Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 have been canceled. Claims 15-34 have been added. Claims 15-34 are pending and rejected in the application.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 15-21 are ineligible:
As to step one, claim 15 recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a process which is a statutory category.
As to step 2A-prong one, claim 15 recites a method for data analysis, comprising:
determining, based on a result of the querying, a flow direction of the data of the target type from the first node to the plurality of nodes. The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. The “code repositories“ and “database” amounts to mere generic computer components. That is other than reciting “code repositories“ and “database” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, claim 15 is not patentable eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For example, “determining, based on a result of the querying, a flow direction of the data of the target type from the first node to the plurality of nodes.” encompasses mentally a person determining, based on a result of the querying, a flow direction of the data of the target type from the first node to the plurality of nodes. The mere nominal recitation of a database does not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. If claim limitation(s), under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As to Step 2A-prong two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 15 recites creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;
querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases;
Here, “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Next, “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
As to step 2B, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claim 15 additional limitation amounts to no more than mere extra solution activity and generic computer components do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the generic computer components are implementing the limitations in a generic manner. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere determining a flow direction of data cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 15 is not patentable eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” and “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases” steps are considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that the limitations are anything other than extra solution activity.
Here, “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Next, “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” and “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases” steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Next, “wherein determining the flow direction comprises: obtaining a service name of a second node of the plurality of nodes through which the data of the target type flows.” of dependent claim 16 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the flow direction comprises: obtaining a service name of a second node of the plurality of nodes through which the data of the target type flows. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 16 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein obtaining the service name of the second node comprises: in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with the second node, obtaining the service name of the second node.” of dependent claim 17 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person obtaining the service name of the second node comprises: in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with the second node, obtaining the service name of the second node. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 17 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, the limitation “wherein the creation of the field query databases, the querying of the field query databases, and the determination of the flow direction are executed based on scheduling.” of dependent claim 18 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 18 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “determining the field associated with the data of the target type based on metadata information of the first node.” of dependent claim 19 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the field associated with the data of the target type based on metadata information of the first node. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 19 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, the limitation “wherein creating the plurality of field query databases comprises: for a code repository of the plurality of code repositories, creating the respective field query database by building a syntax tree based on the code repository.” of dependent claim 20 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 20 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “wherein determining the flow direction comprises: in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with a second node of the plurality of nodes, determining that the data of the target type flows through the second node.” of dependent claim 21 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the flow direction comprises: in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with a second node of the plurality of nodes, determining that the data of the target type flows through the second node. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 21 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 22-28 are ineligible:
As to step one, claim 22 recites an electronic device and, therefore, is a machine which is a statutory category.
As to step 2A-prong one, claim 22 recites an electronic device comprising:
determining, based on a result of the querying, a flow direction of the data of the target type from the first node to the plurality of nodes. The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. The “at least one processing unit”, “at least one memory”, “code repositories“, and “database” amounts to mere generic computer components. That is other than reciting “at least one processing unit”, “at least one memory”, “code repositories“, and “database” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, claim 22 is not patentable eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For example, “determining, based on a result of the querying, a flow direction of the data of the target type from the first node to the plurality of nodes.” encompasses mentally a person determining, based on a result of the querying, a flow direction of the data of the target type from the first node to the plurality of nodes. The mere nominal recitation of a database does not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. If claim limitation(s), under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As to Step 2A-prong two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 22 recites at least one processing unit; and
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, causing the device to perform a method comprising:
creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;
querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases;
Here, “at least one processing unit; and
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, causing the device to perform a method comprising:” amounts to mere generic computer components implementing an abstract idea.
Next, “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Next, “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
As to step 2B, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claim 22 additional limitation amounts to no more than mere extra solution activity and generic computer components do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the generic computer components are implementing the limitations in a generic manner. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere determining a flow direction of data cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 22 is not patentable eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” and “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases;” steps are considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that the limitations are anything other than extra solution activity.
Here, “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Next, “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases;” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” and “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases;” steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Next, “wherein determining the flow direction comprises: obtaining a service name of a second node of the plurality of nodes through which the data of the target type flows.” of dependent claim 23 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the flow direction comprises: obtaining a service name of a second node of the plurality of nodes through which the data of the target type flows. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 23 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein obtaining the service name of the second node comprises: in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with the second node, obtaining the service name of the second node.” of dependent claim 24 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person obtaining the service name of the second node comprises: in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with the second node, obtaining the service name of the second node. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 24 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, the limitation “wherein the creation of the field query databases, the querying of the field query databases, and the determination of the flow direction are executed based on scheduling.” of dependent claim 25 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 25 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “determining the field associated with the data of the target type based on metadata information of the first node.” of dependent claim 26 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the field associated with the data of the target type based on metadata information of the first node. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 26 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, the limitation “wherein creating the plurality of field query databases comprises: for a code repository of the plurality of code repositories, creating the respective field query database by building a syntax tree based on the code repository.” of dependent claim 27 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 27 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “wherein determining the flow direction comprises: in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with a second node of the plurality of nodes, determining that the data of the target type flows through the second node.” of dependent claim 28 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the flow direction comprises: in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with a second node of the plurality of nodes, determining that the data of the target type flows through the second node. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 28 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 29-34 are ineligible:
As to step one, claim 29 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and, therefore, is a machine which is a statutory category.
As to step 2A-prong one, claim 22 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, the computer program, when executed by a processor, implementing a method comprising:
determining, based on a result of the querying, a flow direction of the data of the target type from the first node to the plurality of nodes. The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. The “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”, “a processor”, “code repositories“, and “database” amounts to mere generic computer components. That is other than reciting “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”, “a processor”, “code repositories“, and “database” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, claim 29 is not patentable eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For example, “determining, based on a result of the querying, a flow direction of the data of the target type from the first node to the plurality of nodes.” encompasses mentally a person determining, based on a result of the querying, a flow direction of the data of the target type from the first node to the plurality of nodes. The mere nominal recitation of a database does not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. If claim limitation(s), under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As to Step 2A-prong two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 29 recites creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;
querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases;
Here, “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Next, “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases;” encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
As to step 2B, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claim 29 additional limitation amounts to no more than mere extra solution activity and generic computer components do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the generic computer components are implementing the limitations in a generic manner. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere determining a flow direction of data cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 29 is not patentable eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” and “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases;” steps are considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that the limitations are anything other than extra solution activity.
Here, “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Next, “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases;” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node;” and “querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases;” steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Next, “wherein determining the flow direction comprises: obtaining a service name of a second node of the plurality of nodes through which the data of the target type flows.” of dependent claim 30 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the flow direction comprises: obtaining a service name of a second node of the plurality of nodes through which the data of the target type flows. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 30 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein obtaining the service name of the second node comprises: in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with the second node, obtaining the service name of the second node.” of dependent claim 31 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person obtaining the service name of the second node comprises: in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with the second node, obtaining the service name of the second node. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 31 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, the limitation “wherein the creation of the field query databases, the querying of the field query databases, and the determination of the flow direction are executed based on scheduling.” of dependent claim 32 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 32 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “determining the field associated with the data of the target type based on metadata information of the first node.” of dependent claim 33 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining the field associated with the data of the target type based on metadata information of the first node. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 33 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, the limitation “wherein creating the plurality of field query databases comprises: for a code repository of the plurality of code repositories, creating the respective field query database by building a syntax tree based on the code repository.” of dependent claim 34 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 34 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 16,17, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26, 28, 29, 30, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brocato et al. U.S. Patent (8,375,014; hereinafter: Brocato) in view of Wang et al. Non-Patent Publication (“Traffic management data flow direction analysis method and device, computer equipment and storage medium, computer equipment and storage medium”, 2022; hereinafter: Wang)
Claims 15, 22, and 29
As to claims 15, 22, and 29, Brocato discloses an electronic device comprising:
at least one processing unit (column 25, lines 46-49, the reference describes a processor.); and
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, causing the device to perform a method comprising (column 25, lines46-51, the reference describes using memory and a processor to execution software.):
querying for a field associated with the data of the target type in the plurality of field query databases (column 20, lines 60-67 and column 21, lines 1-24, the reference describes querying a database of different data type.); and
determining, based on a result of the querying, a flow direction of the data of the target type from the first node to the plurality of nodes (column 14, lines 42-53, the reference describes creating a operational flow on a graphical interace.).
Brocato does not appear to explicitly disclose creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node.
However, Wang discloses creating, based on respective code repositories of a plurality of nodes downstream of a first node, a plurality of respective field query databases, wherein data of a target type flows through the first node(page 12 of PDF, the reference describes creating a database of data flow direction and nodes.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Brocato with the teachings of Wang to create a database of flow direction data which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Brocato with the teachings of Wang to efficiently and quickly check traffic management data (Wang: page 2 of PDF).
Claims 16, 23, and 30
As to claims 16, 23, and 30, the combination of Brocato and Wang discloses all the elements in claim 22, as noted above, and Wang further disclose wherein determining the flow direction comprises:
obtaining a service name of a second node of the plurality of nodes through which the data of the target type flows (page 12 of PDF, the reference describes collecting a service resource (i.e., service name, as claimed) and storing it in a database.).
Claims 17, 24, and 31
As to claims 17, 24, and 31, the combination of Brocato and Wang discloses all the elements in claim 23, as noted above, and Wang further disclose wherein obtaining the service name of the second node comprises:
in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with the second node, obtaining the service name of the second node (page 12 of PDF, the reference describes determining the service resource of the object type of the target object (i.e., second node, as claimed).).
Claims 19, 26, and 33
As to claims 19, 26, and 33, the combination of Brocato and Wang discloses all the elements in claim 22, as noted above, and Wang further disclose wherein the method further comprises:
determining the field associated with the data of the target type based on metadata information of the first node (page 12 of PDF, the reference describes determining the field data based on data flow direction information of relation links between nodes and edges.).
Claims 21 and 28
As to claims 21 and 28, the combination of Brocato and Wang discloses all the elements in claim 22, as noted above, and Wang further disclose wherein determining the flow direction comprises: in response to the field associated with the data of the target type being found in the field query database associated with a second node of the plurality of nodes, determining that the data of the target type flows through the second node (page 11 of PDF, the reference describes determining the target end data resource (i.e., second node, as claimed).).
Claims 18, 25, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brocato et al. U.S. Patent (8,375,014; hereinafter: Brocato) in view of Wang et al. Non-Patent Publication (“Traffic management data flow direction analysis method and device, computer equipment and storage medium, computer equipment and storage medium”, 2022; hereinafter: Wang) and further in view of Krompass et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2010/0082603; hereinafter: Krompass)
Claims 18, 25, and 32
As to claims 18, 25, and 32, the combination of Brocato and Wang discloses all the elements in claim 22, as noted above, but do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the creation of the field query databases, the querying of the field query databases, and the determination of the flow direction are executed based on scheduling.
However, Krompass discloses wherein the creation of the field query databases, the querying of the field query databases, and the determination of the flow direction are executed based on scheduling (paragraph[0015], the reference describes using a scheduler to determine when to execute a query.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Brocato with the teachings of Wang and Krompass to schedule queries to retrieve data which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Brocato with the teachings of Wang and Krompass to efficiently managing the execution of database queries (Krompass: paragraph[0008]).
Claims 20, 27, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brocato et al. U.S. Patent (8,375,014; hereinafter: Brocato) in view of Wang et al. Non-Patent Publication (“Traffic management data flow direction analysis method and device, computer equipment and storage medium, computer equipment and storage medium”, 2022; hereinafter: Wang) and further in view of Brunel et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2020/0042518; hereinafter: Brunel)
Claims 20, 27, and 34
As to claims 18, 25, and 32, the combination of Brocato and Wang discloses all the elements in claim 22, as noted above, but do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein creating the plurality of field query databases comprises: for a code repository of the plurality of code repositories, creating the respective field query database by building a syntax tree based on the code repository.
However, Brunel discloses wherein creating the plurality of field query databases comprises:
for a code repository of the plurality of code repositories, creating the respective field query database by building a syntax tree based on the code repository (paragraph[0007], the reference describes building a hierarchy of nodes (i.e., a syntax tree, as claimed) based on the structure of a database.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Brocato with the teachings of Wang and Brunel to create a tree which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Brocato with the teachings of Wang and Brunel to efficiently evaluate the structural grouping of index-assisted physical algebra operations (Brunel: paragraph[0004]).
Conclusion
/DAWAUNE A CONYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159
/DAWAUNE A CONYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2152 February 24, 2024