Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 & 15 recite limitations “first pivotable structure” and “second pivotable structure”
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. (MPEP § 2163(I), citing Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116). An applicant shows possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention. (MPEP § 2163(I), citing Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997)).
The specification states that “the kickout tray assembly 20 may include a first pivotable structure 22…The first pivotable structure 22 may pivot toward and away from the mast 12 about a first axis 30” (Spec., ¶[0046]–[0047]), and “the second pivotable structure 24 may be pivotably coupled to the first pivotable structure 22 via at least one second pivoting arm 33…” (Spec., ¶[0050]) Nor are the element(s) readily identifiable in the figures. As a result, the specification does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed structural elements at the time of filing.
An applicant shows possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention. (MPEP § 2163(I), citing Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). In this case, the specification merely repeats the limitations without explaining the actual structure. Thus, Applicant’s invention is essentially a black box from which a result is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “first pivotable structure” and “second pivotable structure” (equivalent to structure for pivoting) invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A thorough search of the disclosure repeats the terms without specificity. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-14 & 16 are rejected by virtue of depending from claims 1 & 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keogh (US 10,577,875) in view of .
Interpretative note 1: The limitations in lines 4-14 have been given little patentable weight because they do not affect the method in any manipulative sense, e.g. do not recite proper method claiming nomenclature. (See claim 18.)
With respect to claim 17, Keogh discloses a method comprising:
moving a core tube 25 (FIGS. 17, 20, 21) with a kickout tray assembly 500 attachable to a drilling apparatus having a mast 18,
Keogh teaches the overall concept of a mast mounted, multi pivot core tube handling assembly. Du teaches the specific improvement of using a tray as opposed to the Keogh’s curbed, U-shaped guide. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Du’s parallel axis pivoting arrangement with Keogh’s core tube handling system because:
1. Predictable improvement: Both provide kick-out assemblies designed to mount on a mast or mast floor, controlling tube movements about a drill mast—an expected benefit in drill rig environments.
2. Common field: Both references relate to drill rig handling equipment using pivoting arms and mast mounted structures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Keogh’s pivoting structures to incorporate Du’s parallel-axis arrangement to achieve predictable improvements in positioning control and compactness. Accordingly, the combined teachings render claim 17 obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY W ADAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652