DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 6-11-25. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase " For example" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2022/0354014 FEURTADO et al. (‘FEURTADO”) in view of D1 DE 10 2016 106681 A1 (FIRST SENSOR LEWICKI GMBH [DE]) 12 October 2017 (2017-10-12).
Regarding claim 1, FEURTADO disclose power module (Fig. 11, 100) comprising: a carrier (602,606); multiple dies (302) being connected to a parallel connection and each forming a transistor ([0096], various forms of transistors) with a switching path ([0096], transistors may be controllable switches allowing for unidirectional or bidirectional current flow ( depending on device type) while the diodes may allow for current flow), each die having a first terminal a second terminal (first terminal 106 and second terminal 108) and a control terminal (gate) the switching path being formed between the first terminal and the second terminal and being switchable depending on a voltage across the control terminal and the second terminal the first terminals the dies being connected with each other so as to form the parallel connection (Fig.12A: Drains D1 of transistors 302 are parallel connected); a connector (504,K1) configured to connect a signal source the power module; and an electric conductor (816) being made at least partially of an electrically conductive material ([0137], the MMC material may be a composite of a high conductivity metal such as copper, aluminum, and the like) and connecting the connector (504,K1) to a designated (Kelvin) terminal of a respective one of the dies (302), the designated terminal being chosen from a group consisting of the second terminal (Kelvin) and the control terminal, the electric conductor having a trace section (816,822) formed on the carrier ([224]: "source Kelvin resistors 822 (RS1, RS2, RS3, RS4) may be ... an integrated thick film layer, printed thick film, ..., a "natural" resistance path (material/ structure interface that inherently adds resistance)), and an attachment section (bond wires shown in Figs.19,34) connecting the trace section (816) with the designated (Kelvin) terminal of the respective one of the dies (302); the carrier and the trace section being part of a substrate (602,606), on which the dies (302) and the connector (504,K1) are mounted, wherein the trace section (816,822) and the attachment section (bond wires) of the electric conductor provide between the connector and the designated terminal of a respective one of the dies (see [224]).
But, FEURTADO does not disclose an electric resistance of at least 1Ω,
However, GMBH disclose an electric resistance of at least 1Ω (see [062]: i.e. the resistive section 4 of Fig.5 alone has a resistance of about 10 Ohms),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FEURTADO by adding resistance value as part of its configuration as taught by GMBH, in order to Current limiting in circuits where moderate resistance is needed without excessive voltage drop.
Regarding claim 2, FEURTADO disclose the trace section is formed continuously between the connector and the attachment section (Fig.34: trace section 816,822).
Regarding claim 3, FEURTADO disclose the attachment section is attached to the trace section (Fig.34: trace section 816,822) and to pads of the dies forming the designated terminals wherein the attachment section extends (bond wires of Fig.34) between the trace section and the pad by forming a clearance to the carrier (fig. 34, assembly 616).
Regarding claim 4, FEURTADO disclose the attachment section is made of the electrically conductive material ([0137], the MMC material may be a composite of a high conductivity metal such as copper, aluminum, and the like,) or comprises a core and an outer cladding surrounding the core, the core or the cladding being made of the electrically conductive material ([0137], the MMC material may be a composite of a high conductivity metal such as copper, aluminum, and the like,) and/or the trace section is made of the electrically conductive material (Fig.34: trace section 816,822).
Regarding claim 5, FEURTADO disclose the core is made of the electrically conductive material ([0137], the MMC material may be a composite of a high conductivity metal such as copper, aluminum, and the like,) and the cladding is made of aluminum or the core is made of an electrically insulating material ([0144], The housing sidewalls 612 may provide electrical insulation, voltage creepage and clearance, structural support, and cavities for holding a voltage and moisture blocking encapsulation), particularly a polymer ([0193], laminated buss bar 900 may include a pinch seal with a polymer material), and the cladding is made of the electrically conductive material.
Regarding claim 6, FEURTADO disclose a copper-manganese-nickel alloy or a nickel-chromium alloy or an iron-chromium-aluminum alloy ([0142], The power wire bonds 628 may include aluminum, an aluminum alloy, copper, or the like wires, which may be ultrasonically welded, or the like at both feet, forming a conductive arch between two metal pads).
FEURTADO does not disclose “a resistivity of at least 2.0· 10-7 Ω m, preferably at least 3.5· 10-7 Ω m, more preferably at least 4.0· 10-7 Ω m”. However, (see [0224]) FEURTADO does disclose one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 (R51, R52, R53, R5 4) may be in the range of0.5 ohms-1.5 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 (R5 1, R52, R5 3, RS4) may be in the range of 0.5 ohms-2 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 (R5 i, R52, R5 3, R54) may be in the range of 0.5 ohms-5 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 (R51, R52, R53, R5 4) may be in the range of 0.5 ohms-20 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the resistors 820 (RGI, RG2, RG3, RG4) may be in the range of 1 ohms-20 ohms “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”. See MPEP 2144.05.I. It has further been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05.II.A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors may be in the range of 0.5 ohms-2 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 may be in the range of 0.5 ohms-5 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 may be in the range of 0.5 ohms-20 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the resistors 820 may be in the range of 1ohms-20 ohms, and/or as the mere discovery or optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation within prior art conditions.
Regarding claim 7, FEURTADO disclose the substrate is a direct bonded copper substrate, a direct bonded aluminum substrate, an active metal brazed substrate (see [139]: "DBC", "AMB", "IMS") or an insulated metal substrate.
Regarding claim 8, FEURTADO disclose the second terminal is a kelvin terminal and each die has a fourth terminal, the switching path and the kelvin terminal being between the first terminal and the fourth terminal, the fourth terminals the dies being connected with each other so as to form the parallel connection,(the designated terminal in D2 may be either the gate terminal or the kelvin terminal, in which case the fourth terminal is the source terminal of dies 302 connected in parallel by bond wires via 628 and source metal S1, see also Figs.12A, see also Fig.19, second connector K1, trace section 816).
Regarding claim 9, FEURTADO disclose a second connector mounted on the substrate ([0008], a first terminal electrically connected to the at least one electrically conductive power substrate) and configured to connect the signal source to the power module; and a second electric conductor ([0008], second terminal including a contact surface located on the housing, a third terminal electrically connected to the at least one electrically conductive power substrate, a plurality of power devices arranged on and connected to the at least one electrically conductive power substrate) connecting the second connector to the other terminal of the group, the second electric conductor having a trace section (816,822) formed on the carrier ([224]) formed on the carrier and an attachment section (bond wires shown in Figs.19,34) connecting the trace section with the other terminal of the respective one of the dies the trace section of the second electric conductor being part of the substrate (see, [0171]).
Regarding claim 10, FEURTADO disclose the second electric conductor is at least partially made of the electrically conductive material ([0137], the MMC material may be a composite of a high conductivity metal such as copper, aluminum, and the like), wherein the trace section and the attachment section (bond wires shown in Figs.19,34) of the second electric conductor provides between the second connector and a respective other terminal (see [224]).
But, FEURTADO does not disclose an electric resistance of at least 1Ω,
However, GMBH disclose an electric resistance of at least 1Ω (see [062]: i.e. the resistive section 4 of Fig.5 alone has a resistance of about 10 Ohms),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FEURTADO by adding resistance value as part of its configuration as taught by GMBH, in order to Current limiting in circuits where moderate resistance is needed without excessive voltage drop.
Regarding claim 11, FEURTADO disclose the designated terminal is the second terminal (second terminal 108).
Regarding claim 12, FEURTADO disclose the second terminals are connected with each other so as to form the parallel connection (see Fig.12A, wires 628 form parallel connections).
Regarding claim 13, FEURTADO disclose 13. (Currently Amended) Power module according to claim 1, wherein the designated terminal is the control terminal (gate).
Regarding claim 14, FEURTADO disclose Electric power converter, comprising a DC port for a DC voltage (DC supply 112); an AC port with multiple phase conductors (fig. 12A, AC phase) for an AC voltage (AC-DC power supply); a power section comprising a plurality of switching elements (S1 and S2) being interconnected to from a half-bridge (fig. 12, half-bridge topology) for each phase conductor, each half-bridge being connected to the DC port and each phase conductor being connected to a central tap between the switching elements of one of the half-bridges; and a controller (gate) configured to provide switching signals ([0109], power and signal electrical connections to the internal layout) so as to convert the DC voltage into the AC ([0246], an inverter) by selectively turning on and off the switching elements; wherein each switching element or each half-bridge is formed by a power module (100) according to claim 1, wherein the signal source is formed by the controller.
Regarding claim 15, FEURTADO disclose Electric drive for a mean of transport, for example a Vehicle (automotive charging system, a vehicle system), comprising an electric machine ([0246], electric vehicles (EVs)) configured to propel the mean of transport and an electric power converter ([0246]) according to claim 14, the electric machine being connected to the AC port of the electric power converter for supplying the electric machine with the AC voltage (AC-DC power supply).
Regarding claim 16, FEURTADO disclose Mean of transport, comprising an electric drive ([0246], electric vehicles (EVs)) according to claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, FEURTADO disclose the attachment section is attached to the trace section and to pads of the dies ([0280], The number of bonds 628 may depend on the size of the die, the pad area) forming the designated terminals, wherein the attachment section extends between the trace section and the pad by forming a clearance to the carrier (fig. 34, assembly 616).
Regarding claim 18, FEURTADO disclose the attachment section is made of the electrically conductive material ([0137], the MMC material may be a composite of a high conductivity metal such as copper, aluminum, and the like) or comprises a core and an outer cladding surrounding the core, the core or the cladding being made of the electrically conductive material and/or the trace section is made of the electrically conductive material ([0008], housing arranged on the at least one electrically conductive power substrate).
Regarding claim 19, FEURTADO disclose a copper-manganese-nickel alloy or a nickel-chromium alloy or an iron-chromium-aluminum alloy ([0142], The power wire bonds 628 may include aluminum, an aluminum alloy, copper, or the like wires, which may be ultrasonically welded, or the like at both feet, forming a conductive arch between two metal pads).
FEURTADO does not disclose “the electrically conductive material has a resistivity of at least 2.0· 10-7 Ω m, preferably at least 3.5 10-7 Ω m, more preferably at least 4.0· 10-7 Ω m”. However, (see [0224]) FEURTADO does disclose one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 (R51, R52, R53, R5 4) may be in the range of0.5 ohms-1.5 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 (R5 1, R52, R5 3, RS4) may be in
the range of 0.5 ohms-2 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 (R5 i, R52, R5 3, R54) may be in the range of 0.5 ohms-5 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 (R51, R52, R53, R5 4) may be in the range of 0.5 ohms-20 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the resistors 820 (RGI, RG2, RG3, RG4) may be in the
range of 1 ohms-20 ohms “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”. See MPEP 2144.05.I. It has further been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05.II.A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors may be in the range of 0.5 ohms-2 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 may be in the range of 0.5 ohms-5 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the source Kelvin resistors 822 may be in the range of 0.5 ohms-20 ohms. In one or more aspects, the resistance value of the resistors 820 may be in the range of 1ohms-20 ohms, and/or as the mere discovery or optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation within prior art conditions.
Regarding claim 20, FEURTADO disclose the substrate is a direct bonded copper substrate, a direct bonded aluminum substrate, an active metal brazed substrate (see [139]: "DBC", "AMB", "IMS") or an insulated metal substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LIU et al. US 2023/0291321 Al- A power module includes: a first substrate layer that is disposed on a first plane; a second substrate layer that is disposed on a second plane that is parallel to the first plane; first and second electrical conductors that are configured to be electrically connected to first and second direct current (DC) reference potentials, respectively, and that extend outwardly from the power module on a third plane that is parallel to the first and second planes; third, fourth, and fifth electrical conductors that are configured to be electrically connected to first, second, and third alternating current (AC) reference potentials, respectively, and that extend outwardly from the power module on a fourth plane that is parallel to the first, second, and third planes; and a plurality of dies of switches, respectively, disposed between the first and second substrate layers.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836