DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 21-22 are elected, in response to restriction.
Claims 1-20 and 23-28 are non-elected and withdrawn.
Claims 21-22 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/13/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of claims 21-22 in the reply filed on 10/02/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 and 23-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter (See MPEP § 2106.03, subsections I and II). Claims 21-22 are directed to a computer-implemented method (i.e., process). Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Prong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1)). The independent claims under a broadest reasonable interpretation recite an abstract idea because the claims describe transaction code processing and generation based on selected product/order and payment method, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II). The claim limitations reciting the abstract idea are grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas because the limitations describe fundamental economic principles or practices, including mitigating risk, and describe commercial or legal interactions, including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea.
Claim 21:
A method for transferring encrypted data from a first electronic device to a second electronic device, each of the electronic devices comprising at least one input/output interface, a memory and a processor, the method comprising:
selecting an order and/or products on the first electronic device;
selecting a payment method on the first electronic device;
generating, on the basis of a processed payment, a first printed encrypted two-dimensional code comprising the selections of the first device; and
reading the first printed encrypted two-dimensional code on the second electronic device.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Prong Two asks does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(2)). Examiners evaluate integration into a practical application by: (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s); and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application, using one or more of the considerations discussed in more detail in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1), 2106.04(d)(2), 2106.05(a) through (c) and 2106.05(e) through (h). Here, the non-underlined claim limitations above recite additional elements. The additional elements do not improve the functioning of computers, another technology, or a technical field (MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a)). The Specification does not assert that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. The claim does not purport to improve computer capabilities, but rather invokes computers merely as a tool by adding general purpose computers post-hoc to an abstract idea. A commonplace business method being applied on a general-purpose computer is not sufficient to show an improvement to technology. The claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology. The Specification and the claim language provide evidence that the focus of the claim is on a scheme. An improvement in the abstract idea itself is not an improvement in technology. Even if the Specification describes technical improvements, they are not claimed. The additional elements do not apply the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2)). The additional elements do not implement the abstract idea with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(b)). A general-purpose computer that applies a judicial exception, such as an abstract idea, by use of conventional computer functions does not qualify as a particular machine. The additional elements do not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP § 2106.05(c)). The claim does not recite any transformation of an article where the article changes to a different state or thing. Nor do the additional elements apply the abstract idea in a meaningful way or impose a meaningful limit on it beyond linking its use to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The additional elements generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. A wholly generic computer implementation is not generally the sort of additional feature that provides any practical assurance that the process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the abstract idea itself. The additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements are being used in their ordinary capacity. The additional elements do no more than merely invoke computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process. The additional elements generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above.
Step 2B
Step 2B determines whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP § 2106.05). In Step 2B examiners carry over their identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two; carry over their conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two on the considerations discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.05(a)-(c), (e), (f) and (h); re-evaluate any additional element or combination of elements that was considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity per MPEP § 2106.05(g), because if such re-evaluation finds that the element is unconventional or otherwise more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, this finding may indicate that the additional element is no longer considered to be insignificant; and evaluate whether any additional element or combination of elements are other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, or simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, per MPEP § 2106.05(d). The additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The additional elements generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Individually, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Here, the additional elements simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry. A factual determination is required to support a conclusion that an additional element (or combination of additional elements) is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Here, the specification of the application indicates that additional elements are well-known or conventional (See Spec. page 1 lines 14-16 and 32-33, page 4 line 20 to page 8 line 13). There is nothing in the specification to indicate that the operations recited in the claims require any specialized hardware or inventive computer components or that the claimed invention is implemented using other than generic computer components to perform generic computer functions. The ordered combination recites no more than the individual elements do. Thus, the additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above without significantly more. The claims are not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Dependent Claims
Claim 22 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes transaction code processing and generation based on selected product/order and payment method, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. page 1 lines 14-16 and 32-33, page 4 line 20 to page 8 line 13). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
determining whether the encrypted two-dimensional code is correct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0380493 A1 (“Morales”).
Claim 21:
Morales discloses:
selecting an order and/or products on the first electronic device; (0082-0083, 0086, 0088-0090, 0101)
selecting a payment method on the first electronic device; (0080, 0084, 0086, 0089-0090)
generating, on the basis of a processed payment, a first printed encrypted two-dimensional code comprising the selections of the first device; and (0050, 0082-0083, 0089-0090, 0102-0105)
reading the first printed encrypted two-dimensional code on the second electronic device. (0009, 0058, 0067, 0089-0090, 0106-0107)
Claim 22:
Morales discloses all limitations of claim 21. Morales further discloses:
determining whether the encrypted two-dimensional code is correct. (0008-0009, 0050,0089- 0090, 0108-0110)
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2012/0151293 A1 (“Beals”) discloses: One embodiment described herein may take the form of a system or method for generating and/or receiving a plurality of sequenced matrix codes, such as QR codes, containing information such that the matrix codes may be decoded and analyzed in sequence to retrieve the stored information. In one embodiment, sequencing information may be embedded in one or more of the plurality of sequenced matrix codes to aid in receiving and decoding the codes in the proper and intended order. This sequencing information may be retrieved and maintained by a reader device to ensure that each matrix code in the sequence is received. Further, the plurality of sequenced matrix codes may be provided through a series of images, such as a video component of a multimedia presentation that may be received by the reader device.
US 2014/0282923 A1 (“Narayan”) discloses: A method provides device access security via use of periodically changing Quick Response (QR) codes. The method includes: generating a first authentication QR code and assigning the generated QR code as the current authentication mechanism for accessing the device. Contemporaneously with the generation of the QR code, at least one QR code validity parameter is established to define when access to the device can be provided to a second device that provides the correct authentication QR code along with the access request. The method includes, in response to a pre-defined trigger of the QR code validity parameter: generating a new authentication QR code, different from a previously generated authentication QR code; assigning the new authentication QR code as the current authentication mechanism for accessing the device; and enabling access to the first device to only second devices that provide the current authentication QR code as the authentication mechanism.
/ARI SHAHABI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697