DETAILED ACTION
Examiner cites particular columns or paragraphs, and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
In reply to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 6/3/2026, the applicant has filed a response on 8/20/2026 amending claims 1, 5-9 and 17. Claims 2-4 and 18 have been cancelled. Claims 21-24 have been added. Claims 1, 5-17 and 19-24 are pending in this application.
Previous claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments filed on 8/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 13-16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2018/0373482), in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2011/0096099).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display apparatus (see display device 100 including display unit 110 in Figs. 1-6) comprising:
a plurality of display blocks each including a plurality of light-emitting elements (see e.g. display modules 111-114 in Fig. 5 including “LED elements as pixels”, and “may also include at least one among a liquid crystal display panel, a thin film transistor-liquid crystal display panel, an organic light-emitting diode panel, a flexible display panel, and a three-dimensional display panel”; para[0038]-para[0039]), the plurality of display blocks including a first display block and a second display block (see e.g. display modules 111 and 112 in Fig. 5 each including “LED elements as pixels”; para[0039]);
a temperature sensor provided for each of the display blocks, the temperature sensor being configured to generate a first signal related to an ambient temperature (see temperature sensor 10 in Figs. 4-5 to measure temperature at display modules 111-114, clearly affected and related to ambient temperature, and to generate corresponding signal(s); para[0005]; para[0042]-para[0043]; para[0045]), a plurality of the temperature sensors including a first temperature sensor provided in the first display block and a second temperature sensor provided in the second display block (see temperature sensor 10 includes sensors 11-14 to measure temperature at display modules 111-114, as shown in Fig. 5; see e.g. temperature sensor 11 provided in display module 111, and temperature sensor 12 provided in display module 112; para[0042]-para[0043]; para[0045]); and
[[a]] control circuitry configured to control the light-emitting elements on a basis of the first signal[[.]] (see control unit 130 in Figs. 3-4 “can… adjust the brightness of the display unit 110 by comparing the temperature of the display unit 110 with the reference temperature” together with the LEDs circuits; see also Fig. 9; para[0029]; para[0039]; para[0061]-para[0062]), the control circuitry including drive circuit provided in the first display block and the second display block (see panel driver 121 in Fig. 5(b); “panel driver 121 may be disposed behind the display modules 111 to 114 and be electrically connected to the control unit 130”; para[0040]), wherein
the drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the first display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the first temperature sensor (“panel driver 121 may be disposed behind the display modules 111 to 114 and be electrically connected to the control unit 130”, and “can thus drive the display modules 111 to 114”; “the controller 139 can control the brightness of the plurality of display units 110 by controlling the panel driver 121 (see FIG. 5)”, including brightness of display module 111 based on signal from temperature sensor 11, clearly adjusting current to be supplied to the LEDs; para[0029]; para[0040]; para[0046]; para[0061]-para[0062]; para[0069]), and
the drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the second display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the second temperature sensor (“panel driver 121 may be disposed behind the display modules 111 to 114 and be electrically connected to the control unit 130”, and “can thus drive the display modules 111 to 114”; “the controller 139 can control the brightness of the plurality of display units 110 by controlling the panel driver 121 (see FIG. 5)”, including brightness of display module 112 based on signal from temperature sensor 12, clearly adjusting current to be supplied to the LEDs; para[0029]; para[0040]; para[0046]; para[0061]-para[0062]; para[0069]).
However, Park does not appear to expressly disclose the control circuitry including a first drive circuit provided in the first display block and a second drive circuit provided in the second display block, wherein the first drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the first display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the first temperature sensor, and the second drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the second display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the second temperature sensor.
Yamamoto discloses a first drive circuit provided in a first display block and a second drive circuit provided in a second display block (regarding Figs. 1-3, see “drive units 101 to 115 for controlling 120… LEDs 22” of a liquid crystal panel; para[0051]), the first drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to light-emitting elements of the first display block on a basis of first signal generated by a first temperature sensor (see e.g. drive unit 101 in Figs. 3-4; “each… drive unit includes… a temperature detector for detecting an ambient temperature”, and “the amount of current flowing in the white LEDs 22 is adjusted” for “controlling the luminance of all white LEDs 22…, based on… the quantities of light and ambient temperatures of the white LEDs 22” independently; para[0046]-para[0047]; para[0055]; para[0072]; for clarification, see also para[0051] and para[0053]; “The backlight 13 includes 15 backlight drive units 101 to 115 for controlling 120 white LEDs 22”, and “backlight drive control portion 14 sequentially transmits luminance data signals Ds to the backlight drive units 101 to 115 in order to control the luminance of the white LEDs 22 included in the backlight drive units”), and the second drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to light-emitting elements of the second display block on a basis of first signal generated by a second temperature sensor (see e.g. drive unit 102 in Figs. 3-4; “each… drive unit includes… a temperature detector for detecting an ambient temperature”, and “the amount of current flowing in the white LEDs 22 is adjusted” for “controlling the luminance of all white LEDs 22…, based on… the quantities of light and ambient temperatures of the white LEDs 22” independently; para[0046]-para[0047]; para[0055]; para[0072]; for clarification, see also para[0051] and para[0053]; “The backlight 13 includes 15 backlight drive units 101 to 115 for controlling 120 white LEDs 22”, and “backlight drive control portion 14 sequentially transmits luminance data signals Ds to the backlight drive units 101 to 115 in order to control the luminance of the white LEDs 22 included in the backlight drive units”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Park’s invention, with the teachings in Yamamoto’s invention, to have the control circuitry including a first drive circuit provided in the first display block and a second drive circuit provided in the second display block, the first drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the first display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the first temperature sensor, and the second drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the second display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the second temperature sensor, for the advantage of independently controlling luminance of light-emitting elements (para[0047]; para[0091]), and because it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179).
Regarding claim 5, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Yamamoto discloses the first drive circuit includes the first temperature sensor (see in Fig. 4 drive unit 101 includes temperature detector 212), and the second drive circuit includes the second temperature sensor (see in Fig. 4 drive unit 102 includes temperature detector 222).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the first drive circuit includes the first temperature sensor, and the second drive circuit includes the second temperature sensor, as also taught by Yamamoto, for the advantage of independently measuring and controlling luminance of light-emitting elements (para[0047]; para[0091]).
Regarding claim 6, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Park discloses the control circuitry is configured to execute a control to decrease a current to be supplied to the light-emitting elements depending on a temperature indicated by the first signal (regarding Figs. 4-9, “When the temperature of the display unit 110 belongs to the second temperature interval, the display unit 110 may have relatively high probability of overheating”, “the controller 139 can set the target brightness corresponding to the temperature of the display unit 110” and “The controller 139 can then adjust the brightness of the display unit 110 to be equal to or lower than the target brightness”, clearly decreasing current to be supplied to the LEDs; para[0009]; para[0039]; para[0058]-para[0061]).
Regarding claim 7, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Park discloses comprising a memory configured to store first data related to a current to be supplied to the light-emitting
elements in a case of a first temperature and second data related to a current to be
supplied to the light-emitting elements in a case of a second temperature different from the first temperature (regarding Figs. 4-9, “a temperature-brightness table (see FIG. 7) may be stored in the storage part 137”, the temperature-brightness table clearly related to current to be supplied to the LEDs; “The storage part 137 corresponds to a memory in which data is stored”; “The temperature can be divided into a first temperature range and a second temperature range” related to corresponding brightness/current values; para[0036]; para[0050]; para[0052]; para[0055]; para[0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 7). In addition, Park discloses the control circuitry is configured to control the light-emitting elements on a basis of the first data or the
second data selected on a basis of the first signal (regarding Figs. 4-9, e.g. “When the temperature of the display unit 110 belongs to the second temperature interval, the display unit 110 may have relatively high probability of overheating”, “the controller 139 can set the target brightness corresponding to the temperature of the display unit 110” and “The controller 139 can then adjust the brightness of the display unit 110 to be equal to or lower than the target brightness”, clearly decreasing current to be supplied to the LEDs; para[0009]; para[0039]; para[0058]-para[0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Park discloses a plurality of first support members each including the plurality of display blocks arrayed in a second direction intersecting a first direction (regarding Figs. 3 and 5, see each “display unit 110 may include plural display modules 111 to 114 and a support plate 120”; see e.g. display modules 111 and 113 arrayed in a vertical direction intersecting a horizontal direction; para[0038]).
Regarding claim 14, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 13). In addition, Park discloses a second support member including the plurality of first support members arranged continuously in the first direction (regarding Figs. 1-3 and 5, see e.g. display device 100 can be installed on an electronic signboard in a stadium, on the roof of a building, etc. (claimed second support member), may include display units 110, and each “display unit 110 may include plural display modules 111 to 114 and a support plate 120” (claimed first support members) arranged continuously e.g. in the horizontal direction; para[0024]-para[0026]; para[0038]).
Regarding claim 15, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Park discloses each of the plurality of display blocks has a rectangular shape (see e.g. display modules 111-114 in Fig. 5 have a rectangular shape).
Regarding claim 16, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Park discloses each of the light-emitting elements comprises a light emitting diode (see e.g. display modules 111-114 in Fig. 5 including “LED elements as pixels”; para[0038]-para[0039]).
Regarding claim 21, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 8). In addition, Park discloses the control circuitry is configured to compare a temperature indicated by the first signal with a threshold and to select the first data or the second data on a basis of a result of the comparison, the threshold in a case where the temperature increases being different from the threshold in a case where the temperature decreases (since “The temperature can be divided into a first temperature range and a second temperature range”, different from each other, related to corresponding brightness/current values, regarding Figs. 4-9, e.g. “When the temperature of the display unit 110 belongs to the second temperature interval, the display unit 110 may have relatively high probability of overheating” (increased temperature), “the controller 139 can set the target brightness corresponding to the temperature of the display unit 110” and “The controller 139 can then adjust the brightness of the display unit 110 to be equal to or lower than the target brightness”, clearly decreasing current to be supplied to the LEDs; on the other hand, “When the temperature of the display unit 110 belongs to the first temperature range, the display unit 110 may have relatively low probability of overheating” (decreased temperature); para[0009]; para[0036]; para[0039]; para[0050]; para[0052]; para[0055]; para[0057]-para[0061]).
Claim(s) 9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2018/0373482), in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2011/0096099), and further in view of Yokoi et al. (US 2022/0197582).
Regarding claim 9, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Park discloses the first display block and the second display block are arranged adjacent to each other in the first direction (see the display module 111 and the display module 112 are arranged adjacent to each other in the horizontal direction, as shown in Fig. 5).
In addition, Yamamoto discloses the light-emitting elements provided to be arrayed in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction (referring to Fig. 2, see LEDs 22 in each group driven by a drive unit 101, are arranged in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the light-emitting elements of the first display block and the light-emitting elements of the second display block are provided to be arrayed in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction, for the advantage of more uniform illumination (para[0003]).
However, Park and Yamamoto do not appear to expressly disclose the first display block and the second display block are shifted from each other by a predetermined amount in the second direction.
Yokoi discloses a first display block and a second display block are shifted from each other by a predetermined amount in the second direction (see in Fig. 3 display 12 and display 13 are shifted from each other by a certain amount in a vertical direction; para[0057]-para[0059]; para[0061]; para[0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Park’s and Yamamoto’s combination, with the teachings in Yokoi’s invention, to have the first display block and the second display block are shifted from each other by a predetermined amount in the second direction as a result of avoiding gaps between display plates in the first direction when the displays are used to be reflected on a curved reflecting mirror (para[0061]; para[0067]).
Regarding claim 11, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). However, Park and Yamamoto do not appear to expressly disclose the plurality of display blocks is arranged along a reflective member that reflects light from the light-emitting elements.
Yokoi discloses a plurality of display blocks arranged along a reflective member that reflects light from light-emitting elements (regarding Figs. 1-4, see irradiator 2 including organic electroluminescence (EL) displays 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 arranged along reflecting mirror 3; “the display light DL forming each of display images DG1, DG2, DG3, DG4, DG5 displayed on the organic EL displays 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 is reflected on the reflecting mirror 3”; para[0057]-para[0058]; para[0067]; para[0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Park’s and Yamamoto’s invention, with the teachings in Yokoi’s invention, to have the plurality of display blocks is arranged along a reflective member that reflects light from the light-emitting elements, for the advantage of reflecting display light emitted from each of the plurality of display units/blocks for use as an in-vehicle display device (para[0003]; para[0050]).
Regarding claim 12, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). However, Park and Yamamoto do not appear to expressly disclose the plurality of display blocks is arranged along a curved surface of a windshield which is a reflective member that reflects light from the light-emitting elements.
Yokoi discloses a plurality of display blocks is arranged along a curved surface of a windshield which is a reflective member that reflects light from light-emitting elements (regarding e.g. Figs. 8-9 and 13-14, “irradiator 103 includes a plurality of (as an example, five) display units 106”, and “The display device 101… may be configured to project a virtual image not onto the reflector 104 below the meter hood 150 but, for example, onto a front windshield”, e.g., curved windshield 151; para[0088]; para[0091]; para[0097]; para[0388]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Park’s and Yamamoto’s invention, with the teachings in Yokoi’s invention, to have the plurality of display blocks is arranged along a curved surface of a windshield which is a reflective member that reflects light from the light-emitting elements, for the advantage of a feasible alternative for reflecting display light emitted from each of the plurality of display units/blocks for use as an in-vehicle display device (para[0003]; para[0050]; para[0388]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2018/0373482), in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2011/0096099) and Yokoi et al. (US 2022/0197582), and further in view of Nakamura et al. (US 2017/0069664).
Regarding claim 10, Park, Yamamoto and Yokoi disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 9). In addition, Park discloses the first display block and the second display block include a plurality of pixels each including the light-emitting elements (regarding Fig. 5, “the display modules 111 to 114 can display an image and may include, for example, a panel constituted of LED elements as pixels”; para[0039]).
However, Park, Yamamoto and Yokoi do not appear to expressly disclose the first display block and the second display block are shifted from each other in the second direction in units of one pixel or in units of a plurality of pixels.
Nakamura discloses a first display block and a second display block are shifted from each other in a second direction in units of one pixel or in units of a plurality of pixels (“In FIG. 25C, the display panels 100b and 100d are shifted from the display panels 100a and 100c in the positive Y direction by the width W.sub.1 of the region 110”, clearly by a plurality of pixels; para[0295]-para[0297]; for clarification, see para[0283], para[0289] and plurality of pixels e.g. in a region P4 in Figs. 9A-9B as in regions of Figs. 24A-24C and 25A-25C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Park’s, Yamamoto’s and Yokoi’s combination, with the teachings in Nakamura’s invention, to have the first display block and the second display block are shifted from each other in the second direction in units of one pixel or in units of a plurality of pixels, for the advantage of being able to use dummy pixels, such that even when two display panels are misaligned in the direction they are moved away from each other, a non-display region can be prevented from being formed between display regions of two overlapping display panels in the display device (para[0100]).
Claim(s) 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. (US 2021/0132377), in view of Park et al. (US 2018/0373482).
Regarding claim 17, Rao discloses a display system (see display system in Figs. 2A-2B) comprising:
a display apparatus (see display apparatus comprising a plurality of display units 207, as shown in Fig. 2B); and
a reflective member that reflects light from the display apparatus (see in Figs. 2A-2B windshield 206 which “serves as a display surface”; para[0024]),
the display apparatus including
a plurality of display blocks each including a plurality of light-emitting elements, the plurality of display blocks including a first display block and a second display block (see plurality of display units 207, as shown in Figs. 2A-2B, each comprising a display 208 comprising a matrix of light sources (e.g., light-emitting diodes), and including a first display unit 207 and a second display unit 207; para[0024]-para[0025]), and
[[a]] control circuitry configured to control the light-emitting elements (see display controller 214 in Fig. 2A; para[0024]-para[0025]).
However, Rao does not appear to expressly disclose a temperature sensor provided for each of the display blocks, the temperature sensor being configured to generate a first signal related to an ambient temperature, a plurality of the temperature sensors including a first temperature sensor provided in the first display block and a second temperature sensor provided in the second display block, and the control circuitry configured to control the light-emitting elements on a basis of the first signal[[.]], the control circuitry including a first drive circuit provided in the first display block and a second drive circuit provided in the second display block, wherein the first drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the first display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the first temperature sensor, and the second drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the second display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the second temperature sensor.
Park discloses a temperature sensor provided for each of a plurality of display blocks, the temperature sensor being configured to generate a first signal related to an ambient temperature (see temperature sensor 10 in Figs. 4-5 to measure temperature at display modules 111-114, clearly affected and related to ambient temperature, and to generate corresponding signal(s); para[0042]-para[0043]; para[0045]), a plurality of the temperature sensors including a first temperature sensor provided in the first display block and a second temperature sensor provided in the second display block (see temperature sensor 10 includes sensors 11-14 to measure temperature at display modules 111-114, as shown in Fig. 5; see e.g. temperature sensor 11 provided in display module 111, and temperature sensor 12 provided in display module 112; para[0042]-para[0043]; para[0045]), and a control circuitry configured to control light-emitting elements on a basis of the first signal (see control unit 130 in Figs. 3-4 “can… adjust the brightness of the display unit 110 by comparing the temperature of the display unit 110 with the reference temperature” together with the LEDs circuits; see also Fig. 9; para[0029]; para[0039]; para[0061]-para[0062]), the control circuitry including drive circuit provided in the first display block and the second display block (see panel driver 121 in Fig. 5(b); “panel driver 121 may be disposed behind the display modules 111 to 114 and be electrically connected to the control unit 130”; para[0040]), wherein
the drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the first display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the first temperature sensor (“panel driver 121 may be disposed behind the display modules 111 to 114 and be electrically connected to the control unit 130”, and “can thus drive the display modules 111 to 114”; “the controller 139 can control the brightness of the plurality of display units 110 by controlling the panel driver 121 (see FIG. 5)”, including brightness of display module 111 based on signal from temperature sensor 11, clearly adjusting current to be supplied to the LEDs; para[0029]; para[0040]; para[0046]; para[0061]-para[0062]; para[0069]), and
the drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the second display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the second temperature sensor (“panel driver 121 may be disposed behind the display modules 111 to 114 and be electrically connected to the control unit 130”, and “can thus drive the display modules 111 to 114”; “the controller 139 can control the brightness of the plurality of display units 110 by controlling the panel driver 121 (see FIG. 5)”, including brightness of display module 112 based on signal from temperature sensor 12, clearly adjusting current to be supplied to the LEDs; para[0029]; para[0040]; para[0046]; para[0061]-para[0062]; para[0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Rao’s invention, with the teachings in Park’s invention, to have a temperature sensor provided for each of the display blocks, the temperature sensor being configured to generate a first signal related to an ambient temperature, a plurality of the temperature sensors including a first temperature sensor provided in the first display block and a second temperature sensor provided in the second display block, and the control circuitry configured to control the light-emitting elements on a basis of the first signal, the control circuitry including a drive circuit provided in the first display block and the second display block, wherein the drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the first display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the first temperature sensor, and the drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the second display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the second temperature sensor, for the advantage of providing a multi display device which can lower overall temperature of a display panel by lowering luminance of display units/blocks (para[0009]).
However, Rao and Park do not appear to expressly disclose the control circuitry including a first drive circuit provided in the first display block and a second drive circuit provided in the second display block, wherein the first drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the first display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the first temperature sensor, and the second drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the second display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the second temperature sensor.
Yamamoto discloses a first drive circuit provided in a first display block and a second drive circuit provided in a second display block (regarding Figs. 1-3, see “drive units 101 to 115 for controlling 120… LEDs 22” of a liquid crystal panel; para[0051]), the first drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to light-emitting elements of the first display block on a basis of first signal generated by a first temperature sensor (see e.g. drive unit 101 in Figs. 3-4; “each… drive unit includes… a temperature detector for detecting an ambient temperature”, and “the amount of current flowing in the white LEDs 22 is adjusted” for “controlling the luminance of all white LEDs 22…, based on… the quantities of light and ambient temperatures of the white LEDs 22” independently; para[0046]-para[0047]; para[0055]; para[0072]; for clarification, see also para[0051] and para[0053]; “The backlight 13 includes 15 backlight drive units 101 to 115 for controlling 120 white LEDs 22”, and “backlight drive control portion 14 sequentially transmits luminance data signals Ds to the backlight drive units 101 to 115 in order to control the luminance of the white LEDs 22 included in the backlight drive units”), and the second drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to light-emitting elements of the second display block on a basis of first signal generated by a second temperature sensor (see e.g. drive unit 102 in Figs. 3-4; “each… drive unit includes… a temperature detector for detecting an ambient temperature”, and “the amount of current flowing in the white LEDs 22 is adjusted” for “controlling the luminance of all white LEDs 22…, based on… the quantities of light and ambient temperatures of the white LEDs 22” independently; para[0046]-para[0047]; para[0055]; para[0072]; for clarification, see also para[0051] and para[0053]; “The backlight 13 includes 15 backlight drive units 101 to 115 for controlling 120 white LEDs 22”, and “backlight drive control portion 14 sequentially transmits luminance data signals Ds to the backlight drive units 101 to 115 in order to control the luminance of the white LEDs 22 included in the backlight drive units”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Rao’s and Park’s combination, with the teachings in Yamamoto’s invention, to have the control circuitry including a first drive circuit provided in the first display block and a second drive circuit provided in the second display block, the first drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the first display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the first temperature sensor, and the second drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of the second display block on a basis of the first signal generated by the second temperature sensor, for the advantage of independently controlling luminance of light-emitting elements (para[0047]; para[0091]), and because it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179).
Regarding claim 19, Rao, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 17). In addition, Rao discloses the reflective member comprises a windshield of a vehicle, and the plurality of display blocks is arranged along a curved surface of the windshield (see in Figs. 2A-2B windshield 206 “(e.g., a curved windshield)” which “serves as a display surface”, and the “plurality of display units 207 are distributed across the windshield 206”; para[0021]; para[0024]-para[0025]).
Regarding claim 20, Rao, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 17). In addition, Rao discloses the reflective member comprises a windshield of a vehicle, and the display apparatus is provided on a dashboard or in the dashboard of the vehicle from one side to the other side of the windshield (see in Figs. 2A-2B windshield 206 “(e.g., a curved windshield)” which “serves as a display surface”, and the “plurality of display units 207 are distributed across the windshield 206” clearly in the dashboard of the vehicle from one side to the other side of the windshield 206; para[0021]; para[0024]-para[0025]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2018/0373482), in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2011/0096099), and further in view of Nawata et al. (US 2021/0043151).
Regarding claim 22, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). However, Park and Yamamoto do not appear to expressly disclose the control circuitry is configured to decrease a luminance of a first image while maintaining a luminance of a second image on a basis of the first signal, the first image and the second image being displayed by the light-emitting elements, and the second image having a higher priority than the first image.
Nawata discloses a control circuitry configured to decrease a luminance of a first image while maintaining a luminance of a second image on a basis of the first signal, the first image and the second image being displayed by the light-emitting elements, and the second image having a higher priority than the first image (see Figs. 2-3 and 6A-7; LED control unit 54 changes the luminance of the LEDs 32; ““second image pattern or second image” means information having a higher degree of importance than the “first image pattern or first image””; “the display device 1 may perform different luminance control… depending on the degree of importance of the image”; “the display device 1… changes the luminance of the LED 32 of a normal image pattern etc. (having a low degree of importance)”, as shown in Figs. 6A and 6B; para[0060]-para[0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Park’s and Yamamoto’s combination, with the teachings in Nawata’s invention, to have the control circuitry is configured to decrease a luminance of a first image while maintaining a luminance of a second image on a basis of the first signal, the first image and the second image being displayed by the light-emitting elements, and the second image having a higher priority than the first image, for the advantage of allowing a user to more accurately notice information having a high degree of importance such as a warning (para[0059]).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2018/0373482), in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2011/0096099), and further in view of Tao et al. (CN 111630584), machine translation provided by the examiner and referenced throughout the rejection.
Regarding claim 23, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). However, Park and Yamamoto do not appear to expressly disclose an area occupied by the light-emitting elements in a region corresponding to one pixel of an image displayed by the display apparatus is 20% or more and 30% or less with respect to an area of the region.
Tao discloses an area occupied by light-emitting elements in a region corresponding to one pixel of an image displayed by a display apparatus is 20% or more and 30% or less with respect to an area of the region (regarding transparent display device in Figs 10-11, “the area occupied by the light emitting portion 20 and the IC chip 50 in each pixel (in one pixel region) is preferably 30 % equal to the area of one pixel”, and accordingly, 20% or more and 30% or less with respect to an area of a region corresponding to one pixel of an image displayed, as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Park’s and Yamamoto’s combination, with the teachings in Tao’s invention, to have an area occupied by the light-emitting elements in a region corresponding to one pixel of an image displayed by the display apparatus is 20% or more and 30% or less with respect to an area of the region, for the advantage ensuring proper display capability (1st paragraph in Contents of the Invention).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2018/0373482), in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2011/0096099), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 10,101,958).
Regarding claim 24, Park and Yamamoto disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). However, Park and Yamamoto do not appear to expressly disclose a frame to which the plurality of display blocks is attached, the frame including a protrusion in contact with the first drive circuit.
Kim discloses a frame to which a plurality of display blocks is attached, the frame including a protrusion in contact with a first drive circuit (“a plurality of guide protrusions inserted at predetermined locations of the panel support frame, each of the plurality of guide protrusions including an insertion groove open to receive a guide member configured to connect the display device with another display device; a driving circuit arranged at one side of the panel support frame; a cover shield covering the driving circuit at the side of the panel support frame”; “Referring to FIGS. 2 to 6, the display device according to one embodiment of the present disclosure includes a display panel 100, a panel support frame 200, a driving circuit 300, a protective film 450, a plurality of guide protrusions 500, a cover shield 400, a side cover film 900, and a backlight unit 600 ; “FIG. 8 is a brief view illustrating a multi display device according to the first embodiment of the present disclosure”; see Abstract; column 2, lines 37-44; column 4, lines 23-28; column 11, lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Park’s and Yamamoto’s combination, with the teachings in Kim’s invention, to have a frame to which the plurality of display blocks is attached, the frame including a protrusion in contact with the first drive circuit, for the advantage providing a multi display device provided with guide protrusions, which may reduce a bezel area and improve assembly accuracy of a cover shield (column 2, lines 17-21).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues on pages 8-9 of the remarks that “Park
does not describe a first drive circuit that controls supply of a current to the light-emitting
elements of a first display block on a basis of the first signal generated by a first temperature sensor provided in that first display block, together with a second drive circuit that controls supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of a second display block on a basis of the first signal generated by a second temperature sensor provided in that second display block”. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In addition, regarding claim 1, the applicant argues on page 10 of the remarks that “Yamamoto therefore does not describe a first drive circuit configured to control supply of a current to the light-emitting elements of a first display block on a basis of the
first signal generated by a first temperature sensor”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the above rejection, Yamamoto discloses a first drive circuit provided in a first display block and a second drive circuit provided in a second display block (regarding Figs. 1-3, see “drive units 101 to 115 for controlling 120… LEDs 22” of a liquid crystal panel; para[0051]), the first drive circuit is configured to control supply of a current to light-emitting elements of the first display block on a basis of first signal generated by a first temperature sensor (see e.g. drive unit 101 in Figs. 3-4; “each… drive unit includes… a temperature detector for detecting an ambient temperature”, and “the amount of current flowing in the white LEDs 22 is adjusted” for “controlling the luminance of all white LEDs 22…, based on… the quantities of light and ambient temperatures of the white LEDs 22” independently; para[0046]-para[0047]; para[0055]; para[0072]; for clarification, see also para[0051] and para[0053]; “The backlight 13 includes 15 backlight drive units 101 to 115 for controlling 120 white LEDs 22”, and “backlight drive control portion 14 sequentially transmits luminance data signals Ds to the backlight drive units 101 to 115 in order to control the luminance of the white LEDs 22 included in the backlight drive units”).
Regarding claim 9, the applicant argues on page 11 of the remarks that “Claim 9 requires that the light-emitting elements of the first and second display blocks be arrayed in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction, and that the two display blocks be arranged adjacent to each other in the first direction and shifted from each other by a predetermined amount in the second direction”, and that “The offset in Yokoi is… not a shift of the second display block relative to the first display block in a second direction that intersects the first direction along which the two blocks are arrayed and arranged adjacent to each other”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the above rejection, and based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations, Yokoi discloses a first display block and a second display block are shifted from each other by a predetermined amount in the second direction (see in Fig. 3 display 12 and display 13 are shifted from each other by a certain amount in a vertical direction; para[0057]-para[0059]; para[0061]; para[0072]).
Regarding claim 12, the applicant argues on page 11 of the remarks that “Claim 12 requires the plurality of display blocks to be arranged along a curved surface of a windshield”, and that “The passage of Yokoi relied upon… does not describe arranging the plurality of display units along a curved surface of the windshield”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the above rejection, and based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations, Yokoi discloses a plurality of display blocks is arranged along a curved surface of a windshield which is a reflective member that reflects light from light-emitting elements (regarding e.g. Figs. 8-9 and 13-14, “irradiator 103 includes a plurality of (as an example, five) display units 106”, and “The display device 101… may be configured to project a virtual image not onto the reflector 104 below the meter hood 150 but, for example, onto a front windshield”, e.g., curved windshield 151; para[0088]; para[0091]; para[0097]; para[0388]). It is noted that the applicant is not claiming features in a way that specifically and particularly distinguishes from the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 10, the applicant argues on page 12 of the remarks that “Claim 10 requires that the first and second display blocks be shifted from each other in the second direction in units of one pixel or in units of a plurality of pixels”, and that “Nakamura does not describe that width as one pixel or as a plurality of pixels”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the above rejection, and based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations, Nakamura discloses a first display block and a second display block are shifted from each other in a second direction in units of one pixel or in units of a plurality of pixels (“In FIG. 25C, the display panels 100b and 100d are shifted from the display panels 100a and 100c in the positive Y direction by the width W.sub.1 of the region 110”, clearly by a plurality of pixels; para[0295]-para[0297]; for clarification, see para[0283], para[0289] and plurality of pixels e.g. in a region P4 in Figs. 9A-9B as in regions of Figs. 24A-24C and 25A-25C).
In addition, regarding claim 10, the applicant argues on page 13 of the remarks that “Neither Park nor Yokoi includes a region that transmits visible light or a dummy pixel, so the stated advantage gives no reason to shift the display modules of Park in units of pixels”. In response to applicant's argument, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 20, the applicant argues on pages 13-14 of the remarks that “Claim 20 further requires that the display apparatus be provided on a dashboard or in the dashboard of the vehicle from one side to the other side of the windshield”, and that “The Office Action does not identify a passage of Rao describing the display apparatus as provided on or in the dashboard from one side of the windshield to the other”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the above rejection, Rao discloses the reflective member comprises a windshield of a vehicle, and the display apparatus is provided on a dashboard or in the dashboard of the vehicle from one side to the other side of the windshield (see in Figs. 2A-2B windshield 206 “(e.g., a curved windshield)” which “serves as a display surface”, and the “plurality of display units 207 are distributed across the windshield 206” clearly in the dashboard of the vehicle from one side to the other side of the windshield 206; para[0021]; para[0024]-para[0025]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GLORYVID FIGUEROA-GIBSON/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628