Response to Amendments and Arguments
Amendments and arguments filed on 10/01/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
Regarding the restriction, the traversal is not found persuasive because claims 1-9 recite limitations that are related to the operations of a display device. A display device may be connected to an industrial machine or any other device to control the various functionalities of such a device. However, details related to an industrial machine as claimed in claims 10-19 are not related to the operation of the display device itself (they are independent and distinct), and require search that is outside of the display device classifications. As such, there is a serious search and/or examination burden to examine claims 10-19.
Accordingly, the restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
In response to the amended limitations, a new search has been performed to clarify the use of a display device for controlling an “industrial machine”. While the Office respectfully disagrees with narrowly interpreting the term “industrial machine”, for the purpose of compact prosecution a secondary reference is provided according to which the arguments provided on pages 8-13 of the remarks are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al., US 2014/0310336 A1, hereinafter “Imai”, in view of Shima et al., US Patent 4,823,253, hereinafter “Shima”.
Regarding claim 1, Imai teaches a controller (fig. 4, elements 12-16, ¶ 46-49), the controller comprising: a processor (¶ 48-49, CPU) configured to: acquire load information indicating a load related to information processing (fig. 4, element 106, ¶ 62), determine whether the load is high (fig. 10, step 286, ¶ 91), and in response to determining that the load is high, adjust an update timing of at least one screen part among a plurality of screen parts displayed on a display screen (fig. 10, steps 292-298, ¶ 95-97 and figs. 11A-11C wherein multiple screen parts or mesh-squares are identified based on update times and adjusts only those regions with the highest load or update time requirement to be updated at high frequency (adjusted update timing)); and cause the at least one screen part to be displayed on the display screen based on the update timing (fig. 4, element 82, ¶ 55; also see fig. 11A-C, screen 240 wherein adjusted update timing is displayed).
Imai does not specifically teach a controller for controlling an industrial machine, and the plurality of screen parts displaying mutually different pieces of control information related to control of the industrial machine.
Shima, however, clearly teaches a controller for controlling an industrial machine (fig. 1, and col. 2, lines 25-47), and the plurality of screen parts displaying mutually different pieces of control information related to control of the industrial machine (figs. 2-3 and col. 2, line 59 to col. 3, line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Imai in view of Shima. Imai teaches a display device and Shima teaches the use of a display device to control various functions on an industrial machine. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination to utilize the display device of Imai, having improved update frequency capabilities, for controlling an industrial machine, thereby enhancing the user experience.
Regarding claim 2, Imai teaches that the processor is configured to adjust the update timing by changing an update cycle (fig. 11A-C, ¶ 95-97, update cycle is changed for mesh-squares based on their update times).
Regarding claim 5, Imai teaches a memory storing, for each of the plurality of screen parts, a number of times adjustment has been performed wherein the processor is configured to adjust the update cycle based on the number of times the adjustment has been performed (fig. 15, ¶ 115 and ¶ 119; note that a portion of the memory holds such data).
Regarding claim 6, Imai teaches a memory storing a history of the update cycle adjusted by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to adjust the update cycle based on the history stored in the memory (fig. 15, ¶ 115 and ¶ 119; note that a “history storage unit” or a portion of the memory holds such data as the number of times of updates which is a history of the update cycles).
Regarding claim 8, Imai teaches that the load information includes at least one of information indicating a load on the processor, information indicating an amount of access to a storage device, or information indicating an amount of communication with an external device (¶ 62: “The processing load detection section 106 uses load of the CPU 20 of the gateway 16 to detect load data of the gateway 16”).
Regarding claim 9, Imai teaches that the processor is configured to compare a predefined threshold value with the load or a rate of increase in the load to determine whether the load is high (¶ 91).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai and Shima, as applied above, further in view of Von Hippel et al., US 11,574,576 B1, hereinafter “Von Hippel”.
Regarding claim 3, Imai and Shima do not specifically teach that the processor is configured to adjust the update cycle within a maximum update cycle defined for each of the multiple screen parts.
Von Hippel teaches that the processor is configured to adjust the update cycle within a maximum update cycle defined for each of the multiple screen parts (fig. 6, col. 21, lines 6-9 and 31-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Imai, Shima and Von Hippel. Imai and Von Hippel teach determining portions of display devices to be updated at high frequencies. Von Hippel further teaches taking into consideration that certain display portions may be updated based on the maximum frequency that is made possible by the display device. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to drive the high frequency portions at a rate “consistent with” the “capability” of the display device on which the high frequency driving is required, thereby achieving the highest possible quality that may be achieved.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai and Shima, as applied above, further in view of Santoro et al., US 2003/0020671 A1, hereinafter “Santoro”.
Regarding claim 4, Imai and Shima do not specifically teach that the processor is configured to adjust the update cycle based on a priority level defined for each of the multiple screen parts.
Santoro teaches that the processor is configured to adjust the update cycle based on a priority level defined for each of the multiple screen parts (¶ 85 wherein “tiles” or screen parts “are categorized into a number of levels, arranged hierarchically so that tiles in each level have priority over those in other levels. Such a priority indicates that tiles with highest priority will refresh most frequently”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Imai, Shima and Santoro. Imai and Santoro teach assigning display portions different update times and Santoro further teaches that display portions with higher priorities are refreshed more often. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination because Santoro further teaches that display portions “within a given [priority] level can be set up to compete equally for available system resources and bandwidth”, thereby ensuring that the highest priority content is provided with appropriate resources to be driven at a desired frequency.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai and Shima, as applied above, further in view of Inada et al., US 2015/0205563 A1, hereinafter “Inada”.
Regarding claim 7, Imai and Shima do not teach that the processor is configured to adjust the update timings by staggering the update timing of at least one of the multiple screen parts.
Inada teaches that the processor is configured to adjust the update timings by staggering the update timing of at least one of the multiple screen parts (fig. 1, see multiple screen parts 11 and 12, also see fig. 7-8, ¶ 74-79).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Imai, Shima and Inada. Imai and Inada teach controlling refresh cycles of display portions and Inada further teaches staggering the update timing of display parts. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Inada clearly teaches that according to such staggering “a peak of consumption power of the whole display device (portable terminal) 100 is suppressed” (see ¶ 80, fig. 9).
Conclusion
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621