DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ray generation module”, “sight capturing module” and “audio management module” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Paragraphs 96 states the target ray is consistent with the actual sight line of the pupil. The specification does not state how the sight line of the pupil is measured. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand some kind of detector would be needed to accomplish this task.
Claim limitation “ray generation module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. See the 112(a) rejection above. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 10 recites a computer-readable medium that can be interpreted as a transitory medium. The specification sets out no definition for the medium that would prevent one from interpreting the medium as transitory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry (US 2017/0221264) in view of Kondo et al. (US 2019/0250707).
In regard to claim 1, Perry teaches a method for playing audio of multi-screen display, wherein the method for playing audio of multi-screen display is applied to a head-mounted display device comprising a lens (fig. 1 and paragraph 54), and wherein the method for playing audio of multi-screen display comprises following steps: determining a physical target point of the eyes when the head-mounted display device performs multi-screen display, and determining a corresponding target ray according to the physical target point (fig. 4B and paragraph 83); determining a target virtual screen intersecting the target ray and displayed in the head-mounted display device (paragraph 83, once focus is determined the object of the focus is enlarged in the field of view); and playing a target audio of the target virtual screen and shielding an interfering audio of a non- target virtual screen displayed in the head-mounted display device (paragraph 84) but does not teach determining a physical target point of the lens.
Kondo et al. teach determining a physical target point of the lens (fig. 1 and paragraph 41. Kondo et al. teach using the lens to determine the gaze direction which is the physical target point of eyeglass lenses).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of head-up displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Perry with the lens type gaze detection of Kondo et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Perry with the lens type gaze detection of Kondo et al. because the gaze detection of Kondo et al. would work equally as well as the gaze detection of Perry. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize either system would work predictably and either could be chosen based on design specifications like cost, size, etc.
In regard to claim 3, Perry teaches determining plane position information of virtual screens displayed respectively in the head-mounted display device, wherein the plane position information represents an information set comprising any corner point of each of the virtual screens and a long side vector and a wide side vector which take the corner point as an endpoint (any plane will include this information); and determining the target virtual screen intersecting the target ray according to the plane position information and the target ray (fig. 4B paragraph 83. The plane of Perry includes the long side vector and wide side vector as claimed. The plane of Perry also includes other information useful in determining the target display. The claim does not state how the vectors are used to determine the plane. The claim only states the plane includes this information which all planes inherently do).
Claim 8 is the apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as shown above. Regarding the modules of claim 8, applicant’s specification states these modules are
In regard to claim 9, Perry teaches all the limitations of claim 9 (see claim 1 rejection above) including a processor, storage unit, and a program for playing audio of a multi-screen display (fig. 9 and paragraph 127).
In regard to claim 10, Perry teaches all the limitations of claim 10 (see claim 1 rejection above) including a computer-readable storage medium on which a program for playing audio of multi-screen display is stored (paragraph 127).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry in view of Kondo et al. further considered with Shimizu et al. (US 2023/0097378).
In regard to claim 2, Perry and Kondo et al. teach all the elements of claim 2 except wherein the step of determining a corresponding target ray according to the physical target point comprises: determining a corresponding target ray by taking the physical target point as an endpoint and according to a direction perpendicular to a mirror surface of the lens and a sight direction of a user wearing the head-mounted display device.
Shimizu et al. teach wherein the step of determining a corresponding target ray according to the physical target point comprises: determining a corresponding target ray by taking the physical target point as an endpoint and according to a direction perpendicular to a mirror surface of the lens and a sight direction of a user wearing the head-mounted display device (fig. 1. Shimizu et al. show a ray connecting the line of sight of the user and a end point through the surface of the lens).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of head-up displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Perry and Kondo et al. with the gaze detection of Shimizu et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Perry and Kondo et al. with the gaze detection of Shimizu et al. because the system of Shimizu et al. would work equally as well as that of Perry and Kondo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the gaze detection of Shimizu et al. would provide predictable results and would help reduce eye strain of the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: In regard to claims 4-6, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, in combination with the claim’s other features, “determining an actual intersection point among the intersection points to be confirmed, according to a first length value of the long side projection and a second length value of the wide side projection”.
In regard to claim 7, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, in combination with the claim’s other features, “controlling each of the non-target virtual screens to enter a standby state if the playing duration is greater than a preset duration.”
Conclusion
/JOSEPH R HALEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621