ∈ FK2 is a shaping bit sequence; Matsumine Page 3)(component receiving u and outputing u00um-2 is DEMUX; Matsumine Page 3; FIG. 1);
and select a lifting factor from the set of lifting factors based at least in part on the first modulation symbol length and the quantity of bit nodes, wherein generating the set of shaping bits is based at least in part on selecting the lifting factor (QC LDPC codes inherently support multiple code lengths by using different lifting factors together with a common lifting matrix to construct codes of different lengths without changing the underlying code structure…The QC check matrix is given…with the lifting factor Z and N′ = N/Z and M′ = M/Z; Beermann Page 1/37)(the expanded check matrix H[Z] will by definition exhibit the same DDs. This strategy will also prove useful for supporting multiple block lengths since the same shortening (puncturing) rules can be used for different lifting factors Z; Beermann Page 3/39)
As per claim 4, Matsumine in view of Doan in further view of Beermann, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 3,
wherein the lifting factor is selected based at least in part on a product of the lifting factor and the quantity of bit nodes being greater than or equal to the first modulation symbol length (with the lifting factor Z and N′ = N/Z and M′ = M/Z (this equation when rearranged is N=ZN' which is essentially lifting factor multiplied by quantity of bit nodes = expanded code length); Beermann Page 1/37)(lifting factors Zi ∈ {4,8,16,32,64,128,256} at block lengths N'Z = Ni ∈ {504,1008,2016,4032,8064,16128,32256}; Beermann Page 4/40).
As per claim 5, Matsumine in view of Doan in further view of Beermann, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 3,
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
pad one or more information bit sequences of the plurality of information bit sequences based at least in part on the selected lifting factor and the quantity of bit nodes, wherein generating the set of shaping bits is based at least in part on the padding (When a block length N symbol is not dividable by a shaping code length N, we puncture the last (τN−Nsymbol)bits of one shaping code to match the lengths; Matsumine Page 4)(information shortening allows to realize lower code rates rl < rµ by only using Keff of the information positions and w.l.o.g. setting the remaining Ks = K − Keff positions to zero; Beermann Page 2/38)(by designing the lifting matrix A according to the jointly optimized DDs, the expanded check matrix H[Z] will by definition exhibit the same DDs. This strategy will also prove useful for supporting multiple block lengths since the same shortening (puncturing) rules can be used for different lifting factors Z; Bermann Page 3/39) (shortening/puncturing functionally equates to padding).
As per claim 7, Matsumine in view of Doan in further view of Beermann, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 3,
wherein each lifting factor of the set of lifting factors is associated with a base parity-check matrix, and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (QC LDPC codes inherently support multiple code lengths by using dif
ferent lifting factors together with a common lifting matrix to construct codes of different lengths without changing the underlying code structure…The QC check matrix is given…with the lifting factor Z; Beermann Page 1/37):
select the base parity-check matrix based at least in part on the selected lifting factor (with the lifting factor Z and N′ = N/Z and M′ = M/Z (this equation when rearranged is N=ZN' which is essentially lifting factor multiplied by quantity of bit nodes = expanded code length); Beermann Page 1/37),
wherein the parity-check matrix comprises the base parity-check matrix and generating the set of shaping bits is based at least in part on selecting the base parity-check matrix (To efficiently store a QC check matrix, the so-called lifting matrix A with dimension M′×N′ and entries Am′,n′ ∈ {−1,0,1,...,Z−1} is used; Beermann Page 2/38).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumine in view of Doan in further view of Beermann in further view of Koike-Akino et al (US 20220278698 A1), herein Koike.
As per claim 6, Matsumine in view of Doan in further view of Beermann, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 3. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 6.
However, Koike in an analogous art teaches wherein each lifting factor of the set of lifting factors is associated with a base generator matrix, and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (a parameter defining a lifting size, a parameter defining a base generator matrix…Those parameters are referred herein as protograph specification parameters.; Koike p. 0021-0022):
select the base generator matrix based at least in part on the selected lifting factor (a set of parameters including a combination of a parameter defining a number of data bits in the codeword, a parameter defining a depth of proto-polarization stages…a parameter defining a protograph lifting size, a parameter defining a base generator matrix with shift values…encoder encodes the source data using the parameters of the code; Koike p. 0024),
wherein the generator matrix comprises the base generator matrix and generating the set of shaping bits is based at least in part on selecting the base generator matrix (based on a lifting operation for a generator matrix of a base code, wherein the lifting operation applies a replication and a permutation of the base code by replacing each element of the generator matrix with a permutation matrix; Koike Claim 4)(LDGM encoder encodes the source data using the parameters of the code; Koike p. 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Matsumine in view of Doan in further view of Beermann with the teachings of Koike by configuring selecting the base generator matrix based at least in part on the selected lifting factor,
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ selecting the base generator matrix based on the selected lifting factor in the system of Matsumine in view of Doan in further view of Beermann because Koike teaches highly parallelizable decoding is realized to achieve a high coding gain and high throughput without increasing the computational complexity and latency (Koike p. 0010).
Claims 21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumine in view of Doan in further view of Koike.
As per claim 21, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 18. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 21.
However, Koike in an analogous art teaches wherein the first block code and the second block code comprise block codes having different code lengths, different coding rates, or both (the error correction performance is enhanced by coupling short polar codes, e.g., with different code rates, different frozen bit locations, different codeword lengths, different interleaving, and different polarization kernels; Koike p. 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Matsumine in view of Doan with the teachings of Koike by configuring the first block code and the second block code comprise block codes having different code lengths, different coding rates, or both.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the blocks having different code lengths or rates in the system of Matsumine in view of Doan because Koike teaches highly parallelizable decoding is realized to achieve a high coding gain and high throughput without increasing the computational complexity and latency (Koike p. 0010).
As per claim 26, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 18,
wherein the first block code comprises a first code, and the second block code comprises a second code different from the first code (the error correction performance is enhanced by coupling short polar codes, e.g., with different code rates, different frozen bit locations, different codeword lengths, different interleaving, and different polarization kernels; Koike p. 0023).
Claims 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumine in view of Doan in further view of Fan (US 20030012315 A1).
As per claim 24, Matsumine in view of Doan, as combined, teaches the apparatus of claim 18. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 24.
However, Fan in an analogous art teaches wherein the first information bit sequence comprises a sequence of most significant bits associated with the message, and the second information bit sequence comprises a sequence of second most significant bits associated with the message (the first stage can include the most significant bit (s0, s1), the second stage can include the next most significant bits (s2, s3); Fan p. 0101)(A determination of which quadrant a symbol belongs to can be determined by the first two (most significant) bits of the symbol (a 16-QAM symbol includes four bits)…The quadrants 1, 2, 3, 4 are further separated into four subquadrants 1', 2' 3', 4'. The determination of which subquadrant a symbol belongs to can be determined by the next two most significant bits of the symbol….For constellations that include more than four bits (for example, 64-QAM), the subquadrant can by further separated into four sub-subquadrants. The determination of which sub-subquadrant a symbol belongs to can be determined by the next two most significant bits of the symbol; Fan p. 0093-0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Matsumine in view of Doan with the teachings of Fan by configuring a sequence of most significant bits associated with the message.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a sequence of most significant bits in the system of Matsumine in view of Doan because Fan teaches the key of this layered approach is to decode each level independently, and use the corrected data at one stage to enable the decoding of the next stage (Fan p. 0096).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
The prior arts of record teach:
Van Nee (US 10742472 B1) teaches encoding data for wireless communication to achieve a desired amplitude distribution. Some implementations more specifically relate to performing an encoding operation to shape the amplitudes of the resultant symbols such that the amplitudes have a non-uniform distribution. In some implementations of the non-uniform distribution, the probabilities associated with the respective amplitudes generally increase with decreasing amplitude. In some implementations, the first encoding operation is or includes an arithmetic encoding operation, a prefix encoding operation or other encoding operation that adds redundancy to the input data bits by expanding the number of data bits. The redundancy may be added such that the probabilities associated with encoding input data bits into symbols with lower amplitudes are greater than the probabilities associated with encoding input data bits into symbols with higher amplitudes.
ISCAN (WO 2019015743 A1) teaches encoding a message to be transmitted over a communication channel. The communication apparatus comprises a precoder configured to generate on the basis of the message and a polar transform a pre-coded message, and a channel encoder configured to encode the pre- coded message based on the polar transform into a code word, wherein the code word comprises a plurality of bits which have a probability distribution, wherein the precoder is configured to generate the pre-coded message such that the channel encoder generates the plurality of bits of the code word with the probability distribution matching a target probability distribution.
Conclusion
/JAYLUN A JACKSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112