DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application 19/139/021 filed 6/13/2025 that claims priority to GB2219235.5 filed 12/20/2022.
Claims 3, 5-13, 16-18, and 20 have been amended. Claim 21 is cancelled. No claim is new. Thus claims 1-20 have been examined.
The IDS sent 6/13/2025 and 5/4/2026 have been considered.
Acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on 12/20/2022. Examiner notes the priority documents to GB2219235.5 have been received by the USPTO.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites the limitation ‘the translation table entry load/store triggering instruction specifies the selected address as an operand of the translation table entry load/store triggering instruction, the translation table entry load/store triggering instruction having a different instruction opcode to a load/store instruction for triggering a load/store operation to be performed for an address specified as an operand of the load/store instruction’. The claim does not differentiate between “the translation table entry load/store triggering instruction specifies the selected address as an operand of the translation table entry load/store triggering instruction” and “a load/store instruction for triggering a load/store operation to be performed for an address specified as an operand of the load/store instruction”. Thus they appear to be the same instruction and it appears the single opcode for the same command is a different opcode. It is not clear how that is possible, thus the claim is indefinite.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, the prior does not teach or suggest a “translation table entry load/store triggering instruction comprises a store instruction specifying, as a store address operand, a predetermined translation table entry load/store trigger address for which a store to that address triggers the translation table entry load/store circuitry to perform the translation table entry load/store operation“
Consistent with page 3 lines 1-15 of the instant application, this claim requires a store instruction (received by load/store circuitry) to contain a field with a predetermined translation table entry load/store address that triggers a translation table entry load/store operation.
The closest prior art is WO 2007013584 by Inventor Yoshihiro Suzuki that teaches a predetermined address translation method that is triggered to perform an address translation. However Suzuki does not teach that the trigger is a predetermined translation table entry load/store trigger address.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is objected to but would be allowable based on its dependence from claim 13 that is objected to but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not teach or suggest “in which, in a case when the translation table entry load/store circuitry is triggered to perform the translation table entry load/store operation for the plurality of selected addresses in response to the store instruction processed by the processing circuitry in a more privileged execution state and the processing circuitry subsequently switches to a less privileged execution state: the translation table entry load/store circuitry is capable of continuing processing of remaining addresses of the plurality of selected addresses after the switch to the less privileged execution state”.
This limitation requires that in response to a store instruction the circuitry executes translations in a more privileged state and then processes remaining addresses in a less privileged state.
The closest prior art is Chong (Chong et al., US 12,619,556 B2 filed as 17/936,783 on 9/29/2026). Chong teaches address translation circuitry that manages addresses for different privilege levels. However Chong teaches that the applications requesting the address are associated with different privilege levels and does not discloses that the translation steps are performed at different privilege levels.
Kaniyur (Kaniyur et al., US 2007/00621549 A1) teaches address translation entries being in a plurality of priority states. However this relates to the entries being in a given state and Kaniyur does not disclose the translation processing is associated with a privilege state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans (EVANS US 2020/0242047 A1 submitted by Arm Limited, Published Jul. 30, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Evans teaches An apparatus comprising: processing circuitry to process instructions; (Evans [0012] discloses the inventive concepts are directed to a computer program comprising instructions when executed causes a data processing apparatus to perform the inventive concepts of the application.) address translation circuitry to translate between an input address space and an output address space based on address mapping information obtained from a translation table structure comprising translation table entries; (Evans [0028] discloses the techniques perform address translation from a given address to an another address using a page table entry (i.e. address mapping information) from a page table structure (i.e. translation table entries.)
and translation table entry load/store circuitry to perform, in response to a translation table entry load/store triggering instruction processed by the processing circuitry, (Evans Fig. 1 and [0049]-[0050] discloses a load/store unit 106 to access TLB 118 to handle translations between the virtual addresses referred to by programs to physical addresses representing the physical locations in memory 110. )
a translation table entry load/store operation for at least one target translation table entry address selected depending on software-defined address information identifying a selected address in the input address space, (Evans Fig. 1 and [0049]-[0051] discloses a single virtual address may be processed by the load/store operation based on the input virtual address)
each target translation table entry address comprising an address of a leaf translation table entry providing the address mapping information for translating the selected address from the input address space to the output address space (Consistent with Fig. 6 and page 26 through page 6 line 30 a leaf translation table entry may be the final entry storing the physical address of the address to be translated. Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses the OUT field may pint to the physical address data/location of the address to be translated.) or an address of a branch translation table entry traversed in a translation table walk operation (Examiner notes that consistent with MPEP 2131 Anticipation “When a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art.” Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001) This limitation is disclosed when one of the “or” alternatives is disclosed. However, the examiner has found both alternative limitations. Consistent with Fig. 6 and page 26 line 30 through page 25 line 15 a branch translation table entry may be an translation entry that points to the next-level table address. Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses that the out field may be a pointer to Base Of Page Table Of Next Level, thus may be a branch translation table entry, which per Evans [0028] may be a part of a page table walk operation.) for obtaining the leaf translation table entry providing the address mapping information for translating the selected address; (Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses the page table entry described in Fig. 4 is used for obtaining the final address stored in the leaf translation table entry that is the physical address (i.e. the address mapping information for the selected virtual address.)
wherein for at least one variant of the translation table entry load/store operation, the translation table entry load/store operation supports, for a given target translation table entry of said at least one target translation table entry, clearing access tracking metadata of the given target translation table entry from a first state to a second state, the first state indicating that at least one load/store access has occurred to a corresponding region of input address space and the second state indicating that no load/store accesses have occurred to the corresponding region of input address space. (Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses an Accessed Indicator field “A” that shows if the page table entry has been accessed, thus would have a first state indicating that the entry has been accessed using a load/store 106 element of Fig. 1 or has not been accessed and would be set to a separate state when no access has been recognized.)
Regarding claim 2, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further teaches in which in response to the translation table entry load/store triggering instruction, the translation table entry load/store circuitry is configured to control the address translation circuitry to identify the at least one target translation table entry address based on the selected address. (Evans Fig. 1 and [0049] discloses the processing logic 102 controls the LD/ST 106 component to access the MMU 116 to translate the first address (the selected address) into a physical address.)
Regarding claim 3, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further teaches in which, for at least one variant of the translation table entry load/store operation, the at least one translation table entry comprises the leaf translation table entry. (Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses the page table entry described in Fig. 4 is used for obtaining the final address stored in the leaf translation table entry that is the physical address (i.e. the address mapping information for the selected virtual address.)
Regarding claim 4, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 3 above. Evans further teaches in which for at least one variant of the translation table entry load/store operation, the translation table entry load/store operation supports updating the leaf translation table entry to change at least one of: the address mapping information for translating the selected address; access permission information indicative of which types of memory access operation are allowed; memory attribute information for controlling handling of memory accesses to the selected address. (Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses a Read/Write Permission Indicators that indicate which types of memory access operations are allowed.).
Regarding claim 5, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further teaches in which, for at least one variant of the translation table entry load/store operation, the at least one translation table entry comprises a translation table entry at a specified level of the translation table structure regardless of whether that translation table entry is the leaf translation table entry or the branch translation table entry. (Evans [0028] discloses that a page table structure is inspected starting at a first level (at a specified level) and goes on to a next level until reaching a last level of the hierarchy. Thus the first level is access regardless of whether that first level entry is a leaf entry or a final/branch entry.)
Regarding claim 6, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further teaches in which for at least one variant of the translation table entry load/store operation, the at least one translation table entry comprises the leaf translation table entry and each branch translation table entry traversed in the translation table walk operation for obtaining the leaf translation table entry. (Evans Fig. 4 and [0028] and [0054]-[0055] discloses the address translation process begins at a first entry and the page table entry is sequentially accessed to obtain a pointer to a subsequent page table at the next level of the hierarchy (each branch translation table entry) and this is repeated until a last level of the hierarchy is reached (the leaf translation table entry) is reached which is an example of a translation table walk operation for obtaining the last/leaf translation table entry that contains the physical address data.)
Regarding claim 7, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further teaches in which for at least one variant of the translation table entry load/store operation, the at least one translation table entry comprises: in a case when the leaf translation table entry has been validly defined for the selected address, the leaf translation table entry; (Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses the address translation process begins at a first entry and the page table entry is sequentially accessed to obtain a pointer to a subsequent page table at the next level of the hierarchy (each branch translation table entry) and this is repeated until a last level of the hierarchy is reached (the leaf translation table entry) is reached)
and in a case where no valid leaf translation table entry has been defined for the selected address, a final valid branch translation table entry reached in a traversal of the translation table structure for the selected address. (Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses the address translation process begins at a first entry and the page table entry is sequentially accessed to obtain a pointer to a subsequent page table at the next level of the hierarchy (each branch translation table entry) and this is repeated until a last level of the hierarchy is reached (the leaf translation table entry) is reached. Thus if no last level of the hierarchy is reached (i.e. no valid leaf translation entry has been defined, the system will end at the last valid branch table entry.)
Regarding claim 8, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further teaches in which the at least one variant of the translation table entry load/store operation supporting clearing of the access tracking metadata comprises at least one of: a store variant of the translation table entry load/store operation to update the given target translation table entry to an updated value specified by a store data operand; (Evans Fig. 1 and [0049]-[0050] discloses LD/ST 106 element will make calls to the MMU 116 that manages the virtual addresses by storing the mapping between virtual addresses and their physical addresses in a translation lookaside buffer, thus update the given target translation table entry to appropriate values (an updated value ) for the virtual address which is received by the MMU 116 from the load/store (LD/ST) element 106, thus from a value specified by a store data operand.)
a swap variant of the translation table entry load/store operation to update the given target translation table entry to an updated value specified by a swap data operand and load a software- accessible location with either a pre-update value of the given target translation table entry or a post-update value of the given target translation table entry; an atomic compare-and-swap variant of the translation table entry load/store operation to determine whether a result of a comparison between the given translation table entry and a comparison operand satisfies a comparison condition, and in response to determining that the result of the comparison satisfies the comparison condition, update the given target translation table entry based on a swap operand of the compare- and-swap variant; and an atomic bit update variant of the translation table entry load/store operation to set or clear at least one specified bit of the given translation table entry, the at least one specified bit identified by a bit selection operand. (Examiner notes that consistent with MPEP 2131 Anticipation “When a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art.” Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001) This limitation is disclosed when one of the “or” alternatives is disclosed. Examiner has provided art for the first “or” option as detailed above..)
Regarding claim 9, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further teaches in which the translation table entry load/store circuitry is configured to support a load variant of the translation table entry load/store operation to load the at least one target translation table entry (consistent with the Abstract of the instant application, a variant of the load/store operation may be an operation that supports clearing access tracking metadata that indicates updating metadata to indicate that no load/store accesses have occurred to the corresponding region. Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses an Accessed Indicator field “A” that shows if the page table entry has been accessed, thus would have a first state indicating that the entry has been accessed using a load/store 106 element of Fig. 1 has been accessed and would be set to a separate state when no access has been recognized. )
to at least one software- accessible register. (Evans Fig. 1 and [0049]-[0050] and [0060] that discloses the processing Logic 102 receives information such as the MMU output from LD/ST 106 requests through General Purpose Registers 104 where they may be stored in the data cache 108 using a load/store operation by LD/ST106.)
Regarding claim 9, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further teaches in which the translation table entry load/store circuitry is configured to support a load variant of the translation table entry load/store operation to load the at least one target translation table entry (consistent with the Abstract of the instant application, a variant of the load/store operation may be an operation that supports clearing access tracking metadata that indicates updating metadata to indicate that no load/store accesses have occurred to the corresponding region. Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses an Accessed Indicator field “A” that shows if the page table entry has been accessed, thus would have a first state indicating that the entry has been accessed using a load/store 106 element of Fig. 1 has been accessed and would be set to a separate state when no access has been recognized. )
to at least one software- accessible register. (Evans Fig. 1 and [0049]-[0050] and [0060] that discloses the processing Logic 102 receives information such as the MMU output from LD/ST 106 requests through General Purpose Registers 104 where they may be stored in the data cache 108 using a load/store operation by LD/ST106.. )
Regarding claim 11, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further teaches in which in response to the translation table entry load/store triggering instruction, the translation table entry load/store circuitry is configured to update at least one software-accessible register with syndrome information, the syndrome information specifying at least one of: a level of the translation table structure at which a valid leaf translation table entry is defined for the selected address; and information specified by the at least one target translation table entry. (Evans Fig. 1 and [0049]-[0050] discloses LD/ST 106 element will make calls to the MMU 116 that manages the virtual addresses by storing the mapping between virtual addresses and their physical addresses in a translation lookaside buffer, thus update the given target translation table entry to appropriate values (an updated value ) for the virtual address which is received by the MMU 116 from the load/store (LD/ST) element 106, updates the software-accessible register 104 with information specified by the at least one target translation table entry.)
Regarding claim 17, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further teaches in which for at least one variant of the translation table entry load/store operation the software-defined address information specifies a range of addresses, (Evans [0050] discloses that the translation may be for a page. Given a page is a range of addresses, the translation covers a range of addresses. ) and the translation table entry load/store circuitry is configured to perform the translation table entry load/store operation for each address in the range as the selected address. (Evans Fig. 3 and [0050] and [0053] discloses that the last field of the virtual address, the offset, is used to identify which address within a page is to be accessed. Thus indexes 0 to 3 identify the specific physical page that covers each address for the range of address for the page of the selected address. )
Regarding claim 18, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further teaches in which: the address translation circuitry is configured to support two-stage address translation between a virtual address space and a physical address space based on a first translation table structure providing address mapping information for translating between the virtual address space and an intermediate address space (Evans Fig. 3 and [0053] that discloses an Index 0 that provides a pointer to the Level 0 Page Tabel that is a first-stage address in a multi stage address translation process.) and a second translation table structure providing address mapping information for translating between the intermediate address space and the physical address space; (Evans Fig. 3 and [0053] that discloses an Index 1 that points to a Level 1 Page Table that is a second-stage address in a multi-stage address translation process for translating a virtual address to a physical address.)
and the translation table entry load/store circuitry is configured to support at least one of: a first-stage variant of the translation table entry load/store operation for which the selected address comprises a virtual address specified in the virtual address space, and the at least one target translation table entry comprises at least one translation table entry of the first translation table structure; (Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses the page table entry described in Fig. 4 is used for obtaining the final address stored in the leaf translation table entry that is the physical address thus is a first stage variant of the translation table entry load/store operation for a virtual address that is a virtual address.)
and a second-stage variant of the translation table entry load/store operation for which the selected address comprises an intermediate address specified in the intermediate address space, and the at least one target translation table entry comprises at least one translation table entry of the second translation table structure. (Examiner notes that consistent with MPEP 2131 Anticipation “When a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art.” Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001) This limitation is disclosed when one of the “or” alternatives is disclosed. Examiner has provided prior art for both options (a first stage variant or a second stage variant. Evans Fig. 4 and [0054]-[0055] discloses that the out field may be a pointer to Base Of Page Table Of Next Level, thus may be a branch translation table entry which may be an intermediate address space.)
Regarding claim 19, Evans discloses A method comprising: (Evans [Abstract] discloses the concepts are directed to a method of accessing a page table.) processing instructions using processing circuitry; (Evans Fig. 1 and [0049]-[0051] that discloses Processing Logic 102 that processes instructions.)
and translating, using address translation circuitry, (Evans [0012] discloses the inventive concepts are directed to a computer program comprising instructions when executed causes a data processing apparatus to perform the inventive concepts of the application.) between an input address space and an output address space based on address mapping information obtained from a translation table structure comprising translation table entries; Evans [0028] discloses the techniques perform address translation from a given address to an another address using a page table entry (i.e. address mapping information) from a page table structure (i.e. translation table entries.)
and in response to the processing circuitry processing a translation table entry load/store triggering instruction, performing a translation table entry load/store operation for at least one target translation table entry address Evans Fig. 1 and [0049]-[0050] discloses a load/store unit 106 to access TLB 118 to handle translations between the virtual addresses referred to by programs to physical addresses representing the physical locations in memory 110. )
The remainder of claim 19 recites limitations described in claim 1 above and thus is rejected based on the teaching and rationale of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20, A non-transitory storage medium storing a computer comprising instructions for controlling a host data processing apparatus to provide an instruction execution environment for executing target code, the computer program comprising: (Evan Fig. 1 and [0046]-[0051] discloses a non-transitory storage medium containing instrustuions for a computer program which causes the data processing apparatus to perform the methods of the disclosure.).
The remainder of claim 19 recites limitations described in claim 1 above and thus is rejected based on the teaching and rationale of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (EVANS US 2020/0242047 A1 submitted by Arm Limited, Published Jul. 30, 2020).
Although the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, the invention is not patentable. See MPEP 2141.03 Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art [R-01.2024] ‘Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.’
Regarding claim 10, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Evans further suggests in which in response to the translation table entry load/store triggering instruction, the translation table entry load/store circuitry is configured to perform an error reporting action in response to identifying that an error condition has occurred, the error condition comprising one of: no valid leaf translation table entry being defined for the selected address; (Evans Fig. 4 and [0028], [0054]-[0055] discloses that a page table structure is inspected starting at a first level and goes on to a next level until reaching a last level of the hierarchy. Evan further notes that when searching for the last level (the leaf) the OUT field of Fig. 4 should be a non-zero value that points to an element of a page table of the next level. While Evans does not explicitly discuss handling an error case. Evans Fig. 4 and [0028],[0054]-[0055] This suggests to a POSITA that the MMU would verify that this value is non-zero when walking the table and return an error in the case of walking the page table and discovering at an intermediate leaf that this value is zero. A POSITA would recognize that this would be done in order to avoid crashing the MMU code given the OUT field is used as an address and referring to a zero address would cause the system to crash and the MMU would no longer be able to perform its function. ) and a valid leaf translation table entry for the selected address being defined at a level of the translation table structure other than an expected level. (Examiner notes that consistent with MPEP 2131 Anticipation “When a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art.” Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001) This limitation is disclosed when one of the “or” alternatives is disclosed. Examiner has provided prior art for the first option (no valid leaf translation table entry being defined for the selected address).)
Thus it would have been obvious before the effectively filed date of the claimed invention to detect an error in the OUT field of figure 4 of Evans and report the error instead of crashing the MMU software as suggested by the table walk processes of Evans. One would be motivated to do so to avoid crashing the MMU software given it would prevent the MMU from performing its required tasks for at least the period of time the MMU could process an exception and restart the MMU which would be very disruptive to the response time of the memory system.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (EVANS US 2020/0242047 A1 submitted by Arm Limited, Published Jul. 30, 2020) as detailed in claim 14 above and further in view of Carmona et al., (US 2009/0271590 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Evans teaches the limitations of claim 14 above. However, Evans does not explicitly disclose in which the translation table entry load/store circuitry is configured to update a software-accessible location to specify a progress indicator indicating progress made in performing the translation table entry load/store operation for the plurality of selected addresses.
Carmona, of a similar field of endeavor, further teaches in which the translation table entry load/store circuitry is configured to update a software-accessible location to specify a progress indicator indicating progress made in performing the translation table entry load/store operation for the plurality of selected addresses. (Carmona [0050] teaches a translation agent may determine whether a translation is in progress for an untranslated address and if an address translation is in progresses for an untranslated address it does not initiate another translation request for the address since that would duplicate the first address translation request for the address.)
Evans and Carmona are in a similar field of endeavor as both relate to managing address translation. Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed date of the claimed invention to incorporate a progress indicator that indicates that an address translation request has already started for a given address to avoid starting a second address translation request as taught by Carmona into the solution of Evans that initiates translation requests. One would be motivated to do so to save translation resources and to save time for the second request as the ongoing translation request would be expected to complete before a new/second request would complete.
Conclusion
/JANICE M. GIROUARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138