DETAILED ACTION
The present office action represents a nonfinal action on the merits.
Priority
This application claims the priority date of provisional application 63/432,895 of December 15, 2022, a 371 of PCT /CA2023/050254 of date February 28, 2023.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-15, 20-21, 24 and 38-39 are amended, claims 2, 7, 18-19, 22-23, and 25-37 are cancelled, and claims 1, 3-6, 8-17, 20-21, 24 and 38-39 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-17, 20-21, 24 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-17, 20-21, and 24 are drawn to a method, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., manufacture.). Claims 38 is drawn to a method, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., manufacture.). Claims 39 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable medium, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., machine).
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-17, 20-21, and 24 recite a computer-implemented method for generating personalized diagnostic and treatment guidance, the method being executed by one or more processors and comprising:
obtaining patient profile data for a patient, the patient profile data comprising a result of at least one evaluation test or interview of the patient;
determining, based on the patient profile data, diagnostic guidance for the patient, the diagnostic guidance for the patient identifying a primary health disorder of the patient and a second comorbid health disorder of the patient;
determining, based on the patient profile data and the diagnostic guidance for the patient, personalized treatment guidance to address treatment of the primary health disorder of the patient and treatment of the second comorbid health disorder of the patient, the personalized treatment guidance comprising:
a pharmacotherapy component identifying an ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options, each pharmacological treatment option corresponding to a different pharmaceutical product for treatment of the primary health disorder, wherein ordering of the pharmacological treatment options in the ordered listing is based on a ranking of the pharmacological treatment options for treatment of the primary health disorder based on the patient profile data and the diagnostic guidance for the patient;
generating an electronic report, the report comprising:
- an indication of the diagnostic guidance for the patient;
- an indication of the personalized treatment guidance to address treatment of the primary health disorder of the patient and treatment of the second comorbid health disorder of the patient.
Claim 38 recites a device, comprising:
one or more processors;
memory; and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the programs including:
instructions for obtaining patient profile data for a patient, the patient profile data comprising a result of at least one evaluation test or interview of the patient;
instructions for determining, based on the patient profile data, diagnostic guidance for the patient, the diagnostic guidance identifying a primary health disorder of the patient and a second comorbid health disorder of the patient;
instructions for determining, based on the patient profile data and diagnostic guidance for the patient, personalized treatment guidance to address treatment of the primary health disorder of the patient and treatment of the second comorbid health disorder of the patient, the personalized treatment guidance comprising:
a pharmacotherapy component identifying an ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options, each pharmacological treatment option corresponding to a different pharmaceutical product for treatment of the primary health disorder, wherein ordering of the pharmacological treatment options in the ordered listing is based on a ranking of the pharmacological treatment options for treatment of the primary health disorder based on the patient profile data and the diagnostic guidance for the patient;
instructions for generating an electronic report, the report comprising:
- an indication of the diagnostic guidance for the patient;
- an indication of the personalized treatment guidance to address treatment of the primary health disorder of the patient and treatment of the second comorbid health disorder of the patient.
Claim 39 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein instructions, which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations for generating personalized diagnostic and treatment guidance, the operations comprising:
obtaining patient profile data for a patient, the patient profile data comprising a result of at least one evaluation test or interview of the patient;
determining, based on the patient profile data, diagnostic guidance for the patient, the
determining, based on the patient profile data and the
a pharmacotherapy component identifying an ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options, each pharmacological treatment option corresponding to a different pharmaceutical product for treatment of the primary health disorder, wherein ordering of the pharmacological treatment options in the ordered listing is based on a ranking of the pharmacological treatment options for treatment of the primary health disorder based on the patient profile data and the diagnostic guidance for the patient;
generating an electronic report, the report comprising:
- an indication of the diagnostic guidance for the patient;
- an indication of the personalized treatment [[plan]]guidance to address treatment of the primary health disorder of the patient and the second comorbid health disorder of the patient.
The bolded limitations, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a certain method of organizing human activity (e.g., gathering user information; managing user information, in this case providing personalized, evidence-informed diagnostic and treatment guidance.) managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). The underlined limitations are not part of the identified abstract idea (the method of organizing human activity) and are deemed “additional elements,” and will be discussed in further detail below.
Dependent claims 3-6, 8-17, 20-21, and 24 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide an inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination.
The dependent claims include additional limitations, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claims 1, 38, and 39.
The additional elements from claims 1, 38, and 39 include:
one or more processors (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements from claim 5 include:
a rules engine (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements from claim 38 include:
a device (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
memory (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the programs including (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
instructions (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements from claim 39 include:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein instructions, which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations for generating personalized diagnostic and treatment guidance (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-17, 20-21, 24 and 38-39 are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (i.e., the limitations not identified as part of the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception – for example, the recitation of “one or more processors”, “a rules engine”, “a device”, “memory”, “one or more programs”, “one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors”, “instructions”, “a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein instructions, which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations for generating personalized diagnostic and treatment guidance”, which amounts to merely invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea e.g. see Specification Paragraphs [0019], [0051]-[0053], [0086]-[0087], [0118]-[0120], and [0178]. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Furthermore, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception because, the additional elements (i.e., the elements other than the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, as demonstrated by:
The Specification discloses that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional in nature (i.e., Paragraphs [0019], [0051]-[0053], [0086]-[0087], [0118]-[0120], and [0178], of the Specification discloses that the additional elements (i.e., one or more processors, a rules engine, a device, memory, one or more programs, one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, instructions, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein instructions, which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations for generating personalized diagnostic and treatment guidance) comprise a plurality of different types of generic computing systems that are configured to perform generic computer functions that are well understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry (i.e., healthcare);
Relevant court decisions: The following are examples of court decisions demonstrating well-understood, routine and conventional activities, e.g., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II):
Receiving data over a network, e.g., see Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec – similarly, the current invention obtains patient data.
Dependent claims 3-6, 8-17, 20-21, 24 include other limitations, but none of these functions are deemed significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements recited in the aforementioned dependent claims similarly represent no more than those found in the independent claims.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to “significantly more” than the above identified abstract idea. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, and there is no indication that the combination of elements improves generating personalized, evidence-informed diagnostic and treatment guidance or improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, claims 1, 3-6, 8-17, 20-21, 24 and 38-39 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-14, and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kutzko (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0273578 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kutzko discloses computer-implemented method for generating personalized diagnostic and treatment guidance, the method being executed by one or more processors and comprising (Paragraphs [0018]-[0019] discuss a computer-implemented method for predicting the health and therapeutic behavior of individuals and determining, via a computing device processor, a therapeutic behavior pattern of patient using the compliance record for the existing condition.):
obtaining patient profile data for a patient, the patient profile data comprising a result of at least one evaluation test or interview of the patient (Paragraphs [0019] and [0029] discuss receiving healthcare data of a patient, via a client device, the healthcare data including an existing condition, a new condition, a limiting factor, and a compliance record for the existing condition, lab values, exam results, etc.);
determining, based on the patient profile data, diagnostic guidance for the patient, the diagnostic guidance for the patient identifying a primary health disorder of the patient and a second comorbid health disorder of the patient (Paragraphs [0019], [0117], [0129], [0140]-[0141] discuss using patient healthcare data to generate treatment plan, the healthcare data includes past and one or more new conditions, receiving healthcare data of a patient, via a client device, the healthcare data including an existing condition, a new condition.);
determining, based on the patient profile data and the diagnostic guidance for the patient, personalized treatment guidance to address treatment of the primary health disorder of the patient and treatment of the second comorbid health disorder of the patient, the personalized treatment guidance comprising (Paragraphs [0019] and [0144] discuss receiving healthcare data of a patient, including an existing condition, a new condition; determining, via a computing device processor, a therapeutic behavior pattern of patient using the compliance record for the existing condition; determining, via the computing device processor, a successful therapy for the new condition based on the therapeutic behavior pattern.):
a pharmacotherapy component identifying an ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options, each pharmacological treatment option corresponding to a different pharmaceutical product for treatment of the primary health disorder, wherein ordering of the pharmacological treatment options in the ordered listing is based on a ranking of the pharmacological treatment options for treatment of the primary health disorder based on the patient profile data and the diagnostic guidance for the patient (Paragraphs [0019], [0034], [0052] discuss determining a therapeutic behavior pattern of patient using the compliance record for the existing condition and a successful therapy for the new condition based on the therapeutic behavior pattern, the artificial intelligence system ranking the one or more therapies by probability of successfully treating the one or more new conditions and/or one or more existing conditions.);
generating an electronic report, the report comprising (Paragraph [0136] and FIG. 7A discuss a patent dashboard allows patient to access healthcare solutions and treatment plans generated to their unique needs.):
- an indication of the diagnostic guidance for the patient (Paragraph [0136] and FIG. 7A discuss the generated patient's unique treatment plans are available to be viewed, inspected, and selected on the patient dashboard.);
- an indication of the personalized treatment guidance to address treatment of the primary health disorder of the patient and treatment of the second comorbid health disorder of the patient (Paragraphs [0033], [0136]-[0137] discuss develops a treatment plan for a patient which is prescribed in part based on comorbidities, retrieving healthcare data of a patient, wherein the healthcare data comprises one or more existing conditions, one or more new conditions, determining a therapeutic behavior pattern of the patient and one or more therapies for the one or more new conditions based on the healthcare data of the patient.).
Regarding claim 3, Kutzko discloses wherein the ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options includes only a partial subset of the highest ranked pharmacological treatment options corresponding to pharmaceutical products approved or commonly used off-label by medical specialists for treatment of the primary health disorder (Paragraphs [0032]-[0034], [0052], and [0129] discuss treatment plan recommendations and determining one or more therapies for the one or more existing and new conditions based on the healthcare data of the patient and ranking the one or more therapies by probability of successfully treating the one or more new conditions and/or one or more existing conditions, for example, an AI module may determine and rank two possible therapies, wherein the probability of success is based on factors including patient compliance, the patient's existing conditions, treatment cost, and historical success rate of the treatments and may rank the second possible therapy (an oral phytocannabinoid) higher than the first possible therapy (a topical prescription) since the patient has a higher compliance record with oral therapies than they do with topical therapies.).
Regarding claim 4, Kutzko discloses wherein the pharmacotherapy component of the personalized treatment guidance for the patient includes pharmacological treatment guidance providing at least one of the following (Paragraphs [0119] and [0130] discuss provide and recommend solutions, such as therapies which may successfully treat a condition.):
guidance for starting a pharmacological treatment option from among the ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options (Paragraphs [0130]-[0131] discuss one or more possible therapies may be determined and may include: procedures such as laboratory tests, medical devices and digital health technologies, prescriptive drugs such as prescription drugs, compounded drugs, 3-D printed drugs, veterinary prescription drugs, specialty pharmacy medications, medical cannabis, phytocannabinoids, terpenoid molecules, other compounds, surgeries, physical therapies, vitamins, nootropics, medical foods such as foods to improve cognitive function, vaccines, immunotherapies, monoclonal antibodies, or any other therapy which may be used to treat a condition, the possible therapies may be ranked by probability of successful treatment.);
guidance for maintaining a current pharmacological treatment option identified in the patient profile data (Paragraph [0131] discusses rank the possible therapies based on the likelihood of the therapy successfully treating the condition, based on the compliance record and one or more conditions, for example, rank the second possible therapy (an oral phytocannabinoid) higher than the first possible therapy (a topical prescription) since the patient has a higher compliance record with oral therapies than they do with topical therapies.);
guidance for stopping a current pharmacological treatment option identified in the patient profile data (Paragraphs [0122], [0145] discuss a patient with a condition such as Type 2 Diabetes requests information to regulate naturally their Type 2 Diabetes. The patient is current prescribed a series of oral medications to control their condition and is interested in learning if regulating their condition can be done naturally, resulting in a reduction or even an elimination of their drug dosages. The patient makes this request on the patient dashboard on a mobile application, and the artificial intelligence module calculates and attributes a percentage of the patient's overall response to each drug in the regimen in the form of response to objective or subjective markers demonstrating efficacy, takes data from research, other individuals, the user's health records and environmental activity and recommends a series of solutions.);
guidance for optimizing a dosage of a current pharmacological treatment option identified in the patient profile data (Paragraphs [0145]-[0146] discuss the artificial intelligence system recommends a specific medication based on known interactions between that medication and other medications which the patient is currently taking in order to maximize positive results for the patient.);
guidance for switching from a current pharmacological treatment option to a different pharmacological treatment option from among the ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options (Paragraph [0145] discusses the artificial intelligence module takes data from research, other individuals, the user's health records and environmental activity and recommends a series of solutions. Upon receiving the recommended solutions, the patient discusses the solutions with their doctor and sets goals to monitor progress based on the solutions generated. This information is added to the patient's healthcare record.); and
guidance for augmenting a current pharmacological treatment option with another different pharmacological treatment option from among the ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options (Paragraph [0141] discusses as healthcare data about a patient is aggregated over time, less and less new information is needed in order to generate treatment plans, the artificial intelligence system will update constantly any time new information is added to the distributed ledger, the improved recommendations of the artificial intelligence system will eliminate the need for some labs tests to be performed, specifically in the hospital setting, decreasing the time required to make treatment plan recommendations.).
Regarding claim 5, Kutzko discloses wherein determining the personalized treatment guidance based on the patient profile data and the diagnostic assessment of guidance for the patient is performed by the one or more processors utilizing a rules engine to process the patient profile data and the diagnostic assessment guidance relative to a rule set (Paragraphs [0018], [0051], [0075], [0097], [0114], [0110] discuss retrieving patient healthcare data, predicting the health and therapeutic behavior of individuals and making artificial intelligence based medical treatment plan recommendations, the software code may be operated on by a “rules engine” or processor, the blockchain network may comprise token governance rulesets based on crypto economic incentive mechanisms that determine under which circumstances blockchain network transactions are validated and new blocks are created.).
Regarding claim 6, Kutzko discloses wherein the rule set is configured to implement empirically validated treatment guidance (Paragraphs [0119] discuss artificial intelligence module consistently undergoes algorithm testing and validation based on new healthcare data and provide and recommend therapies that successfully treat a condition.).
Regarding claim 8, Kutzko discloses wherein the pharmacotherapy component of the personalized treatment guidance comprises (Paragraphs [0119] and [0130] discuss provide and recommend solutions, such as therapies which may successfully treat a condition.):
a first ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options for treatment of the primary health disorder, each pharmacological treatment option of the first ordered listing corresponding to a different pharmaceutical product for treatment of the primary health disorder, wherein the ordering of the pharmacological treatment options in the first ordered listing is based on a ranking of the pharmacological treatment options for treatment of the primary health disorder based on the patient profile data and the diagnosis of diagnostic guidance for the patient (Paragraphs [0130]-[0131] and [0144] discuss the artificial intelligence module may calculate the probability of disease progression for each condition of the patient, for example, the patient may have a primary condition, secondary condition, tertiary condition of any other number of conditions, and one or more possible therapies may be determined, all possible therapies may be determined and may be assigned ranking for successful treatment, for example, a patient has a condition such as diabetes which provides a limiting factor of their medication, such as metformin, DPP-4 inhibitors, and/or insulin and has a comorbidity, such as hypertension, which requires further medical treatment, such as taking a diuretic or beta-blocker. The artificial intelligence system of the present invention is operable to first determine the therapeutic behavior pattern of the patient, and then, considering all known hypertension medications and treatment options, as well as any other conditions and limiting factors of the patient, determine unsuccessful therapies and/or successful therapies for diabetes and hypertension based on the therapeutic behavior pattern.); and
a second ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options for treatment of the second comorbid health disorder, each pharmacological treatment option of the second ordered listing corresponding to a different pharmaceutical product for treatment of the second comorbid health disorder (Paragraphs [0130]-[0131] and [0144] discuss the artificial intelligence module may calculate the probability of disease progression for each condition of the patient, for example, the patient may have a primary condition, secondary condition, tertiary condition of any other number of conditions, and one or more possible therapies may be determined, all possible therapies may be determined and may be assigned ranking for successful treatment, for example, a patient has a condition such as diabetes which provides a limiting factor of their medication, such as metformin, DPP-4 inhibitors, and/or insulin and has a comorbidity, such as hypertension, which requires further medical treatment, such as taking a diuretic or beta-blocker. The artificial intelligence system of the present invention is operable to first determine the therapeutic behavior pattern of the patient, and then, considering all known hypertension medications and treatment options, as well as any other conditions and limiting factors of the patient, determine unsuccessful therapies and/or successful therapies for diabetes and hypertension based on the therapeutic behavior pattern.).
Regarding claim 9, Kutzko discloses wherein the ordering of the pharmacological treatment options in the second ordered listing is based on a ranking of the pharmacological treatment options for treatment of the second comorbid health disorder based on the patient profile data and the diagnostic guidance for the patient (Paragraphs [0129]-[0131] discuss healthcare data for patient used by artificial intelligence module and one or more possible therapies for a new condition may be determined, the possible therapies may be ranked by probability of successful treatment of a new condition of the patient.).
Regarding claim 10, Kutzko discloses wherein the ordering of the pharmacological treatment options for treatment of the primary health disorder in the first ordered listing considers both treatment of the primary health disorder and treatment of the second comorbid health disorder (Paragraphs [0130]-[0131] and [0144] discuss the artificial intelligence module may calculate the probability of disease progression for each condition of the patient, for example, the patient may have a primary condition, secondary condition, tertiary condition of any other number of conditions, and one or more possible therapies may be determined, all possible therapies may be determined and may be assigned ranking for successful treatment.).
Regarding claim 11, Kutzko discloses wherein the ordering of the pharmacological treatment options for treatment of the secondary comorbid health disorder in the second ordered listing considers both treatment of the secondary comorbid health disorder and treatment of the primary health disorder (Paragraphs [0146]-[0149] discuss primary condition and comorbidity and the artificial intelligence system determines the therapeutic behavior pattern of the patient, and then, considering all known primary condition medications and treatment options, as well as any other conditions and limiting factors of the patient, determine unsuccessful therapies and/or successful therapies for the primary and secondary disease based on the therapeutic behavior pattern and the artificial intelligence system recommends a specific secondary disease medication based on known interactions between that medication and other medications which the patient is currently taking in order to maximize positive results for the patient.).
Regarding claim 12, Kutzko discloses wherein determining the diagnostic guidance for the patient comprises:
identifying multiple health disorders of the patient based on the patient profile data (Paragraphs [0019] and [0033] discuss receiving healthcare data of a patient, via a client device, the healthcare data including one or more existing conditions, one or more new conditions.);
identifying one health disorder of the multiple health disorders of the patient as the primary health disorder of the patient based on a hierarchy for treatment of health disorders (Paragraphs [0019] and [0130] discuss healthcare data included one or more existing conditions and patient may have a primary condition, secondary, or any other number of medical conditions based on healthcare data.);
identifying another health disorder of the multiple health disorders of the patient as the second comorbid health disorder of the patient based on the hierarchy for treatment of health disorders (Paragraphs [0019], [0033], and [0130] discuss receiving healthcare data of a patient, via a client device, the healthcare data including one or more existing conditions, one or more new conditions, the patient may have a primary condition, secondary condition, tertiary condition of any other number of conditions.).
Regarding claim 13, Kutzko discloses wherein determining the diagnostic guidance for the patient further comprises identifying each remaining health disorder of the multiple health disorders of the patient as a further comorbidity to the primary health disorder based on the hierarchy for treatment of health disorders (Paragraphs [0146]-[0149] discuss primary condition and comorbidity and the artificial intelligence system determines the therapeutic behavior pattern of the patient, and then, considering all known primary condition medications and treatment options, determine unsuccessful therapies and/or successful therapies for the primary and secondary disease based on the therapeutic behavior pattern and the artificial intelligence system recommends a specific secondary disease medication based on known interactions between that medication and other medications which the patient is currently taking in order to maximize positive results for the patient.).
Regarding claim 14, Kutzko discloses wherein the personalized treatment guidance addresses treatment of the primary health disorder and treatment of the health disorders identified as comorbidities to the primary health disorder in accordance with a priority based on the hierarchy for treatment of health disorders (Paragraphs [0146]-[0149] discuss primary condition and comorbidity and the artificial intelligence system considering all known primary condition medications and treatment options, determine therapies for the primary and secondary disease and recommends a specific medication based on known interactions between that medication and other medications which the patient is currently taking in order to maximize positive results for the patient.).
Regarding claim 38, Kutzko discloses device, comprising (Paragraph [0020] discusses a device.):
one or more processors (Paragraph [0020] discusses a computing device and processor.);
memory (Paragraph [0100] discusses a memory.); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the programs including (Paragraph [0100] discusses the processor is a hardware device for executing software instructions, configured to execute software stored within the memory, to communicate data to and from the memory.):
instructions for obtaining patient profile data for a patient, the patient profile data comprising a result of at least one evaluation test or interview of the patient ((Paragraphs [0019], [0029], and [0100] discuss instructions, receiving healthcare data of a patient, via a client device, the healthcare data including an existing condition, a new condition, a limiting factor, and a compliance record for the existing condition, lab values, exam results, etc.);
instructions for determining, based on the patient profile data, diagnostic guidance for the patient, the diagnostic guidance identifying a primary health disorder of the patient and a second comorbid health disorder of the patient (Paragraphs [0019], [0117], [0129], [0140]-[0141] discuss using patient healthcare data to generate treatment plan, the healthcare data includes past and one or more new conditions, receiving healthcare data of a patient, via a client device, the healthcare data including an existing condition, a new condition.);
instructions for determining, based on the patient profile data and the diagnostic guidance for the patient, a-personalized treatment guidance to address treatment of the primary health disorder of the patient and treatment of the second comorbid health disorder of the patient, the personalized treatment guidance comprising (Paragraphs [0019] and [0144] discuss receiving healthcare data of a patient, including an existing condition, a new condition; determining, via a computing device processor, a therapeutic behavior pattern of patient using the compliance record for the existing condition; determining, via the computing device processor, a successful therapy for the new condition based on the therapeutic behavior pattern.):
a pharmacotherapy component identifying an ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options, each pharmacological treatment option corresponding to a different pharmaceutical product for treatment of the primary health disorder, wherein ordering of the pharmacological treatment options in the ordered listing is based on a ranking of the pharmacological treatment options for treatment of the primary health disorder based on the patient profile data and the diagnostic guidance for the patient (Paragraphs [0019], [0034], [0052] discuss determining a therapeutic behavior pattern of patient using the compliance record for the existing condition and a successful therapy for the new condition based on the therapeutic behavior pattern, the artificial intelligence system ranking the one or more therapies by probability of successfully treating the one or more new conditions and/or one or more existing conditions.);
instructions for generating an electronic report, the report comprising (Paragraph [0136] and FIG. 7A discuss a patent dashboard allows patient to access healthcare solutions and treatment plans generated to their unique needs.):
- an indication of the diagnosis of diagnostic guidance for the patient (Paragraph [0136] and FIG. 7A discuss the generated patient's unique treatment plans are available to be viewed, inspected, and selected on the patient dashboard.);
- an indication of the personalized treatment guidance to address treatment of the primary health disorder of the patient and treatment of the second comorbid health disorder of the patient (Paragraphs [0033], [0136]-[0137] discuss develops a treatment plan for a patient which is prescribed in part based on comorbidities, retrieving healthcare data of a patient, wherein the healthcare data comprises one or more existing conditions, one or more new conditions, determining a therapeutic behavior pattern of the patient and one or more therapies for the one or more new conditions based on the healthcare data of the patient.).
Regarding claim 39, Kutzko discloses the same limitations in Claim 1 with the addition of: a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein instructions, which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations for generating personalized diagnostic and treatment guidance, the operations comprising (Paragraphs [0183] discusses computer readable medium is operable to include the memory, the processor, and/or the storage media and is operable be a single medium or multiple media (e.g., a centralized or distributed computer system) that store the one or more sets of instructions. Non-transitory computer readable media includes all computer readable media.):
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutzko in view of Ramarajan (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0016206 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Kutzko discloses wherein the ranking of the pharmacological treatment options is further based on a respective rating for each pharmacological treatment option (Paragraphs [0052], [0124]-[0126], [0131], and [0138] discuss the artificial intelligence system ranking the one or more therapies by probability of successfully treating the one or more new conditions and/or one or more existing conditions, for example, the artificial intelligence module may determine that a third therapy of a third topical prescription for the new condition would not interfere with the patient's current topical prescription for eczema and that the limiting factor of bipolar disorder has little to no impact on the typical patients' ability to take the third topical prescription as prescribed and the artificial intelligence module may determine that a fourth therapy of a fourth topical prescription for the new condition would not interfere with the patient's current topical prescription for eczema and that the limiting factor of bipolar disorder has a significant impact on the typical patients' ability to take the third topical prescription as prescribed due to it having a possible side effect of exacerbating bipolar symptoms and the artificial intelligence module may then determine that the fourth therapy of a fourth topical prescription for the new condition would be an unsuccessful therapy which may not be used to treat the new condition.).
Kutzko does not explicitly disclose:
ranking based on a respective tolerability rating.
Ramarajan teaches:
ranking based on a respective tolerability rating (Paragraphs [0130]-[0134] discuss the patient preference score may be based on, for example, the patient's risk tolerance, computed at least in part using a risk tolerance score (RTS) that assesses how the patient judges and prioritizes the inherent risks and benefits of each of the options. The RTS is a score/value designed to understand the general risk tolerance of the patient to each option.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kutzko to include, ranking based on a respective tolerability rating, as taught by Ramarajan, in order to provide reliable information, expert opinion, and trustworthy personalized guidance to assist patients and their families in making complex medical decisions. (Ramarajan Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Kutzko discloses wherein, for each pharmacological treatment option, the respective rating is a single rating that is a function of respective ratings for a plurality of factors for that pharmacological treatment option (Paragraphs [0126], [0131], and [0138] discuss artificial intelligence module may determine two possible therapies, such as a first therapy and a second therapy, and rank the first and second possible therapies by probability of the first and second possible therapies being a successful treatment, for example, determine that a fourth therapy of a fourth topical prescription for the new condition of athletes' foot would not interfere with the patient's current topical prescription for eczema and that the limiting factor of bipolar disorder has a significant impact on the typical patients' ability to take the third topical prescription as prescribed due to it having a possible side effect of exacerbating bipolar symptoms.).
Kutzko does not explicitly disclose:
the respective tolerability rating is a single rating that is a function of respective ratings for a plurality of tolerability factors.
Ramarajan teaches:
the respective tolerability rating is a single rating that is a function of respective ratings for a plurality of tolerability factors (Paragraphs [0130]-[0134] discuss the patient preference score may be based on, for example, the patient's risk tolerance, computed at least in part using a risk tolerance score (RTS) that assesses how the patient judges and prioritizes the inherent risks and benefits of each of the options. The RTS is a score/value designed to understand the general risk tolerance of the patient to each option.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kutzko to include, the respective tolerability rating is a single rating that is a function of respective ratings for a plurality of tolerability factors, as taught by Ramarajan, in order to provide reliable information, expert opinion, and trustworthy personalized guidance to assist patients and their families in making complex medical decisions. (Ramarajan Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Kutzko discloses wherein the plurality of factors for a given pharmacological treatment option correspond to potential side effects from an associated pharmacological treatment class, and wherein the respective rating for a given factor indicates a likelihood of experiencing the side effect corresponding to that factor (Paragraphs [0126], [0131], and [0138] discuss prescriptions are compared to avoid known adverse side effects as well as dosage rates which provide positive and negative effects and the artificial intelligence module may determine two possible therapies, such as a first therapy and a second therapy, and rank the first and second possible therapies by probability of the first and second possible therapies being a successful treatment, for example, determine that a fourth therapy of a fourth topical prescription for the new condition of athletes' foot would not interfere with the patient's current topical prescription for eczema and that the limiting factor of bipolar disorder has a significant impact on the typical patients' ability to take the third topical prescription as prescribed due to it having a possible side effect of exacerbating bipolar symptoms.).
Kutzko does not explicitly disclose:
plurality of tolerability factors, and wherein the respective rating for a given tolerability factor indicates a likelihood of experiencing the side effect corresponding to that tolerability factor.
Ramarajan teaches:
plurality of tolerability factors, and wherein the respective rating for a given tolerability factor indicates a likelihood of experiencing the side effect corresponding to that tolerability factor (Paragraphs [0130]-[0134] discuss the patient preference score may be based on, for example, the patient's risk tolerance, computed at least in part using a risk tolerance score (RTS) that assesses how the patient judges and prioritizes the inherent risks and benefits of each of the options, the risk/benefit categories and grades may be plotted on a Y axis of a RTS tool and the RTS is a score/value designed to understand the general risk tolerance of the patient to each option.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kutzko to include, plurality of tolerability factors, and wherein the respective rating for a given tolerability factor indicates a likelihood of experiencing the side effect corresponding to that tolerability factor, as taught by Ramarajan, in order to provide reliable information, expert opinion, and trustworthy personalized guidance to assist patients and their families in making complex medical decisions. (Ramarajan Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, Kutzko discloses wherein, for each pharmacological treatment option, the respective rating is a weighted function of the respective ratings for the plurality of factors for that pharmacological treatment option, wherein respective weightings of the respective ratings for the plurality of factors are based on at least one of (Paragraphs [0034] and [0131] discuss calculating possible therapies ranked by probability of successful treatment, ranking based on the likelihood of the therapy successfully treating the condition, on the compliance record and one or more conditions and limiting factors of the patient.):
patient-identified complaints or clinical concerns identified in the patient profile data (Paragraphs [0117] and [0123] discuss patient healthcare data includes limiting factors, compliance records, therapeutic behavior patterns, successful therapies, unsuccessful therapies etc.);
patient health history identified in the patient profile data (Paragraphs [0117] and [0123] discuss healthcare data of a patient include patient health history.); or
one or more comorbidities identified in the diagnostic guidance (Paragraphs [0117] and [0123] discuss healthcare data of a patient include existing and new conditions diagnosed.).
Kutzko does not explicitly disclose:
the respective tolerability rating is based on the tolerability factors, wherein respective weightings for the plurality of tolerability factors.
Ramarajan teaches:
the respective tolerability rating is based on the tolerability factors, wherein respective weightings for the plurality of tolerability factors ((Paragraphs [0130]-[0134] discuss the patient preference score may be based on, for example, the patient's risk tolerance, computed at least in part using a risk tolerance score (RTS) that assesses how the patient judges and prioritizes the inherent risks and benefits of each of the options, the risk/benefit categories and grades may be plotted on a Y axis of a RTS tool and the RTS is a score/value designed to understand the general risk tolerance of the patient to each option.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kutzko to include, the respective tolerability rating is based on the tolerability factors, wherein respective weightings for the plurality of tolerability factors, as taught by Ramarajan, in order to provide reliable information, expert opinion, and trustworthy personalized guidance to assist patients and their families in making complex medical decisions. (Ramarajan Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 21, Kutzko discloses wherein the indication of the personalized treatment guidance in the electronic report comprises, for each pharmacological treatment option in the ordered listing of pharmacological treatment options, an indication of the respective rating for that pharmacological treatment option (Paragraphs [0034], [0131], [0136], FIG. 7A discuss calculating possible therapies ranked by probability of successful treatment, ranking based on the likelihood of the therapy successfully treating the condition, on the compliance record and one or more conditions and limiting factors of the patient in a dashboard.).
Kutzko does not explicitly disclose:
an indication of the respective tolerability rating.
Ramarajan teaches:
an indication of the respective tolerability rating (Paragraphs [0130]-[0134] discuss the patient preference score may be based on, for example, the patient's risk tolerance, computed at least in part using a risk tolerance score (RTS) that assesses how the patient judges and prioritizes the inherent risks and benefits of each of the options. The RTS is a score/value designed to understand the general risk tolerance of the patient to each option.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kutzko to include, an indication of the respective tolerability rating, as taught by Ramarajan, in order to provide reliable information, expert opinion, and trustworthy personalized guidance to assist patients and their families in making complex medical decisions. (Ramarajan Paragraph [0004]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutzko in view of De Bruin (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0119212 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Kutzko does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the diagnostic guidance for the patient based on the patient profile data comprises:
for a given diagnosis, determining one or more differential diagnoses to rule out;
assessing the given diagnosis and the one or more differential diagnoses based on the patient profile data to identify a supported diagnosis;
identifying the supported diagnosis as the diagnostic guidance for the patient;
for the supported diagnosis, assessing one or more common comorbidities of the supported diagnosis based on the patient profile data to determine whether a given comorbidity is supported by the patient profile data; and
for each comorbidity that is determined to be supported by the patient profile data, identifying the comorbidity in the diagnostic guidance for the patient.
De Bruin teaches:
wherein determining the diagnostic guidance for the patient based on the patient profile data comprises (Paragraphs [0002], [0031], and [0068] discuss determine patient medical diagnosis using patient data.):
for a given diagnosis, determining one or more differential diagnoses to rule out (Paragraphs [0069] and [0111] discuss medical diagnostic classification systems used when diagnosing a patient, the patient data will be analyzed to generate a report consisting of a list of diagnostic possibilities rank-ordered by likelihood.);
assessing the given diagnosis and the one or more differential diagnoses based on the patient profile data to identify a supported diagnosis (Paragraphs [0069] and [0111] discuss medical diagnostic classification systems used when diagnosing a patient, the patient data will be analyzed to generate a report consisting of a list of diagnostic possibilities rank-ordered by likelihood and sent to physician.);
identifying the supported diagnosis as the diagnostic guidance for the patient (Paragraphs [0069]-[0072] discuss a report indicating a range of diagnostic possibilities, is returned in a timely manner to the clinician, findings suggestive of an alternate diagnosis to the one preferred by the physician can be identified and this information conveyed to the physician.);
for the supported diagnosis, assessing one or more common comorbidities of the supported diagnosis based on the patient profile data to determine whether a given comorbidity is supported by the patient profile data (Paragraphs [0069]-[0072] discuss a report indicating a range of diagnostic possibilities, is returned in a timely manner to the clinician, findings suggestive of an alternate diagnosis to the one preferred by the physician can be identified.); and
for each comorbidity that is determined to be supported by the patient profile data, identifying the comorbidity in the diagnostic guidance for the patient (Paragraphs [0069] and [0111] discuss medical diagnostic classification systems used when diagnosing a patient, the patient data will be analyzed to generate a report consisting of a list of diagnostic possibilities rank-ordered by likelihood.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kutzko to include, wherein determining the diagnostic guidance for the patient based on the patient profile data comprises: for a given diagnosis, determining one or more differential diagnoses to rule out; assessing the given diagnosis and the one or more differential diagnoses based on the patient profile data to identify a supported diagnosis; identifying the supported diagnosis as the diagnostic guidance for the patient; for the supported diagnosis, assessing one or more common comorbidities of the supported diagnosis based on the patient profile data to determine whether a given comorbidity is supported by the patient profile data; and for each comorbidity that is determined to be supported by the patient profile data, identifying the comorbidity in the diagnostic guidance for the patient, as taught by De Brouwer, in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of the prediction and estimation models used to predict patient diagnosis and response to treatments. (De Bruin Abstract and Paragraph [0015]).
Conclusion
/DAWN T. HAYNES/
Art Unit 3686
/JASON B DUNHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3686