DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, 15, 18, 20, 27, 28, 30, 34, 36-39, 43, 46, , 50-52, 61 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geoffroy (United States Patent Application US 2022/0052595A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Geoffroy teaches A method of identifying a mover,(Paragraph 0001: "The present invention relates to a linear motor system, in particular a transport system, e.g. a multicarrier, having a plurality of or for a plurality of carriers and having a guide track for the carriers.") the method comprising: receiving at least one input signal representing at least one measurement of a magnetic field from at least one reference location relative to the mover; and identifying the mover in response to at least the at least one measurement of the magnetic field.(Paragraph 0014: "The position information and the identification information are therefore determined on the basis of different directional components of a magnetic field generated at the carrier. The identification information can therefore in particular be determined on the basis of a spatial direction of the magnetic field on whose basis no position information is determined. The position information and the identification information can be determined substantially independently of one another and mutual interference is particularly low. This enables a particularly varied encoding of the identification information in the magnetic field. Due to the many possible encoding variants, a completely individual identifier, in particular an individual ID, can be assigned, in particular for a large number of carriers.").
Regarding Claim 2, Geoffroy teaches the method of claim 1, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein identifying the mover in response to at least the at least one measurement of the magnetic field comprises determining, for each reference location of one or more of the at least one reference location, a characterization of the magnetic field of the reference location.(Paragraph 0087: "In summary, the invention therefore enables the use of 3D magnetic sensors, which are typically present at a linear motor system, for identifying the individual carriers. The carriers in particular have a number of identification magnets whose polarities encode a unique identification number of the respective carrier. In this respect, magnetic field components in different spatial directions can be used for the position determination, on the one hand, and for the identification determination, on the other hand, so that at least substantially no interference results between the position determination and the identification determination.")
Regarding Claim 4, Geoffroy teaches the method of claim 2, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein determining the characterization of the magnetic field comprises identifying the magnetic field as having one of at least two different available characterizations for the magnetic field of the one or more of the at least one reference location, the at least two different available characterizations for the magnetic field from a reference location comprising:(Paragraph 0039: "An advantageous embodiment example provides that a plurality of second magnets are arranged at the carrier and are each arranged in a specific orientation at the carrier, wherein the specific orientations are associated with specific identification information. Due to an individual composition of orientations, an identifier, in particular an identification number or ID, of a respective carrier can therefore be provided in a simple manner, for example.")a magnetic field resulting from a magnet at the reference location and polarized in a first direction relative to the mover; and a magnetic field resulting from a magnet at the reference location and polarized in a second direction relative to the mover and different from the first direction.(Paragraph 0042: "At the magnetic sensor, the different orientations of the magnets can, for example, be reflected in measurement values having correspondingly different signs. The opposite orientations are preferably orientations in the positive and negative y directions. As a result, an identification number, in particular a unique identification number, of the carrier can therefore, for example, be encoded in the y polarization of the magnets, that is in the orientation of the magnets with respect to the y direction.")
Regarding Claim 6, Geoffroy teaches the method of claim 2, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein determining the characterization of the magnetic field comprises identifying the magnetic field as having one of at least three different available characterizations for the magnetic field of the one or more of the at least one reference location, the at least three different available characterizations for the magnetic field from a reference location comprising: a magnetic field resulting from a magnet at the reference location and polarized in a first direction relative to the mover; a magnetic field resulting from a magnet at the reference location and polarized in a second direction relative to the mover and different from the first direction; (Paragraph 0042: "At the magnetic sensor, the different orientations of the magnets can, for example, be reflected in measurement values having correspondingly different signs. The opposite orientations are preferably orientations in the positive and negative y directions. As a result, an identification number, in particular a unique identification number, of the carrier can therefore, for example, be encoded in the y polarization of the magnets, that is in the orientation of the magnets with respect to the y direction.")and an absence of a magnet at the reference location.(Paragraph 0044: "An embodiment will be described in the following that also enables the identification of at least one of the carriers at a standstill. Accordingly, a first carrier can have a plurality of second magnets. The second magnets of the first carrier and/or a grouping of second magnets of the first carrier are predominantly arranged in a first orientation. Furthermore, a second carrier can have a plurality of second magnets, wherein the second magnets at the second carrier or a grouping of second magnets at the second carrier are not predominantly arranged in the first orientation, but are in particular predominantly arranged in another orientation that is in particular opposite the first orientation. This results in a magnetic sensor, in whose proximity the second magnets of the first carrier are arranged, measuring a relatively high flux density or field strength in accordance with the predominant orientation of the second magnets since the magnetic fields complement one another. The first carrier can hereby also be distinguished from a second carrier at a standstill. At a magnetic sensor, in whose proximity the second magnets of the second carrier are arranged, a similarly high flux density or field strength results in the case of a predominantly opposite orientation, but with the opposite sign. If the second magnets are further, for example, alternately oriented at a carrier, a reinforcing superposition of the magnetic fields of the individual second magnets does not take place, but the magnetic fields largely cancel one another out. This can likewise be measured at a standstill.")
Regarding Claim 9, Geoffroy teaches the method of claim 2, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein determining the characterization of the magnetic field comprises identifying the magnetic field as having one of at least two different available characterizations for the magnetic field of the one or more of the at least one reference location, the different available characterizations for the magnetic field of the one or more of the at least one reference location comprising: different magnetic field strengths of magnets at the one or more of the at least one reference location.(Paragraph 0020: "A magnetic sensor typically determines the strength of the magnetic field. Specifically, the field strength, the flux density, and/or a quantity related to one of these quantities is/are typically determined. In addition, the sensor typically determines the information whether the magnetic field is positively or negatively oriented with respect to the spatial direction or the measurement direction. This is specifically e.g. expressed by a corresponding sign of the strength of the magnetic field or of the sensor signal. In general, the strength by magnitude and the sign can be used both individually and jointly for the identification.")
Regarding Claim 15, Geoffroy teaches the method of claim 1, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches further comprising identifying at least an orientation of the mover in response to at least the at least one measurement of the magnetic field.(Paragraph 0054: "The object of the invention is also satisfied by a method in accordance with the independent claim directed thereto, namely a method of operating a linear motor system, in particular a transport system, e.g. a multicarrier, in particular a linear motor system of the kind described above, wherein the linear motor system comprises a plurality of carriers and a guide track for the carriers, wherein the method comprises: determining a magnetic field with respect to a first spatial direction by means of a first magnetic sensor arranged at the guide track; determining a magnetic field with respect to a second spatial direction by means of a second magnetic sensor arranged at the guide track; determining position information relating to a carrier on the basis of the magnetic field with respect to the first spatial direction; and determining identification information relating to a carrier on the basis of the magnetic field with respect to the second spatial direction.")
Regarding Claim 18, Geoffroy teaches the method of claim 1, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches further comprising causing at least one sensor to measure the at least one measurement of the magnetic field while the mover is levitating. (Paragraph 0011: "Said linear motor system comprises, at the guide track, a first magnetic sensor for determining a magnetic field with respect to a first spatial direction and for outputting a first sensor signal, and a second magnetic sensor for determining a magnetic field with respect to a second spatial direction and for outputting a second sensor signal. Such magnetic sensors are frequently anyway present at known linear motor systems, namely as part of a position detection system for determining a position of a carrier with respect to the guide track. Thus, components for identifying the carrier, which are typically anyway used in the linear motor system, can in particular be used within the framework of the invention. A position detection system frequently even comprises a number of 3D magnetic field sensors, wherein at least two dimensions of these sensors can advantageously be used to implement the invention.")
Regarding Claim 20, Geoffroy teaches the method of claim 1, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein identifying the mover comprises identifying the mover in response to at least an identification of the mover associated in at least one database with the magnetic field from the at least one reference location.(Paragraph 0088: "Specific cost advantages result by using the anyway present position sensors for the identification. The identification of at least one carrier is possible even without movement. Since unique IDs can be assigned to the carriers, a predictive maintenance can in particular be implemented in that the use of the carrier, for example its total movement path covered so far, can be recorded. Finally, the unique identification of the carriers is in particular also reliably provided in the case of a temporary shutdown of the system.")
Regarding Claim 27, Geoffroy teaches the method of claim 1, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein: the at least one measurement of the magnetic field represents at least magnetic influence from at least one of a plurality of identifying magnets of the mover; the plurality of identifying magnets is positioned on the mover such that a first identifying magnet of the plurality of identifying magnets is spaced apart from a second identifying magnet of the plurality of identifying magnets in a first direction and is spaced apart from a third identifying magnet of the plurality of identifying magnets in a second direction non-parallel to the first direction; and identifying the mover comprises identifying the mover according to at least the magnetic influence from the at least one of the plurality of identifying magnets.(Paragraph 0023: "In a further development, provision is made that a third magnetic sensor is provided for determining a magnetic field with respect to a third spatial direction and for outputting a third sensor signal, wherein the control device is configured to also determine the position information on the basis of the third sensor signal. The determination of the position information can hereby be determined particularly precisely. The third spatial direction can in particular be oriented transversely, preferably at least substantially perpendicular, to the first and/or second spatial direction.")
Regarding Claim 28, Geoffroy teaches the method of claim 1, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein: the at least one measurement of the magnetic field represents at least magnetic influence from at least one identifying magnet of the mover: and identifying the mover comprises identifying the mover according to at least the magnetic influence from the at least one identifying magnet and in response to at least movement of one or more of the at least one identifying magnet relative to the mover.(Paragraph 0077: "The identification magnets 34 are oriented in the y direction, and indeed all positively in FIG. 5. Individual identification magnets 34 can also be oriented reversely, that is negatively in the y direction, wherein unique identifiers for the carriers can be formed by individual compositions of such orientations at different carriers. This will be explained in more detail in the following with reference to FIGS. 7 to 9.")
Regarding Claim 30, Geoffroy teaches the method of claim 1, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches further comprising causing the mover to move in at least two degrees of freedom, wherein causing the mover to move in at least two degrees of freedom comprises causing one or more external magnetic fields to interact with at least one actuation magnet of the mover.(Paragraph 0083: "An exemplary possibility of encoding identification information relating to a carrier 14 through different orientations of the identification magnets 34 is illustrated in more detail in FIGS. 7 to 9. For example, it can be specified that an orientation of an identification magnet 34 in the positive y direction, which is indicated in FIGS. 7 to 9 in each case, is evaluated as identification information having the value 1. This is illustrated in FIG. 7. The orientation of the identification magnet 34 , that is its south-north direction, extends in the positive y direction here and represents the value 1. The reverse case is illustrated in FIG. 8. Here, the orientation of the identification magnet 34 , that is its south-north direction, is negative with respect to the y direction and represents the value 0. Due to a plurality of identification magnets 34 with individual orientations, identification information can be encoded with a bit depth corresponding to the number of identification magnets 34 . In FIG. 9, this is illustrated with three identification magnets 34 of which the first two are positively oriented with respect to the y direction and represent the value 1, wherein the third identification magnet 34 is negatively oriented with respect to the y direction and represents the value 0. The identification information 110 can hereby be encoded. Eight carriers can thus be individually identified. In general, within the framework of this approach, a total of up to 2n carriers can be individually identified using n identification magnets 34 per carrier 14 .")
Regarding Claim 34, Geoffroy teaches A mover device comprising: a mover comprising at least one actuation magnet configured to generate forces for moving the mover device in response to at least one external magnetic field;(Paragraph 0001: "The present invention relates to a linear motor system, in particular a transport system, e.g. a multicarrier, having a plurality of or for a plurality of carriers and having a guide track for the carriers.")and at least one identifying magnet, wherein the at least one identifying magnet is encoded with identification information distinguishing the mover from other movers.(Paragraph 0014: "The position information and the identification information are therefore determined on the basis of different directional components of a magnetic field generated at the carrier. The identification information can therefore in particular be determined on the basis of a spatial direction of the magnetic field on whose basis no position information is determined. The position information and the identification information can be determined substantially independently of one another and mutual interference is particularly low. This enables a particularly varied encoding of the identification information in the magnetic field. Due to the many possible encoding variants, a completely individual identifier, in particular an individual ID, can be assigned, in particular for a large number of carriers.")
Regarding Claim 36, Geoffroy teaches the mover device of claim 34, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein: the at least one identifying magnet comprises a plurality of identifying magnets; the mover defines a plurality of reference locations, and each identifying magnet of the plurality of identifying magnets is at a respective different one of the plurality of reference locations.(Paragraph 0087: "In summary, the invention therefore enables the use of 3D magnetic sensors, which are typically present at a linear motor system, for identifying the individual carriers. The carriers in particular have a number of identification magnets whose polarities encode a unique identification number of the respective carrier. In this respect, magnetic field components in different spatial directions can be used for the position determination, on the one hand, and for the identification determination, on the other hand, so that at least substantially no interference results between the position determination and the identification determination.")
Regarding Claim 37, Geoffroy teaches the mover device of claim 36, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein the plurality of reference locations are in at least one column and at least one row on the mover,(Figure 4: Plurality of identification magnets 34)wherein magnetic fields of any magnets in each of the at least one column and each of the at least one row counteract each other when combined together.(Paragraph 0044: "If the second magnets are further, for example, alternately oriented at a carrier, a reinforcing superposition of the magnetic fields of the individual second magnets does not take place, but the magnetic fields largely cancel one another out. This can likewise be measured at a standstill.")
Regarding Claim 38, Geoffroy teaches the mover device of claim 36, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein at least some of the plurality of reference locations are in a periphery of the mover surrounding the at least one actuation magnet.(Figure 4: Plurality of identification magnets 34)
Regarding Claim 39, Geoffroy teaches the mover device of claim 36, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein at least some of the plurality of reference locations are surrounded by the at least one actuation magnet.(Figure 4: Identification magnets 34 on either side of position magnet 30)
Regarding Claim 43, Geoffroy teaches the mover device of claim 34, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein: the at least one identifying magnet comprises a plurality of identifying magnets; each actuation magnet of the at least one actuation magnet has a length in a longest dimension of the actuation magnet; and the length of each actuation magnet of the at least one actuation magnet is larger than a length in a longest dimension of each identifying magnet of the plurality of identifying magnets.(Figure 4: Plurality of identification magnets 34 and position magnet 30)
Regarding Claim 46, Geoffroy teaches the mover device of claim 34, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein: the at least one identifying magnet comprises a plurality of identifying magnets; each actuation magnet of the at least one actuation magnet has a magnetic field strength;(Figure 4: Plurality of identification magnets 34 and position magnet 30)and the magnetic field strength of each actuation magnet of the at least one actuation magnet is larger than a magnetic field strength of each identifying magnet of the plurality of identifying magnets.(Paragraph 0037: "In a further embodiment, provision is made that a plurality of second magnets are arranged at the carrier, wherein the second magnets form an identifier of the carrier. The identifier can generally, for example, be implemented by a number and/or arrangement of the plurality of second magnets that identifies the carrier, or also by a magnetization of a different strength of the second magnets. In general, only a first magnet or only a position magnet is preferably provided at a carrier.", wherein the different strength could be lower than that of the position magnet)
Regarding Claim 50, Geoffroy teaches the mover device of claim 34, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein: the at least one identifying magnet comprises a plurality of identifying magnets; at least three of the plurality of identifying magnets are arranged generally in a line with a non-uniform magnetic oscillation, (Figure 9: Identification magnets 34); and a first magnetic pitch between first and second identifying magnets of the plurality of identifying magnets is different from a second magnetic pitch between second and third identifying magnets of the plurality of identifying magnets.(Paragraph 0083: "In FIG. 9, this is illustrated with three identification magnets 34 of which the first two are positively oriented with respect to the y direction and represent the value 1, wherein the third identification magnet 34 is negatively oriented with respect to the y direction and represents the value 0. The identification information 110 can hereby be encoded. Eight carriers can thus be individually identified. In general, within the framework of this approach, a total of up to 2n carriers can be individually identified using n identification magnets 34 per carrier 14 .")
Regarding Claim 51, Geoffroy teaches the mover device of claim 34, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein: the at least one identifying magnet comprises a plurality of identifying magnets; and at least three of the plurality of identifying magnets are arranged generally in a line with a non-uniform magnetic oscillation comprising two sequential magnets with similar magnetic orientation.(Paragraph 0083: "In FIG. 9, this is illustrated with three identification magnets 34 of which the first two are positively oriented with respect to the y direction and represent the value 1, wherein the third identification magnet 34 is negatively oriented with respect to the y direction and represents the value 0. The identification information 110 can hereby be encoded. Eight carriers can thus be individually identified. In general, within the framework of this approach, a total of up to 2n carriers can be individually identified using n identification magnets 34 per carrier 14 .")
Regarding Claim 52, Geoffroy teaches the mover device of claim 34, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein: the at least one actuation magnet is rotationally symmetric about an axis;(Figure 4: Singular position magnet 30 in center of axis)and one or more magnetic fields from the at least one identifying magnet are rotationally asymmetric about the axis.(Paragraph 0083: "In FIG. 9, this is illustrated with three identification magnets 34 of which the first two are positively oriented with respect to the y direction and represent the value 1, wherein the third identification magnet 34 is negatively oriented with respect to the y direction and represents the value 0. The identification information 110 can hereby be encoded. Eight carriers can thus be individually identified. In general, within the framework of this approach, a total of up to 2n carriers can be individually identified using n identification magnets 34 per carrier 14 .")
Regarding Claim 61, Geoffroy teaches the mover device of claim 34, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein the at least one actuation magnet is configured to generate forces for moving the mover device in at least two degrees of freedom.(Paragraphs 0082- 0083: "It follows from the foregoing that it is particularly advantageous if the magnetic sensor unit 32 or a measurement point is at least substantially arranged in the central plane 42 of the identification magnet or magnets 34 , as indicated by the corresponding reference numeral in FIG. 6. The identification magnet 34 therefore only has an influence on the magnetic sensor unit 32 in the y direction. The position magnet only has an influence on the magnetic sensor unit 32 in the x and z directions. The magnetic field measurement with respect to the y direction forms the basis for the determination of the identification information. The determination of the position information takes place with respect to the other two spatial directions, namely with respect to the x and z directions, and indeed in particular at one and the same measurement point for all three spatial directions. Thus, the magnetic field of the identification magnet 34 —at least in straight path sections—does not negatively affect the determination of the position information. Conversely, the magnetic field of the position magnet 30 does not negatively affect the determination of the identification information, which has already been indicated above with respect to FIG. 5. An exemplary possibility of encoding identification information relating to a carrier 14 through different orientations of the identification magnets 34 is illustrated in more detail in FIGS. 7 to 9. For example, it can be specified that an orientation of an identification magnet 34 in the positive y direction, which is indicated in FIGS. 7 to 9 in each case, is evaluated as identification information having the value 1. This is illustrated in FIG. 7. The orientation of the identification magnet 34 , that is its south-north direction, extends in the positive y direction here and represents the value 1. The reverse case is illustrated in FIG. 8. Here, the orientation of the identification magnet 34 , that is its south-north direction, is negative with respect to the y direction and represents the value 0. Due to a plurality of identification magnets 34 with individual orientations, identification information can be encoded with a bit depth corresponding to the number of identification magnets 34 . In FIG. 9, this is illustrated with three identification magnets 34 of which the first two are positively oriented with respect to the y direction and represent the value 1, wherein the third identification magnet 34 is negatively oriented with respect to the y direction and represents the value 0. The identification information 110 can hereby be encoded. Eight carriers can thus be individually identified. In general, within the framework of this approach, a total of up to 2n carriers can be individually identified using n identification magnets 34 per carrier 14 .")
Regarding Claim 66, Geoffroy teaches the mover device of claim 36, as seen above. Geoffroy further teaches wherein a first reference location of the plurality of reference locations is spaced apart from a second reference location of the plurality of reference locations in a first direction and is spaced apart from a third reference location of the plurality of reference locations in a second direction non-parallel to the first direction.(Figure 1: Shows a curved guide path).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geoffroy (United States Patent Application US 2022/0052595 A1) in view of Ozimek (United States Patent Application US 2019/0047794 A1).
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geoffroy (United States Patent Application US 2022/0052595 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Geoffroy discloses the method of claim 2, as seen above.
However, Geoffroy does not disclose wherein determining the characterization of the magnetic field comprises identifying the magnetic field as having one of at least two different available characterizations for the magnetic field of the one or more of the at least one reference location, the at least two different available characterizations for the magnetic field from a reference location comprising: a magnetic field resulting from a magnet at the reference location with a first magnetic blemish; Anda magnetic field resulting from a magnet at the reference location with a second magnetic blemish, wherein the second magnetic blemish is different from the first magnetic blemish.
Ozimek discloses a similar method wherein determining the characterization of the magnetic field comprises identifying the magnetic field as having one of at least two different available characterizations for the magnetic field of the one or more of the at least one reference location, the at least two different available characterizations for the magnetic field from a reference location comprising: a magnetic field resulting from a magnet at the reference location with a first magnetic blemish; Anda magnetic field resulting from a magnet at the reference location with a second magnetic blemish, wherein the second magnetic blemish is different from the first magnetic blemish.(Paragraph 0062: "According to yet another embodiment of the invention, the shape of the position magnet 130 is set different for the first mover than for each of the other movers. The magnetic field generated by the position magnet 130 is a function of the construction of the position magnet 130 , including, but not limited to, the material from which the magnet is constructed, the shape of the magnet, and the orientation of the magnet. Referring next to FIGS. 12a and 12b , a position magnet 130 mounted on the mover 100 a in FIG. 12a has a different shape and size than a position magnet 130 mounted on the mover 100 b in FIG. 12b . Consequently, the magnetic field generated by the position magnet 130 mounted on the mover 100 a in FIG. 12a may have a different shape, a different orientation of the magnetic flux lines, or a different strength than the magnetic field generated by the position magnet 130 mounted on the mover 100 b in FIG. 12b . It is contemplated that the first mover could be constructed with the position magnet as shown in either FIG. 12a or FIG. 12b and the other movers would then be constructed with the other position magnet. Further, the illustrated magnets represent one embodiment of the invention and it is contemplated that other shapes of magnets, magnets having identical shapes but different field strengths, or magnets having different physical orientations may be utilized without deviating from the scope of the invention.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Geoffroy to include the characterizations for magnetic fields as taught by Ozimek. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for an improved system for determining identification of movers in a motion control system that takes into account variations between movers due to manufacturing tolerances, wear, etc. that can result in variations in acceleration, deceleration, positioning and the like (Paragraph 0004).
Regarding Claim 49, Geoffroy discloses the mover device of claim 34, as seen above.
However, Geoffroy does not disclose wherein: the at least one actuation magnet comprises a plurality of actuation magnets having a magnetic pitch; and the at least one identifying magnet comprises a plurality of identifying magnets having a magnetic pitch different from the magnetic pitch of the plurality of actuation magnets.
Ozimek discloses a similar mover device wherein: the at least one actuation magnet comprises a plurality of actuation magnets having a magnetic pitch;(Figure 11b: Two position magnets 130a and 130b spaced closely to one another)and the at least one identifying magnet comprises a plurality of identifying magnets having a magnetic pitch different from the magnetic pitch of the plurality of actuation magnets.(Figures 10a-10b: Magnet segments 142 and 144 are spaced apart with alternating orientations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Geoffroy to include the magnets magnet pitch as taught by Ozimek. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for an improved system for determining identification of movers in a motion control system that takes into account variations between movers due to manufacturing tolerances, wear, etc. that can result in variations in acceleration, deceleration, positioning and the like (Paragraph 0004).
Regarding Claim 53, Geoffroy discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating the mover is wrapped in conductive material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to cover the mover in conductive material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331. Further, Geoffroy discloses lining the mover with electromagnets, which are a conductive material, therefore a wrapping in conductive material would not be out of the ordinary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application US 2018/0205304 A1 (Lu, Xiaodong): Lu teaches a similar method and system for moving one or more moveable stages in a displacement device comprising a stator, stator tiles, controllers, magnetization elements and amplifiers, as seen in Figure 4.
United States Patent Application US 2016/0347550 A1 (Paweletz, Anton): Paweletz teaches a similar transport device comprising at least one mover, permanent magnets, movable parts, a drive surface with a coil plane and position detection means, as seen in Figure 1.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651