DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/7/2026 seems to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-14 still pending.
Claim 1, 3-4, 6 and 13-14 were amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 8/7/2026, with respect to objection of drawings and claims 3 and 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of drawings and claims 3 and 13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because a new ground of rejection is necessitated due to applicant amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et. al. KR Publication 20140130317 (Song) in view of Deguchi WO Document WO 2021048944 (Deguchi).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (8)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a converter valve assembly (i.e., 200) (Fig. 1) for a power grid system, comprising: two or more equal groups of prismatic converter cells (i.e., 100) (Fig. 1), each group (for example see Reference character added A, B, C representing each group extended vertically) (Fig. 3) being arranged in a respective plane of a plurality of parallel planes spaced apart along an axis (see reference character added 8) (Fig. 2),
wherein: converter cells (i.e., 100) (Fig. 4) in a group are connected in series and arranged with their shortest dimension perpendicular to the plane; the groups are connected in series along the axis (i.e., 8) (Fig. 1);
and the prismatic converter cells (i.e., 100) (Fig. 4) in a group are arranged around the axis (i.e., 8) (Fig. 1) and connected in sequence according to their radial position around the axis (i.e., 8) (Fig. 1) such that there is a corresponding voltage difference between each converter cell in the group and each corresponding converter cell (i.e., 100) (Fig. 4) in an adjacent group (i.e., A,B,C) (Fig. 3) that is spatially nearest to said each converter cell (i.e., 100) (Fig. 4), during operation of the converter valve assembly.
Song discloses a vertical arrangement of the converter valve assembly but fail to disclose a horizontal axis arrangement.
Deguchi, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the stacking arrangement to be horizontal instead of vertical in order to avoid the stacking length of the power converter in a vertical direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide an horizontal stacking arrangement along a horizontal axis in Song, as taught by Deguchi, in order to avoid the stacking length of the power converter in a vertical direction.
Regarding claim 3, Song in view of Deguchi, as applied in linking claims, discloses each converter cell (i.e., 100) (Fig. 1) in a group is aligned with a corresponding converter cell (i.e., 100) (Fig. 1) in an adjacent group, the corresponding converter cell having a same position in the cell arrangement.
Regarding claim 4, Song in view of Deguchi, as applied on linking claims, discloses the plurality of parallel planes spaced apart along the axis by a spacing (i.e., 230) (Fig. 3) corresponding to the voltage difference between said each converter cell in the group (i.e., A) (Fig. 3) and said each corresponding converter cell in the adjacent group (i.e., B) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Song in view of Deguchi, as applied on linking claims, discloses each group (i.e., A, B. C) (Fig. 3) is rigidly mounted on a respective substructure (i.e., 210) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Song in view of Deguchi, as applied on linking claims, substructure is rigidly connected along the axis (i.e., 8) (Fig. 2) to thereby form a support structure (i.e., Song discloses the structure shown in Fig. 2, wherein the substructure for mounting each group 210 ) (Fig. 3)for the converter valve assembly.
Regarding claim 7, Song in view of Deguchi, as applied on linking claims, substructures (i.e., 210) (Fig. 3) are rigidly connected by an insulating member (i.e., 20, 230) (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Song in view of Deguchi, as applied on linking claims, discloses a mounting assembly (see lower part having supports 230,20) (Fig. 2) for the support structure, wherein: the mounting assembly comprises a suspension assembly (for example see insulators supports 230, 20 at the bottom of the structure in Fig. 2) for suspending the support structure from a ceiling or a standing assembly for raising the support structure from a floor.
Regarding claim 9, Song in view of Deguchi, as applied on linking claims, discloses the standing assembly comprises a plurality of posts (for example see insulators supports 230, 20 at the bottom of the structure in Fig. 2) configured to provide electrical insulation from the floor.
Regarding claim 10, Song in view of Deguchi, as applied on linking claims, discloses each substructure is mounted on a respective one or more posts; or a plurality of substructures are mounted via a common mounting structure (for example see Fig. 2, Song discloses an structure including frames 210 to mount converters in a radial configuration wherein posts 20, 230 are used to separate each group A, B and C) .
Regarding claim 14, Song discloses a method of manufacturing a converter valve assembly (i.e., 200) (Fig. 1) for a power grid system, comprising: two or more equal groups of prismatic converter cells (i.e., 100) (Fig. 1), each group (for example see Reference character added A, B, C representing each group extended vertically) (Fig. 3) being arranged in a respective plane of a plurality of parallel planes spaced apart along an axis (see reference character added 8) (Fig. 2),
wherein: converter cells (i.e., 100) (Fig. 4) in a group are connected in series and arranged with their shortest dimension perpendicular to the plane; the groups are connected in series along the axis (i.e., 8) (Fig. 1);
and the prismatic converter cells (i.e., 100) (Fig. 4) in a group are arranged around the axis (i.e., 8) (Fig. 1) and connected in sequence according to their radial position around the axis (i.e., 8) (Fig. 1) such that there is a corresponding voltage difference between each converter cell in the group and each corresponding converter cell (i.e., 100) (Fig. 4) in an adjacent group (i.e., A,B,C) (Fig. 3) that is spatially nearest to said each converter cell (i.e., 100) (Fig. 4), during operation of the converter valve assembly.
Song discloses a vertical arrangement of the converter valve assembly but fail to disclose a horizontal axis arrangement.
Deguchi, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the stacking arrangement to be horizontal instead of vertical in order to avoid the stacking length of the power converter in a vertical direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide an horizontal stacking arrangement along a horizontal axis in Song, as taught by Deguchi, in order to avoid the stacking length of the power converter in a vertical direction.
Claims 2 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et. al. KR Publication 20140130317 (Song) in view of Deguchi WO Document WO 2021048944 (Deguchi) and in further view of Onishi et. al. US Patent 10389268.
Regarding claim 2, Song in view of Deguchi, discloses the connection of converter or modules in series but fail to disclose each group is connected in series from a first converter cell to a last converter cell of the group, according to a cell arrangement common to all groups, and the last converter cell of the group is connected to a first converter cell of an adjacent group.
Onishi, in the same field of endeavor discloses, each group (i.e., ST11 ) (Fig. 10) is connected in series from a first converter cell to a last converter cell of the group (i.e., ST11 ) (Fig. 10), according to a cell (i.e., 10 ) (Fig. 10) arrangement common to all groups (i.e., ST11, ST12 ) (Fig. 10), and the last converter cell of the group is connected to a first converter cell of an adjacent group (i.e., ST12 ) (Fig. 10) for suppressing a circulating current.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide each group is connected in series from a first converter cell to a last converter cell of the group, according to a cell arrangement common to all groups, and the last converter cell of the group is connected to a first converter cell of an adjacent group in Song in view of Deguchi, as taught by Onishi, in order to provide a configuration which assist in suppressing a circulating current.
Regarding claim 11, Song in view of Deguchi fails to disclose a shielding structure for each group, arranged in the plane.
Onishi, in the same field of endeavor discloses, a shielding structure (i.e., 23 ) (Fig. 21) for each group, arranged in the plane for protecting the converters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide a shielding structure for each group, arranged in the plane in Song in view of Deguchi, as taught by Onishi, for protecting the converters.
Regarding claim 12, Song in view of Deguchi, fails to disclose the converter valve assembly constitutes an arm of a converter.
Onishi, in the same field of endeavor discloses, the converter valve assembly constitutes an arm of a converter for converting an AC input into a DC output or vice-versa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide the converter valve assembly constitutes an arm of a converter in Song in view of Deguchi, as taught by Onishi, for converting an AC input into a DC output or vice-versa.
Regarding claim 13, Song in view of Deguchi, fails to disclose the converter being a modular multilevel converter configured to provide power to a power grid.
Onishi, in the same field of endeavor discloses, the converter being a modular multilevel converter configured to provide power to a power grid (for example see Fig. 2) for converting an AC input into a DC output or vice versa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide the converter being a modular multilevel converter configured to provide power to a power grid in Song in view of Deguchi, as taught by Onishi, for converting an AC input into a DC output or vice-versa.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YAHVEH COMAS TORRES/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838