DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to claims filed on 06/11/2025. Claims 1-16 are pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-16 is as follows.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Reference character “8” in Figure 6 does not appear in the specification
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5, 8, and 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 2, “the segments” should read “the plurality of segments”
In claim 5, lines 2-3, “the quantity” should read “a quantity”
In claim 5, line 6, “of segments” should read “segments”
In claim 8, line 8, “the brain” should read “a brain”
In claim 8, line 8, “the heart” should read “a heart”
In claim 15, lines 5-6, “the reference feature data” should read “reference feature data”, as there is improper antecedent basis for this limitation
In claim 16, line 6, “the quantity” should read “a quantity”
In claim 16, line 8, “determining feature data is generated” should read “determining feature data.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “identified artefacts” in line 11. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the one or more artefacts from line 7, or different artefacts. If it is meant to refer to the artefacts from line 7, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different artefacts, it needs to be distinguished from the artefacts from line 7. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the one or more artefacts from line 7. Claims 2-13 and 16 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “continuous sections” in line 2. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the continuous sections from claim 1, lines 10-11, or different continuous sections. If it is meant to refer to the continuous sections from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different continuous sections, it needs to be distinguished from the continuous sections from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the continuous sections from claim 1. Claims 5 and 10 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 3.
Further regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “segments” in line 2. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the plurality of segments from claim 2, line 4, or different segments. If it is meant to refer to the plurality of segments from claim 2, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different segments, it needs to be distinguished from the plurality of segments from claim 2. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the plurality of segments from claim 2. Claims 5 and 10 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 3.
Further regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “substantially equal” in line 3. It is unclear what constitutes as “substantially” equal, as the use of the word substantially provides ambiguity. It is unclear how close to equal is considered substantially equal, and how far away from equal will still be considered substantially equal. The broad and indefinite scope of the limitation fails to inform a person of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable certainty of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, therefore the claim is rendered indefinite. For purposes of examination, any values of time within 1 minute will be considered substantially equal. Claims 5 and 10 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites the limitation “identified artefacts” in line 3. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the one or more artefacts from claim 1, line 7, the identified artefacts from claim 1, line 11, or different artefacts. If it is meant to refer to any of the previously introduced artefacts, it needs to clearly refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different artefacts, it needs to be distinguished from all of the previously introduced artefacts. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to any of the previously introduced artefacts.
Further regarding claim 5, the claim recites the limitation “continuous sections” in line 6. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the continuous sections from claim 1, lines 10-11, the continuous sections from claim 3, line 2, or different continuous sections. If it is meant to refer to any of the previously introduced continuous sections, it needs to clearly refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different continuous sections, it needs to be distinguished from all of the previously introduced continuous sections. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to any of the previously introduced continuous sections.
Further regarding claim 5, the claim recites the limitation “segments” in line 6. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the plurality of segments from claim 2, line 4, or different segments. If it is meant to refer to the plurality of segments from claim 2, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different segments, it needs to be distinguished from the plurality of segments from claim 2. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the plurality of segments from claim 2.
Further regarding claim 5, the claim recites the limitation “determining feature data” in lines 6-7. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the determining feature data from claim 1, line 12, or different determining feature data. If it is meant to refer to the determining feature data from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different determining feature data, it needs to be distinguished from the determining feature data from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the determining feature data from claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites the limitation “the artefacts” in line 8. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the one or more artefacts from claim 1, line 7, the identified artefacts from claim 1, line 11, or different artefacts. If it is meant to refer to any of the previously introduced artefacts, it needs to clearly refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different artefacts, it needs to be distinguished from all of the previously introduced artefacts. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to any of the previously introduced artefacts.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “the determining the condition data” in lines 1-2. It is unclear what this limitation is meant to refer to, as there has only been a step of acquiring condition data, not determining the condition data. The broad and indefinite scope of the limitation fails to inform a person of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable certainty of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, therefore the claim is rendered indefinite. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as reading as “the acquiring the condition data”.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the limitation “identifying artefacts” in line 4. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the one or more artefacts from claim 1, line 7, the identified artefacts from claim 1, line 11, or different artefacts. If it is meant to refer to any of the previously introduced artefacts, it needs to clearly refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different artefacts, it needs to be distinguished from all of the previously introduced artefacts. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to any of the previously introduced artefacts.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites the limitation “at least one reference subject” in line 3. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the at least one reference subject from claim 1, line 15, or a different reference subject. If it is meant to refer to the reference subject from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different reference subject, it needs to be distinguished from the reference subject from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the reference subject from claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites the limitation “predefined features” in line 4. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the predefined feature from claim 1, line 15, or different predefined features. If it is meant to refer to the predefined feature from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different predefined features, it needs to be distinguished from the predefined feature from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the predefined feature from claim 1.
Further regarding claim 12, the claim recites the limitation “a plurality of reference subjects” in line 4. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the at least one reference subject from claim 1, line 15, or a different reference subject. If it is meant to refer to the reference subject from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different reference subject, it needs to be distinguished from the reference subject from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the reference subject from claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites the limitation “a plurality of reference subjects” in line 4 and lines 4-5. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the at least one reference subject from claim 1, line 15, or a different reference subject. If it is meant to refer to the reference subject from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different reference subject, it needs to be distinguished from the reference subject from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the reference subject from claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites the limitation “identified artefacts” in line 17. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the one or more artefacts from line 14, or different artefacts. If it is meant to refer to the artefacts from line 14, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different artefacts, it needs to be distinguished from the artefacts from line 14. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the one or more artefacts from line 14.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites the limitation “the at least one data storage device” in lines 10-11. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the at least one electronic storage device from line 5, or a different storage device. If it is meant to refer to the storage device from claim 5, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different storage device, it needs to be properly introduced into the claims. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the storage device from line 5.
Further regarding claim 15, the claim recites the limitation “identified artefacts” in line 20. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the one or more artefacts from line 16, or different artefacts. If it is meant to refer to the artefacts from line 16, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different artefacts, it needs to be distinguished from the artefacts from line 16. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the one or more artefacts from line 16.
Further regarding claim 15, the claim recites the limitation “reference feature data” in line 23. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the reference feature data from line 5, or difference reference feature data. If it is meant to refer to the reference feature data from line 5, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different reference feature data, it needs to be distinguished from the reference feature data from line 5. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the reference feature data from line 5.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites the limitation “substantial substantially equal” in line 5. It is unclear what constitutes as “substantially” equal, as the use of the word substantially provides ambiguity. It is unclear how close to equal is considered substantially equal, and how far away from equal will still be considered substantially equal. The broad and indefinite scope of the limitation fails to inform a person of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable certainty of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, therefore the claim is rendered indefinite. For purposes of examination, any values of time within 1 minute will be considered substantially equal.
Further regarding claim 16, the claim recites the limitation “identified artefacts” in line 6. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the one or more artefacts from claim 1, line 7, the identified artefacts from claim 1, line 11, or different artefacts. If it is meant to refer to any of the previously introduced artefacts, it needs to clearly refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different artefacts, it needs to be distinguished from all of the previously introduced artefacts. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to any of the previously introduced artefacts.
Further regarding claim 16, the claim recites the limitation “determining feature data” in line 8. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the determining feature data from claim 1, line 12, or different determining feature data. If it is meant to refer to the determining feature data from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different determining feature data, it needs to be distinguished from the determining feature data from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the determining feature data from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lovoi (US 20220395226).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lovoi teaches a computer-implemented medical method of processing data (Abstract: “A system and method for detecting brain concussion includes detecting and measuring of acceleration at one or more points on a subject's head”) acquired using acceleration sensors contacting an anatomical body part of a patient ([0012]: “at least one of the sensors of the equipment described below (and preferably more, or all) are secured on the head. Pressure pulse readings are taken from all sensors, which are accelerometers”), the method comprising:
acquiring acceleration measurement data that describes acceleration signals acquired using the acceleration sensors ([0044]: “The block 25 indicates detection and recording of acceleration at one or more selected points on the head of a subject”);
determining artefact data based on the acceleration measurement data, wherein the artefact data describes existence of one or more artefacts in the acceleration signals; determining usable signal data based on the acceleration measurement data and the artefact data, wherein the usable signal data describes continuous sections of the acceleration signals which are free of identified artefacts ([0042]: “An omnidirectional sound pressure level (SPL) sensor 11 is positioned on the top of the headset for the purpose of ambient noise eradication (see FIGS. 2A and 2B) “; [0043]: “Transduced accelerometer data are digitized with the digital signal processor 12 and sampled with the laptop computer 20 (see FIG. 2C). The system detects and analyzes low-frequency signals from the accelerometers, below 500 Hz and for most analysis no higher than 100 Hz. Much analysis can be at 30 Hz or less. Correlated noise patterns between the SPL sensor and accelerometer data may be removed during processing”. The method of determining the correlated noise patterns and removing the noise during processing is analogous to determining artefact data (the noise data) and determining usable data (the data without noise).);
determining feature data based on the usable signal data, wherein the feature data describes at least one predefined feature in the acceleration signals ([0044]: “The block 25 indicates detection and recording of acceleration at one or more selected points on the head of a subject. This data is digitized and, in a preferred embodiment, a fast Fourier transform (FFT) is performed on the data, as indicated at 26. A waveform is produced, per the block 28, as a plot of energy or intensity versus frequency.”. The data after the fast Fourier transform and the produced waveform are the feature data, and the waveform as a plot of energy or intensity versus frequency is the at least one predetermined feature.);
determining reference feature data that describes at least one predefined feature in acceleration signals acquired for at least one reference subject of a specific medical condition ([0044]: “This waveform is compared to a reference waveform (block 30), to determine whether concussion is indicated.”; [0044]: “The dependent blocks 32, 34 and 36 indicate that this comparison can be done visually, by algorithm, or, as explained below, via a Campbell diagram.”; [0048]: “Different diagnostic algorithms can be developed to allow a headset to diagnose these conditions. In order to develop such diagnostic algorithms different cohorts of patients with and without the condition must be assessed with the headset to provide the training data set and verification data set for development and verification of the diagnostic algorithm.”. The patients with the condition (concussion) are the at least one reference subjects.); and
determining classification data based on the feature data and the reference feature data, wherein the classification data describes a grade of similarity between the at least one predefined feature in the acceleration signals acquired for the patient and the at least one predefined feature in the acceleration signals acquired for the at least one reference subject ([0044]: “The block 38 indicates the system provides a conclusion as to whether concussion is indicated, and the probability of accuracy can accompany this conclusion.”; [0047]: “The accelerometry data is analyzed using the diagnostic algorithm 350. The system then calculates concussion of non-concussion (with probability) for the patient 350. The block 38 indicates the system provides a conclusion as to whether concussion is indicated, and the probability of accuracy can accompany this conclusion”. The indication as to whether there is a concussion is the classification data, and the probability of accuracy describes the grade of similarity.).
Regarding claim 2, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the usable signal data comprises determining segmented signal data based on the usable signal data ([0011]: “A new physiological phenomenon developed pursuant to the invention uses highly sensitive accelerometers to detect movement of the human skull during a normal cardiac cycle”), wherein the segmented signal data describes the continuous sections divided into a plurality of segments ([0075]: “FIGS. 10 and 11 show plots of accelerometer readings taken on a subject with only two opposing accelerometer sensors, at left and right temporal lobes. These are plots of acceleration events during a single heartbeat”).
Regarding claim 3, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the segmented signal data describes continuous sections divided into segments having a length of at least one cardiac cycle, wherein the segments cover a substantially equal length of time ([0011]: “A new physiological phenomenon developed pursuant to the invention uses highly sensitive accelerometers to detect movement of the human skull during a normal cardiac cycle”; [0075]: “FIGS. 10 and 11 show plots of accelerometer readings taken on a subject with only two opposing accelerometer sensors, at left and right temporal lobes. These are plots of acceleration events during a single heartbeat”. If each segment is equal to a normal cardiac cycle, then they are each a substantially equal length of time.).
Regarding claim 6, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the usable signal data comprises acquiring additional sensor data of a different type than the acceleration measurement data that describes at least one of: an acoustic noise of an environmental origin, comprising structure-borne and/or airborne sound; and a heart rate of the patient; wherein, based at least in part on the additional sensor data, the artefacts are identified and/or the continuous sections are divided into segments ([0042]: “A heart rate sensor 13 is also provided using a PPG (photoplethysmography)”; [0055]: “In the subjects with concussion, several additional peaks, representing higher frequencies, appeared. These new peaks arose at frequencies including and between 5 and 12 times the heart rate frequency. Three high-frequency ranges were used in algorithm development to differentiate between concussed and non-concussed subjects. FIGS. 6A-6D show the frequency component plots of four concussed subjects. Note that the fifth and sixth harmonic peaks have higher amplitude than do the first to third harmonic peaks. This increase in higher frequency harmonic content continues in paired bands at about 5 to 6 times the heart rate, 8 to 9 times the heart rate and 11 to 12 times the heart rate. This increase in higher frequency harmonic content can also be observed in the time-domain waveforms as shown in FIGS. 10 and 11, described below.”).
Regarding claim 7, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 1,wherein the determining the feature data comprises acquiring condition data input manually by a user, relating to the patient and/or a medical and/or pathological condition of the patient ([0048]: “Different diagnostic algorithms can be developed to allow a headset to diagnose these conditions. In order to develop such diagnostic algorithms different cohorts of patients with and without the condition must be assessed with the headset to provide the training data set and verification data set for development and verification of the diagnostic algorithm. Once developed the diagnostic algorithm and headset may be used for assessment of patients in the field suspected of having the particular condition.”; [0050]: “Neural networks typically are trained by inputting a set of known inputs”. The diagnostic algorithms use training dataset, and the training data is input by a user relating to the condition of the patient.).
Regarding claim 8, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the determining the condition data describes at least one of: a motoric deficiency of the patient acquired via a handheld device grasped by the patient; a gaze or a visual impairment of the patient acquired via a device tracking at least one of the patient's eyes; a property of the patient's peripheral vasculature; an activity of the brain or the heart of the patient ([0048]: “In addition to concussion, cranial accelerometry data may be used to non-invasively diagnose a number of abnormal cranial conditions which cause micro or macro changes in the pulsatile blood flow with the brain or brain tissues. Such conditions include but are not limited to: stroke; ischemic stroke; vessel occlusion, hemorrhagic stroke; aneurysm; stenosis; peripheral bleeding”); and/or a blood flow of the patient.
Regarding claim 9, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the artefact data comprises decomposing the acquired acceleration signals into a plurality of frequency ranges ([0014]: “The data includes frequency and intensity of vibrations of the skull at the location of the accelerometer. The data from the accelerometer are analyzed and investigated. If the data shows changes in frequency content of skull motion in selected frequency ranges as compared with data corresponding to non-concussion, this is taken to indicate probable concussion”; [0016]: “A graph of the data, either in the time domain or in the frequency domain, will reveal, in a patient having concussion, a particular pattern that will not be seen in a graph of data from a non-concussed patient”) and analyzing the decomposed signals for identifying artefacts ([0043]: “The system detects and analyzes low-frequency signals from the accelerometers, below 500 Hz and for most analysis no higher than 100 Hz”. The artefacts can also include the data outside of the identified frequency ranges.).
Regarding claim 10, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining the feature data comprises determining signal component data based on the usable signal data and/or the segmented signal data ([0044]: “The block 25 indicates detection and recording of acceleration at one or more selected points on the head of a subject. This data is digitized and, in a preferred embodiment, a fast Fourier transform (FFT) is performed on the data, as indicated at 26. A waveform is produced, per the block 28, as a plot of energy or intensity versus frequency.”. The data after the fast Fourier transform and the produced waveform are the feature data, and the waveform as a plot of energy or intensity versus frequency is the signal component data), that describes at least one of the continuous sections and/or at least one of the segments thereof decomposed into a plurality of frequency ranges ([0014]: “The data includes frequency and intensity of vibrations of the skull at the location of the accelerometer. The data from the accelerometer are analyzed and investigated. If the data shows changes in frequency content of skull motion in selected frequency ranges as compared with data corresponding to non-concussion, this is taken to indicate probable concussion”; [0016]: “A graph of the data, either in the time domain or in the frequency domain, will reveal, in a patient having concussion, a particular pattern that will not be seen in a graph of data from a non-concussed patient”).
Regarding claim 11, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the classification data comprises defining one or more classes, each class including at least one reference subject, and defining at least one threshold for the at least one predefined feature in the acceleration signals acquired for the patient, wherein an affiliation of the patient to the one or more classes is based on whether or not the at least one predefined feature in the acceleration signals acquired for the patient surpasses the at least one threshold ([0057]: “Preferably another ratio factor is also included in the described algorithm, which can be called R.sub.2. R.sub.2 represents “normalized” data from the eighth and ninth harmonic peaks. The average value of those peaks is also divided by a maximum or average of one or more of the lower harmonics, the same denominator used for R.sub.1. In one embodiment of the algorithm the R.sub.2 threshold is set at 0.66. Thus, concussion is indicated if R.sub.1≥1.0 and R.sub.2≥0.66. Concussion is contra-indicated in the case where both R.sub.1 and R.sub.2 are below the set thresholds.”; Figs. 8A-8B show different thresholds indicating different classes (i.e., concussed and not concussed), and the affiliation of the patient is determined based on the signals surpassing specific thresholds. Additionally, the thresholds are determined based on known concussed vs. not concussed classes, which are determined from reference subjects falling within each class; [0046]: “The digitized data from the cohorts of concussion subjects 300 and non-concussion subjects 310 (training set) is then analyzed at step 320 using one or more of machine learning, mathematic analysis, expert system, neural net system, and/or artificial intelligence system”).
Regarding claim 12, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 1,wherein the determining the classification data comprises defining one of more clusters in a space having two or more dimensions, the one or more clusters being defined by accumulations of predefined features in the acceleration signals acquired for a plurality of reference subjects, wherein an affiliation of the patient to the one or more clusters is based on the distance between the at least one predefined feature and the one or more clusters in the space having two or more dimensions ([0062]: “A given individual, when measured repeatedly, has a cluster of R.sub.1 and R.sub.2 which may be similar to that as shown in FIG. 8A, at lower left. When a recording provides an R.sub.1 and R.sub.2 that differs by an amount greater than the average variation in typical subjects, then that change provides a measure of concussion detection. The more recordings and factors obtained, the more confident the diagnosis of concussion. These factors could be obtained from continuous recordings to further improve the detection speed”; Fig. 8A shows the cluster of R1 and R2 of the user in two dimensions, which show the affiliation of the patient based on the distance of the clusters from the predefined feature (thresholds related to concussed vs not concussed). Additionally, the thresholds are determined based on known concussed vs. not concussed classes, which are determined from reference subjects falling within each class; [0046]: “The digitized data from the cohorts of concussion subjects 300 and non-concussion subjects 310 (training set) is then analyzed at step 320 using one or more of machine learning, mathematic analysis, expert system, neural net system, and/or artificial intelligence system”).
Regarding claim 13, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 1,wherein the determining the classification data comprises utilizing a pretrained machine learning algorithm, wherein a training set for the machine learning algorithm comprises a plurality of reference subjects having the specific medical condition and a plurality of reference subjects not having the specific medical condition ([0046]: “All of the collected data is digitized and, in a preferred embodiment, a fast Fourier transform (FFT) is performed on the data. The digitized data from the cohorts of concussion subjects 300 and non-concussion subjects 310 (training set) is then analyzed at step 320 using one or more of machine learning, mathematic analysis, expert system, neural net system, and/or artificial intelligence system.”).
Regarding independent claim 14, Lovoi teaches a comprising non-transitory computer- readable storage medium storing instructions thereon that, when the instructions are executed by a processor device of an associated computer, cause the computer to perform a method ([0038]: “The headset 100 includes data storage 122”; [0043]: “Transduced accelerometer data are digitized with the digital signal processor 12 and sampled with the laptop computer 20”; Abstract: “A system and method for detecting brain concussion includes detecting and measuring of acceleration at one or more points on a subject's head”) of processing data acquired using acceleration sensors contacting an anatomical body part of a patient ([0012]: “at least one of the sensors of the equipment described below (and preferably more, or all) are secured on the head. Pressure pulse readings are taken from all sensors, which are accelerometers”), by:
acquiring acceleration measurement data that describes acceleration signals acquired using the acceleration sensors ([0044]: “The block 25 indicates detection and recording of acceleration at one or more selected points on the head of a subject”);
determining artefact data based on the acceleration measurement data, wherein the artefact data describes existence of one or more artefacts in the acceleration signals; determining usable signal data based on the acceleration measurement data and the artefact data, wherein the usable signal data describes continuous sections of the acceleration signals which are free of identified artefacts ([0042]: “An omnidirectional sound pressure level (SPL) sensor 11 is positioned on the top of the headset for the purpose of ambient noise eradication (see FIGS. 2A and 2B) “; [0043]: “Transduced accelerometer data are digitized with the digital signal processor 12 and sampled with the laptop computer 20 (see FIG. 2C). The system detects and analyzes low-frequency signals from the accelerometers, below 500 Hz and for most analysis no higher than 100 Hz. Much analysis can be at 30 Hz or less. Correlated noise patterns between the SPL sensor and accelerometer data may be removed during processing”. The method of determining the correlated noise patterns and removing the noise during processing is analogous to determining artefact data (the noise data) and determining usable data (the data without noise).);
determining feature data based on the usable signal data, wherein the feature data describes at least one predefined feature in the acceleration signals ([0044]: “The block 25 indicates detection and recording of acceleration at one or more selected points on the head of a subject. This data is digitized and, in a preferred embodiment, a fast Fourier transform (FFT) is performed on the data, as indicated at 26. A waveform is produced, per the block 28, as a plot of energy or intensity versus frequency.”. The data after the fast Fourier transform and the produced waveform are the feature data, and the waveform as a plot of energy or intensity versus frequency is the at least one predetermined feature.);
determining reference feature data that describes at least one predefined feature in acceleration signals acquired for at least one reference subject of a specific medical condition ([0044]: “This waveform is compared to a reference waveform (block 30), to determine whether concussion is indicated.”; [0044]: “The dependent blocks 32, 34 and 36 indicate that this comparison can be done visually, by algorithm, or, as explained below, via a Campbell diagram.”; [0048]: “Different diagnostic algorithms can be developed to allow a headset to diagnose these conditions. In order to develop such diagnostic algorithms different cohorts of patients with and without the condition must be assessed with the headset to provide the training data set and verification data set for development and verification of the diagnostic algorithm.”. The patients with the condition (concussion) are the at least one reference subjects.); and
determining classification data based on the feature data and the reference feature data wherein the classification data describes a grade of similarity between the at least one predefined feature in the acceleration signals acquired for the patient and the at least one predefined feature in the acceleration signals acquired for the at least one reference subject ([0044]: “The block 38 indicates the system provides a conclusion as to whether concussion is indicated, and the probability of accuracy can accompany this conclusion.”; [0047]: “The accelerometry data is analyzed using the diagnostic algorithm 350. The system then calculates concussion of non-concussion (with probability) for the patient 350. The block 38 indicates the system provides a conclusion as to whether concussion is indicated, and the probability of accuracy can accompany this conclusion”. The indication as to whether there is a concussion is the classification data, and the probability of accuracy describes the grade of similarity.).
Regarding independent claim 15, Lovoi teaches a medical system (Abstract: “A system and method for detecting brain concussion includes detecting and measuring of acceleration at one or more points on a subject's head”) comprising:
at least one computer comprising a processor ([0043]: “Transduced accelerometer data are digitized with the digital signal processor 12 and sampled with the laptop computer 20”) and a non-transient computer-readable storage medium storing instructions thereon that are executable by the processor ([0038]: “The headset 100 includes data storage 122”);
at least one electronic data storage device storing at least the reference feature data (Claim 1: “a data storage medium for recording the digitized signal from the three-axis accelerometer; and a USB connection to charge the rechargeable battery and download the recorded digitized signal from the data storage medium to a laptop”); and a medical device for acquiring acceleration measurement data of a patient (Headset 100; [0038]: “headset 100, includes accelerometer”), including acceleration sensors contacting an anatomical body part of the patient ([0012]: “at least one of the sensors of the equipment described below (and preferably more, or all) are secured on the head. Pressure pulse readings are taken from all sensors, which are accelerometers”),
wherein the at least one computer is operably coupled with:
the at least one electronic data storage device for acquiring, from the at least one data storage device, at least the reference feature data ([0044]: “This waveform is compared to a reference waveform (block 30), to determine whether concussion is indicated.”), and
the medical device for acquiring, from the medical device, at least the acceleration measurement data ([0038]: “headset 100, includes accelerometer”),
wherein the system is operative to: determine artefact data based on the acceleration measurement data, wherein the artefact data describes existence of one or more artefacts in the acceleration signals; determine usable signal data based on the acceleration measurement data and the artefact data, wherein the usable signal data describes continuous sections of the acceleration signals which are free of identified artefacts ([0042]: “An omnidirectional sound pressure level (SPL) sensor 11 is positioned on the top of the headset for the purpose of ambient noise eradication (see FIGS. 2A and 2B) “; [0043]: “Transduced accelerometer data are digitized with the digital signal processor 12 and sampled with the laptop computer 20 (see FIG. 2C). The system detects and analyzes low-frequency signals from the accelerometers, below 500 Hz and for most analysis no higher than 100 Hz. Much analysis can be at 30 Hz or less. Correlated noise patterns between the SPL sensor and accelerometer data may be removed during processing”. The method of determining the correlated noise patterns and removing the noise during processing is analogous to determining artefact data (the noise data) and determining usable data (the data without noise).);
determine feature data based on the usable signal data, wherein the feature data describes at least one predefined feature in the acceleration signals ([0044]: “The block 25 indicates detection and recording of acceleration at one or more selected points on the head of a subject. This data is digitized and, in a preferred embodiment, a fast Fourier transform (FFT) is performed on the data, as indicated at 26. A waveform is produced, per the block 28, as a plot of energy or intensity versus frequency.”. The data after the fast Fourier transform and the produced waveform are the feature data, and the waveform as a plot of energy or intensity versus frequency is the at least one predetermined feature.);
determine reference feature data that describes at least one predefined feature in acceleration signals acquired for at least one reference subject of a specific medical condition ([0044]: “This waveform is compared to a reference waveform (block 30), to determine whether concussion is indicated.”; [0044]: “The dependent blocks 32, 34 and 36 indicate that this comparison can be done visually, by algorithm, or, as explained below, via a Campbell diagram.”; [0048]: “Different diagnostic algorithms can be developed to allow a headset to diagnose these conditions. In order to develop such diagnostic algorithms different cohorts of patients with and without the condition must be assessed with the headset to provide the training data set and verification data set for development and verification of the diagnostic algorithm.”. The patients with the condition (concussion) are the at least one reference subjects.); and
determine classification data based on the feature data and the reference feature data, wherein the classification data describes a grade of similarity between the at least one predefined feature in the acceleration signals acquired for the patient and the at least one predefined feature in the acceleration signals acquired for the at least one reference subject ([0044]: “The block 38 indicates the system provides a conclusion as to whether concussion is indicated, and the probability of accuracy can accompany this conclusion.”; [0047]: “The accelerometry data is analyzed using the diagnostic algorithm 350. The system then calculates concussion of non-concussion (with probability) for the patient 350. The block 38 indicates the system provides a conclusion as to whether concussion is indicated, and the probability of accuracy can accompany this conclusion”. The indication as to whether there is a concussion is the classification data, and the probability of accuracy describes the grade of similarity.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovoi as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lovoi ‘065 (US 10307065).
Regarding claim 4, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 2.
However, Lovoi does not teach the method further comprising searching the segments for additional artefacts not described in the artefact data.
Lovoi ‘065 discloses non-invasive detection of cerebral vasospasm. Specifically, Lovoi ‘065 teaches wherein the method further comprises searching the segments for additional artefacts not described in the artefact data (Column 5, lines 14-22: “A major advantage of waterfall plots is that noise and periodic signals can easily be rejected because in the case of noise they traverse horizontally (wide frequency band) and in the case of periodic signals the repeating signal is very apparent due to the equal spacing of the signal in time. A waterfall diagram is a very efficient tool to find persistent signals that are very close to the noise floor and to reliably separate them from the noise, and to obtain a reliable indication, in the current situation, of vasospasm”. The specific noise that is close to the persistent signals are the additional artefacts.). Lovoi and Lovoi ‘065 are analogous art as they are both related to the same field of endeavor of using acceleration sensors to monitor a user’s head and health conditions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the additional artefacts from Lovoi ‘065 into the method from Lovoi as it allows for additional filtering techniques, which can ensure that the data being used is only the specific data applicable to the head assessment and does not include any noise.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovoi as applied to claims 2 and 3 above, and further in view of Bychkov (US 20200383582).
Regarding claim 5, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 3.
However, Lovoi does not teach wherein the determining the usable signal data comprises generating, based on the quantity and/or quality of identified artefacts, an indicator describing usability of the continuous sections and/or of the segments thereof, for being processed for determining feature data, wherein continuous sections and/or of segments thereof, are disregarded for determining feature data when the usability of the continuous sections and/or of the segments thereof, are indicated as not usable.
Bychkov discloses a medical data examination system and method. Specifically, Bychkov teaches wherein the determining the usable signal data comprises generating, based on the quantity and/or quality of identified artefacts, an indicator describing usability of the continuous sections and/or of the segments thereof, for being processed for determining feature data, wherein continuous sections and/or of segments thereof, are disregarded for determining feature data when the usability of the continuous sections and/or of the segments thereof, are indicated as not usable (Abstract: “analyze each received section of physiological data to determine a usability indicator indicating if the received section is usable for diagnosis of a medical condition of the patient or not”). Lovoi and Bychkov are analogous art as they are both related to the same field of endeavor of devices that use accelerometers to measure and determine physiological conditions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the indicator from Bychkov into the method from Lovoi as it allows the method to inform the patient of how reliable the data is and if it will be able to be used, which can ensure the patient is informed about their condition and the analysis being performed.
Regarding claim 16, Lovoi teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: wherein the determining the usable signal data comprises determining segmented signal data based on the usable signal data and a detected heartbeat of the patient that describes the continuous sections divided into a plurality of segments having a length of at least one cardiac cycle ([0075]: “FIGS. 10 and 11 show plots of accelerometer readings taken on a subject with only two opposing accelerometer sensors, at left and right temporal lobes. These are plots of acceleration events during a single heartbeat”) and covering a substantial substantially equal length of time ([0011]: “A new physiological phenomenon developed pursuant to the invention uses highly sensitive accelerometers to detect movement of the human skull during a normal cardiac cycle”. If each segment is equal to a normal cardiac cycle, then they are each a substantially equal length of time.).
However, Lovoi does not teach generating an indicator, based on the quantity and/or quality of identified artefacts, wherein the indicator describes usability of the segments of the acquired acceleration signals for being processed for determining feature data is generated.
Bychkov teaches generating an indicator, based on the quantity and/or quality of identified artefacts, wherein the indicator describes usability of the segments of the acquired acceleration signals for being processed for determining feature data is generated (Abstract: “analyze each received section of physiological data to determine a usability indicator indicating if the received section is usable for diagnosis of a medical condition of the patient or not”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the indicator from Bychkov into the method from Lovoi as it allows the method to inform the patient of how reliable the data is and if it will be able to be used, which can ensure the patient is informed about their condition and the analysis being performed.
Conclusion
/E.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791