DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 10 states “pressure at least 50 MPa” should state “pressure is at least 50 MPa” and claim 12 states “is comprised of a only” which should state “is comprised of . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al (2015/0258352).
Regarding claim 1, Lin et al disclose a method of delivering histotripsy therapy to a target tissue, comprising:
positioning a focus of an ultrasound therapy transducer at a focal location in the target tissue (a multi-element dual-frequency transducer array can be used to generate parametric Histotripsy pulses – [0007]); and
delivering histotripsy waveform to the focal location to generate a bubble cloud at the focal location (dense bubble clouds (and resulting lesions) can be generated – [0007]), wherein the histotripsy waveform comprises a leading peak positive half-cycle (P+), followed by a peak negative half-cycle (P-), and further followed by a trailing positive half-cycle (P2) (the waveform comprising a half-cycle high peak positive phase preceding and following peak negative half cycles – [0061];[0102]), and wherein a ratio between the leading peak positive half-cycle (P+) and the negative half-cycle (P-) is maximized for a given peak negative half-cycle (the ratio of half cycle P+ to half cycle P- for peak negative pressure decreases slightly (i.e., maximized) – fig.17a, [0116]), and wherein the peak positive half-cycle is delivered to the focal location prior to the peak negative half-cycle (the half cycle high peak positive phase precedes the peak negative half cycle of the waveform transmitted to the tissue – [0061];[0102]).
Regarding claim 2, Lin et al disclose wherein the histotripsy waveform is therapeutic (system for performing Histotripsy therapy – abstract; [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Lin et al disclose wherein the peak negative pressure is at least 15 MPa (the P- pressure is typically 26-30 MPa – [0006]).
Regarding claim 4, Lin et al disclose wherein the peak negative pressure is at least 20 MPa (the P- pressure is typically 26-30 MPa – [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Lin et al disclose wherein the peak negative pressure is at least 25 MPa (the P- pressure is typically 26-30 MPa – [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, Lin et al disclose wherein the ratio of the leading peak positive half-cycle to the peak negative half-cycle is at least 4:1 (the ratio of the half cycle P+ to half cycle P- for peak negative pressure is 6:1 – [0116]; fig. 17c).
Regarding claim 7, Lin et al disclose wherein the ratio of the leading peak positive half-cycle to the peak negative half-cycle is at least 5:1 (the ratio of the half cycle P+ to half cycle P- for peak negative pressure is 6:1 – [0116]; fig. 17c).
Regarding claim 8, Lin et al disclose wherein the ratio of the leading peak positive half-cycle to the peak negative half-cycle is at least 6:1 (the ratio of the half cycle P+ to half cycle P- for peak negative pressure is 6:1 – [0116]; fig. 17c).
Regarding claim 10, Lin et al disclose wherein the leading peak positive pressure is at least 50 MPa (P+ ranging from 30 to 50 MPa – [0118]).
Regarding claim 11, Lin et al disclose wherein the histotripsy waveform comprises a single peak negative half-cycle (a single bubble generated from a peak negative half cycle – [0051]).
Regarding claim 12, Lin et al disclose wherein the histotripsy waveform is comprised of a only the leading peak positive half-cycle, the peak negative half-cycle, and the secondary positive half-cycle (each frequency component of the transducer can be capable of generating pulses with only one high amplitude negative half-cycle with the preceding and following peak positive phases – [0008];[0061];[0102]).
Regarding claim 13, Lin et al disclose wherein the histotripsy waveform is a shock scattering waveform (the histotripsy waveform is a shock-scattering mechanism – [0061]).
Regarding claim 14, Lin et al disclose a histotripsy therapy system, comprising:
a therapy transducer array comprising a plurality of transducer elements (a multi-element dual-frequency transducer array can be used to generate parametric Histotripsy pulses – [0007]);
driving electronics configured to produce a histotripsy waveform (an electronic controller coupled to the pulse generator and the ultrasound therapy transducer – [0032]); and
an electronic controller configured to control delivery of the histotripsy waveform to the therapy transducer array to generate a bubble cloud in tissue (the electronic controller controls transmission of histotripsy ultrasound pulses – [0032]);
the electronic controller, therapy transducer, and driving electronics being configured to produce the histotripsy waveform to include a leading peak positive half-cycle (P+), followed by a peak negative half-cycle (P-), and further followed by a trailing positive half-cycle (P2) (the waveform comprising a half-cycle high peak positive phase preceding and following peak negative half cycles – [0061];[0102]), and wherein a ratio between the secondary positive half-cycle (P2) and the peak negative half-cycle (P-) is at or below a pressure ratio optimization threshold (the low frequency ultrasound pulse has a peak pressure below an intrinsic threshold; the ratio of P- and P+ values are minimal – [0121];[0128]; fig.17).
Regarding claim 15, Lin et al disclose wherein the ratio of the leading peak positive half-cycle to the peak negative half-cycle is at least 4:1 (the ratio of the half cycle P+ to half cycle P- for peak negative pressure is 6:1 – [0116]; fig. 17c).
Regarding claim 16, Lin et al disclose wherein the ratio of the leading peak positive half-cycle to the peak negative half-cycle is at least 5:1 (the ratio of the half cycle P+ to half cycle P- for peak negative pressure is 6:1 – [0116]; fig. 17c).
Regarding claim 17, Lin et al disclose wherein the ratio of the leading peak positive half-cycle to the peak negative half-cycle is at least 6:1 (the ratio of the half cycle P+ to half cycle P- for peak negative pressure is 6:1 – [0116]; fig. 17c).
Regarding claim 19, Lin et al disclose wherein the leading peak positive half-cycle has a higher amplitude than the trailing positive half-cycle (the positive phases preceding and following the negative phase are “smeared out” positive phases (leading has a higher amplitude) – [0102]).
Regarding claim 20, Lin et al disclose wherein the histotripsy waveform comprises only the leading peak positive half-cycle, the peak negative half-cycle, and the trailing positive half-cycle (the waveform comprising a half-cycle high peak positive phase preceding and following peak negative half cycles – [0061];[0102]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (2015/0258352) in view of Rosenzweig et al (2020/0305842).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Lin et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed, but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the ratio of the leading peak positive half-cycle to the peak negative half-cycle is at least 7:1.
However, Rosenzweig et al teach in the same medical field of endeavor, wherein a ratio of a leading peak positive half-cycle to a peak negative half-cycle is at least 7:1 (the ratio is provided for half of the cycles of the positive peak amplitude to the negative peak amplitude is 10 – [0026];[0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ratio of the leading peak positive half-cycle to a peak negative half-cycle of Lin et al with being at least 7:1 as it would provide greater acoustic power.
Conclusion
/ROCHELLE D TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797