DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 10, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dodd et al. (US 2002/0025457; “Dodd”).
Regarding claim 1, Dodd teaches a power balancing system (figures 1 and 2), said system comprising:
a water-rich feed (1),
optionally, an external CO₂ feed (from 17),
a supply of renewable electricity (sunlight on PV panels),
a first electrolysis unit (4),
a methanol synthesis plant (10),
a methanol storage unit (between lines 13 and 21; para. [0067]-[0068]), and
a CO₂ storage section (15/20),
wherein,
the first electrolysis unit (4) is arranged to receive the water-rich feed (1) and at least a first portion (power in) of said supply of renewable electricity (from PV panels), and to output a first hydrogen rich stream (through storage 9);
the methanol synthesis plant (10) is arranged to receive at least a portion of the first hydrogen rich stream (from 9), and a CO₂ stream (from 20) from the CO₂ storage section (15/20) and/or the external CO₂ feed (17), and to output a first methanol-rich stream (11);
the methanol storage unit (between 13 and 21) is arranged to receive and store at least a portion of the first methanol-rich stream (11); and output a second methanol-rich stream (at 21); and wherein,
the system (figures 1 and 2) is arranged to generate electrical power from said second methanol-rich stream (at 22), via one or more of the following:
wherein the system comprises a methanol fuel cell (22), the methanol fuel cell (22) being arranged to receive at least a first portion (at 21) of the second methanol-rich stream from the methanol storage unit (connected at 13 and 21) and to output a first electrical power stream (power out);
wherein the system comprises a methanol cracker, a first CO₂ removal section, and a first power generation section, the methanol cracker being arranged to receive at least a second portion of the second methanol-rich stream from the methanol storage unit and to output a combined H₂ and CO₂ stream; the first CO₂ removal section being arranged to receive at least a portion of the combined H₂ and CO₂ stream and to output a first CO₂-rich stream and a second hydrogen rich stream; the first power generation section being arranged to receive at least a portion of the second hydrogen rich stream from the CO₂ removal section and combust it so as to output a second electrical power stream;
wherein the system comprises a methanol cracker, a first CO₂ removal section, and a hydrogen fuel cell, the methanol cracker being arranged to receive at least a second portion of the second methanol-rich stream from the methanol storage unit and to output a combined H₂ and CO₂ stream; the first CO₂ removal section being arranged to receive at least a portion of the combined H₂ and CO₂ stream and to output a first CO₂-rich stream and a second hydrogen rich stream; the hydrogen fuel cell being arranged to receive at least a portion of the second hydrogen rich stream from the CO₂ removal section and to output a third electrical power stream;
wherein the system further comprises a second power generation section, and a second CO₂ removal section, the second power generation section being arranged to receive at least a third portion of the second methanol-rich stream from the methanol storage unit and combust it so as to output a fourth electrical power stream and a flue gas stream, the second CO₂ removal section being arranged to receive the flue gas stream from the second power generation section and output a second CO2-rich stream and a balance stream; or
wherein system further comprises a methanol dehydration section, and a diesel generator, said methanol dehydration section being arranged to receive at least a fourth portion of the second methanol rich stream from the methanol storage unit and dehydrate it to provide a dimethyl ether (DME) stream; and wherein said diesel generator is arranged to receive at least a portion of said dimethyl ether (DME) stream and combust it so as to output a fifth electrical power stream; and
wherein at least one of the first (POWER OUT), second, third, fourth or fifth electrical power streams are arranged to be fed to a power grid (para. [0079]).
As for claim 2, Dodd teaches wherein the first, second, third, fourth or fifth electrical power streams are arranged to increase in response to a drop in the supply of renewable electricity (Stored methanol is used when sunlight is scarce, e.g. at night. Para. [0076] and [0079].).
Regarding claim 3, Dodd teaches wherein an increase in the first (POWER OUT), second, third, fourth or fifth electrical power streams is provided by increased output of the second methanol-rich stream from said methanol storage unit (Increased use of stored methanol increases power generated from the stored methanol.).
Regarding claim 5, Dodd teaches wherein the methanol fuel cell (22) also outputs a water-rich stream (24).
As for claim 7, Dodd teaches wherein the methanol fuel cell (22) also outputs a third CO2-rich stream (23).
Regarding claim 8, Dodd teaches wherein the CO₂ storage section (15/20) is further arranged to receive at least a portion of the first CO₂-rich stream, at least a portion of the second CO₂-rich stream, and/or at least a portion of the third CO₂-rich stream (See various CO₂-rich streams input to CO₂ storage device 20).
As for claim 10, Dodd teaches wherein the external CO₂ feed is a biogas feed, or a CO₂ from a flue gas (para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 13, Dodd teaches a process (figures 1 and 2) for balancing electrical power in the power balancing system according to claim 1, said process comprising the steps of:
providing the system (figure 1),
feeding the water-rich feed (1) and at least a first portion of said supply of renewable electricity (solar) to the first electrolysis unit (4) and outputting a first hydrogen rich stream (through 9);
feeding at least a portion of the first hydrogen rich stream (through 9), and a CO₂ stream (from 20) from the CO₂ storage section (15/20) and/or the external CO₂ feed (17) to the methanol synthesis plant (10) and outputting a first methanol-rich stream (11);
feeding at least a portion of the first methanol-rich stream (11); the methanol storage unit and outputting - on demand - a second methanol-rich stream (21); and wherein, the process further comprises one or more steps of:
feeding at least a first portion of the second methanol-rich stream from the methanol storage unit to the methanol fuel cell (22), and outputting a first electrical power stream (POWER OUT);
feeding at least a second portion of the second methanol-rich stream from the methanol storage unit to the methanol cracker, and outputting a combined H₂ and CO₂ stream; and feeding at least a portion of the combined H₂ and CO₂ stream to a first CO₂ removal section, and outputting a first CO2-rich stream and a second hydrogen rich stream; and feeding at least a portion of the second hydrogen rich stream from the CO₂ removal section to the first power generation section and combusting it so as to output a second electrical power stream;
feeding at least a second portion of the second methanol-rich stream from the methanol storage unit to the methanol cracker, and outputting a combined H₂ and CO₂ stream; and feeding at least a portion of the combined H₂ and CO₂ stream to a first CO₂ removal section, and outputting a first CO2-rich stream and a second hydrogen rich stream; and feeding at least a portion of the second hydrogen rich stream from the CO₂ removal section to the hydrogen fuel cell and outputting a third electrical power stream;
feeding at least a third portion of the second methanol-rich stream from the methanol storage unit to the second power generation section and combusting it so as to output a fourth electrical power stream and a flue gas stream, and feeding the flue gas stream from the second power generation section to the second CO2 removal section and outputting a second CO2-rich stream and a balance stream;
feeding at least a fourth portion of the second methanol-rich stream from the methanol storage unit to the methanol dehydration section and dehydrating it to provide a dimethyl ether (DME) stream; and feeding at least a portion of the DME stream to the diesel generator and combusting it so as to output a fifth electrical power stream;
followed by a step of feeding at least one of the first (POWER OUT), second, third, fourth or fifth electrical power streams to a power grid (para. [0079]).
As for claim 14, Dodd teaches said process comprising a step of increasing the first, second, third, fourth or fifth electrical power streams in response to a drop in the supply of renewable electricity (Stored methanol is used when sunlight is scarce, e.g. at night. Para. [0076] and [0079].).
Regarding claim 15, Dodd teaches wherein an increase in the first (POWER OUT), second, third, fourth or fifth electrical power streams is provided by increased output of the second methanol-rich stream from said methanol storage unit (Increased use of stored methanol increases power generated from the stored methanol.).
Regarding claim 16, Dodd teaches wherein the methanol fuel cell (22) is also arranged to output a third CO2-rich stream (23), said process comprising the further steps of feeding at least a portion of the first CO2-rich stream, at least a portion of the second CO2-rich stream, and/or at least a portion of the third CO2-rich stream to the CO₂ storage section (See various CO₂-rich streams input to CO₂ storage device 20).
Regarding claim 17, Dodd teaches wherein the methanol fuel is also arranged to output a water-rich stream (24), said process comprising the further steps of feeding at least a portion of the water-rich stream (24) as feed to the first electrolysis unit (4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dodd in view of Deckman et al. (US 2005/0109037; “Deckman”).
As for claim 4, Dodd teaches the system according to claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein the first power generation section comprises a combustion section arranged to combust the second hydrogen rich stream and a turbine, arranged to convert heat from the combustion section into electrical power.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to generate electricity from combusted hydrogen. For example, see para. [0008] of Deckman.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate electricity in the system of Dodd with a power generating section that combusts hydrogen because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known hydrogen-based power generation technique.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dodd in view of O’Connor et al. (US 2014/0057139; “O’Connor”).
As for claim 6, Dodd teaches the system according to claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach a methanol dehydration section being arranged to output a water stream, and wherein at least a portion of said water stream is arranged to be fed to the first electrolysis unit.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to generate electricity from dimethylether (DME) which produces water as a byproduct. For example, see para. [0049]-[0050] of O’Connor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate electricity in the system of Dodd with a power generating section using dimethylether producing water as a byproduct because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known methanol-based power generation technique.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dodd in view of Raisz et al. (US 2014/0345293; “Raisz”).
Regarding claim 9, Dodd teaches the system according to claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach a heat integration system, said heat integration system arranged to receive heat energy from the methanol synthesis plant, the first power generation section, the methanol fuel cell, and/or the second power generation section, and to provide heat energy to the methanol cracker, the first CO₂ removal section and/or the second CO₂ removal section.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to recycle heat generated in a methanol synthesis process in a methanol-based power generation system. For example, see para. [0020]-[0025] of Raisz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use recycled heat generated in the methanol synthesis process of Dodd to power elements in the system of Dodd because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known methanol-based power recycling technique.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dodd.
As for claim 11, Dodd teaches the system according to claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach a power regulating section, arranged between the supply of renewable energy and the first electrolysis unit.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to regulate renewable power to generate a stable power output.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a power regulator to the system of Dodd because such a modification would have provided the well-known benefit of generating a stable electrical power output from the system of Dodd.
Regarding claim 12, Dodd teaches a third CO₂ removal section being arranged to receive a flue gas stream and output a fourth CO₂-rich stream, and optionally to feed said fourth CO₂-rich stream to said CO₂ storage section (See CO₂ storage device 20 in figure 1 and the use of flue gases for CO₂ supply means in para. [0015] of Dodd.), but fails to teach the flue gas being generated from a diesel generator.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a diesel generator as a flue gas CO₂ supply means.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a diesel generator as the flue gas CO₂ supply means of Dodd because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known CO₂ supply means.
Conclusion
The prior art reference made of record (Knop et al. US 2013/0214542; figure 1) and not relied upon teaches methanol-based power generation, comprising: a water feed, a CO₂ feed, renewable electricity, an electrolysis unit, methanol synthesis, methanol storage, CO₂ storage, flue gas, and electricity generation.
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 June 2, 2026