Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arimi et al (DE Patent Publication DE 112015000157 T5) in view of Yamada (EP Patent EP 3816376 A1).
With regards to Claim 12: Arimi et al teaches a method, applied to a vehicle door control system, the method comprising: sending a driving unlocking instruction (door unlock signal) to a vehicle door unlocking control unit (102) when receiving a vehicle collision signal (via airbag deployment signal from SAS 11), so that the vehicle door unlocking control unit controls a vehicle door unlocking, wherein the driving unlocking instruction is sent for at least three times (page 4 para 12).
Arimi et al does not teach when the number of sending times is greater than a preset number of sending times, determining a current state of the vehicle door; and when the current state is an unlocked state, stopping sending the driving unlocking instruction to the vehicle door unlocking control unit.
Yamada et al teaches a method, applied to a vehicle door control system, the method comprising: sending a driving unlocking instruction (drive signal) to a vehicle door unlocking control unit (50), so that the vehicle door unlocking control unit controls a vehicle door unlocking, determining a sending of the driving unlocking instruction (via 62); when the sending time is greater than a preset sending time (para [0034]), determining a current state of the vehicle door (para [0035]); and when the current state is an unlocked state, stopping sending the driving unlocking instruction to the vehicle door unlocking control unit (para [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle door control system disclosed in Arimi et al with the determination method taught in Yamada et al with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have ensured that the vehicle doors are unlocked for passenger egress after an emergency event.
With regards to Claim 13: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein, after receiving the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) and before the sending the driving unlocking instruction (Arimi door unlock signal) to the vehicle door unlocking control unit (Arimi 102), the method further comprises: receiving the vehicle collision signal by a vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) in the vehicle door control system; after the vehicle control unit receives the vehicle collision signal, changing a use mode of the vehicle control unit to a collision mode (upon Arimi airbag deployment and issuing an emergency alarm signal); and after the use mode of the vehicle control unit is changed to the collision mode, sending the vehicle collision signal to the vehicle door control unit in the vehicle door control system by the vehicle control unit with a preset first sending duration (Yamada H1), so that the vehicle door control unit sends the driving unlocking instruction to the vehicle door unlocking control unit according to the vehicle collision signal to control the vehicle door unlocking.
With regards to Claim 14: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein, after changing the use mode of the vehicle control unit to the collision mode (upon Arimi airbag deployment and issuing an emergency alarm signal), the method further comprises: when the vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) is restarted when sending the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) to the vehicle door control unit, controlling the restarted vehicle control unit to continue to send the vehicle collision signal to the vehicle door control unit (via Arimi page 4 para 12).
With regards to Claim 15: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein, before receiving the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) by the vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) in the vehicle door control system, the method further comprises: receiving the vehicle collision signal by a collision control unit (Arimi SAS 11) in the vehicle door control system; and after the collision control unit receives the vehicle collision signal, sending the vehicle collision signal to the vehicle control unit by the collision control unit with a preset second sending duration (via Arimi page 4 para 12), so that the vehicle control unit receives the vehicle collision signal.
With regards to Claim 16: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the method according to claim 15, wherein a transmission manner of the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) between the collision control unit (Arimi SAS 11) and the vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) comprises a wired transmission (Arimi page 5 para 3).
With regards to Claim 17: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the method according to claim 12, further comprising: when the number of sending times is less than the preset number of sending times (Arimi page 4 para 12), continuing to send the driving unlocking instruction (door unlock signal) to the vehicle door unlocking control unit (Arimi 102).
With regards to Claim 18: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the method according to claim 12, further comprising: judging a power supply state of a main power source (Arimi battery on Arimi page 7 para 8), wherein the main power source is a power source connected with the vehicle door control system, the vehicle door unlocking control unit (Arimi 102) and the vehicle door; and when the power supply state of the main power source is abnormal (main power off), controlling the vehicle door control system, the vehicle door unlocking control unit and the vehicle door to connect with a spare power source (Arimi backup power supply on Arimi page 7 para 8).
With regards to Claim 19: Arimi et al teaches an electronic device, configured to: send a driving unlocking instruction (door unlock signal) to a vehicle door unlocking control unit (102) when receiving a vehicle collision signal (via airbag deployment signal from SAS 11), so that the vehicle door unlocking control unit controls a vehicle door unlocking, wherein the driving unlocking instruction is sent for at least three times (page 4 para 12).
Arimi et al does not teach when the number of sending times is greater than a preset number of sending times, determining a current state of the vehicle door; and when the current state is an unlocked state, stopping sending the driving unlocking instruction to the vehicle door unlocking control unit.
Yamada et al teaches an electronic device, comprising: a processor (processor in para [0027]) and a memory (memory in para [0027]) communicatively connected with the processor; wherein the memory stores a computer program; the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory, applied to a vehicle door control system, the method comprising: sending a driving unlocking instruction (drive signal) to a vehicle door unlocking control unit (50), so that the vehicle door unlocking control unit controls a vehicle door unlocking, determining a sending of the driving unlocking instruction (via 62); when the sending time is greater than a preset sending time (para [0034]), determining a current state of the vehicle door (para [0035]); and when the current state is an unlocked state, stopping sending the driving unlocking instruction to the vehicle door unlocking control unit (para [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle door control system disclosed in Arimi et al with the processor, memory, and determination method taught in Yamada et al with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have ensured that the vehicle doors are unlocked for passenger egress after an emergency event.
With regards to Claim 20: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches a vehicle, comprising: the electronic device according to claim 19.
With regards to Claim 21: Arimi teaches a program to implement the following operations: sending a driving unlocking instruction (door unlock signal) to a vehicle door unlocking control unit (102) when receiving a vehicle collision signal (via airbag deployment signal from SAS 11), so that the vehicle door unlocking control unit controls a vehicle door unlocking, wherein the driving unlocking instruction is sent for at least three times (page 4 para 12).
Yamada et al teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (RAM in para [0027]), wherein the non- transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program; the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory, applied to a vehicle door control system, the method comprising: sending a driving unlocking instruction (drive signal) to a vehicle door unlocking control unit (50), so that the vehicle door unlocking control unit controls a vehicle door unlocking, determining a sending of the driving unlocking instruction (via 62); when the sending time is greater than a preset sending time (para [0034]), determining a current state of the vehicle door (para [0035]); and when the current state is an unlocked state, stopping sending the driving unlocking instruction to the vehicle door unlocking control unit (para [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle door control system disclosed in Arimi et al with the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and determination method taught in Yamada et al with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have ensured that the vehicle doors are unlocked for passenger egress after an emergency event.
With regards to Claim 22: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the electronic device according to claim 19, wherein after receiving the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) and before sending the driving unlocking instruction (Arimi door unlock signal) to the vehicle door unlocking control unit (Arimi 102), the processor (Yamada processor) is further configured to: control a vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) in a vehicle door control system to receive the vehicle collision signal; after the vehicle control unit receives the vehicle collision signal, change a use mode of the vehicle control unit to a collision mode (upon Arimi airbag deployment and issuing an emergency alarm signal); and after the use mode of the vehicle control unit is changed to the collision mode, control the vehicle control unit to send the vehicle collision signal to a vehicle door control unit in the vehicle door control system with a preset first sending duration (Yamada H1), so that the vehicle door control unit sends the driving unlocking instruction to the vehicle door unlocking control unit according to the vehicle collision signal to control the vehicle door unlocking.
With regards to Claim 23: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the electronic device according to claim 22, wherein after changing the use mode of the vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) to the collision mode (upon Arimi airbag deployment and issuing an emergency alarm signal), the processor (Yamada processor) is further configured to: when the vehicle control unit is restarted when sending the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) to the vehicle door control unit, control the restarted vehicle control unit to continue to send the vehicle collision signal to the vehicle door control unit (via Arimi page 4 para 12).
With regards to Claim 24: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the electronic device according to claim 22, wherein before receiving the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) by the vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) in the vehicle door control system, the processor is further configured to: control a collision control unit (Arimi SAS 11) in the vehicle door control system to receive the vehicle collision signal; and after the collision control unit receives the vehicle collision signal, control the collision control unit to send the vehicle collision signal to the vehicle control unit with a preset second sending duration (via Arimi page 4 para 12), so that the vehicle control unit receives the vehicle collision signal.
With regards to Claim 25: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the electronic device according to claim 24, wherein a transmission manner of the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) between the collision control unit (Arimi SAS 11) and the vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) comprises a wired transmission (Arimi page 5 para 3).
With regards to Claim 26: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the electronic device according to claim 19, wherein the processor (Yamada processor) is further configured to: when the number of sending times is less than the preset number of sending times (Arimi page 4 para 12), continue to send the driving unlocking instruction (door unlock signal) to the vehicle door unlocking control unit (Arimi 102).
With regards to Claim 27: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the electronic device according to claim 19, wherein the processor (Yamada processor) is further configured to: judge a power supply state of a main power source (Arimi battery on Arimi page 7 para 8), wherein the main power source is a power source connected with the vehicle door control system, the vehicle door unlocking control unit (Arimi 102) and the vehicle door; and when the power supply state of the main power source is abnormal (main power off), control the vehicle door control system, the vehicle door unlocking control unit and the vehicle door to connect with a spare power source (Arimi backup power supply on Arimi page 7 para 8).
With regards to Claim 28: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein after receiving the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) and before sending the driving unlocking instruction to the vehicle door unlocking control unit (Arimi 102), the non-transitory computer- readable storage medium (Yamada RAM) further causes the processor (Yamada processor) to implement the following operations: controlling a vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) in a vehicle door control system to receive the vehicle collision signal; after the vehicle control unit receives the vehicle collision signal, changing a use mode of the vehicle control unit to a collision mode (upon Arimi airbag deployment and issuing an emergency alarm signal); and after the use mode of the vehicle control unit is changed to the collision mode, controlling the vehicle control unit to send the vehicle collision signal to a vehicle door control unit in the vehicle door control system with a preset first sending duration (Yamada H1), so that the vehicle door control unit sends the driving unlocking instruction to the vehicle door unlocking control unit according to the vehicle collision signal to control the vehicle door unlocking.
With regards to Claim 29: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 28, wherein after changing the use mode of the vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) to the collision mode (upon Arimi airbag deployment and issuing an emergency alarm signal), the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Yamada RAM) further causes the processor (Yamada processor) to implement the following operations: if the vehicle control unit is restarted when sending the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) to the vehicle door control unit, controlling the restarted vehicle control unit to continue to send the vehicle collision signal to the vehicle door control unit (via Arimi page 4 para 12).
With regards to Claim 30: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 28, wherein before receiving the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) by the vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) in the vehicle door control system, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Yamada RAM) further causes the processor to implement the following operations: controlling a collision control unit (Arimi SAS 11) in the vehicle door control system to receive the vehicle collision signal; and after the collision control unit receives the vehicle collision signal, controlling the collision control unit to send the vehicle collision signal to the vehicle control unit with a preset second sending duration (via Arimi page 4 para 12), so that the vehicle control unit receives the vehicle collision signal.
With regards to Claim 31: The combination of Arimi and Yamada et al teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 30, wherein a transmission manner of the vehicle collision signal (via Arimi airbag deployment signal from Arimi SAS 11) between the collision control unit (Arimi SAS 11) and the vehicle control unit (Arimi BCM 12) comprises a wired transmission (Arimi page 5 para 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tomita et al (US Patent Publication US 20180099642 A1), Xiao (CN Patent CN 111335755 A), and Yokomori (CN Patent CN 108474223 A) teaches an automatic door lock mechanism for a motor vehicle.
/MATTHEW JOSEPH GANCI/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614