DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to communications filed on 10/21/2026.
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 14 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 16-20 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the response filed applicant argues, in substance:
a) In page 8 of the response filed, applicant argues that Sauer et al. (US 20210399885 A1, hereinafter Sauer) fails to teach or disclose the limitation "encrypting the message [...] based on [...] the time of the message" in view of "the time of the message is indicative of a time slot in which the message is encrypted" because a "time slot is a property of the individual message rather than of the device, and it is what permits the encryption of that message to carry evidence of when the message was produced" and "Sauer has not per-message time of any kind. Its time is tied to whether "interacting with the control device takes place at the allowed operating times" (Sauer at ¶[0009]), which is a property of the device session and not of any message."
In response to argument (a), the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The limitations do not recite that the "time of the message" is "a time slot in which the message is encrypted." Instead, the claims require the time of the message to be indicative of the time slot in which the message is encrypted. Further, the claims do not require carrying any evidence of when the message was produced.
The examiner notes that in Sauer, "interacting with the control device takes place at the allowed operating times" and the key that is generated for encryption only works during the operating times (¶[0009]). That is, encryption is essentially happening inside that time interval. If encryption happened outside that interval, the keys of the control device and the field device would not match and interaction would not be possible (¶[0009], "When the field device is not arranged at the allowed location or the interaction with the control device takes place outside the allowed operating times, the key configured at the control device will not match to the updated current key of the field device anymore such that interacting with the control device will not work and is thus inhibited. As such, the predefined operating constraints can be enforced").
That is, the time used to generate the key in Sauer is clearly indicative of a time slot in which the message is encrypted (see ¶[0007], "The current time may define for example a current time of day and/or a current date. Accordingly, the predefined operating constraint may indicate a time interval, a starting time and/or an ending time defining the times at which the field device is allowed to the operated").
b) In page 10 of the response filed, applicant argues that Beck et al. (US 20200195427 A1, hereinafter Beck) fails to teach or disclose the limitation "the information on the position is indicative of an expected position of the transmitter when the actual position deviates from the expected position by no more than a predetermined maximum distance" because "[n]othing in Beck substitutes an expected position for a transmitter's measured actual position and then encrypts on the basis of the substituted value."
In response to argument (b), the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claims require "obtaining information on a position of the transmitter" and then "encrypting the message using symmetric encryption based on the information on the position."
Nothing in the passage above suggests that encryption is based on a substituted value, only that is encrypted based on the information on the position.
The claims further recite "the information on the position is indicative of an expected position of the transmitter when the actual position deviates from the expected position by no more than a predetermined maximum distance."
This doesn't mean that the information on the position is substituted in any way, it simply means that the information on the position indicates (but it doesn't necessarily have to be) other information (an expected position) when a condition is met.
For example, assuming that the condition is met:
The claim, as recited, could be interpreted as obtaining an actual position of a transmitter, encrypting based on the actual position of the transmitter, and the actual position of the transmitter indicates that the transmitter is where it is supposed to be (an expected position), i.e., "the information on the position" (actual position) "is indicative of an expected position" (indicates that the transmitter is where it's supposed to be).
The condition here is for the actual location of the transmitter to be no more than a predetermined maximum distance from the expected position.
In Beck, there is an estimated geographic region (i.e., "estimating a geographic region from which the transmission was received" (¶[0014])), that is, an expected region from which a transmission is received. A search in a search partition is performed for a terminal key (¶[0010]), and the search partition contains terminals inside the expected region (¶[0014]).
That is, in Beck, if a terminal is inside the expected region, then it's actual position clearly indicates that it is in the expected region (i.e., "the information on the position is indicative of an expected position"), and if it's outside (i.e., "more than a predetermined maximum distance"), then it doesn't.
Nothing in the claims requires using the expected position or the indication to encrypt the message.
c) In response to the clarification request on page 11, applicant is correct to note that claim 2 is rejected by Beck and not Fujiki.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the limitations recite the term "often minutes." The term “often” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “often” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, the term “often minutes” has been interpreted as indicating a design choice with no requirement for the predefined length to be minutes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 14-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer et al. (US 20210399885 A1, hereinafter Sauer) in view of Beck et al. (US 20200195427 A1, hereinafter Beck).
Regarding claim 1, Sauer discloses a method for a transmitter and for encrypting a message, the method comprising:
obtaining information on a position of the transmitter (¶[0006], "current constraint parameter is indicative of a current information which is related to the predefined operating constraint. For example, the predefined operating constraint may indicate a location at which the field device is allowed to be operated or to execute a predefined function"),
including determining an actual position of the transmitter using a positioning system ();
obtaining a time of the message (¶[0007], "the predefined operating constraint may indicate a predefined timing at which the field device is allowed to be operated or to execute a predefined function. In this case, the current constraint parameter may comprise a current time. The current time may define for example a current time of day and/or a current date. Accordingly, the predefined operating constraint may indicate a time interval, a starting time and/or an ending time defining the times at which the field device is allowed to the operated or to execute the predefined function"); and
encrypting the message using symmetric encryption based on the information on the position and the time of the message (¶[0009], "The control device may be configured with a key which is matching to the key generated at the field device when the field device is at the allowed location or interacting with the control device takes place at the allowed operating times. Whenever the field device moves or the time changes, the key generated at the field device may be updated. When the field device is not arranged at the allowed location or the interaction with the control device takes place outside the allowed operating times, the key configured at the control device will not match to the updated current key of the field device anymore such that interacting with the control device will not work and is thus inhibited"), wherein
the time of the message is indicative of a time slot in which the message is encrypted (¶[0058], "the constraint sensor 110 may continuously measure the current constraint parameter, for example the current location of the field device 101 or a current time, and may transfer the current constraint parameter continuously to the key modifier 111. The key modifier 111 may generate based on the changed measurement a new key for the field device 101 with a key derivation function which applies the predefined operating constraint, the precision information if available, the base key and the current constraint parameter. The key modifier 111 may update the latest key with the newly generated key in the key storage 112"; ¶[0017], "an encrypted communication between the control device and the field device based on the key" - i.e., if time/location changes, so does key and the current key is used for encryption as if it was used at a later time it would be another key; ¶[0007], "the predefined operating constraint may indicate a predefined timing at which the field device is allowed to be operated or to execute a predefined function. In this case, the current constraint parameter may comprise a current time. The current time may define for example a current time of day and/or a current date. Accordingly, the predefined operating constraint may indicate a time interval, a starting time and/or an ending time defining the times at which the field device is allowed to the operated or to execute the predefined function. The predefined function may relate to a configuration or placing into operation of the field device issued by the control device").
Sauer does not disclose the information on the position is indicative of an expected position of the transmitter when the actual position deviates from the expected position by no more than a predetermined maximum distance.
Beck discloses the information on the position is indicative of an expected position of the transmitter when the actual position deviates from the expected position by no more than a predetermined maximum distance (¶[0014], "selecting the nonce is performed using the last known position for each terminal in the system over a predefined time window, and the search partition contains the terminals whose last known position was within the estimated geographic region" ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Sauer and Beck to arrive at a system in which the information on the position is indicative of the expected position if the actual position deviates from the expected position by no more than a predetermined maximum distance.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would "provide a useful alternative to existing systems" while enabling to "keep packets as short as possible" (Beck, ¶[0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above.
Sauer does not disclose that encrypting the message comprises: generating a nonce based on the time and the information on the position; and encrypting the message using the nonce.
Beck discloses that encrypting a message comprises: generating a nonce based on the time and the information on the position (¶[0083], "generation of a Nonce value 701. This may be generated using information known to the terminal" - that information known to the terminal includes the time and position information is a result of the combination with Sauer - see also ¶[0014], "selecting the nonce is performed using the last known position for each terminal in the system over a predefined time window, and the search partition contains the terminals whose last known position was within the estimated geographic region" and ¶[0015], "the nonce value is obtained by determining a current value of a counter at a time determined with respect to the transmission time of the message, wherein the counter is based on a parameter of the satellite orbit known to the receiver and transmitter"); and
encrypting the message using the nonce (¶[0102], "the nonce value used to encrypt the message").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Sauer and Beck to arrive at a system in which encrypting the message comprises: generating a nonce based on the time and the information on the position; and encrypting the message using the nonce.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would "provide a useful alternative to existing systems" while enabling to "keep packets as short as possible" (Beck, ¶[0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the information on the position is indicative of the actual position when the actual position deviates from the expected position by more than the predetermined maximum distance (alternate limitation, disclosed by Sauer when the actual position does not deviate from an expected position by more than the predetermined maximum distance).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the time of the message is indicative of a time of encryption of the message (Sauer, ¶[0058], "the constraint sensor 110 may continuously measure the current constraint parameter, for example the current location of the field device 101 or a current time, and may transfer the current constraint parameter continuously to the key modifier 111. The key modifier 111 may generate based on the changed measurement a new key for the field device 101 with a key derivation function which applies the predefined operating constraint, the precision information if available, the base key and the current constraint parameter. The key modifier 111 may update the latest key with the newly generated key in the key storage 112"; ¶[0017], "an encrypted communication between the control device and the field device based on the key" - i.e., if time/location changes, so does key and the current key is used for encryption as if it was used at a later time it would be another key).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the time is specified by a number of minutes from a predefined point in time.
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the method further comprises transmitting the encrypted message to a receiver (Sauer, ¶[0021], "The logic is configured to interact with the control device using the generated key, for example communicating with the control device via a communication encrypted with the generated key").
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the message is indicative of sensor data of a stationary sensor (Sauer, ¶[0005], " The field device may comprise for example a computing device, a gas turbine, an Internet of Things (IoT) device, a sensor" - see also ¶[0038]).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program having a program code for performing a method according to claim 1 when the program is executed on a processor or a programmable hardware (Sauer, ¶[0023], "a computer program product (non-transitory computer readable storage medium having instructions, which when executed by a processor, perform actions) comprises program code. The program code may be executed by at least one processor. Executing the program code causes the at least one processor to perform a method for operating a field device").
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck discloses an apparatus for encryption/decryption, the apparatus comprising: one or more interfaces for communication (Sauer, ¶[0021], "The field device comprises a communication interface and a logic"); and
a processing circuit configured to control the one or more interfaces and to carry out a method of claim 1 using the one or more interfaces (Sauer, ¶[0023], "a computer program product (non-transitory computer readable storage medium having instructions, which when executed by a processor, perform actions) comprises program code. The program code may be executed by at least one processor. Executing the program code causes the at least one processor to perform a method for operating a field device").
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the information on the position includes geographical coordinates of the transmitter obtained from a satellite-based positioning system.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the time slot is one of multiple successive time slots having a constant predefined length often minutes.
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 2, above, wherein encrypting the message using the nonce (Beck, ¶[0083], "the message text may also be encrypted using the nonce and terminal key to obtain encrypted message text") comprises
applying a symmetric key algorithm to the message with a key seed (Sauer, ¶[0016], "the generated key comprises a private key of an asymmetric encryption scheme"; ¶[0017], "an encrypted communication between the control device and the field device based on the key") and
the nonce as inputs (Beck, ¶[0083], "the message text may also be encrypted using the nonce and terminal key to obtain encrypted message text"),
the key seed being a secret key known by the transmitter and a receiver of the message (Sauer, ¶[0013], "Security may be accomplished through cryptographic keys" (implied key is not known to third parties, see ¶[0016], "a private key")).
Claim(s) 6 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer (US 20210399885 A1) in view of Beck (US 20200195427 A1), and further in view of Ho (US 8195932 B2).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above.
The combined teachings of Sauer and Beck do not disclose that the method further comprises obtaining an identifier of the message, and wherein encrypting the message further comprises encrypting the message using the identifier.
Ho discloses obtaining an identifier of the message, and wherein encrypting the message further comprises encrypting the message using the identifier (col. 1, lines 53-55, "The messages are encrypted and authenticated using a shared key known to both devices"; col. 4, lines 55-62 , "a nonce used in a message authentication and encryption/decryption process [...] The nonce comprises leading zeros 401, header 402, and security sequence number (SSN) 403"; col. 6, lines 25-34, "For frames secured with a new pairwise temporal key (PTK), SSN 804 is set to 1. For frames secured with a used PTK, whether transmitted for the first time or as retries, SSN 804 is incremented by 1 from its value in the last transmitted frame secured with the same PTK. The value of SSN 804 increments in frames secured with the same PTK, rather than in frames of the same frame type or frame subtype. SSN 804 increments even if the current frame transmission is a retransmission of an earlier transmission"; col. 7, lines 41-45, "Processor 1001 may compute or select a pairwise temporal key (PTK), message integrity code (MIC), security sequence number (SSN), or nonce, and may encrypt and decrypt messages").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Sauer and Beck with Ho to arrive at a system for obtaining an identifier of the message, and wherein encrypting the message further comprises encrypting the message using the identifier.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide "security protection using confidentiality, authenticity and integrity, and anti-replay measures" (Ho, col. 1, lines 57-59).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings of Sauer, Beck, and Ho disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 6, above, wherein the identifier of the message is an index equal to a number of messages that have been encrypted within the time slot before the message is encrypted (Ho, col. 1, lines 53-55, "The messages are encrypted and authenticated using a shared key known to both devices"; col. 4, lines 55-62 , "a nonce used in a message authentication and encryption/decryption process [...] The nonce comprises leading zeros 401, header 402, and security sequence number (SSN) 403"; col. 6, lines 25-34, "For frames secured with a new pairwise temporal key (PTK), SSN 804 is set to 1. For frames secured with a used PTK, whether transmitted for the first time or as retries, SSN 804 is incremented by 1 from its value in the last transmitted frame secured with the same PTK. The value of SSN 804 increments in frames secured with the same PTK, rather than in frames of the same frame type or frame subtype. SSN 804 increments even if the current frame transmission is a retransmission of an earlier transmission"; col. 7, lines 41-45, "Processor 1001 may compute or select a pairwise temporal key (PTK), message integrity code (MIC), security sequence number (SSN), or nonce, and may encrypt and decrypt messages").
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 2, above, wherein the nonce is generated by applying a nonce generation algorithm with the time of the message, and the information on the position as inputs to the nonce generation algorithm (Beck, ¶[0083], "generation of a Nonce value 701. This may be generated using information known to the terminal" - that information known to the terminal includes the time and position information is a result of the combination with Sauer - see also ¶[0014], "selecting the nonce is performed using the last known position for each terminal in the system over a predefined time window, and the search partition contains the terminals whose last known position was within the estimated geographic region" and ¶[0015], "the nonce value is obtained by determining a current value of a counter at a time determined with respect to the transmission time of the message, wherein the counter is based on a parameter of the satellite orbit known to the receiver and transmitter").
The combined teachings of Sauer and Beck does not disclose that the nonce is further generated by applying a nonce generation algorithm with an identifier of the message.
Ho discloses that a nonce may be generated with an identifier of the message (col. 1, lines 53-55, "The messages are encrypted and authenticated using a shared key known to both devices"; col. 4, lines 55-62 , "a nonce used in a message authentication and encryption/decryption process [...] The nonce comprises leading zeros 401, header 402, and security sequence number (SSN) 403"; col. 6, lines 25-34, "For frames secured with a new pairwise temporal key (PTK), SSN 804 is set to 1. For frames secured with a used PTK, whether transmitted for the first time or as retries, SSN 804 is incremented by 1 from its value in the last transmitted frame secured with the same PTK. The value of SSN 804 increments in frames secured with the same PTK, rather than in frames of the same frame type or frame subtype. SSN 804 increments even if the current frame transmission is a retransmission of an earlier transmission"; col. 7, lines 41-45, "Processor 1001 may compute or select a pairwise temporal key (PTK), message integrity code (MIC), security sequence number (SSN), or nonce, and may encrypt and decrypt messages").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Sauer, Beck, and Ho to arrive at a system for obtaining an identifier of the message, and wherein encrypting the message further comprises encrypting the message using the identifier.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide "security protection using confidentiality, authenticity and integrity, and anti-replay measures" (Ho, col. 1, lines 57-59).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer (US 20210399885 A1) in view of Beck (US 20200195427 A1), and further in view of Fujiki (US 20210314307 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings of Sauer and Beck disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above.
Sauer does not disclose that the message complies with a Low Power Wide Area, LPWA, wireless communication standard.
Fujiki discloses that a message may comply with a LPWA standard (¶[0042], "An overview of a one-way communication system using low power wide area (LPWA)"; ¶[0049], "As described above, the IoT terminal 11 only needs to transmit sensor data as a small amount of Payload data in one direction to the IoT gateway 12, and thus communication with low power consumption can be realized"; ¶[0107], "the transmitting device 201 acquires the GPS time information transmitted together with position information by a global positioning system (GPS), uses the information as NONCE together with the TXID which is a unique ID of the transmitting device 201 to generate a key stream, and uses this key stream to convert a plaintext data bit sequence into an encrypted data bit sequence").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Sauer and Fujiki to arrive at a system in which the message complies with a Low Power Wide Area, LPWA, wireless communication standard.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would improve "confidentiality and communication resistance" in low power environments (Fujiki, ¶[0001]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 12530683 B2, which discloses "generate a credential token based on the device information of the second device and the data set representing the expected location of the second device, the credential token comprising a cryptogram based on the expected location of the second device and an encryption key" (claim 1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BORIS D GRIJALVA LOBOS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496