The preliminary amendment filed 6/11/2025 has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 14-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martinez-Perez et al. (US 2017/0198879) (hereinafter Martinez).
Claim 1: Martinez-Perez discloses a lighting assembly comprising: a heat sink (210, fig. 3) (heat dissipation element, see para [0042]);a printed circuit board (PCB) (220, fig. 3) (PCB, see para [0041]);first light emitting diode (LED) (240, fig. 3) mounted on the heat sink (210); and a second LED (230, fig. 3) mounted on the PCB (220); the first and second LEDs (240, 230) being electrically connected (see para [0041] – [0045]) to circuitry on the PCB (220); wherein no part of the first LED (240) is mounted on the PCB (220) and no part of the second LED (230) is mounted on the heat sink (210).
Claim 2: Martinez-Perez discloses the first LED (140, fig. 1) is a top-contact LED (140 in direct contact with 110, see fig. 1 and para [0043]) and the second LED (130, fig. 1) is a surface mount LED (130 is mounted on surface of 120, fig. 1) (note: the limitations “top-contact LED” and “surface mount LED” do not impart additional structure since the limitations merely describe how the LED is affixed).
Claim 3: Martinez-Perez discloses the first LED (140, 240, figs. 1 and 3) is electrically connected to the circuitry (see para [0044]) on the PCB (120) by an electrical conductor (260) that is bonded (wire bonding, see para [0046] – [0047]) at a first conductor end (end of 260 connected to 240, fig. 3) to a first LED contact surface (surface of 240 connected to 260, fig. 3) and is bonded at a second conductor end (end of 220 connected to 260, fig. 3) to a first PCB conductor pad (pad of 220 connected to 260, fig. 3).
Martinez-Perez discloses the claimed invention except for ultrasonically bonding. It has been held that “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Claim 4: Martinez-Perez discloses the electrical conductor (260, fig. 3) is either a ribbon-shaped conductor having a substantially rectangular cross-section or a wire-shaped conductor (wires, see para [0046]) having a substantially circular cross-section (see fig. 3).
Claim 5: Martinez-Perez discloses the first LED (240, fig. 3) is affixed to the heat sink (210) by thermally-conductive adhesive (thermal adhesive, see para [0042]).
Claim 8: Martinez-Perez discloses the PCB (220) is mounted on the heat sink (110) adjacent to the first LED (240).
Claim 14: Martinez-Perez discloses an automotive headlamp comprising: an electronics module (200, fig. 3) comprising: a heat sink (210, fig. 3) (heat dissipation element, see para [0042]); a printed circuit board (PCB) (220, fig. 3) (PCB, see para [0041]); a top-contact light emitting diode (LED) (240, fig. 3) mounted on the heat sink (210); and a surface mount LED (230, fig. 3) mounted on the PCB (220); the top-contact and surface mount LEDs (240, 230) being electrically connected to circuitry (see para [0041] – [0045]) on the PCB (220); wherein no part of the top-contact LED (240) is mounted on the PCB (220) and no part of the surface mount LED (230) is mounted on the heat sink (210); and a lens assembly (250, fig. 3) comprising; a first optical element (part of 250 corresponding to 240) for directing light emitted by the top-contact LED (240) and a second optical element (part of 250 corresponding to 230) for directing light emitted by the surface mount LED (230) (note: the term element can be interpreted broadly as parts of single component).
Claim 15: Martinez-Perez discloses the top-contact LED (240, fig. 3) is electrically connected to the circuitry (see para [0041] – [0045]) on the PCB (210) by an electrical conductor (260) that is bonded (wire bonding, see para [0046] – [0047]) at a first conductor end (end of 260 connected to 240, fig. 3) to a first LED contact surface (surface of 240 connected to 260, fig. 3) and is bonded at a second conductor end (end of 260 connected to 220, fig. 1) to a first PCB conductor pad (pad of 220 connected to 260).
Martinez-Perez discloses the claimed invention except for ultrasonically bonding. It has been held that “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Claim 16: Martinez-Perez discloses the top-contact LED (240) is affixed to the heat sink (210) by thermally-conductive adhesive (thermal adhesive, see para [0042]).
Claim 18: Martinez-Perez discloses the first optical element (250, fig. 3) is a reflector or a total internal reflection lens (light guide with total reflection, see para [0040]).
Claim 19: Martinez-Perez discloses the second optical element (250) is a reflector, a total internal reflection lens or a light pipe (light pipe, see para [0040]).
Claim 20: Martinez-Perez discloses the first optical element (portion of 250 corresponding to 240, fig. 3) and the second optical element (portion of 250 corresponding to 230) are configured to form a composite light beam (combined beam of 230 and 240) comprising the light emitted by the top-contact LED (240) and the light emitted by the surface mount LED (230).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez-Perez et al. (US 2017/0198879) in view of Tsuchiya et al. (US 12,345,387) (hereinafter Tsuchiya).
Claim 6: Martinez-Perez teaches the second LED (230, fig. 3) is electrically connected to the circuitry on the PCB (220).
However, Martinez-Perez fails to teach the second LED is electrically connected to the circuitry on the PCB by solder.
Tsuchiya teaches a second LED (11, fig. 1) is electrically connected to the circuitry on the PCB (14, fig. 1) by solder (15, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Tsuchiya, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to solder the second LED to be electrically connected to the circuitry on the PCB by solder, in order to enhance electrical connection of the LED to the circuit.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez-Perez et al. (US 2017/0198879) in view of Ichikawa et al. (US 2022/0154905) (hereinafter Ichikawa).
Claim 7: Martinez-Perez fails to teach the first LED has a higher light output than the second LED.
Ichikawa teaches a first LED (110, fig. 1) has a higher light output (high beam mode, see para [0080]) than a second LED (120, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Ichikawa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first and second LED of Martinez-Perez with the first and second LED of Ichikawa where the first LED has a higher light output than the second LED, in order to increase the brightness of the lighting assembly.
Claim 17: Martinez-Perez fails to teach the top-contact LED has a higher light output than the surface mount LED.
Ichikawa teaches a top-contact LED (110, fig. 1) has a higher light output (high beam mode, see para [0080]) than a surface mount LED (120, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Ichikawa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the top-contact LED and surface mount LED of Martinez-Perez with the top-contact LED and surface mount LED of Ichikawa where the top-contact LED has a higher light output than the surface mount LED, in order to increase the brightness of the lighting assembly.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez-Perez et al. (US 2017/0198879) in view of Feichtinger et al. (US 2019/0131208) (hereinafter Feichtinger).
Claim 9: Martinez-Perez fails to teach the PCB comprises an insulated metal substrate.
Feichtinger teaches a PCB (3, fig. 1) comprising an insulated metal substrate (insulated metal substrate, see para [0004]).
Therefore, in view of Feichtinger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the PCB of Martinez-Perez with an insulated metal substrate, in order to improve heat resistance of the PCB thereby increasing protection during a soldering process [Feichtinger, 0017].
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez-Perez et al. (US 2017/0198879) in view of Kille et al. (US 2009/0116252) (hereinafter Kille) and Oraw et al. (US 2016/0035924) (hereinafter Oraw).
Claim 10: Martinez-Perez teaches a method of manufacturing a lighting assembly comprising light emitting diodes (LEDs) comprising: adhering (thermal adhesive, see para [0042]) a top-contact LED (240, fig. 3) to a heat sink (210, fig. 3) (heat dissipation element, see para [0042]); a surface mount LED (230, fig. 3) on a printed circuit board (PCB) (120, fig. 3); bonding (wire bonding, see para [0046] – [0047]) an electrical conductor (260, fig. 3) to a third electrical contact (contact of 240 connected to 260, fig. 3) on the top-contact LED (240); and bonding (wire bonding, see para [0046] – [0047]) the electrical conductor (260) to a fourth electrical contact (contact of 220 connected to 260, fig. 3) on the PCB (220); wherein no part of the top-contact LED (240) is mounted on the PCB (220) and no part of the surface mount LED (230) is mounted on the heat sink (210).
However, Martinez-Perez fails to teach soldering first electrical contacts of the surface mount LED to second electrical contacts on the printed circuit board (PCB); and ultrasonically bonding the electrical conductor to a third electrical contact; and ultrasonically bonding the electrical conductor to the fourth electrical contact.
Kille teaches soldering (soldered to pads, see para [0002]) first electrical contacts (11, 12, fig. 4) of a surface mount LED (10, fig. 3) to second electrical contacts (22, 23, fig. 4) on a printed circuit board (20, fig. 4).
Oraw teaches ultrasonically bonding (see para [0216]).
Therefore, in view of Kille, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to solder first electrical contacts of the surface mount LED to second electrical contacts on the printed circuit board, in order to enhance the electrical connection of the components together.
Therefore, in view of Oraw, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ultrasonic bonding instead of bonding for the third electrical contact and fourth electrical contact to the electrical conductor, in order to enhance the bonding of the two components together without heat damage.
Claim 11: Martinez-Perez teaches adhering (thermal adhesive, see para [0042]) the top contact LED (240) to the heat sink (210) with a thermally conductive adhesive (thermal adhesive, see para [0042]).
Claim 12: Martinez-Perez teaches the electrical conductor (260) being an electrically conductive wire (metal wires, see para [0046]) or an electrically conductive ribbon.
Claim 13: Martinez-Perez teaches mounting the PCB (220) onto the heatsink (210).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamamichi et al. (US 2007/0279927) and Kuriki et al. (US 2017/0211761) disclose a similar lighting assembly.
/ZHENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875