DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 6/12/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fastening means” in claims 1 and 5-6.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sullivan (U.S. PGPUB 2005/0172432), hereinafter SULLIVAN.
Regarding claim 1, SULLIVAN teaches: A device for applying a tape arranged at a joint between two panels (SULLIVAN teaches a taping tool (1) [0021-0023; 0025-0028; Figs. 1-3].), the device comprising at least: - a plate which extends in a longitudinal and transverse main plane (SULLIVAN teaches a plate (L-shaped bracket 4) which extends in a longitudinal and transverse main plane [Figs. 1-3; 0021; 0026].), the plate comprising at least one scraping member (SULLIVAN teaches the plate (L-shaped bracket 4) comprising at least one scraping member (3) [Figs. 1-3; 0026].), - the scraping member comprising at least one blade which extends in a plane intersecting the main plane of the plate (SULLIVAN teaches the scraping member comprises the blade (3) extending a plane intersecting the main plane of the plate (4) [Figs. 1-3].), - a roller rigidly connected to the plate via fastening means that allow the roller to rotate about a transverse rotation axis (SULLIVAN teaches a roller (2) rigidly connected to the plate (4) via fastening means that allow the roller to rotate about a transverse rotation axis [Figs. 1-3; 0025].), the roller and the scraping member extending from the same side of the plate (SULLIVAN teaches the roller (2) and the scraping member extending from the same side of the plate [Figs. 1-3].), the roller having a shape of two right circular cones whose bases are wholly in contact with each other (SULLIVAN teaches the roller preferably is long with a diameter of 2 1/8” at each end of the roller, and a gradual, increasing diameter towards the middle of the roller to 2 ¼” at its center [0022; Fig. 3].), the device comprising at least one abutment member which extends from the plate towards the blade of the scraping member (SULLIVAN teaches at least one stop member (9) which extends from the plate (4) towards the blade (3) [Figs. 1-3; 0027].).
Regarding claim 2, SULLIVAN teaches: wherein the roller comprises a linear contact zone for bearing at least against the tape (SULLIVAN teaches the roller (2) comprises a linear contact zone for bearing at least against the tape [0024; Fig. 2].), and the blade of the scraping member comprises a transverse end edge, opposite a plate fastening edge, intended for bearing at least against the tape (SULLIVAN teaches the blade (3) comprises a transverse end edge for bearing at least against the tape (7) and is opposite a plate fastening edge [Figs. 1-3; 0027].), the linear contact zone and the transverse end edge extending at least in part in a common longitudinal and transverse plane (SULLIVAN teaches the linear contact zone and the transverse end edge extend at least in part in a common longitudinal and transverse plane [Figs. 1-3; 0026].).
Regarding claim 4, SULLIVAN teaches: wherein a transverse end edge of the blade of the scraping member extends along a first transverse dimension and the roller extends along a second transverse dimension, the first transverse dimension being greater than the second transverse dimension (SULLIVAN teaches a transverse end edge of the blade (3) of the scraping member extends along a first transverse dimension and the roller (2) extends along a second transverse dimension. SULLIVAN shows the first transverse dimension being greater than the second transverse dimension [Figs. 1-3; 0026].).
Regarding claim 5, SULLIVAN teaches: wherein the at least one abutment member comprises a fastening means for fastening to the plate allowing vertical displacement of said abutment member and holding said abutment member in position (SULLIVAN teaches the slotted openings (9) receives securing mechanisms, such as bolts, screws and nuts, to secure the base of the blade and easily remove a damaged blade (3) [0027].).
Regarding claim 6, SULLIVAN teaches: wherein at least the fastening edge of the blade is resiliently deformable (SULLIVAN teaches a taper can easily change the blade (3) [0027].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan (U.S. PGPUB 2005/0172432), hereinafter SULLIVAN, in view of Burk (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0190835), hereinafter BURK.
Regarding claim 3, SULLIVAN teaches all of the claimed limitation as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the scraping member comprises two wings which extend on either side of the blade, from its transverse end edge and such that the wings extend in a plane intersecting the main plane of the plate and the plane of the blade of the scraping member, and in a direction of the roller. In the same field of endeavor, tape, BURK teaches a scraping member that comprises two wings (25, 26) which extend on either side of the blade, from its transverse end edge and such that the wings extend in a plane intersecting the main plane of the plate (8) and the plane of the blade (12) of the scraping member [0039; Figs. 5, 14]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify SULLIVAN, by having the two wings extending on either side of the blade, as suggested by BURK, in order to impart the desired angle [0041].
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748