DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
This application does not contain an abstract of the disclosure as required by 37 CFR 1.72(b). An abstract on a separate sheet is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“a second reinforcing fiber layer” of claim 4,
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 11-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the interior” in line 4. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “an interior” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 1 recites “the reinforcing fibers” in line 7. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “the plurality of reinforcing fibers” since it is already recited as such in the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 1 recites “the axial direction” in line 7. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “an axial direction” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 1 recites “the reinforcing fibers” in line 9. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “the plurality of reinforcing fibers” since it is already recited as such in the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 1 recites “the inside” in line 10. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “an inside” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 3 recites “the same axial position” in line 2. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “an same axial position” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 4 recites “a first reinforcing fiber layer” in line 1. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “the first reinforcing fiber layer” since it is already recited as such in the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 6 recites “the blade root” in line 3. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “a blade root” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 6 recites “the axis” in line 4. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “an axis” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 7 recites “the lateral surface” in line 3. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “a lateral surface” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 7 recites “the region” in line 3. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “a region” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 7 recites “the blade root” in line 4. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “a blade root” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 11 recites “a rotor” in line 1. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “the rotor” since it is already recited as such in the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 12 recites “the shape” in line 4. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “a shape” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Claim 12 recites “the axial direction” in line 6. For clarity of the claim, it should be recited as “an axial direction” since it is the first recitation of the limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "in particular" in line 1renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2-11 depend off of an indefinite claim, therefore rendering these claims indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Price US 4098559.
Regarding claim 1, Price discloses: A rotor (Fig 1), in particular for a turbomachine, comprising
a rotor hub (38) and
a plurality of rotor blades (10) attached to the rotor hub (10 attached to 28),
with a plurality of reinforcing fibers (18),
wherein each reinforcing fiber extends from a first rotor blade through the interior of the rotor hub to a second rotor blade (18 extends between two blades though 30 and 26 of 38),
wherein a first filler body (30 and 26) is arranged inside the rotor hub (30 and 26 are inside 38),
wherein the first filler body has a guide surface with which a guide for the reinforcing fibers acting in the axial direction of the rotor is provided (30 has a surface where 16 is guided to the next blade),
wherein the first filler body has a guide structure (26 that rises up and is opposite of the surface of 30) that rises up opposite the guide surface, and
wherein the reinforcing fibers are guided past the guide structure through the inside of the rotor hub (16 is guided past 26 through 38).
Regarding claim 2, Price discloses:
wherein a first reinforcing fiber layer is formed by a plurality of reinforcing fibers (Fig 1: plurality of fibers 16), which is arranged in a radial plane of the rotor hub.
Regarding claim 3, Price discloses:
wherein the guide structure of the first filler body is arranged in the same axial portion of the rotor hub as the first reinforcing fiber layer (Fig 1: 26 is arranged in the same axial portion as 16).
Regarding claim 4, Price discloses:
with a first reinforcing fiber layer (Fig 1: Left 16) and a second reinforcing fiber layer (Right 16), wherein the guide surface of the first filler body is arranged between the first reinforcing fiber layer and the second reinforcing fiber layer (surface of 30 is arranged partially between the left and right 16).
Regarding claim 5, Price discloses:
wherein the guide structure comprises a first structural component (Fig 1: Top of the first 26) arranged adjacent to a lateral surface (Fig 4: Top of the first 26 is arranged adjacent to the lateral surface touching 42) of the rotor hub and between two adjacent rotor blades (Top of the first 26 is between two adjacent blades).
Regarding claim 6, Price discloses:
wherein the guide structure comprises a second structural component blocking a rectilinear path between the blade root of a rotor blade and the axis of the rotor (Fig 4: Inner portion of 26/126 blocks the path of the root in the direction of the axis of the rotor).
Regarding claim 7, Price discloses:
wherein the guide structure comprises a third structural component which projects beyond the lateral surface of the rotor hub and extends into the region of the blade root of a rotor blade (Fig 4: Inner portion of 26/126 projects from the top lateral surface through the region of the root of the blade).
Regarding claim 8, Price discloses:
wherein the first filler body has a cavity (Fig 4: Open cavity) arranged between the guide surface (guide surface as seen in the clip below) and a rear side of the first filler body spaced apart from the guide surface in the axial direction (rear side as seen in the clip below).
Regarding claim 10, Price discloses:
with a first filler body (Fig 1: 30/26) and a second filler body (42),
wherein the guide structure of the first filler body is covered by the second filler body (42 covers 30/26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 and 11- 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price US 4098559 in view of Kray et al. US 20130156594.
Regarding claim 9, Price discloses all of the limitations. However, Price is silent as to:
wherein the first filler body has an all-round sealed surface.
From the same field of endeavor, Kray teaches:
wherein the first filler body has an all-round sealed surface (Fig 4: 76 is surrounded by 110 and 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Price to have the top layer of the blade covered to form a all-round sealed surface as taught by Kray to adjoin the pair of blade sections to allow for the blades to be stitched together and manufactured through mould and CMC methods to manufacture them with less labor intensive, time-consuming, and expensive methods (Par 6).
Regarding claim 11, Price discloses all of the limitations. However, Price is silent as to:
wherein the rotor is connected to a shaft driven by the motor.
From the same field of endeavor, Kray teaches:
wherein the rotor is connected to a shaft driven by the motor (Fig 1: Par 32: Blades are connected to a shaft and driven).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the blades of Prince to be on a shaft in a turbine as a matter of common knowledge and well known in the art (MPEP2144.03).
Regarding claim 12, Price discloses:
a rotor (Fig 1) with a rotor hub (38) and a plurality of rotor blades (10) attached to the rotor hub (10 attached to 28), in which a first filler body (30 and 26)
wherein the first filler body has a guide surface with which a guide acting in the axial direction of the rotor is provided (30 has a surface where 16 is guided to the next blade), and
wherein the first filler body has a guide structure which rises opposite the guide surface (26 that rises up and is opposite of the surface of 30), and
in which a plurality of reinforcing fibers (18) are inserted into the guide structure of the first filler body (16 is guided past 26 through 38) so that each reinforcing fiber extends from a first rotor blade through the guide structure to a second rotor blade (18 extends between two blades though 30 and 26 of 38).
However, Price is silent as to:
a first filler body is introduced into a mold component, wherein the mold component defines a mold cavity corresponding to the shape of the rotor.
From the same field of endeavor, Kray teaches:
(Fig 3; Par 44-45: 8 is made in various mold parts and section and RTM methods are used to clamp and press the pieces together).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Price to have the blade formed through the RTM molds and sections as taught by Kray to allow for less material cost and shorter cycle times (Par 44-45).
The combination would result in: a first filler body is introduced into a mold component, wherein the mold component defines a mold cavity corresponding to the shape of the rotor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Richl US 20160108746, Matheny et al. US 5735673 and Drane US 20140271207 teaches a similar blade connection as to applicants. Powell et al. US 20090068015 teaches a similar core to applicants rotor.
/Andrew J Marien/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745