DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “5” has been used to designate both “conveyor belt” and “transport surface” on Page 11, line 32. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the program" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 combines two statutory classes, i.e. method and apparatus, in one claim. The combination of different statutory classes in one claim is improper, correction is required.
Claim 15 is unclear in the way they are written whether they are independent claims or dependent claims. If they are intended to be independent claims, they should include all the limitations of the claims they are referring to, without reference of another claim. If they are dependent, they should include the same preamble as the independent claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wojtowicz (United States Patent US 6,321,586 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Wojtowicz teaches A method for controlling a conveying device for transporting articles, (Column 1, lines 6-11: "The present invention relates generally to a device to automatically measure the static coefficient of friction (SCOF) on a moving conveyor belt and a means to initiate in-process reinstatement of the SCOF, if a reduction below the design range is detected.")said conveying device comprising a conveyor belt provided with a transport surface ,(Figure 1: Conveyor belt 17) a drive motor and a control unit , (Columns 15-16, lines 60-2: "The discussion thus far has referred to the control of motor speed and current without regard to the method(s) used to attain the desired values of each. These can be attained in several ways in the case of the brush-type DC motor alone, and by many additional methods if other motor types are admitted. The present discussion will be confined to the simplest example of open-loop control for a brush-type motor, but it must be understood that the use of more sophisticated control methods do not in any way alter the basis of the measurement.")wherein the method comprises at least the following steps of: carrying out a measurement of a coefficient of roughness of the transport surface ;(Column 13, lines 35-59: "The Friction Measurement Unit is basically composed of a motor driven friction roller 1, which is brought into contact with the lower belt surface, as required to measure the friction condition of the conveyor belt surface. The belt is moving at a velocity "V" (see FIG. 1). The belt is supported by a backup plate 18 which provides a firm, flat reference surface for the flexible belt. The motor drives the roller through an electrically actuated tooth clutch 16 (FIG. 2), which is initially disconnected and therefore allows the roller to free wheel (counter clockwise, see FIG. 1) when first contacting the belt. Free wheeling of the roller continues until the roller accelerates to the surface velocity of the belt. The purpose of the clutch is to disengage the motor armature inertia from the roller inertia during engagement with the conveyor belt, in order to stabilize the rotational movement of the roller and to reduce the acceleration time, just prior to taking the friction measurement. At the instant when the roller velocity matches the belt velocity, the clutch is electrically engaged and the motor is powered in the reverse (clockwise) direction until slip occurs between the belt and the roller. A tachometer 33 (FIG. 2), connected to the end of the friction roller, is used to verify that the friction roller has reached the velocity of the conveyor belt surface. A simple time delay can also be used and, in this instance, reference numeral 33 may represent a timer.")transmission of said measurement to said control unit ;(Column 4, lines 8-13: "The interpretation of equation (4) is that the value of acceleration (a) that the conveyor and mail piece can be exposed to (without relative motion of the mail with respect to the conveyor surface and therefore maintaining synchronism), is equal to static coefficient of friction (SCOF) multiplied by the acceleration of gravity.") generation of instructions for regulation of the speed of the conveyor belt in the form of a speed instruction by the control unit , according to the coefficient of roughness measured; and transmission of said instructions to said conveying device.(Columns 12-13, lines 66-10: "Data is obtained from the Friction Measurement Unit, which is then compared to the established design SCOF range of the conveyor belt in the system. This range used would be typical for a belt transporting TYVEK.RTM. brand packages. The mail processing belts are made from low durometer PVC, and the SCOF design range could be between about 0.55 to about 0.65. FIG. 4 shows a typical SCOF design range, where the top part of the range is coincident with the maximum expected SCOF value of about 0.65. The design value of the SCOF range is established to satisfy the acceleration requirements of the sorting belts that determine machine cycle times").
Regarding Claim 2, Wojtowicz teaches the method for controlling as claimed in claim 1, as seen above. Wojtowicz further teaches "wherein the generation of instructions comprises an additional sub-step of: comparison of the measurement of the coefficient of roughness with one or both of a predetermined minimal coefficient of roughness (Rmin), and a predetermined maximal coefficient of roughness (Rmax); and wherein the control unit generates instructions for regulation of the speed if a difference between the measurement of the coefficient of roughness and the value of one or both of the Rmin and the Rmax is greater than a determined threshold.(Columns 12-13, lines 59-33: ""(1) Both the Measurement and Cleaning Units are initially disconnected, and therefore are not in contact with the conveyor belt.
(2) The Friction Measurement Unit is the first to be automatically activated, at some defined frequency, based on the rate (to be determined) of belt contamination at each facility.
(3) Data is obtained from the Friction Measurement Unit, which is then compared to the established design SCOF range of the conveyor belt in the system. This range used would be typical for a belt transporting TYVEK.RTM. brand packages. The mail processing belts are made from low durometer PVC, and the SCOF design range could be between about 0.55 to about 0.65. FIG. 4 shows a typical SCOF design range, where the top part of the range is coincident with the maximum expected SCOF value of about 0.65. The design value of the SCOF range is established to satisfy the acceleration requirements of the sorting belts that determine machine cycle times.
(4) If the data obtained indicates that the measured SCOF has drifted into the lowest quarter of the range, the cleaning unit is then actuated to remove the accumulated contamination on the belt surface.
(5) During the course of the cleaning cycle, the Friction Measurement Unit is initially disengaged, but is periodically reengaged, during the cleaning cycle in order to continually assess the improving frictional properties of the conveyor belt surface, as contamination is removed. This may occur several times during the course of cleaning.
(6) The Belt Cleaning Unit is disengaged when the Friction Measurement Unit records a value which is in the highest quarter (for example from about 0.63 to about 0.65, see FIG. 4) of the established design range. The relatively large range between 0.55 and 0.65 assures that there would be a reasonable time between measurement and cleaning cycles, and the frequency between cycles would be a minimum.
(7) When the target friction value within the design range is reached, both units are then disconnected, and essentially wait for the next measurement cycle to take place, based on the established frequency mentioned earlier.")
Regarding Claim 3, Wojtowicz teaches the method for controlling as claimed in claim 1, as seen above. Wojtowicz further teaches wherein the control unit generates a speed instruction defined according to a coefficient of proportionality applied to the measurement of the coefficient of roughness.(Column 4, lines 8-14: "The interpretation of equation (4) is that the value of acceleration (a) that the conveyor and mail piece can be exposed to (without relative motion of the mail with respect to the conveyor surface and therefore maintaining synchronism), is equal to static coefficient of friction (SCOF) multiplied by the acceleration of gravity.")
Regarding Claim 4, Wojtowicz teaches the method for controlling as claimed in claim 1, as seen above. Wojtowicz further teaches "wherein the control unit generates instructions in the form of an instruction for the reduction of the speed of the conveyor belt when the measurement of the coefficient of roughness is greater than a predetermined maximal coefficient of roughness (Rmax).(Columns 8-9, lines 46-19: ""The Static Coefficient Of Friction (SCOF) is an important parameter in the design of many machines, since transporting product in some types of machines either at constant velocity, or during acceleration/deceleration sequences, can be completely dependent on maintaining the SCOF at certain predetermined design values. Failure to maintain the predetermined value of SCOF generally results in synchronism loss which in turn leads to decreasing process productivity.
In general, the acceleration/deceleration portions of the production cycle are designed such that the value of the SCOF is not exceeded since when this threshold is crossed, the dynamic coefficient of friction (DCOF) dominates and its value is significantly smaller than the SCOF. The lower DCOF value will increase processing time and reduce accuracy proportionately.
Relationship of the SCOF to the Maximum Usable Acceleration/Deceleration Rate
It can be shown that the value of the SCOF is exactly equal to the acceleration rate available during synchronous conveyor motion. The purpose of verifying this relationship is that it validates the importance of measuring the SCOF as being directly representative of the acceleration rate available from conveyor surfaces. Also. it identifies those parameters which must be measured to obtain the value of the SCOF. These parameters are the friction force and the normal force. The value of Friction Force=SCOF.times.N, can be equated to the Acceleration Force=M.times.A (Newton's second law). Since M=W/g, and also since N=W, the weight parameter cancels out leaving SCOF=A/g. The value of SCOF therefore is a constant, since both A and g have the units of acceleration (in/sec/sec).
Also, rearranging this expression yields: A=g.multidot.(SCOF). which indicates that the available acceleration rate is equal to a constant multiplied by the acceleration of gravity. Essentially, this verifies that the SCOF is directly related to the available acceleration rate. This fact highlights the importance of the invention, since it identifies a convenient parameter which can be measured (SCOF), which is a reflection of the available acceleration rate of the conveyor surface.", wherein if acceleration and deceleration rates are chosen as to maintain the SCOF, in order to reduce a SCOF, a deceleration rate would be increased)"
Regarding Claim 5, Wojtowicz teaches the method for controlling as claimed in claim 1, as seen above. Wojtowicz further teaches "wherein the control unit generates instructions in the form of an instruction for increase of the speed of the conveyor belt when the measurement of the coefficient of roughness is lower than a predetermined minimal coefficient of roughness (Rmin).(Columns 8-9, lines 46-19: ""The Static Coefficient Of Friction (SCOF) is an important parameter in the design of many machines, since transporting product in some types of machines either at constant velocity, or during acceleration/deceleration sequences, can be completely dependent on maintaining the SCOF at certain predetermined design values. Failure to maintain the predetermined value of SCOF generally results in synchronism loss which in turn leads to decreasing process productivity.
In general, the acceleration/deceleration portions of the production cycle are designed such that the value of the SCOF is not exceeded since when this threshold is crossed, the dynamic coefficient of friction (DCOF) dominates and its value is significantly smaller than the SCOF. The lower DCOF value will increase processing time and reduce accuracy proportionately.
Relationship of the SCOF to the Maximum Usable Acceleration/Deceleration Rate
It can be shown that the value of the SCOF is exactly equal to the acceleration rate available during synchronous conveyor motion. The purpose of verifying this relationship is that it validates the importance of measuring the SCOF as being directly representative of the acceleration rate available from conveyor surfaces. Also. it identifies those parameters which must be measured to obtain the value of the SCOF. These parameters are the friction force and the normal force. The value of Friction Force=SCOF.times.N, can be equated to the Acceleration Force=M.times.A (Newton's second law). Since M=W/g, and also since N=W, the weight parameter cancels out leaving SCOF=A/g. The value of SCOF therefore is a constant, since both A and g have the units of acceleration (in/sec/sec).
Also, rearranging this expression yields: A=g.multidot.(SCOF). which indicates that the available acceleration rate is equal to a constant multiplied by the acceleration of gravity. Essentially, this verifies that the SCOF is directly related to the available acceleration rate. This fact highlights the importance of the invention, since it identifies a convenient parameter which can be measured (SCOF), which is a reflection of the available acceleration rate of the conveyor surface.", wherein if acceleration and deceleration rates are chosen as to maintain the SCOF, in order to increase a SCOF, an acceleration rate would be increased)"
Regarding Claim 6, Wojtowicz teaches the method for controlling as claimed in claim 1, as seen above. Wojtowicz further teaches "further comprising an additional step of lubrication of the transport surface of the conveyor belt by at least one lubrication system, the control unit being connected to said at least one lubrication system, and generating lubrication instructions in the form of a lubrication instruction on the basis of the measurement of the coefficient of roughness.(Columns 12-13, lines 59-33: "(1) Both the Measurement and Cleaning Units are initially disconnected, and therefore are not in contact with the conveyor belt.
(2) The Friction Measurement Unit is the first to be automatically activated, at some defined frequency, based on the rate (to be determined) of belt contamination at each facility.
(3) Data is obtained from the Friction Measurement Unit, which is then compared to the established design SCOF range of the conveyor belt in the system. This range used would be typical for a belt transporting TYVEK.RTM. brand packages. The mail processing belts are made from low durometer PVC, and the SCOF design range could be between about 0.55 to about 0.65. FIG. 4 shows a typical SCOF design range, where the top part of the range is coincident with the maximum expected SCOF value of about 0.65. The design value of the SCOF range is established to satisfy the acceleration requirements of the sorting belts that determine machine cycle times.
(4) If the data obtained indicates that the measured SCOF has drifted into the lowest quarter of the range, the cleaning unit is then actuated to remove the accumulated contamination on the belt surface.
(5) During the course of the cleaning cycle, the Friction Measurement Unit is initially disengaged, but is periodically reengaged, during the cleaning cycle in order to continually assess the improving frictional properties of the conveyor belt surface, as contamination is removed. This may occur several times during the course of cleaning.
(6) The Belt Cleaning Unit is disengaged when the Friction Measurement Unit records a value which is in the highest quarter (for example from about 0.63 to about 0.65, see FIG. 4) of the established design range. The relatively large range between 0.55 and 0.65 assures that there would be a reasonable time between measurement and cleaning cycles, and the frequency between cycles would be a minimum.
(7) When the target friction value within the design range is reached, both units are then disconnected, and essentially wait for the next measurement cycle to take place, based on the established frequency mentioned earlier.")
Regarding Claim 7, Wojtowicz teaches the method for controlling as claimed in claim 6, as seen above. Wojtowicz further teaches "wherein the step of generation of lubrication instructions comprises an additional sub-step of: comparison of the measurement of the coefficient of roughness with one or both of a predetermined minimal coefficient of roughness (Rmin) and a predetermined maximal coefficient of roughness(Rmax), and wherein the control unit generates lubrication instructions if the difference between the measurement of the coefficient of roughness and a value of one or both of Rmin and Rmax is greater than a determined threshold.(Columns 12-13, lines 59-33: ""(1) Both the Measurement and Cleaning Units are initially disconnected, and therefore are not in contact with the conveyor belt.
(2) The Friction Measurement Unit is the first to be automatically activated, at some defined frequency, based on the rate (to be determined) of belt contamination at each facility.
(3) Data is obtained from the Friction Measurement Unit, which is then compared to the established design SCOF range of the conveyor belt in the system. This range used would be typical for a belt transporting TYVEK.RTM. brand packages. The mail processing belts are made from low durometer PVC, and the SCOF design range could be between about 0.55 to about 0.65. FIG. 4 shows a typical SCOF design range, where the top part of the range is coincident with the maximum expected SCOF value of about 0.65. The design value of the SCOF range is established to satisfy the acceleration requirements of the sorting belts that determine machine cycle times.
(4) If the data obtained indicates that the measured SCOF has drifted into the lowest quarter of the range, the cleaning unit is then actuated to remove the accumulated contamination on the belt surface.
(5) During the course of the cleaning cycle, the Friction Measurement Unit is initially disengaged, but is periodically reengaged, during the cleaning cycle in order to continually assess the improving frictional properties of the conveyor belt surface, as contamination is removed. This may occur several times during the course of cleaning.
(6) The Belt Cleaning Unit is disengaged when the Friction Measurement Unit records a value which is in the highest quarter (for example from about 0.63 to about 0.65, see FIG. 4) of the established design range. The relatively large range between 0.55 and 0.65 assures that there would be a reasonable time between measurement and cleaning cycles, and the frequency between cycles would be a minimum.
(7) When the target friction value within the design range is reached, both units are then disconnected, and essentially wait for the next measurement cycle to take place, based on the established frequency mentioned earlier.")
Regarding Claim 8, Wojtowicz teaches the method for controlling as claimed in claim 1, as seen above. Wojtowicz further teaches "comprising an additional step of cleaning of the transport surface of the conveyor belt by a cleaning system, with the control unit being connected to said cleaning system, and generating cleaning instructions in the form of a cleaning instruction according to the coefficient of roughness measured.(Columns 12-13, lines 59-33: ""(1) Both the Measurement and Cleaning Units are initially disconnected, and therefore are not in contact with the conveyor belt.
(2) The Friction Measurement Unit is the first to be automatically activated, at some defined frequency, based on the rate (to be determined) of belt contamination at each facility.
(3) Data is obtained from the Friction Measurement Unit, which is then compared to the established design SCOF range of the conveyor belt in the system. This range used would be typical for a belt transporting TYVEK.RTM. brand packages. The mail processing belts are made from low durometer PVC, and the SCOF design range could be between about 0.55 to about 0.65. FIG. 4 shows a typical SCOF design range, where the top part of the range is coincident with the maximum expected SCOF value of about 0.65. The design value of the SCOF range is established to satisfy the acceleration requirements of the sorting belts that determine machine cycle times.
(4) If the data obtained indicates that the measured SCOF has drifted into the lowest quarter of the range, the cleaning unit is then actuated to remove the accumulated contamination on the belt surface.
(5) During the course of the cleaning cycle, the Friction Measurement Unit is initially disengaged, but is periodically reengaged, during the cleaning cycle in order to continually assess the improving frictional properties of the conveyor belt surface, as contamination is removed. This may occur several times during the course of cleaning.
(6) The Belt Cleaning Unit is disengaged when the Friction Measurement Unit records a value which is in the highest quarter (for example from about 0.63 to about 0.65, see FIG. 4) of the established design range. The relatively large range between 0.55 and 0.65 assures that there would be a reasonable time between measurement and cleaning cycles, and the frequency between cycles would be a minimum.
(7) When the target friction value within the design range is reached, both units are then disconnected, and essentially wait for the next measurement cycle to take place, based on the established frequency mentioned earlier.")
Regarding Claim 9, Wojtowicz teaches the method for controlling as claimed in claim 8, as seen above. Wojtowicz further teaches "wherein the step of generation of cleaning instructions comprises an additional sub-step of comparison of the measurement of the coefficient of roughness with one or both of a predetermined minimal coefficient of roughness (Rmin) and a predetermined maximal coefficient of roughness (Rmax), and wherein the control unit generates cleaning instructions if a difference between the measurement of the coefficient of roughness and one or both of a value of a minimal coefficient of roughness (Rmin) and the a value of a maximal coefficient of roughness (Rmax) is greater than a determined threshold.(Columns 12-13, lines 59-33: ""(1) Both the Measurement and Cleaning Units are initially disconnected, and therefore are not in contact with the conveyor belt.
(2) The Friction Measurement Unit is the first to be automatically activated, at some defined frequency, based on the rate (to be determined) of belt contamination at each facility.
(3) Data is obtained from the Friction Measurement Unit, which is then compared to the established design SCOF range of the conveyor belt in the system. This range used would be typical for a belt transporting TYVEK.RTM. brand packages. The mail processing belts are made from low durometer PVC, and the SCOF design range could be between about 0.55 to about 0.65. FIG. 4 shows a typical SCOF design range, where the top part of the range is coincident with the maximum expected SCOF value of about 0.65. The design value of the SCOF range is established to satisfy the acceleration requirements of the sorting belts that determine machine cycle times.
(4) If the data obtained indicates that the measured SCOF has drifted into the lowest quarter of the range, the cleaning unit is then actuated to remove the accumulated contamination on the belt surface.
(5) During the course of the cleaning cycle, the Friction Measurement Unit is initially disengaged, but is periodically reengaged, during the cleaning cycle in order to continually assess the improving frictional properties of the conveyor belt surface, as contamination is removed. This may occur several times during the course of cleaning.
(6) The Belt Cleaning Unit is disengaged when the Friction Measurement Unit records a value which is in the highest quarter (for example from about 0.63 to about 0.65, see FIG. 4) of the established design range. The relatively large range between 0.55 and 0.65 assures that there would be a reasonable time between measurement and cleaning cycles, and the frequency between cycles would be a minimum.
(7) When the target friction value within the design range is reached, both units are then disconnected, and essentially wait for the next measurement cycle to take place, based on the established frequency mentioned earlier.").
Regarding Claim 10, Wojtowicz teaches A conveying facility comprising: a conveying device which is designed to transport articles ,(Column 1, lines 6-11: "The present invention relates generally to a device to automatically measure the static coefficient of friction (SCOF) on a moving conveyor belt and a means to initiate in-process reinstatement of the SCOF, if a reduction below the design range is detected.") said device comprising a conveyor belt provided with a transport surface(Figure 1: Conveyor belt 17) a drive motor and a control unit ;(Columns 15-16, lines 60-2: "The discussion thus far has referred to the control of motor speed and current without regard to the method(s) used to attain the desired values of each. These can be attained in several ways in the case of the brush-type DC motor alone, and by many additional methods if other motor types are admitted. The present discussion will be confined to the simplest example of open-loop control for a brush-type motor, but it must be understood that the use of more sophisticated control methods do not in any way alter the basis of the measurement.")and at least one sensor ; (Column 6, lines 35-40: "A sensor continuously senses the current drawn by the friction roller drive motor and a computer is responsive to the output of the sensor when it reaches a maximum value for calculating the SCOF of the surface of the conveyor belt, the SCOF being a function of the maximum current drawn by the friction roller drive motor. ")wherein the control unit generates instructions for regulation a speed said conveyor belt, (Column 4, lines 8-13: "The interpretation of equation (4) is that the value of acceleration (a) that the conveyor and mail piece can be exposed to (without relative motion of the mail with respect to the conveyor surface and therefore maintaining synchronism), is equal to static coefficient of friction (SCOF) multiplied by the acceleration of gravity.")the instructions in the form of a speed according to the measurement of a coefficient of roughness by at least said sensor, said control unit comprising a communication channel to transmit said instructions to said conveying device.(Columns 12-13, lines 66-10: "Data is obtained from the Friction Measurement Unit, which is then compared to the established design SCOF range of the conveyor belt in the system. This range used would be typical for a belt transporting TYVEK.RTM. brand packages. The mail processing belts are made from low durometer PVC, and the SCOF design range could be between about 0.55 to about 0.65. FIG. 4 shows a typical SCOF design range, where the top part of the range is coincident with the maximum expected SCOF value of about 0.65. The design value of the SCOF range is established to satisfy the acceleration requirements of the sorting belts that determine machine cycle times")
Regarding Claim 11, Wojtowicz teaches the conveying facility as claimed in claim 10, as seen above. Wojtowicz further teaches "wherein the control unit comprises: a memory device in which there are recorded predetermined values of a minimal and a maximal coefficient of roughness (Rmin, Rmax); and a comparison device configured to compare a coefficient of roughness measured by a sensor with the values of the Rmin and the Rmax recorded.(Columns 12-13, lines 59-33: "(1) Both the Measurement and Cleaning Units are initially disconnected, and therefore are not in contact with the conveyor belt.
(2) The Friction Measurement Unit is the first to be automatically activated, at some defined frequency, based on the rate (to be determined) of belt contamination at each facility.
(3) Data is obtained from the Friction Measurement Unit, which is then compared to the established design SCOF range of the conveyor belt in the system. This range used would be typical for a belt transporting TYVEK.RTM. brand packages. The mail processing belts are made from low durometer PVC, and the SCOF design range could be between about 0.55 to about 0.65. FIG. 4 shows a typical SCOF design range, where the top part of the range is coincident with the maximum expected SCOF value of about 0.65. The design value of the SCOF range is established to satisfy the acceleration requirements of the sorting belts that determine machine cycle times.
(4) If the data obtained indicates that the measured SCOF has drifted into the lowest quarter of the range, the cleaning unit is then actuated to remove the accumulated contamination on the belt surface.
(5) During the course of the cleaning cycle, the Friction Measurement Unit is initially disengaged, but is periodically reengaged, during the cleaning cycle in order to continually assess the improving frictional properties of the conveyor belt surface, as contamination is removed. This may occur several times during the course of cleaning.
(6) The Belt Cleaning Unit is disengaged when the Friction Measurement Unit records a value which is in the highest quarter (for example from about 0.63 to about 0.65, see FIG. 4) of the established design range. The relatively large range between 0.55 and 0.65 assures that there would be a reasonable time between measurement and cleaning cycles, and the frequency between cycles would be a minimum.
(7) When the target friction value within the design range is reached, both units are then disconnected, and essentially wait for the next measurement cycle to take place, based on the established frequency mentioned earlier.")
Regarding Claim 12, Wojtowicz teaches the facility as claimed in claim 10, as seen above. Wojtowicz further teaches comprising at least one system for lubrication of the transport surface of the conveyor belt , with said at least one lubrication system comprising a source of lubricant and an applicator for said lubricant ,and wherein the at least one lubrication system is configured to receive lubrication instructions from the control unit in the form of a lubrication instruction on a basis of the measurement of the coefficient of roughness by a sensor.(Columns 12-13, lines 59-33: ""(1) Both the Measurement and Cleaning Units are initially disconnected, and therefore are not in contact with the conveyor belt.
(2) The Friction Measurement Unit is the first to be automatically activated, at some defined frequency, based on the rate (to be determined) of belt contamination at each facility.
(3) Data is obtained from the Friction Measurement Unit, which is then compared to the established design SCOF range of the conveyor belt in the system. This range used would be typical for a belt transporting TYVEK.RTM. brand packages. The mail processing belts are made from low durometer PVC, and the SCOF design range could be between about 0.55 to about 0.65. FIG. 4 shows a typical SCOF design range, where the top part of the range is coincident with the maximum expected SCOF value of about 0.65. The design value of the SCOF range is established to satisfy the acceleration requirements of the sorting belts that determine machine cycle times.
(4) If the data obtained indicates that the measured SCOF has drifted into the lowest quarter of the range, the cleaning unit is then actuated to remove the accumulated contamination on the belt surface.
(5) During the course of the cleaning cycle, the Friction Measurement Unit is initially disengaged, but is periodically reengaged, during the cleaning cycle in order to continually assess the improving frictional properties of the conveyor belt surface, as contamination is removed. This may occur several times during the course of cleaning.
(6) The Belt Cleaning Unit is disengaged when the Friction Measurement Unit records a value which is in the highest quarter (for example from about 0.63 to about 0.65, see FIG. 4) of the established design range. The relatively large range between 0.55 and 0.65 assures that there would be a reasonable time between measurement and cleaning cycles, and the frequency between cycles would be a minimum.
(7) When the target friction value within the design range is reached, both units are then disconnected, and essentially wait for the next measurement cycle to take place, based on the established frequency mentioned earlier.")
Regarding Claim 13, Wojtowicz teaches the facility as claimed in claim 10, as seen above. Wojtowicz further teaches further comprising a system for cleaning of the transport surface of the conveyor belt , said cleaning system configured to receive instructions from the control unit in the form of a cleaning instruction on the basis of the measurement of the coefficient of roughness by a sensor.(Columns 12-13, lines 59-33: ""(1) Both the Measurement and Cleaning Units are initially disconnected, and therefore are not in contact with the conveyor belt.
(2) The Friction Measurement Unit is the first to be automatically activated, at some defined frequency, based on the rate (to be determined) of belt contamination at each facility.
(3) Data is obtained from the Friction Measurement Unit, which is then compared to the established design SCOF range of the conveyor belt in the system. This range used would be typical for a belt transporting TYVEK.RTM. brand packages. The mail processing belts are made from low durometer PVC, and the SCOF design range could be between about 0.55 to about 0.65. FIG. 4 shows a typical SCOF design range, where the top part of the range is coincident with the maximum expected SCOF value of about 0.65. The design value of the SCOF range is established to satisfy the acceleration requirements of the sorting belts that determine machine cycle times.
(4) If the data obtained indicates that the measured SCOF has drifted into the lowest quarter of the range, the cleaning unit is then actuated to remove the accumulated contamination on the belt surface.
(5) During the course of the cleaning cycle, the Friction Measurement Unit is initially disengaged, but is periodically reengaged, during the cleaning cycle in order to continually assess the improving frictional properties of the conveyor belt surface, as contamination is removed. This may occur several times during the course of cleaning.
(6) The Belt Cleaning Unit is disengaged when the Friction Measurement Unit records a value which is in the highest quarter (for example from about 0.63 to about 0.65, see FIG. 4) of the established design range. The relatively large range between 0.55 and 0.65 assures that there would be a reasonable time between measurement and cleaning cycles, and the frequency between cycles would be a minimum.
(7) When the target friction value within the design range is reached, both units are then disconnected, and essentially wait for the next measurement cycle to take place, based on the established frequency mentioned earlier.")
Regarding Claim 14, Wojtowicz teaches A computer -readable storage medium comprising a sequence of instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, causes the computer to implement steps of a method, wherein the method comprises: carrying out a measurement of a coefficient of roughness of a transport surface of a conveying device, (Column 6, lines 23-49: ""The present invention relates to apparatus for measuring the static coefficient of friction (SCOF) of the surface of an operating conveyor belt comprises a friction roller rotatable about an axis perpendicular to the direction of movement of the conveyor belt, a friction roller actuator for moving the friction roller between a retracted disengaged position and an advanced engaged position, and a friction roller drive motor selectively operable, in one instance, for permitting freewheeling rotation of said friction roller when rotatably engaged with the conveyor belt and, in another instance, for rotating said friction roller about the friction roller axis in a direction opposite the direction of movement of the conveyor belt. A sensor continuously senses the current drawn by the friction roller drive motor and a computer is responsive to the output of the sensor when it reaches a maximum value for calculating the SCOF of the surface of the conveyor belt, the SCOF being a function of the maximum current drawn by the friction roller drive motor. Then, for cleaning the conveyor belt the apparatus comprises a brush roller rotatable about an axis perpendicular to the direction of movement of the conveyor belt, a brush roller actuator for moving the brush roller between a retracted position disengaged from the conveyor belt and an advanced position rotatably engaged with the conveyor belt, and a brush roller drive motor for rotating the brush roller about the brush roller axis when the brush roller is engaged with the conveyor belt."")a drive motor and a control unit, (Columns 15-16, lines 60-2: ""The discussion thus far has referred to the control of motor speed and current without regard to the method(s) used to attain the desired values of each. These can be attained in several ways in the case of the brush-type DC motor alone, and by many additional methods if other motor types are admitted. The present discussion will be confined to the simplest example of open-loop control for a brush-type motor, but it must be understood that the use of more sophisticated control methods do not in any way alter the basis of the measurement."")wherein the conveying device comprises a conveyor belt provided with the transport surface;(Figure 1: Conveyor belt 17) transmission of said measurement to said control unit; and generation of instructions for regulation of the speed of the conveyor belt in the form of a speed instruction by the control unit, according to the coefficient of roughness measured; (Columns 8-9, lines 46-19: ""The Static Coefficient Of Friction (SCOF) is an important parameter in the design of many machines, since transporting product in some types of machines either at constant velocity, or during acceleration/deceleration sequences, can be completely dependent on maintaining the SCOF at certain predetermined design values. Failure to maintain the predetermined value of SCOF generally results in synchronism loss which in turn leads to decreasing process productivity.
In general, the acceleration/deceleration portions of the production cycle are designed such that the value of the SCOF is not exceeded since when this threshold is crossed, the dynamic coefficient of friction (DCOF) dominates and its value is significantly smaller than the SCOF. The lower DCOF value will increase processing time and reduce accuracy proportionately.
Relationship of the SCOF to the Maximum Usable Acceleration/Deceleration Rate
It can be shown that the value of the SCOF is exactly equal to the acceleration rate available during synchronous conveyor motion. The purpose of verifying this relationship is that it validates the importance of measuring the SCOF as being directly representative of the acceleration rate available from conveyor surfaces. Also. it identifies those parameters which must be measured to obtain the value of the SCOF. These parameters are the friction force and the normal force. The value of Friction Force=SCOF.times.N, can be equated to the Acceleration Force=M.times.A (Newton's second law). Since M=W/g, and also since N=W, the weight parameter cancels out leaving SCOF=A/g. The value of SCOF therefore is a constant, since both A and g have the units of acceleration (in/sec/sec).
Also, rearranging this expression yields: A=g.multidot.(SCOF). which indicates that the available acceleration rate is equal to a constant multiplied by the acceleration of gravity. Essentially, this verifies that the SCOF is directly related to the available acceleration rate. This fact highlights the importance of the invention, since it identifies a convenient parameter which can be measured (SCOF), which is a reflection of the available acceleration rate of the conveyor surface."", wherein if acceleration and deceleration rates are chosen as to maintain the SCOF, in order to increase a SCOF, an acceleration rate would be increased)and transmission of said instructions to said conveying device.(Columns 12-13, lines 66-10: ""Data is obtained from the Friction Measurement Unit, which is then compared to the established design SCOF range of the conveyor belt in the system. This range used would be typical for a belt transporting TYVEK.RTM. brand packages. The mail processing belts are made from low durometer PVC, and the SCOF design range could be between about 0.55 to about 0.65. FIG. 4 shows a typical SCOF design range, where the top part of the range is coincident with the maximum expected SCOF value of about 0.65. The design value of the SCOF range is established to satisfy the acceleration requirements of the sorting belts that determine machine cycle times").
Regarding Claim 15, Wojtowicz teaches A data processing device configured to implement the steps of the method as claimed in claim 1, as seen above.(Column 6, lines 23-49: "The present invention relates to apparatus for measuring the static coefficient of friction (SCOF) of the surface of an operating conveyor belt comprises a friction roller rotatable about an axis perpendicular to the direction of movement of the conveyor belt, a friction roller actuator for moving the friction roller between a retracted disengaged position and an advanced engaged position, and a friction roller drive motor selectively operable, in one instance, for permitting free wheeling rotation of said friction roller when rotatably engaged with the conveyor belt and, in another instance, for rotating said friction roller about the friction roller axis in a direction opposite the direction of movement of the conveyor belt. A sensor continuously senses the current drawn by the friction roller drive motor and a computer is responsive to the output of the sensor when it reaches a maximum value for calculating the SCOF of the surface of the conveyor belt, the SCOF being a function of the maximum current drawn by the friction roller drive motor. Then, for cleaning the conveyor belt the apparatus comprises a brush roller rotatable about an axis perpendicular to the direction of movement of the conveyor belt, a brush roller actuator for moving the brush roller between a retracted position disengaged from the conveyor belt and an advanced position rotatably engaged with the conveyor belt, and a brush roller drive motor for rotating the brush roller about the brush roller axis when the brush roller is engaged with the conveyor belt.").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent US 9,592,966 B2 (Wilhelmus van den Berg, Rick): Wilhelmus van den Berg teaches a similar conveyor system comprising a friction coefficient measuring device comprising a lubricant dispensing device, friction coefficient measuring device, and a control device as seen in Figure 1.
United States Patent Application US 2007/0119686 A1 (Divisi, Walter): Divisi teaches a similar conveyor and lubrication dispensing device comprising a device for measuring a quantity proportional to the friction coefficient, control means, and lubrication means as seen in Figure 2.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651