DETAILED ACTON
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “module to determine”, “module to identify”, “module to generate”, and “module to prioritize” in claim 1 and “determining via interference module”, “identifying via missing data module”, “generating via summarization module”, “prioritizing via prioritization module” in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The spec does not clearly disclose any corresponding structure for implementing the module. Assuming that it does, the spec does not clearly link any disclosed structure to the recited module. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The examiner has reviewed the specification and has not found any support for such structures, The provided specification does not provide any support for structure that implements the module functionality that demonstrates possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea
without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-20 are within the four statutory categories. However, as will be shown below, claims 1-20 are
nonetheless unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1, 11, and 16 are representative of the inventive concept and recite:
A radiologist consultation support system, comprising:
an inference module to determine data requirements based on content of a consultation request for a consultation;
a missing data module communicatively coupled to the inference module, the missing data module to identify missing information based on the determined data requirements by retrieving available data from a data source module and identify unavailable data based on the retrieved available data and the determined data requirements;
a summarization module communicatively coupled to the missing data module, the summarization module to generate summaries by extracting clinical information relevant to performing the consultation from the retrieved available data;
and a prioritization module communicatively coupled to the summarization module, the prioritization module to prioritize the summaries and highlight the identified unavailable data in context of the consultation request.
*Claims 11 and 16 recites similar limitations as claim 1, but for a method and machine-readable storage, respectively.
Step 2A Prong One
The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps includes mental processes because the
highlighted components can practically be performed by the human mind (in this case, the process of
determining, identifying, generating, and prioritizing) or using pen and paper. Other than reciting generic computer components/functions such as “system”, “module”, and “machine-readable storage”, nothing in the claims preclude the highlighted portions from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components/functions, then it falls within “Mental
Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Additionally, the mere nominal recitation of a generic computer
does not take the claim limitation out of the mental process grouping and thus, the claim recites a
mental process. The recitation of generic computer components/functions such as generating also covers behavioral or interactions between people, and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (i.e. social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions), hence the claim falls under “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity”. The types of identified abstract ideas are considered together as a single abstract idea for analysis purposes.
Dependent claims 2-10, 12-15, and 17-20 recite additional subject matter which further narrows or
defines the abstract idea embodied in the claim.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the
following additional limitations:
Claim 1 recites: “system” and “module”
Claim 11 recites: “module”
Claim 16 recites: “machine-readable storage” and “computing device”
In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than
limitations which:
Amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The limitations are
recited as being performed by an “system”, “module”, “machine-readable storage”, and “computing device”, and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer.
Dependent claims 2-10, 12-15, and 17-20 do not include any additional elements beyond those already recited in independent claims 1, 11, and 16, hence do not integrate the aforementioned abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or any other technology. Their collective function merely provides conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
For analysis under SME Step 2B, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as indicated above, are merely “[a]dding the words ‘apply it’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp.” that MPEP § 2106.05(I)(A) indicates to be insignificant activity.
There is no indication the Examiner can find in the record regarding any specialized computer hardware or other “inventive” components, but rather, the claims merely indicate computer components which appear to be generic components and therefore do not satisfy an inventive concept that would constitute “significantly more” with respect to eligibility.
The individual elements therefore do not appear to offer any significance beyond the application of the abstract idea itself, and there does not appear to be any additional benefit or significance indicated by the ordered combination, i.e., there does not appear to be any synergy or special import to the claim as a whole other than the application of the idea itself.
The dependent claims, as indicated above, appear encompassed by the abstract idea since they merely limit the idea itself; therefore, the dependent claims do not add significantly more than the idea.
Therefore, SME Step 2B=No, any additional elements, whether taken individually or as an ordered whole in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, including analysis of the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagida(US20200075146A1) in view of Valdes(US20210225469A1), Subramanian(US20220199267A1), and Shimomura(US20190156937A1).
Claim 1
Yanagida discloses:
A radiologist consultation support system(Para 0028, Figure 18, Yanagida discloses a radiology consultation support system), comprising: (Para 0124, Yanagida discloses processing circuitry that extracts) to generate summaries(Figure 4, #Sa4, Yanagida discloses extracting disease information from a data pull and a disease correspondence table which can together be considered a summary) by extracting clinical information relevant to performing the consultation from the retrieved available data(Figure 4, #Sa3, Yanagida discloses extracting disease information from a report); and a prioritization module communicatively coupled to the summarization module, the prioritization module
Yanagida does not explicitly disclose:
an inference module to determine data requirements based on content of a consultation request for a consultation
a missing data module communicatively coupled to the inference module, the missing data module to identify missing information based on the determined data requirements by retrieving available data from a data source module and identify unavailable data based on the retrieved available data and the determined data requirements
to prioritize the summaries
highlight the identified unavailable data in context of the consultation request
Valdes discloses:
to identify missing information based on the determined data requirements by retrieving available data from a data source module and identify unavailable data based on the retrieved available data and the determined data requirements(Para 0007, Valdes discloses identification of missing data based on data analysis of records)
highlight the identified unavailable data in context of the consultation request(Para 0037, Valdes discloses the generation of a flag for missing data for an orthopedics visit)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add to identify missing information based on the determined data requirements by retrieving available data from a data source module and identify unavailable data based on the retrieved available data and the determined data requirements and highlight the identified unavailable data in context of the consultation request, as taught be Valdes. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to identify and highlight missing data in a medical file to better enable patient diagnosis and improve patient outcomes, but in this case, for a system that aggregates healthcare data from multi[;e data centers(Para 0006, Valdes discloses: “This can ensure that the user is provided with accurate healthcare information on the dashboard of the user computing device all the time to maximize healthcare risk prevention.”).
Valdes does not explicitly disclose:
an inference module to determine data requirements based on content of a consultation request for a consultation
to prioritize the summaries
Subramanian discloses:
to determine data requirements based on content of a consultation request for a consultation(Para 0007, Subramanian discloses extracting criteria data from a request for consult)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add to determine data requirements based on content of a consultation request for a consultation, as taught be Subramanian. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to determine the context of the consult to better enable physicians to better address the needs of the patient, but in this case, for a system for enhanced remote communications(Para 0002, Subramanian discloses: “Current telemedicine systems seek to facilitate communications between clinicians and patients in need of medical assistance. However, such systems have various technical deficiencies that make it difficult to provide efficient and high quality care.”).
Subramanian does not explicitly disclose:
to prioritize the summaries
Shimomura discloses:
to prioritize the summaries(Fig 2, Shimomura discloses a prioritized summary list)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add prioritization of summaries, as taught be Shimomura. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to determine priority of summaries to determine urgency of request, which would better enable physicians to better address the needs of the patient, but in this case, for a system for enhanced remote communications(Para 0004, Shimomura discloses: “Unfortunately, because doctors have large numbers of patients, an individual doctor may have a large number of studies to review and thus may not be able to know which of their patients have an urgent medical condition until all the images from all the studies have been reviewed.”).
Claim 2
Yanagida and Valdes do not explicitly disclose:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 1, wherein the inference module is further to determine a question category in response to reception of the consultation request, wherein the determination of the data requirements is based on the question category.
Subramanian discloses:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 1, wherein the inference module is further to determine a question category in response to reception of the consultation request, wherein the determination of the data requirements is based on the question category(Para 0010, Subramanian discloses the determination of follow up actions based on extracted criteria of the consult request).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add determination of the data requirements is based on the question category, as taught be Subramanian. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to determine the context of the consult to better enable physicians to better address the needs of the patient, but in this case, for a system for enhanced remote communications(Para 0002, Subramanian discloses: “Current telemedicine systems seek to facilitate communications between clinicians and patients in need of medical assistance. However, such systems have various technical deficiencies that make it difficult to provide efficient and high quality care.”).
Claim 3
Yanagida and Valdes do not explicitly disclose:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 2, wherein the determination of the data requirements is further based on information from one or more previous consultation requests.
Subramanian discloses:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 2, wherein the determination of the data requirements is further based on information from one or more previous consultation requests(Para 0028, Subramanian discloses the collection of historical data to provide an improved consultation experience)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add the determination of the data requirements is further based on information from one or more previous consultation requests, as taught be Subramanian. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to determine the context and previous history of the consult to better enable physicians to better address the needs of the patient, but in this case, for a system for enhanced remote communications(Para 0002, Subramanian discloses: “Current telemedicine systems seek to facilitate communications between clinicians and patients in need of medical assistance. However, such systems have various technical deficiencies that make it difficult to provide efficient and high quality care.”).
Claim 5
Yanagida discloses:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 1, further comprising the data source module, wherein the data source module is to provide access to one or more of an Electronic Medical Record (EMR), a radiology information system (RIS)(Para 0028, Yanagida discloses RIS), a picture archiving and communication system (PACS), and a medical imaging device.
Claim 11
Claim 11 recites similar limitation as claim 1. See claim 1 analysis.
Claim 16
Claim 16 recites similar limitation as claim 1. See claim 1 analysis.
Claim 4, 12, and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagida(US20200075146A1) in view of Valdes(US20210225469A1), Subramanian(US20220199267A1), Shimomura(US20190156937A1), and Benjamin(EP2120170A1).
Claim 4
Yanagida and Valdes do not explicitly disclose:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 2, wherein the determination of the question category is performed based on a type of workflow associated with the consultation request(Para 0060, Subramanian discloses categorizing requests based on workflow), and wherein the type of workflow is one or more of an image quality check, protocolling to confirm pertinence of a request, a study review(Fig, 4b, Benjamin discloses a study review workflow), a procedure question, answering an order question, and a protocol procedure request.
Subramanian discloses:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 2, wherein the determination of the question category is performed based on a type of workflow associated with the consultation request(Para 0060, Subramanian discloses categorizing requests based on workflow), and wherein the type of workflow is one or more of an image quality check, protocolling to confirm pertinence of a request, a study review, a procedure question, answering an order question, and a protocol procedure request.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add the determination of the question category is performed based on a type of workflow associated with the consultation request, as taught be Subramanian. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to determine the workflow associated with the consult request, to better enable efficiency and speed to better address the needs of the patient, but in this case, for a system for enhanced remote communications(Para 0002, Subramanian discloses: “Current telemedicine systems seek to facilitate communications between clinicians and patients in need of medical assistance. However, such systems have various technical deficiencies that make it difficult to provide efficient and high quality care.”).
Subramanian and Shimomura do not explicitly disclose:
a study review
Benjamin discloses:
a study review(Fig, 4b, Benjamin discloses a study review workflow)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add a study review workflow, as taught by Benjamin. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to determine the workflow associated with the consult request, to better enable efficiency and speed to better address the needs of the patient, but in this case, for a system for enhanced remote communications(Para 0003, Benjamin discloses: “Quite often, however, a hospital includes computer systems form multiple vendors. One reason is that various hardware and/or human systems are provided with their own computerized systems (e.g., image processing workstation can come with an imaging system). There is a gradual movement to integrate such systems, for example, by setting standards (DICOM, HL7) and by providing integrated systems that replace several hospital systems simultaneously. DICOM is a transmission protocol that creates, stores, prints, and forwards image data to and from the imaging modalities and PACS. HL7 identifies patients, processes orders, and stores reports, but it cannot manage DICOM data.”).
Claim 12
Claim 12 recites similar limitation as claim 4. See claim 4 analysis.
Claim 17
Claim 17 recites similar limitation as claim 4. See claim 4 analysis.
Claims 6, 8-9, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagida(US20200075146A1) in view of Valdes(US20210225469A1), Subramanian(US20220199267A1), Shimomura(US20190156937A1), and Reiner(US20140358585A1).
Claim 6
Yanagida does not explicitly disclose:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 1, wherein the missing data module is further to: identify an information source associated with the identified unavailable data; determine a response time frame based on an assessment of an urgency of the consultation request; and send out an alert to the identified information source, wherein the alert includes an indication of the identified unavailable data and the response time frame.
Valdes discloses:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 1, wherein the missing data module is further to: identify an information source associated with the identified unavailable data(Para 0038, Valdes discloses the obtaining of required data to address missing data); determine a response time frame based on an assessment of an urgency of the consultation request; and send out an alert to the identified information source, wherein the alert includes an indication of the identified unavailable data(Para 0038, Valdes discloses an alert for missing data) and the response time frame.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add identify an information source associated with the identified unavailable data and alert includes an indication of the identified unavailable data, as taught be Valdes. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to identify and bring attention to missing data in a medical file to better enable patient diagnosis and improve patient outcomes, but in this case, for a system that aggregates healthcare data from multi[;e data centers(Para 0006, Valdes discloses: “This can ensure that the user is provided with accurate healthcare information on the dashboard of the user computing device all the time to maximize healthcare risk prevention.”).
Valdes, Subramanian, and Shimomura do not explicitly disclose:
determine a response time frame based on an assessment of an urgency of the consultation request
Reiner discloses:
determine a response time frame based on an assessment of an urgency of the consultation request(Para 0378, Reiner discloses creation of categories of critical results communications such as defining emergent finding response time requirements)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add determine a response time frame based on an assessment of an urgency of the consultation request, as taught by Reiner. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to better enable efficiency and speed to better address the needs of the patient, but in this case, for a system for data recording, tracking, and analysis of critical medical communications(Para 0010, Reiner discloses: “The end result is that existing communication strategies often fall short of their intended goals, and this perpetuates the potential for communication errors and deficient clinical outcomes. New strategies are required which can overcome existing deficiencies but not overload already stressed human resources.”).
Claim 8
Yanagida does not explicitly disclose:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 6, wherein the missing data module is further to: receive supplemental data from the identified information source in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert; and update the identified unavailable data.
Valdes discloses:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 6, wherein the missing data module is further to: receive supplemental data from the identified information source in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert(Para 0038, Valdes discloses the obtaining of required data to address missing data alert); and update the identified unavailable data(Para 0039 Valdes discloses updating of the missing data).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add receive supplemental data from the identified information source in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data and update the identified unavailable data, as taught be Valdes. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to identify and bring attention to missing data but also supplement the missing data to better enable patient diagnosis and improve patient outcomes, but in this case, for a system that aggregates healthcare data from multi[;e data centers(Para 0006, Valdes discloses: “This can ensure that the user is provided with accurate healthcare information on the dashboard of the user computing device all the time to maximize healthcare risk prevention.”).
Claim 9
Yanagida discloses:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 8, wherein the prioritization module further to: (Figure 4, Yanagida discloses transmission of referral letter).
Yanagida does not explicitly disclose:
determine that there is no remaining identified unavailable data and that available data is complete
Valdes discloses:
determine that there is no remaining identified unavailable data and that available data is complete(Pare 0037, Valdes discloses the determination if there are is missing data or not)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add determine that there is no remaining identified unavailable data and that available data is complete, as taught be Valdes. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to ascertain whether the data set for analysis is complete to better enable patient diagnosis and improve patient outcomes, but in this case, for a system that aggregates healthcare data from multi[;e data centers(Para 0006, Valdes discloses: “This can ensure that the user is provided with accurate healthcare information on the dashboard of the user computing device all the time to maximize healthcare risk prevention.”).
Claim 14
Claim 14 recites similar limitations as claim 9. See claim 9 analysis.
Claim 19
Claim 19 recites similar limitations as claim 9. See claim 9 analysis.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagida(US20200075146A1) in view of Valdes(US20210225469A1), Subramanian(US20220199267A1), Shimomura(US20190156937A1), Reiner(US20140358585A1, and Zoll(US20180081914A1).
Claim 7
Yanagida does not explicitly discloses:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 6, wherein the missing data module is further to: send out a status update to a sender of the consultation request, wherein the status update includes an indication of how likely it is that supplemental data is needed in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert, an indication of the identified information source from which the supplemental data is being requested, and an indication of the response time frame.
Valdes discloses:
identified information source from which the supplemental data is being requested(Para 0038, Valdes discloses the indication of how the missing data should be recovered)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add identified information source from which the supplemental data is being requested, as taught be Valdes. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to ascertain how missing data can be obtained to better enable patient diagnosis and improve patient outcomes, but in this case, for a system that aggregates healthcare data from multi[;e data centers(Para 0006, Valdes discloses: “This can ensure that the user is provided with accurate healthcare information on the dashboard of the user computing device all the time to maximize healthcare risk prevention.”).
Valdes does not explicitly disclose:
send out a status update to a sender of the consultation request
status update includes an indication of how likely it is that supplemental data is needed in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert
Subramanian discloses:
send out a status update to a sender of the consultation request(Para 0060, Subramanian discloses a status update to consult requestor)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add send out a status update to a sender of the consultation request, as taught be Subramanian. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to provide status of the request to better enable efficiency and speed to better address the needs of the patient, but in this case, for a system for enhanced remote communications(Para 0002, Subramanian discloses: “Current telemedicine systems seek to facilitate communications between clinicians and patients in need of medical assistance. However, such systems have various technical deficiencies that make it difficult to provide efficient and high quality care.”).
Subramanian, Shimomura, and Reiner do not explicitly disclose:
status update includes an indication of how likely it is that supplemental data is needed in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert
Zoll discloses:
status update includes an indication of how likely it is that supplemental data is needed in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert(Para 0053, Zoll discloses a threshold that indicates a certain level of missing data that would create failure)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add status update includes an indication of how likely it is that supplemental data is needed in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert, as taught by Zoll. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to determine completeness of the dataset to help determine accuracy of the potential diagnosis, but in this case, for a system for data recording, tracking, and analysis of critical medical communications(Para 0003, Zoll discloses: “The problem is that given the size of modern database systems and clusters, it is becoming more and more difficult for administrators to efficiently manage the health and correct operational state of the technology given the quantities and complexities of data being collected for those databases.”).
Claims 10, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagida(US20200075146A1) in view of Valdes(US20210225469A1), Subramanian(US20220199267A1), Shimomura(US20190156937A1), Reiner(US20140358585A1, and Babu(US20210182602A1).
Claim 10
Yanagida discloses:
The radiologist consultation support system of claim 8, wherein the prioritization module further to: (Figure 4, Yanagida discloses transmission of referral letter and available data),
Yanagida does not explicitly disclose:
determine that any remaining identified unavailable data passes a threshold
an indication of the remaining identified unavailable data
Valdes discloses:
an indication of the remaining identified unavailable data(Para 0037, Valdes discloses flagging of missing information in patient file)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add an indication of the remaining identified unavailable data, as taught be Valdes. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to identify missing data to better enable patient diagnosis and improve patient outcomes, but in this case, for a system that aggregates healthcare data from multi[;e data centers(Para 0006, Valdes discloses: “This can ensure that the user is provided with accurate healthcare information on the dashboard of the user computing device all the time to maximize healthcare risk prevention.”).
Valdes, Subramanian, Shimomura, and Reiner do not explicitly disclose:
determine that any remaining identified unavailable data passes a threshold
Babu discloses:
determine that any remaining identified unavailable data passes a threshold(Para 0083, Babu discloses the determination of missing data for too many fields crossing a threshold)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add determine that any remaining identified unavailable data passes a threshold, as taught by Babu. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to determine completeness of the dataset to help determine accuracy of the potential diagnosis, but in this case, for a system which provides flexible imputation of missing data(Para 0002, Babu discloses: “Statistical analysis methods such as listwise deletion can be used in pre-processing of a dataset. However, such an approach has a great disadvantage in that important or informative information tends to be lost.”).
Claim 15
Claim 15 recites similar limitations as claim 10. See claim 10 analysis.
Claim 20
Claim 20 recites similar limitations as claim 10. See claim 10 analysis.
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagida(US20200075146A1) in view of Valdes(US20210225469A1), Subramanian(US20220199267A1), Shimomura(US20190156937A1), Benjamin(EP2120170A1), Reiner(US20140358585A1, and Zoll(US20180081914A1).
Claim 13
Yanagida does not explicitly disclose:
The method for radiologist consultation support of claim 11, further comprising: identifying, via the missing data module, an information source associated with the identified unavailable data; determining, via the missing data module, a response time frame based on an assessment of an urgency of the consultation request; sending, via the missing data module, out an alert to the identified information source, wherein the alert includes an indication of the identified unavailable data and the response time frame; sending, via the missing data module, out a status update to a sender of the consultation request, wherein the status update includes an indication of how likely it is that supplemental data is needed in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert, an indication of the identified information source from which the supplemental data is being requested, and an indication of the response time frame; receiving, via the missing data module, supplemental data from the identified information source in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert; and updating, via the missing data module, the identified unavailable data.
Valdes discloses:
identifying, via the missing data module, an information source associated with the identified unavailable data(Para 0038, Valdes discloses the obtaining of required data to address missing data)
alert to the identified information source, wherein the alert includes an indication of the identified unavailable data(Para 0038, Valdes discloses an alert for missing data)
an indication of the identified information source from which the supplemental data is being requested(Para 0038, Valdes discloses the indication of how the missing data should be recovered), and an indication of the response time frame; receiving, via the missing data module, supplemental data from the identified information source in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert(Para 0038, Valdes discloses the obtaining of required data to address missing data alert); and updating, via the missing data module, the identified unavailable data(Para 0039 Valdes discloses updating of the missing data).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add identifying, via the missing data module, an information source associated with the identified unavailable data, alert to the identified information source, wherein the alert includes an indication of the identified unavailable data, an indication of the identified information source from which the supplemental data is being requested, and an indication of the response time frame; receiving, via the missing data module, supplemental data from the identified information source in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert, and updating, via the missing data module, the identified unavailable data as taught be Valdes. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to identify missing data to better enable patient diagnosis and improve patient outcomes, but in this case, for a system that aggregates healthcare data from multi[;e data centers(Para 0006, Valdes discloses: “This can ensure that the user is provided with accurate healthcare information on the dashboard of the user computing device all the time to maximize healthcare risk prevention.”).
Valdes does not explicitly disclose:
determining, via the missing data module, a response time frame based on an assessment of an urgency of the consultation request
status update to a sender of the consultation request, wherein the status update
indication of how likely it is that supplemental data is needed in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert
Submaranian discloses:
status update to a sender of the consultation request, wherein the status update(Para 0060, Subramanian discloses a status update to consult requestor)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add to status update, as taught be Subramanian. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to determine the status of the consult request, to better enable physicians to better address the needs of the patient, but in this case, for a system for enhanced remote communications(Para 0002, Subramanian discloses: “Current telemedicine systems seek to facilitate communications between clinicians and patients in need of medical assistance. However, such systems have various technical deficiencies that make it difficult to provide efficient and high quality care.”).
Submaranian, Shimomura, and Benjamin do not explicitly disclose:
determining, via the missing data module, a response time frame based on an assessment of an urgency of the consultation request
indication of how likely it is that supplemental data is needed in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert
Reiner discloses:
determining, via the missing data module, a response time frame based on an assessment of an urgency of the consultation request(Para 0378, Reiner discloses creation of categories of critical results communications such as defining emergent finding response time requirements)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add determine a response time frame based on an assessment of an urgency of the consultation request, as taught by Reiner. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to better enable efficiency and speed to better address the needs of the patient, but in this case, for a system for data recording, tracking, and analysis of critical medical communications(Para 0010, Reiner discloses: “The end result is that existing communication strategies often fall short of their intended goals, and this perpetuates the potential for communication errors and deficient clinical outcomes. New strategies are required which can overcome existing deficiencies but not overload already stressed human resources.”).
Reiner does not explicitly disclose:
indication of how likely it is that supplemental data is needed in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert
Zoll discloses:
indication of how likely it is that supplemental data is needed in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert(Para 0053, Zoll discloses a threshold that indicates a certain level of missing data that would create failure)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the consultation support system of Yanagida to add status update includes an indication of how likely it is that supplemental data is needed in response to the indication of the identified unavailable data of the alert, as taught by Zoll. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to determine completeness of the dataset to help determine accuracy of the potential diagnosis, but in this case, for a system for data recording, tracking, and analysis of critical medical communications(Para 0003, Zoll discloses: “The problem is that given the size of modern database systems and clusters, it is becoming more and more difficult for administrators to efficiently manage the health and correct operational state of the technology given the quantities and complexities of data being collected for those databases.”).
Claim 18
Claim 18 recites similar limitations as claim 13. See claim 13 analysis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dewing(US20040212505A1) discloses a system for automatically generating an alert with supplemental information
Barthell(US20210134449A1) discloses an acute medical care system
/S.G.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3685
/KAMBIZ ABDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3685