DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itadani (US 20180299015).
Regarding claim 1, Itadani discloses a sliding component Fig. 6 of which a pair of sliding surfaces configured to rotate relative to each other and which partition a sealed fluid space and a leakage space off from each other, wherein at least one of the sliding surfaces is provided with a fluid recovery groove 30 including at least one pressure generation portion that is a circumferential end portion 30b, a curved portion, or a bent portion, and a dynamic pressure generation groove 35 extending from a fluid recovery groove side toward a leakage side.
Regarding claim 2, Itadani discloses wherein the dynamic pressure generation groove 35 communicates with the fluid recovery groove 30.
Regarding claim 4, Itadani discloses wherein the fluid recovery groove 30 includes a first groove portion 30a extending in a circumferential direction, a second groove portion 30c extending from the first groove portion in a radial direction, and a third groove portion 30b extending from the second groove portion to a side opposite to the first groove portion in the circumferential direction, the pressure generation portion is located at a downstream end portion of the third groove portion, and the dynamic pressure generation groove 35 is provided in communication with the third groove portion.
Regarding claim 5, Itadani discloses wherein the first groove portion 30a is located on a leakage space side with respect to the third groove portion 30b, and the dynamic pressure generation groove 35 overlaps, in the radial direction, the first groove portion 30a of the fluid recovery groove 30 adjacent to the fluid recovery groove, with which the dynamic pressure generation groove communicates, on a downstream side in the relative rotation, and overlaps the second groove portion 30c in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 6, Itadani discloses wherein an upstream end of the first groove portion 30a of the fluid recovery groove 30 and a bent portion 30c between the first groove portion and the second groove portion of the adjacent fluid recovery groove on an upstream side in the relative rotation overlap each other in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 7, Itadani discloses wherein the adjacent first groove portions 30a are aligned on one circle line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itadani.
Regarding claim 3, Itadani discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose a duplicate dynamic pressure generation groove. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to provide additional pressure outlets and since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
Conclusion
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675