DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230150559 A1, filed November 12th, 2021, hereinafter “Ghaly”, in view of CN 110712667 A, published January 21st, 2020, hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding claim 1, Ghaly teaches A system for interactive operation of a real train and a simulation train. See at least [0102] - [0104] and figures 2-3.
comprising: a real system which comprises: one or more real trains, one or more real tracks, a real trackside device, and a real signal system. See at least [0098], [0102], and figures 1-2, wherein a physical (real) train system includes trains, tracks, trackside devices, and signals.
and the real signal system is used for controlling the one or more real trains to normally travel on the one or more real tracks. See at least [0102], [0104], [0107], and figure 3, wherein a CBTC system is implemented, including a physical control system 44 is used for controlling movement of the physical trains on the physical tracks.
a simulation system which is implemented by software and comprises: one or more simulation trains and a trackside simulation system, the trackside simulation system has one or more simulation tracks, and a simulation trackside device corresponding to the real system and the one or more simulation trains operates on the one or more simulation tracks. See at least [0102] and figures 2-3, virtual train system 40 which includes virtual trains, virtual tracks, virtual trackside simulation system 46, and virtual trackside devices 56-60. The virtual trackside devices 56-60 correspond to the physical trackside devices 62-66. See at least [0109], wherein virtual trains operate on the virtual tracks corresponding to physical trains and physical tracks.
and an interface unit which synchronizes train operation information of the one or more real trains and the one or more simulation trains in real time in the real signal system and a trackside signal system. See at least [0106] - [0109] and figure 4, wherein train control interface 82 facilitates two-way communication between the physical train system and the virtual train system. The two-way communication is used to establish corresponding train operation information between the physical trains and the virtual trains in the real signal system and a trackside signal system (IXL interface 50, which controls trackside devices 62-66).
and the train operation information comprises: location information, route information, an occupied or cleared status of one or more track sections, and a signal display status. See at least [0106] and figures 4-5, wherein the train operation information shared by the real signal system includes train location information, train travel direction information, and movement authority limit information. See at least [0109], wherein the movement authority information includes route information. See at least [0107] and figure 6, wherein the train operation information shared by the trackside signal system includes occupancy status of detection blocks on the tracks and signal statuses.
the trackside simulation system controls, based on the location information of the one or more real trains, the one or more simulation trains to be added on the one or more simulation tracks. See at least [0105], wherein the virtual train system 40 adds virtual trains to the simulation tracks based on receiving movement information from physical trains in the physical system.
and the real signal system calculates and sends a corresponding movement authority for the one or more real trains and the one or more simulation trains, to achieve the interactive operation of the one or more real trains and the one or more simulation trains in the real system and the simulation system. See at least [0104] - [0105] and [0109], wherein the train control system determines and transmits movement authority limits for the virtual trains and the physical trains, and the physical trains and corresponding virtual trains operate on physical and virtual tracks in the physical and virtual train systems. See at least [0164] and figure 26, wherein, in an embodiment, the movement authority limit calculation is done by a MAL processor in the physical train control system.
Ghaly remains silent on the trackside simulation system has one or more simulation stations.
Zhang teaches the trackside simulation system has one or more simulation stations. See at least [0054] and figures 1 and 3, wherein the train system includes stations. In combination with Ghaly’s teaching, discussed above, of a simulation system with simulation items corresponding to real-world items, this limitation is taught in its entirety.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ghaly with Zhang’s trackside stations. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables train control systems that are adaptable to foreign requirements, allowing CTCS trains to be implemented in foreign countries, as recognized by Zhang (see at least [0005] - [0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Ghaly and Zhang in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally teaches wherein the real trackside device comprises: one or more of; a signal, a track circuit, an axle counter, a switch machine, and a balise. See at least [0008] and [0102], wherein the trackside devices include signals 62, train detection blocks 64, and switches 66. Additionally, see at least [0008], wherein the train detection blocks include track circuits and axle counters. See at least [0010], wherein the train detection can additionally include transponders installed between the trails of the train tracks.
Regarding claim 3, Ghaly and Zhang in combination teach all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally teaches wherein the real signal system comprises: a central centralized traffic control (CTC), an interlocking system, and a central train control system. See at least [0005] and [0100], wherein the train control system includes an ATS system that provides centralized traffic control. See at least [0102] - [0104], VXL interface (interlocking interface) 50 and physical CBTC 44.
the central CTC issues traffic schedules of the one or more real trains and the one or more simulation trains to the station CTC. See at least [0098], wherein the ATS system includes a traffic controller that issues service schedules and timetables for the virtual and physical train control systems.
the interlocking system controls the real trackside device based on the route control instruction to complete automatic arrangement of routes. See at least [0107] - [0108], wherein the IXL interface 50 controls trackside devices 62-66 to facilitate movement of trains through interlocking routes.
the central train control system implements, based on a temporary speed restriction command sent by the central CTC, digital coding on the track circuit and generation and selection of a message of the balise. See at least [0128] and figures 13 and 15, wherein temporary speed restriction information is sent by the ATS system to the MCP, which is part of the CBTC system. See at least [0050] - [0052], [0120], [0127] and figure 16, wherein the speed restriction information is used to implement speed code on the track circuits in a cab-signaling system. The selected speed codes are converted into a message comprising corresponding movement authority limits. See at least [0010], wherein the train detection can additionally include transponders installed between the trails of the train tracks.
and a station train control center is used for sending the message to the balise. See at least [0134] and figure 8, wherein a cab-signaling control system is used for sending the speed code information to the physical rail blocks.
wherein the message comprises: receiving route information, temporary speed restriction information, and home signal degraded indication. See at least [0127] - [0128], [0155], [0161], and figure 16, wherein the shared information includes movement authority data, temporary speed restriction information, and signal aspects. The signal aspects include failed, or degraded, signals.
Ghaly remains silent on a station CTC, a station train control system, and the station CTC automatically generates a route control instruction according to the traffic schedules and sends the route control instruction to the interlocking system.
Zhang teaches a station CTC, a station train control system, and the station CTC automatically generates a route control instruction according to the traffic schedules and sends the route control instruction to the interlocking system. See at least [0023] - [0024], [0054], and figure 3, wherein the ground system includes CTC station control units and a station train control center. The CTC station control units automatically set and adjust train routes according to operation plans (schedules) and control the station interlocking system.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ghaly with Zhang’s station CTC and station control station, where the station CTC automatically generates route control instructions according to the operation schedules and sends instructions to an interlocking system. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables train control systems that are adaptable to foreign requirements, allowing CTCS trains to be implemented in foreign countries, as recognized by Zhang (see at least [0005] - [0009]).
Regarding claim 4, Ghaly and Zhang in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally teaches wherein: the one or more real trains is provided with an on-board train control system which comprises an automatic train protection and/or an automatic train operation; and the one or more simulation trains is provided with a simulation on-board train control system which has same functions as the on-board train control system. See at least [0097] - [0098], [0104], and figure 3, wherein the physical trains have onboard train control computers 42, and the virtual trains have corresponding onboard train control computers 55. See at least [0058] and [0109], wherein the onboard train computers automatically cause the train to operate within the provided movement authority limits and provide over-speed protection.
Regarding claim 5, Ghaly and Zhang in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally teaches wherein the real trackside device further comprises a wireless communication system which is in wireless signal connection between the central train control system and the on-board train control system and is used for wirelessly sending the message to the on-board train control system. See at least [0138], wherein the trackside device further comprises wayside signal equipment, which provides two-way wireless communications between the CBTC system and the onboard computers of the physical trains.
Regarding claim 7, Ghaly and Zhang in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally teaches wherein the interface unit comprises a hardware interface unit; the hardware interface unit comprises a first interface unit and a second interface unit which are respectively in signal connection with track relays associated with the interlocking system. See at least [0104], [0107] and figure 3, wherein the interface includes an IXL interface unit, which is connected to trackside interlocking devices including relays. See at least [0134] and figure 8, wherein, in an embodiment, a second interface unit is in connection with cab-signaling control systems.
the trackside simulation system changes, via the first interface unit and the second interface unit, a status of a trackside relay in the real system corresponding to one or more virtual track sections occupied by the simulation train. See at least [0043] and [0107] - [0108], wherein a status of specific trackside interlocking equipment (relay) is exchanged between the physical installation and the virtual system based on movement of the virtual train.
and the interlocking system and the station train control system set one or more corresponding track sections to be occupied or cleared in the real system based on a collected status of a corresponding track relay, thereby achieving operation of the simulation train in the real system. See at least [0052], [0054], [0104], [0107] - [0109], [0114], and [0160], wherein the status of an interlocking element is based on its occupancy status (occupied or clear) of a corresponding virtual interlocking element.
Ghaly remains silent on the station train control system.
Zhang teaches the station train control system. at least [0023] - [0024], [0054], and figure 3, wherein the ground system includes CTC station control units and a station train control center.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ghaly with Zhang’s station control station. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables train control systems that are adaptable to foreign requirements, allowing CTCS trains to be implemented in foreign countries, as recognized by Zhang (see at least [0005] - [0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Ghaly and Zhang in combination teach all the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally teaches wherein the interface unit further comprises a software interface unit; the software interface unit comprises a third interface unit and a fourth interface unit which are respectively in signal connection with interfaces. See at least [0099] and figure 1, wherein the system further includes a software interface unit with third and fourth interface units 24 and 26. See at least [0146] and figure 19, wherein the interface unit includes a plurality of interface modules 209, that include monitoring functions related to maintenance activities.
and the trackside simulation system acquires the train operation information of the one or more real trains via one or more of the third interface unit and the fourth interface unit. See at least [0099] and [0104], wherein the virtual system 40 acquires train operation information from the application platform (software interface units).
Ghaly remains silent on interfaces in the interlocking system and the station train control system that are reserved for a maintenance system.
Zhang teaches interfaces in the interlocking system and the station train control system that are reserved for a maintenance system. See at least [0023] - [0025] and [0044], wherein the train control system comprises different interfaces, and the station train control system and interlocking system are used to manage comprehensive maintenance operations.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ghaly with Zhang’s station control station and interlocking system maintenance operations and interfaces. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables train control systems that are adaptable to foreign requirements, allowing CTCS trains to be implemented in foreign countries, as recognized by Zhang (see at least [0005] - [0009]).
Regarding claim 9, Ghaly and Zhang in combination teach all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally teaches wherein the software interface unit further comprises a fifth interface unit and a sixth interface unit; and the trackside simulation system acquires the train operation information of the one or more real trains via one or more of the fifth interface unit and the sixth interface unit. See at least [0145] and figure 18, wherein the system further comprises a v-signal interface, and the train operation information comprising track occupancy status information is acquired via the interface. See at least [0146] and figure 19, wherein the interface unit includes a plurality of interface modules 209.
Ghaly remains silent on the fifth interface unit is in signal connection with an interface of the station CTC that is reserved for the maintenance system; and the sixth interface unit is in signal connection with the central CTC.
Zhang teaches fifth interface unit is in signal connection with an interface of the station CTC that is reserved for the maintenance system; and the sixth interface unit is in signal connection with the central CTC. See at least [0023] - [0025], [0044], and [0049], wherein the train control system comprises different interfaces, and the system includes a station CTC and central CTC systems that communicate through signals.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ghaly with Zhang’s station CTC maintenance system and central CTC system and interfaces. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables train control systems that are adaptable to foreign requirements, allowing CTCS trains to be implemented in foreign countries, as recognized by Zhang (see at least [0005] - [0009]).
Regarding claim 11, Ghaly and Zhang in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally teaches comprising the steps of: S1, acquiring, by a trackside simulation system, train operation information of one or more real trains via a software interface unit of an interface unit, and setting, based on the train operation information of the one or more real trains, one or more simulation track sections corresponding to one or more locations where the one or more real trains is located as occupied. See at least [0120] - [0122] and figure 11, step 109, wherein physical train operation information is received, based on train detection blocks communicating with interlocking interface 124. See at least [0124] - [0128], wherein the train operation information includes status information on whether a track block is vacant or not.
S2, verifying, by the trackside simulation system, whether an addition location of a simulation train is legal, and if so, setting a status of one or more simulation track sections corresponding to the addition location of the simulation train as occupied in the trackside simulation system; and setting one or more real track sections corresponding to the one or more simulation track sections as occupied in a real system. See at least [0121] - [0122] and figure 11, wherein additional train locations are obtained from the train’s movement authority limits, and the additional train locations are checked for validity by verifying that the track sections associated with the locations are vacant. If the additional locations are validated, the movement authority limits are generated and transmitted. See at least [0142] - [0143], wherein, based on the communicated movement authority limits, the track sections associated with the movement authority limits are set as clear or not clear (occupied) in the virtual and physical systems.
S3, handling a route for the simulation train in the real system, clearing a corresponding signal, and synchronizing a route status and a cleared signal status to the simulation system. See at least [0143], wherein a movement authority limit (route) for the virtual train is handled by clearing corresponding signals associated with the route, and communicating a route status and clear signal status to the virtual train system and the physical train system.
S4, starting the simulation train in the simulation system, outputting, by the trackside simulation system via the hardware interface unit based on an occupied or cleared status of the simulation track section of the simulation train, an occupied or cleared signal of a corresponding real track section to the real system, and updating an occupied or cleared status of the corresponding real track section in the real system. See at least [0141] - [0142] and [0155], wherein, as the virtual train moves in the virtual system, a clear/not clear status is output and updated based on the virtual track statuses to the physical train system.
S5, when the one or more real trains has a departure condition, handling a departure route for the one or more real trains in the real system and clearing a corresponding signal, starting the one or more real trains for tracking operation with the one or more simulation trains, and during the tracking operation of the one or more real trains and the one or more simulation trains, synchronizing in real time the train operation information of the one or more real trains and the one or more simulation trains in a real signal system and a trackside signal system. See at least [0154], wherein, when a physical train begins to travel in the physical system, the physical train is initialized for tracking with a corresponding virtual train. The movement authority limit for the physical train is handled and corresponding signals are overridden to be in a clear state. As the physical vehicle is tracked, the train operation information is communicated between the physical signal system and the virtual signal system.
and S6, when the tracking operation ends, deleting the one or more simulation trains in the simulation system, and updating the status of the real track section occupied by the one or more simulation train as cleared in the real system. See at least [0160], wherein, if a physical train ends communication with the train system (via being taken out of service or leaving the railroad area), the corresponding virtual trains and their associated occupancy information are released.
Ghaly remains silent on displaying the information discussed above via a hardware interface unit of the interface unit.
Zhang teaches displaying the information discussed above via a hardware interface unit of the interface unit. See at least [0054] - [0055], wherein the implemented control functions are used to implement display functions of the interlocking system via a hardware terminal.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ghaly with information display via a hardware interface unit. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables train control systems that are adaptable to foreign requirements, allowing CTCS trains to be implemented in foreign countries, as recognized by Zhang (see at least [0005] - [0009]).
Regarding claim 12, Ghaly and Zhang in combination teach all the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally teaches wherein in step S2, when the addition location of the one or more simulation trains does not conflict with the location of the one or more real trains, the addition location of the one or more simulation trains is legal. See at least [0122] and [0124], wherein an additional location of a virtual train is determined to be valid if the location does not conflict with any other train.
and in step S5, when the one or more real trains does not conflict with the one or more simulation trains in location, the one or more real trains has the departure condition. See at least [0154], wherein, when the associated stops of the detected physical train do not conflict with any other trains, the detected physical train is granted the movement authority limit and initialized.
Regarding claim 13, Ghaly and Zhang in combination teach all the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally teaches wherein the displaying one or more real track sections corresponding to the one or more simulation track sections as occupied in a real system via a hardware interface unit in step S2 comprises the steps of: S21, sending, by the trackside simulation system via the hardware interface unit, a track section occupied signal of the simulation train to a corresponding trackside relay in an interlocking system, and enabling a corresponding trackside relay in the real system to operate. See at least [0134] and [0155] - [0157], wherein the VSAP sends track status information associated with virtual trains to the MCP, which enables physical signal locations to operate. See at least [0043], wherein physical signal locations of the interlocking subsystem include relays.
and S22, setting, by the interlocking system based on a recovery signal of the corresponding trackside relay, a status of the real track section corresponding to the addition location of the simulation train as occupied in the real system. See at least [0150] - [0153], wherein, based on a signal from a corresponding train detection block, the status of an associated wayside device is set as clear or not clear.
Ghaly remains silent on a station train control system.
Zhang teaches a station train control system. at least [0023] - [0024], [0054], and figure 3, wherein the ground system includes CTC station control units and a station train control center.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Ghaly with Zhang’s station control station. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables train control systems that are adaptable to foreign requirements, allowing CTCS trains to be implemented in foreign countries, as recognized by Zhang (see at least [0005] - [0009]).
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaly and Zhang as applied to claims above, and further in view of CN 102387953 A, published March 21st, 2012, hereinafter “Chen”.
Regarding claim 6, Ghaly and Zhang in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally teaches the movement authority of the one or more real trains is from track circuit code sending and/or signal indication in the real system, and the track circuit code sending and/or the signal indication is synchronized to the trackside simulation system for performing movement authority on the one or more simulation trains. See at least [0047], [0117], [0150], and figure 20, wherein, in an embodiment, the movement authority limits of the physical trains is from signal information in the physical system, and the signal indication is in communication with the virtual train system for performing movement authority on the virtual trains. The signal indication is from track circuit code sending for train detection.
the movement authority of both the one or more simulation trains and the one or more real trains is from the central train control system in the real system. See at least [0164] - [0165], wherein, in a different embodiment, the movement authority is provided by the train control system in the physical system.
Ghaly remains silent on wherein in a CTCS level 2 or lower real signal system, and in a CTCS level 3 or higher level real signal system.
Chen teaches wherein in a CTCS level 2 or lower real signal system, and in a CTCS level 3 or higher level real signal system. See at least [0004] and [0034], wherein, based on the train system being either CTCS-2 or CTCS-3, different communication systems are used to transmit train operation information.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ghaly with Chen’s technique of train systems being either CTCS-2 or CTCS-3. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved operating efficiency and safety of automated train control systems, as recognized by Chen (see at least [0005] - [0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Ghaly, Zhang, and Chen in combination teach all the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above, and Ghaly additionally the central train control system further comprises a seventh interface in communication connection with the simulation on-board train control system. See at least [0104] and figure 3, virtual train onboard computers 55. See at least [0120] and figure 13, wherein train interface module 106 provides communication between the central train control system (MCP 104) to each of the virtual train onboard computers.
and the simulation on-board train control system sends the train operation information and stopping accuracy and standstill information of the simulation train to the central train control system via the seventh interface. See at least [0157], wherein train operation information, including stopping profile information and whether the train exceeds the stopping profile, is sent from the physical train to the corresponding virtual train, and the virtual train relays the information to the zone computer of the central train control system.
and the central train control system sends the movement authority to the simulation on-board train control system via the seventh interface. See at least [0120] - [0121] and figure 11, wherein the movement authority is sent to the virtual train from the central train control system (MCP 104) via the train control interface 106.
Ghaly remains silent on wherein in the CTCS level 3 or higher level real signal system.
Chen teaches wherein in a CTCS level 3 or higher level real signal system. See at least [0004] and [0034], wherein, based on the train system being either CTCS-2 or CTCS-3, different communication systems are used to transmit train operation information.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Ghaly with Chen’s technique of train systems being CTCS-3. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved operating efficiency and safety of automated train control systems, as recognized by Chen (see at least [0005] - [0008]).
Conclusion
/S.M.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667