DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,5,16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 38.133("3rd Generation Partnership Project, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NR, Requirements for Support of Radio Resource Management (Release 18)", 3GPP Standard, Technical Specification, 3GPP TS 38.133, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG4, No. V18.0.0, 12 January 2023, 5242 Pages, XP052235175,. Pages 119-1021) (see IDS) in view of Yamada (US 20130344869 A1).
With regards to claim 1, 3GPP TS 38.133 discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
identify, for a handover between a serving cell and a target cell, whether a center frequency and sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of a reference synchronization signal block (SSB) for the serving cell are the same, respectively, as a center frequency and SCS of a reference SSB for the target cell (see clause 9.2.5 relating to intra-frequency cell identification using NR intra-frequency measurements, NR intra-frequency measurements (9.2), Introduction; A measurement is defined as a SSB based intra-frequency measurement provided the center frequency of the SSB of the serving cell indicated for measurement and the center frequency of the SSB of the neighbor cell are the same, and the subcarrier spacing of the two SSBs are also the same" ; and
(see clause 9.3.4 relating to inter-frequency cell identification using NR inter-frequency measurements, which are defined in clause 9.3.1 as follows:"9.3 NR inter-frequency measurements 9.3.1 Introduction; A measurement is defined as an SSB based inter-frequency measurement provided it is not defined as an intra-frequency measurement according to clause 9.2",
initiate a handover from the serving cell to the target cell (“the UE starts transmission of the new PRACH”) a handover from a serving cell to a target cell (intra-frequency handovers from NR FR1 cell to NR FF1 cell).
using one or more intra- frequency measurements or intra-frequency handover conditions (claimed inter-frequency handover condition=”Tsearch = 3* Trs ms”) or
using one or more inter-frequency measurements or inter-frequency handover conditions (claimed inter-frequency handover condition=”Tsearch = 3* Trs ms”)
("6.1.1.2.2 Interruption time The interruption time is the time between end of the last TTI containing the RRC command on the old PDSCH and the time the UE starts transmission of the new PRACH, excluding the RRC procedure delay. When intra-frequency or inter-frequency handover is commanded, the interruption time shall be less than Tinterrupt
Tinterrupt = Tsearch + TIU + Tprocessing + TA + Tmargin ms
Where:
Tsearch is the time required to search the target cell when the target cell is not already known when the handover command is received by the UE. If the target cell is known, then Tsearch = 0 ms.
If the target cell is an unknown intra-frequency cell and the target cell Es/Iot≥-2 dB, then Tsearch = Trs ms.
If the target cell is an unknown inter-frequency cell and the target cell Es/Iot≥-2 dB, then Tsearch = 3* Trs ms").
based at least in part on the center frequency and SCS of the reference SSB for the serving cell being different, respectively, than the center frequency and SCS of the reference SSB for the target cell.
3GPP TS 38.133 discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprises one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories comprising instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
However, Yamada in the same field of endeavor (see [0175], Using channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) measurement while performing inter-frequency or intra-frequency handover or re-establishment may improve the efficiency of updating measurement identities while performing these procedures) explicitly discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication. In [0216], FIG. 28 illustrates various components that may be utilized in a user equipment (UE) 2804. The user equipment (UE) 2804 may be utilized as the user equipment (UE) 104 illustrated previously. The user equipment (UE) 2804 includes a processor 2887 that controls operation of the user equipment (UE) 2804. The processor 2887 may also be referred to as a CPU. Memory 2881, which may include both read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM) or any type of device that may store information, provides instructions 2882a and data 2883a to the processor 2887. A portion of the memory 2881 may also include non-volatile random access memory (NVRAM). Instructions 2882b and data 2883b may also reside in the processor 2887. Instructions 2882b and/or data 2883b loaded into the processor 2887 may also include instructions 2882a and/or data 2883a from memory 2881 that were loaded for execution or processing by the processor 2887. The instructions 2882b may be executed by the processor 2887 to implement the systems and methods disclosed herein.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify 3GPP TS 38.133 UE wireless communication device with Yamada ‘s user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprises one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories comprising instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improved methods for reporting measurement results by a wireless communication device (Yamada, [0004]) MPEP 2143, Rationale C.
With regards to claim 2, 3GPP TS 38.133 further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the UE is a reduced capabilities UE. (see clauses 6.10.1.1-6.10.1.2, "RedCap UE"; see also clauses 9.2B.1 & 9.3B.1; )
With regards to claim 3, 3GPP TS 38.133 further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the UE is configured with at least two SSBs for the serving cell or at least two SSBs for the target cell(see clause 6..1D.1.2, "Handover to a target cell's initial BWP associated with CD-SSB; Handover to a target cell's specific Redcap BWP associated with NCD-SSB besides to the initial BWP associated with CD- SSB (i.e. UE directly sync to the NCD-SSB and perform RACH on that BWP).
With regards to claim 5, 3GPP TS 38.133 further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the reference SSB for the serving cell corresponds to an SSB configured in a serving cell measurement object, an SSB configured in a bandwidth-part-specific serving cell measurement object, if configured, or an SSB configured in an active bandwidth part of the serving cell.(see Clause 9.2B.1, "A measurement is defined as a SSB based intra- frequency measurement provided the centre frequency of the reference SSB of the serving cell and the centre frequency of the SSB of the neighbour cell are the same, and the subcarrier spacing of the two SSBs are also the same. The reference SSB is the SSB defined in BWP-specific servingCellMO under BWP-DownlinkDedicated of active DL BWP. If the field is absent, the reference SSB is the SSB defined in servingCellMO under ServingCellConfig [2]").
.
With regards to claim 16, the combination of 3GPP TS 38.133 and Yamada discloses a UE for wireless communication, comprising:
identify, for a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment, whether a center frequency and sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of a reference synchronization signal block (SSB) for a serving cell are the same, respectively, as a center frequency and SCS of a reference SSB for a neighbor cell; and
initiate (“UE sends PRACH to the target Pcell) an RRC re-establishment (“RRC-Re-Establishment”) using one or more intra-frequency measurements (“Tidentify_intra_NR”) using one or more inter-frequency measurements ("Tidentify_inter_NR,i" ) ( See "6.2.1.2.1 UE Re-establishment delay requirement
The UE re-establishment delay (TUE_re-establish_delay) is the time between the moments when any of the conditions requiring RRC re- establishment as defined in clause 5.3.7 in TS 38.331 [2] is detected by the UE and when the UE sends PRACH to the target PCell. The UE re- establishment delay (TUE_re-establish_delay) requirement shall be less than: TUE_re-establish_delay = 50 ms + Tidentify_intra_NR + Σ Nfreq 1 i=1 Tidentify_inter_NR, i + TSI-NR + TPRACH The intra-frequency target NR cell shall be considered detectable if each relevant SSB can satisfy that: [...] The inter-frequency target NR cell shall be considered detectable when for each relevant SSB: [ ] Tidentify_intra_NR: It is the time to identify the target intra- frequency NR cell and it depends on whether the target NR cell is known cell or unknown cell and on the FR of the target NR cell. If the UE is not configured with intra-frequency NR carrier for RRC re-establishment then Tidentify_intra_NR=0; otherwise Tidentify_intra_NR shall not exceed the values defined in Table [...]. Tidentify_inter_NR, i: It is the time to identify the target inter- frequency NR cell on inter-frequency carrier i configured for RRC re- establishment and it depends on whether the target NR cell is known cell or unknown cell and on the FR of the target NR cell. Tidentify_inter_NR, i shall not exceed the values defined in Table [...] ")
based at least in part on the center frequency and SCS of the reference SSB for the serving cell being different, respectively, than the center frequency and SCS of the reference SSB for the neighbor cell. (see "9.2 NR intra-frequency measurements, 9.2.1 Introduction A measurement is defined as a SSB based intra-frequency measurement provided the centre frequency of the SSB of the serving cell indicated for measurement and the centre frequency of the SSB of the neighbour cell are the same, and the subcarrier spacing of the two SSBs are also the same ; OR See "9.3 NR inter-frequency measurements, see 9.3.1 Introduction , A measurement is defined as an SSB based inter-frequency measurement provided it is not defined as an intra-frequency measurement according to clause 9.2",).
3GPP TS 38.133 discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprises one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories comprising instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
However, Yamada in the same field of endeavor (see [0175], Using channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) measurement while performing inter-frequency or intra-frequency handover or re-establishment may improve the efficiency of updating measurement identities while performing these procedures) explicitly discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication. In [0216], FIG. 28 illustrates various components that may be utilized in a user equipment (UE) 2804. The user equipment (UE) 2804 may be utilized as the user equipment (UE) 104 illustrated previously. The user equipment (UE) 2804 includes a processor 2887 that controls operation of the user equipment (UE) 2804. The processor 2887 may also be referred to as a CPU. Memory 2881, which may include both read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM) or any type of device that may store information, provides instructions 2882a and data 2883a to the processor 2887. A portion of the memory 2881 may also include non-volatile random access memory (NVRAM). Instructions 2882b and data 2883b may also reside in the processor 2887. Instructions 2882b and/or data 2883b loaded into the processor 2887 may also include instructions 2882a and/or data 2883a from memory 2881 that were loaded for execution or processing by the processor 2887. The instructions 2882b may be executed by the processor 2887 to implement the systems and methods disclosed herein.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify 3GPP TS 38.133 UE wireless communication device with Yamada ‘s user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprises one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories comprising instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improved methods for reporting measurement results by a wireless communication device (Yamada, [0004]) MPEP 2143, Rationale C.
With regards to claim 17, 3GPP TS 38.133 discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the UE is a reduced capabilities UE. (see clause “6.2.1B SA: RRC Re-establishment for RedCap"
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 38.133("3rd Generation Partnership Project, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NR, Requirements for Support of Radio Resource Management (Release 18)", 3GPP Standard, Technical Specification, 3GPP TS 38.133, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG4, No. V18.0.0, 12 January 2023, 5242 Pages, XP052235175,. Pages 119-1021) (see IDS) in view of Yamada (US 20130344869 A1) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of
HUAWEI, et al., "Discussion on NCD-SSB Aspects for RedCap UE", 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #118 Electronic, R2-2205038, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG2, No. Electronic, 20220509 - 20220520, 25 April 2022, 7 Pages, XP052138637 (see IDS)
With regards to claim 7, The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more memories further comprise instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to receive priority information for selecting the reference SSB for the serving cell from a plurality of SSBs for the serving cell, or for selecting the reference SSB for the target cell from a plurality of SSBs for the target cell. (see clause 2.1, "Proposal 1: RAN2 support the signalling to explicitly indicate which SSB is the reference SSB to define intra-frequency measurement, with below candidates: Option 1: Add new filed/flag in MeasObjectNR to indicate whether its ssbFrequency is the reference SSB. Option 2: Use existing servingCellMO to indicate the reference SSB (i.e. the ssbFrequency of servingCellMO is the reference SSB), and allow the ssbFrequency of servingCellMO to be configured as either CD-SSB or NCD- SSB").
With regards to claim 8, The UE of claim 7, wherein the instructions, executable to cause the UE to receive the priority information, are executable to cause the UE to receive downlink control information, a medium access control message, a radio resource control message, system information, or a handover command that includes the priority information.(see clause 2.1, "Proposal 1: RAN2 support the signalling to explicitly indicate which SSB is the reference SSB to define intra-frequency measurement, with below candidates: Option 1: Add new filed/flag in MeasObjectNR to indicate whether its ssbFrequency is the reference SSB. Option 2: Use existing servingCellMO to indicate the reference SSB (i.e. the ssbFrequency of servingCellMO is the reference SSB), and allow the ssbFrequency of servingCellMO to be configured as either CD-SSB or NCD- SSB").
Claims 10, 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUAWEI, et al., "Discussion on NCD-SSB Aspects for RedCap UE", 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #118 Electronic, R2-2205038, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG2, No. Electronic, 20220509 - 20220520, 25 April 2022, 7 Pages, XP052138637 (see IDS) in view of Yamada (US 20130344869 A1 and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.133("3rd Generation Partnership Project, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NR, Requirements for Support of Radio Resource Management (Release 18)", 3GPP Standard, Technical Specification, 3GPP TS 38.133, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG4, No. V18.0.0, 12 January 2023, 5242 Pages, XP052235175,. Pages 119-1021) (see IDS).
With regards to claim 10, Huawei et al discloses
transmit configuration information (“servingCellMO”) that indicates one or more reference synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (“CD-SSB” and/or “NCD-SSB”) for a serving cell (“serviing cell”)or one or more reference SSBs for a target cell;
(see (clause 2.1, "[...] it is up to NW implementation to configure a MO on
the NCD-SSB frequency for serving cell measurements. Besides, CD-SSB in
servingCellMO is already supported for serving cell measurements in
legacy. [...]. Thus we can get a conclusion that it is possible to configure CD-SSB or NCD-SSB for serving cell measurements. Regarding the second question, [...], it is feasible to configure which SSB is the reference SSB to define intra-frequency measurement explicitly") ; and
transmit an indication (“handover command”) to perform a handover from the serving cell to the target cell, (clause 2.4, "Observation 1: RAN2 agreement : "NCD-SSB should not be indicated in the handover command, i.e., network sets [...] absoluteFrequencySSB to the frequency of the CD-SSB (not the NCD- SSB)" [...]. [...] When a NR UE receives the handover command, it performs the DL synchronization based on the CD-SSB first. Then it performs RACH procedure on the BWP indicated by firstActiveUplinkBWP regardless whether the BWP includes CD-SSB or not. For RedCap UE, the same method can be reused without any restriction. So we propose RAN2 confirm it is allowed to handover RedCap UE to a target cell's initial BWP with CD-SSB [...]").
Huawei et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose
(a) a network node for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories comprising instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the network node to:
(b) the handover to be performed using one or more intra-frequency measurements or intra-frequency handover conditions based at least in part on a center frequency and sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of a select reference SSB for the serving cell being the same, respectively, as a center frequency and SCS of a select reference SSB for the target cell, or using one or more inter-frequency measurements or inter-frequency handover conditions based at least in part on the center frequency and SCS of the select reference SSB for the serving cell being different, respectively, than the center frequency and SCS of the select reference SSB for the target cell.
(i) with regards to item (a) above;
However, Yamada in the same field of endeavor (see [0175], Using channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) measurement while performing inter-frequency or intra-frequency handover or re-establishment may improve the efficiency of updating measurement identities while performing these procedures) explicitly discloses in [0219] FIG. 29 illustrates various components that may be utilized in an eNB 2902. The eNB 2902 may be utilized as the eNB 102 illustrated previously. The eNB 2902 may include components that are similar to the components discussed above in relation to the user equipment (UE) 2804, including a processor 2987, memory 2981 that provides instructions 2982a and data 2983a to the processor 2987, instructions 2982b and data 2983b that may reside in or be loaded into the processor 2987, a housing that contains a transmitter 2935 and a receiver 2933 (which may be combined into a transceiver 2932), one or more antennas 2910a-n electrically coupled to the transceiver 2932, a bus system 2986, a DSP 2984 for use in processing signals, a communications interface 2985 and so forth.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huawei et al network node for wireless communication device with Yamada ‘s eNB for wireless communication comprises one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories comprising instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the eNB. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improved methods for reporting measurement results by a wireless communication device (Yamada, [0004]) MPEP 2143, Rationale C.
(ii) with regards to item (b) above;
However, 3GPP TS 38.133 discloses that "A measurement is defined as a SSB based intra- frequency measurement provided the centre frequency of the reference SSB of the serving cell and the centre frequency of the SSB of the neighbour cell are the same, and the subcarrier spacing of the two SSBs are also the same" is a standard, well-known feature, (clause 9.2B, “NR intr-frequency measurements for RedCap” to 9.2B.1 Introduction”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify HUAWEI, et al., and Yamada as thought by 3GPP TS 38.133 to arrive at applicant’s invention. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve methods for wireless communication devices.
With regards to claim 12, HUAWEI, et al further discloses the network node of claim 10, wherein the select reference SSB for the serving cell corresponds to an SSB configured in a serving cell measurement object, an SSB configured in a bandwidth-part-specific serving cell measurement object, if configured, or an SSB configured in an active bandwidth part of the serving cell.( See clauses 2.1, 2.2, "ServingCellMO").
With regards to claim 14, HUAWEI, et al further discloses the network node of claim 10, wherein the one or more memories further comprise instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the network node to transmit priority information for selecting the select reference SSB for the serving cell from two or more SSBs for the serving cell, or for selecting the select reference SSB for the target cell from two or more SSBs for the target cell. (see clause 2.1, "Proposal 1: RAN2 support the signalling to explicitly indicate which SSB is the reference SSB to define intra-frequency measurement, with below candidates: Option 1: Add new filed/flag in MeasObjectNR to indicate whether its ssbFrequency is the reference SSB. Option 2: Use existing servingCellMO to indicate the reference SSB (i.e. the ssbFrequency of servingCellMO is the reference SSB) and allow the ssbFrequency of servingCellMO to be configured as either CD-SSB or NCD- SSB").
With regards to claim 15, HUAWEI, et al further discloses the network node of claim 14, wherein the instructions, executable to cause the network node to transmit the priority information, are executable to cause the network node to transmit downlink control information, a medium access control message, a radio resource control message, system information, or a handover command that includes the priority information. (see clause 2.1, "Proposal 1: RAN2 support the signalling to explicitly indicate which SSB is the reference SSB to define intra-frequency measurement, with below candidates: Option 1: Add new filed/flag in MeasObjectNR to indicate whether its ssbFrequency is the reference SSB. Option 2: Use existing servingCellMO to indicate the reference SSB (i.e. the ssbFrequency of servingCellMO is the reference SSB) and allow the ssbFrequency of servingCellMO to be configured as either CD-SSB or NCD- SSB").
Claims 4,6,9 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 38.133("3rd Generation Partnership Project, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NR, Requirements for Support of Radio Resource Management (Release 18)", 3GPP Standard, Technical Specification, 3GPP TS 38.133, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG4, No. V18.0.0, 12 January 2023, 5242 Pages, XP052235175,. Pages 119-1021) (see IDS) in view of Yamada (US 20130344869 A1) as applied in claims 1 and 16 above, above and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.331( "3rd Generation Partnership Project, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NR, Radio Resource Control (RRC) Protocol Specification (Release 17)", 3GPP Standard, Technical Specification, 3GPP TS 38.331, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG2, No. V17.3.0, 16 January 2023, pp. 1-1315, XP05223523, p. 507 and 526) (see IDS).
With regards to claim 4, the combination of 3GPP TS 38.133 and Yamada discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for the UE of claim 3, wherein the at least two SSBs for the serving cell include a cell-defining SSB and one or more non-cell-defining SSBs, and the at least two SSBs for the target cell include a cell-defining SSB and one or more non-cell-defining SSBs.
However, 3GPP TS 38.331 discloses on (see p. 507, "servingCellMO: measObjectId of the MeasObjectNR in MeasConfig which is associated to the serving cell. For this Meas0bjectNR, the following relationship applies between this MeasObjectNR and nonCellDefiningSSB in BWP-DownlinkDedicated of the associated downlink BWP: if ssbFrequency is configured, its value is the same as the absoluteFrequencySSB in the nonCellDefiningSSB. If the field is present in a downlink BWP and the BWP is activated, the RedCap UE uses this measurement object for serving cell measurements, otherwise, the RedCap UE uses the servingCellMO in ServingCellConfig IE").
(also see p. 526, "smtc: The SSB periodicity/offset/duration configuration of target cell for NR PSCell change and NR PCell change. The network sets the periodicityAndOffset to indicate the same periodicity as ssb- periodicityServingCell in spCellConfigCommon or sets to the same periodicity as ssb-Periodicity-r17 in nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 for RedCap. For case of NR PCell change, the smtc is based on the timing reference of (source) PCell. For case of NR PSCell change, it is based on the timing reference of source PSCell. If both this field and targetCellSMTC-SCG are absent, the UE uses the SMTC in the measObjectNR having the same SSB frequency and subcarrier spacing, as configured before the reception of the RRC message. For a RedCap UE, if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, this field corresponds to the NCD-SSB indicated by nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, otherwise, this field corresponds to the CD-SSB indicated by absoluteFrequencySSB in frequencyInfoDL").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify 3GPP TS 38.133 and Yamada as thought by 3GPP TS 38.331 to arrive at applicant’s invention. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve methods for wireless communication devices.
With regards to claim 6, the combination of 3GPP TS 38.133 and, Yamada and 3GPP TS 38.331 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the reference SSB for the target cell corresponds to an SSB configured in a first active bandwidth part of the target cell, an SSB configured in a serving cell measurement object of the target cell, an SSB configured in a bandwidth-part-specific serving cell measurement object of the target cell, if configured, or an SSB configured in a target cell measurement object of the serving cell. .(see p. 507, "servingCellMO: measObjectId of the MeasObjectNR in MeasConfig which is associated to the serving cell. For this Meas0bjectNR, the following relationship applies between this MeasObjectNR and nonCellDefiningSSB in BWP-DownlinkDedicated of the associated downlink BWP: if ssbFrequency is configured, its value is the same as the absoluteFrequencySSB in the nonCellDefiningSSB. If the field is present in a downlink BWP and the BWP is activated, the RedCap UE uses this measurement object for serving cell measurements, otherwise, the RedCap UE uses the servingCellMO in ServingCellConfig IE").
(also see p. 526, "smtc: The SSB periodicity/offset/duration configuration of target cell for NR PSCell change and NR PCell change. The network sets the periodicityAndOffset to indicate the same periodicity as ssb- periodicityServingCell in spCellConfigCommon or sets to the same periodicity as ssb-Periodicity-r17 in nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 for RedCap. For case of NR PCell change, the smtc is based on the timing reference of (source) PCell. For case of NR PSCell change, it is based on the timing reference of source PSCell. If both this field and targetCellSMTC-SCG are absent, the UE uses the SMTC in the measObjectNR having the same SSB frequency and subcarrier spacing, as configured before the reception of the RRC message. For a RedCap UE, if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, this field corresponds to the NCD-SSB indicated by nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, otherwise, this field corresponds to the CD-SSB indicated by absoluteFrequencySSB in frequencyInfoDL").
With regards to claim 9, the combination of 3GPP TS 38.133 and, Yamada and 3GPP TS 38.331 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more memories further comprise instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to select, based at least in part on UE capability information, the reference SSB for the serving cell from a plurality of SSBs for the serving cell, or the reference SSB for the target cell from a plurality of SSBs for the target cell (see p. 507, "servingCellMO: measObjectId of the MeasObjectNR in MeasConfig which is associated to the serving cell. For this Meas0bjectNR, the following relationship applies between this MeasObjectNR and nonCellDefiningSSB in BWP-DownlinkDedicated of the associated downlink BWP: if ssbFrequency is configured, its value is the same as the absoluteFrequencySSB in the nonCellDefiningSSB. If the field is present in a downlink BWP and the BWP is activated, the RedCap UE uses this measurement object for serving cell measurements, otherwise, the RedCap UE uses the servingCellMO in ServingCellConfig IE").
(also see p. 526, "smtc: The SSB periodicity/offset/duration configuration of target cell for NR PSCell change and NR PCell change. The network sets the periodicityAndOffset to indicate the same periodicity as ssb- periodicityServingCell in spCellConfigCommon or sets to the same periodicity as ssb-Periodicity-r17 in nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 for RedCap. For case of NR PCell change, the smtc is based on the timing reference of (source) PCell. For case of NR PSCell change, it is based on the timing reference of source PSCell. If both this field and targetCellSMTC-SCG are absent, the UE uses the SMTC in the measObjectNR having the same SSB frequency and subcarrier spacing, as configured before the reception of the RRC message. For a RedCap UE, if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, this field corresponds to the NCD-SSB indicated by nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, otherwise, this field corresponds to the CD-SSB indicated by absoluteFrequencySSB in frequencyInfoDL").
With regards to claim 18, the combination of 3GPP TS 38.133 and, Yamada and 3GPP TS 38.331 discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the UE is configured with at least two SSBs for the serving cell or at least two SSBs for the neighbor cell. .(see p. 507, "servingCellMO: measObjectId of the MeasObjectNR in MeasConfig which is associated to the serving cell. For this Meas0bjectNR, the following relationship applies between this MeasObjectNR and nonCellDefiningSSB in BWP-DownlinkDedicated of the associated downlink BWP: if ssbFrequency is configured, its value is the same as the absoluteFrequencySSB in the nonCellDefiningSSB. If the field is present in a downlink BWP and the BWP is activated, the RedCap UE uses this measurement object for serving cell measurements, otherwise, the RedCap UE uses the servingCellMO in ServingCellConfig IE").
(also see p. 526, "smtc: The SSB periodicity/offset/duration configuration of target cell for NR PSCell change and NR PCell change. The network sets the periodicityAndOffset to indicate the same periodicity as ssb- periodicityServingCell in spCellConfigCommon or sets to the same periodicity as ssb-Periodicity-r17 in nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 for RedCap. For case of NR PCell change, the smtc is based on the timing reference of (source) PCell. For case of NR PSCell change, it is based on the timing reference of source PSCell. If both this field and targetCellSMTC-SCG are absent, the UE uses the SMTC in the measObjectNR having the same SSB frequency and subcarrier spacing, as configured before the reception of the RRC message. For a RedCap UE, if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, this field corresponds to the NCD-SSB indicated by nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, otherwise, this field corresponds to the CD-SSB indicated by absoluteFrequencySSB in frequencyInfoDL").
With regards to claim 19, the combination of 3GPP TS 38.133 and, Yamada and 3GPP TS 38.331 discloses the UE of claim 18, wherein the at least two SSBs for the serving cell include a cell-defining SSB and one or more non-cell-defining SSBs, and the at least two SSBs for the neighbor cell include a cell-defining SSB and one or more non-cell-defining SSBs. .(see p. 507, "servingCellMO: measObjectId of the MeasObjectNR in MeasConfig which is associated to the serving cell. For this Meas0bjectNR, the following relationship applies between this MeasObjectNR and nonCellDefiningSSB in BWP-DownlinkDedicated of the associated downlink BWP: if ssbFrequency is configured, its value is the same as the absoluteFrequencySSB in the nonCellDefiningSSB. If the field is present in a downlink BWP and the BWP is activated, the RedCap UE uses this measurement object for serving cell measurements, otherwise, the RedCap UE uses the servingCellMO in ServingCellConfig IE").
(also see p. 526, "smtc: The SSB periodicity/offset/duration configuration of target cell for NR PSCell change and NR PCell change. The network sets the periodicityAndOffset to indicate the same periodicity as ssb- periodicityServingCell in spCellConfigCommon or sets to the same periodicity as ssb-Periodicity-r17 in nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 for RedCap. For case of NR PCell change, the smtc is based on the timing reference of (source) PCell. For case of NR PSCell change, it is based on the timing reference of source PSCell. If both this field and targetCellSMTC-SCG are absent, the UE uses the SMTC in the measObjectNR having the same SSB frequency and subcarrier spacing, as configured before the reception of the RRC message. For a RedCap UE, if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, this field corresponds to the NCD-SSB indicated by nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, otherwise, this field corresponds to the CD-SSB indicated by absoluteFrequencySSB in frequencyInfoDL").
With regards to claim 20, the combination of 3GPP TS 38.133 and, Yamada and 3GPP TS 38.331 discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the reference SSB for the serving cell corresponds to a cell-defining SSB of the serving cell, an SSB configured in an active bandwidth part of the serving cell, an SSB configured in a serving cell measurement object, or a bandwidth- part-specific serving cell measurement object, if configured. .(see p. 507, "servingCellMO: measObjectId of the MeasObjectNR in MeasConfig which is associated to the serving cell. For this Meas0bjectNR, the following relationship applies between this MeasObjectNR and nonCellDefiningSSB in BWP-DownlinkDedicated of the associated downlink BWP: if ssbFrequency is configured, its value is the same as the absoluteFrequencySSB in the nonCellDefiningSSB. If the field is present in a downlink BWP and the BWP is activated, the RedCap UE uses this measurement object for serving cell measurements, otherwise, the RedCap UE uses the servingCellMO in ServingCellConfig IE").
(also see p. 526, "smtc: The SSB periodicity/offset/duration configuration of target cell for NR PSCell change and NR PCell change. The network sets the periodicityAndOffset to indicate the same periodicity as ssb- periodicityServingCell in spCellConfigCommon or sets to the same periodicity as ssb-Periodicity-r17 in nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 for RedCap. For case of NR PCell change, the smtc is based on the timing reference of (source) PCell. For case of NR PSCell change, it is based on the timing reference of source PSCell. If both this field and targetCellSMTC-SCG are absent, the UE uses the SMTC in the measObjectNR having the same SSB frequency and subcarrier spacing, as configured before the reception of the RRC message. For a RedCap UE, if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, this field corresponds to the NCD-SSB indicated by nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, otherwise, this field corresponds to the CD-SSB indicated by absoluteFrequencySSB in frequencyInfoDL").
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUAWEI, et al., "Discussion on NCD-SSB Aspects for RedCap UE", 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #118 Electronic, R2-2205038, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG2, No. Electronic, 20220509 - 20220520, 25 April 2022, 7 Pages, XP052138637 (see IDS) and Yamada (US 20130344869 A1 in view of 3GPP TS 38.133("3rd Generation Partnership Project, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NR, Requirements for Support of Radio Resource Management (Release 18)", 3GPP Standard, Technical Specification, 3GPP TS 38.133, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG4, No. V18.0.0, 12 January 2023, 5242 Pages, XP052235175,. Pages 119-1021) (see IDS) as applied in claim 10 above, and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.331( "3rd Generation Partnership Project, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NR, Radio Resource Control (RRC) Protocol Specification (Release 17)", 3GPP Standard, Technical Specification, 3GPP TS 38.331, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG2, No. V17.3.0, 16 January 2023, pp. 1-1315, XP05223523, p. 507 and 526) (see IDS).
With regards to claim 11, the combination of 3GPP TS 38.133 and, Yamada and 3GPP TS 38.331 discloses the network node of claim 10, wherein the one or more reference SSBs for the serving cell include a cell-defining SSB and one or more non-cell-defining SSBs, and the one or more reference SSBs for the target cell include a cell-defining SSB and one or more non- cell-defining SSBs. .(see p. 507, "servingCellMO: measObjectId of the MeasObjectNR in MeasConfig which is associated to the serving cell. For this Meas0bjectNR, the following relationship applies between this MeasObjectNR and nonCellDefiningSSB in BWP-DownlinkDedicated of the associated downlink BWP: if ssbFrequency is configured, its value is the same as the absoluteFrequencySSB in the nonCellDefiningSSB. If the field is present in a downlink BWP and the BWP is activated, the RedCap UE uses this measurement object for serving cell measurements, otherwise, the RedCap UE uses the servingCellMO in ServingCellConfig IE").
(also see p. 526, "smtc: The SSB periodicity/offset/duration configuration of target cell for NR PSCell change and NR PCell change. The network sets the periodicityAndOffset to indicate the same periodicity as ssb- periodicityServingCell in spCellConfigCommon or sets to the same periodicity as ssb-Periodicity-r17 in nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 for RedCap. For case of NR PCell change, the smtc is based on the timing reference of (source) PCell. For case of NR PSCell change, it is based on the timing reference of source PSCell. If both this field and targetCellSMTC-SCG are absent, the UE uses the SMTC in the measObjectNR having the same SSB frequency and subcarrier spacing, as configured before the reception of the RRC message. For a RedCap UE, if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, this field corresponds to the NCD-SSB indicated by nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, otherwise, this field corresponds to the CD-SSB indicated by absoluteFrequencySSB in frequencyInfoDL").
With regards to claim 13, the combination of 3GPP TS 38.133 and, Yamada and 3GPP TS 38.331 discloses the network node of claim 10, wherein the select reference SSB for the target cell corresponds to an SSB configured in a first active bandwidth part of the target cell, an SSB configured in a serving cell measurement object of the target cell, an SSB configured in a bandwidth-part-specific serving cell measurement object of the target cell, if configured, or an SSB configured in a target cell measurement object of the serving cell (see p. 507, "servingCellMO: measObjectId of the MeasObjectNR in MeasConfig which is associated to the serving cell. For this Meas0bjectNR, the following relationship applies between this MeasObjectNR and nonCellDefiningSSB in BWP-DownlinkDedicated of the associated downlink BWP: if ssbFrequency is configured, its value is the same as the absoluteFrequencySSB in the nonCellDefiningSSB. If the field is present in a downlink BWP and the BWP is activated, the RedCap UE uses this measurement object for serving cell measurements, otherwise, the RedCap UE uses the servingCellMO in ServingCellConfig IE").
(also see p. 526, "smtc: The SSB periodicity/offset/duration configuration of target cell for NR PSCell change and NR PCell change. The network sets the periodicityAndOffset to indicate the same periodicity as ssb- periodicityServingCell in spCellConfigCommon or sets to the same periodicity as ssb-Periodicity-r17 in nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17 for RedCap. For case of NR PCell change, the smtc is based on the timing reference of (source) PCell. For case of NR PSCell change, it is based on the timing reference of source PSCell. If both this field and targetCellSMTC-SCG are absent, the UE uses the SMTC in the measObjectNR having the same SSB frequency and subcarrier spacing, as configured before the reception of the RRC message. For a RedCap UE, if the first active DL BWP included in this RRC message is configured with nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, this field corresponds to the NCD-SSB indicated by nonCellDefiningSSB-r17, otherwise, this field corresponds to the CD-SSB indicated by absoluteFrequencySSB in frequencyInfoDL").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeon et al (US 20200229241 A1) discloses a wireless device may initiate an access procedure (e.g., a random access procedure) with a base station, for example, by sending a message (e.g., a random access preamble) to the base station. The base station may respond, for example, by sending a report request associated with the access procedure.
/HELENE E TAYONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 September 26, 2026