DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the two cooling elements are over-lapping with each other” of claim 4 and “the outer cooling element is overlapping with the one or more cooling elements of the front cover” of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 799610 to Svenska Rotor Maskiner Aktiebolag (Svenska).
Regarding claim 1, Svenska discloses a vacuum pump, in particular 2-shaft rotor pump, comprising
a housing (14, 16, figs. 1-6; page 2, lines 7-11) defining a pump chamber (18, 20, figs. 1-6) an inlet (46, figs. 1-6) and an outlet (66, figs. 1-6);
two rotor assemblies (page 2, lines 14-17) arranged in in the pump chamber, wherein each rotor assembly comprises at least one pump element (male and female rotors, page 2, lines 14-17) interacting with each other, wherein each rotor assembly comprises
a first end and a second end (first end 52 and second end on the opposite side as shown in fig. 1);
a front cover (right side cover, fig. 1) connected to the housing at the second end of the rotor assembly;
wherein the front cover comprises at least one cooling element (28, 30, 96, figs. 1-6) with a radial symmetry.
Regarding claim 2, Svenska discloses the pump according to claim 1, wherein the cooling element is radially symmetric around the axis of rotation of one of the rotor assembly (see figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 3, Svenska discloses the vacuum pump according to claim 1, wherein two cooling elements are arranged at the front cover, wherein each cooling element is radially symmetric around a respective axis of rotation of each rotor assembly (see figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 4, Svenska discloses the vacuum pump according to claim 3, wherein the two cooling elements are over-lapping with each other.
Regarding claim 5, Svenska discloses the vacuum pump according to claim 3, wherein the two cooling elements are shaped differently or identically (see figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 6, Svenska discloses the vacuum pump according to claim 1, wherein the at least one cooling element comprises one or more cooling ribs (28, 30, 32, figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 7, Svenska discloses the vacuum pump according to claim 1, wherein the at least one cooling element comprising one or more circular ribs (28, 30, 32, figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 8, Svenska discloses the vacuum pump according to claim 7, wherein the cooling element comprises more than one circular rib, wherein the circular ribs are connected by one or more radial webs (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Svenska discloses the vacuum pump according to claim 1, wherein the outlet is provided in the front cover (fig. 1; 66 is in the front cover).
Regarding claim 10, Svenska discloses the vacuum pump according to claim 9, wherein the outlet comprising an outlet cooling element (24, fig. 2), wherein the outlet cooling element is overlapping with the one or more cooling elements of the front cover (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Svenska discloses the vacuum pump according to claim 1, wherein the vacuum pump is a claw pump, a roots pump or a screw pump (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the a compressor with male and female rotors will be a claw pump, a roots pump or a screw pump).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 8,573,956 to Suzuki
US 5,660,535 to Kobus et al.
US 5,173,041 to Nimura et al.
US 4,808,095 to Nishitani et al.
US 2024/0052837 to Lee et al.
All references above describe general state of art.
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746