DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawano et al (US 20030141441).
Regarding claim 1, Kawano et al teach (Figs. 1-8) A position measurement encoder apparatus comprising: a scale (32) comprising a series of position features which are readable by a readhead, the series extending along a measuring dimension; a readhead (on substrate 28) comprising: i) a polarised light source (30) for emitting polarised light toward the scale; ii) a sensor (38) configured to detect an optical signal from the scale's position features which can be used to determine the relative position of the scale and readhead along the measuring dimension; and iii) a polarisation manipulator (polarization hologram recorded on element 32), located in the optical path between the polarised light source and the sensor, configured such that regardless of the predominant input polarisation orientation (p-polarized light) of the footprint of polarised light received by the polarisation manipulator, the degree of polarisation of the light output from the polarisation manipulator (S-polarization) is less than that of the polarised light received by the polarisation manipulator.
Regarding claim 2, Kawano et al teach the polarisation manipulator is configured such that the degree of polarisation of the light output from at least the region of the footprint of light output from the polarisation manipulator that forms the optical signal at the sensor is less than that of the polarised light emitted from the polarised light source. That is, the footprint widens from element 32 toward element 34.
Regarding claim 8, Kawano et al teach the polarization manipulator comprises an optical retarder (34).
Regarding claim 17, Kawano et al teach the light source is a laser light source, optionally a Vertical Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL).
Regarding claim 18, Kawano et al teach A position measurement encoder apparatus comprising: a scale comprising a series of position features, the series extending in a measuring dimension; a readhead comprising: i. a polarised light source (30) for emitting polarised light toward the scale (32); ii. a sensor (38) configured to detect an optical signal from the scale's position features; and an optical retarder element (holographic element on scale), located in the optical path between the polarised light source and the sensor, having a fast axis and/or a retardance ([0070]- element 34) that is non-uniform along at least one- dimension (sinusoidal is understood as non-uniform), configured such that regardless of the predominant input polarisation orientation of the footprint of polarised light hitting the optical retarder element, the light output from the optical retarder element comprises a mix of polarisation orientations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 9-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TONY KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878
TK