DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cornic et al. (US PGPub 20110217853)
As per claim 1:
Cornic et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
A conversion circuit comprising:
a coaxial connector including a core wire (being a coaxial connector for coaxial cable [0005], including a central core, [0034]); and
a substrate (printed circuit 10, comprising a substrate, [0005]) including a surrounding conductor (bump contact 15, part of a conductive tract [0003]), a signal conductor (rectilinear part 14, [0005], part of a conductive tract [0003]), and a ground conductor (ground plane 18, [0003]), the surrounding conductor surrounding at least a part of the core wire and being electrically connected to the core wire ([0005]), the signal conductor being electrically connected to the surrounding conductor, the ground conductor being located on at least one of opposite sides of the signal conductor ([0005]), wherein at least a part of the surrounding conductor and at least a part of the ground conductor are opposed to one another (as seen in Fig. 1b).
As per claim 2:
Cornic et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
a structure (body 16 of coaxial connector 11, or vias 19) defining a through-hole forming a coaxial structure with the core wire (both coaxial connector 11 and vias 19 are arranged around the core of the coaxial connector 16, thus forming a coaxial structure with the core).
As per claim 3:
Cornic et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
a width (distance d) of a gap between the signal conductor and the ground conductor and a width (distance d) of a gap between the surrounding conductor and the ground conductor are substantially equal ([0006]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 (in an alternative interpretation) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornic et al. (US PGPub 20110217853) in view of Laighton et al. (US PGPub 20170162958)
As per claim 2:
Cornic et al. (in an alternative interpretation) does not disclose:
a structure defining a through-hole forming a coaxial structure with the core wire.
Laighton et al. discloses in Figs. 1-3 & 6A-D:
A coaxial connector (connector receptacle 10) including a core wire (pin 16 & conductive via 80), wherein the connector comprises a structure defining a through-hole (hole 24 with plating of conductive layer 26) forming a coaxial structure with the core wire (with conductive shell 14 and vias 40a).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the coaxial connector of Cornic et al. using the coaxial structure of Laighton et al. as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent specific coaxial connector for the generic coaxial connector of Cornic et al., able to provide the same function.
Conclusion
/Samuel S Outten/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843