DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 17, “the electric motor offset relative to the crank axle.” should be “ the electric motor is offset relative to the crank axle.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-20, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “receive a signal representative of a torque and/or speed of the crank axle or rear sprocket,” However, the use of “and/or” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear whether the limitations following the invocation of “and/or” are required by the claim. For the purposes of this examination, “and/or” is being interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation as “or”.
Claims 3-5, 7-20, and 38-40 are dependent upon claim 1 and therefore inherit the above-described deficiencies. Accordingly, claims 3-5, 7-20, and 38-40 are rejected under similar reasoning as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “the controller is configured to set power to the electric motor to the first predetermined power threshold in response to receiving the shift command when the present power level is higher than the first predetermined power threshold.” However, there is a lack of antecedent basis in the claim for “the second predetermined power threshold” and “the present power level”. While claim 3, upon which claim 9 depends, does recite “a predetermined vehicle speed threshold”, a power threshold differs in scope from a speed threshold. Antecedent basis is absent entirely for “the present power level”.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “the controller is configured to set power to the electric motor to the second predetermined power threshold in response to receiving the shift command when the present power level is lower than the second predetermined power threshold.” However, there is a lack of antecedent basis in the claim for “the second predetermined power threshold” and “the present power level”. While claim 4, upon which claim 10 depends, does recite “a first predetermined power threshold”, claim 4 includes no reference to “a second predetermined power threshold”. Antecedent basis is absent entirely for “the present power level”.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “an automatic shift command generator, configured to automatically generate a shift command and provide the shift command to the controller.” However, antecedent basis already exists in claim 1, upon which claim 11 depends, for “a shift command”. Therefore, it is unclear whether the shift command of claim 11 is the same as the shift command of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “a freewheel clutch between the crank axle and an input of the transmission system and/or an input axle of the electric motor.” However, the use of “and/or” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear whether the limitations following the invocation of “and/or” are required by the claim. For the purposes of this examination, “and/or” is being interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation as “or”.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “a clutch for decoupling an output of the transmission system from a wheel, wherein the controller is configured to decouple the output of the transmission system from the wheel when powering the electric motor in response to receiving a shift command, when a torque and/or speed of the crank axle is below a predetermined threshold.” Here, it is unclear whether “a clutch” of claim 13 is included in the “one or more clutches” of claim 1, upon which claim 13 depends. Further, antecedent basis already exists in claim 1 for “a torque and/or speed of the input… wherein a crank axle forms the input of the drive system…” Therefore, it is unclear whether “a torque and/or speed of the crank axle” of claim 13 is the same as the torque and/or speed of the crank axle of claim 1. Further, the use of “and/or” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear whether the limitations following the invocation of “and/or” are required by the claim. For the purposes of this examination, “and/or” is being interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation as “or”. Even further, antecedent basis already exists in claim 1 for “a predetermined threshold”; it is unclear whether the predetermined threshold of claim 13 is the same as the predetermined threshold of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites “the clutches of the transmission system are configured to shift under load.” However, while claim 14 recites to “the clutches”, claim 1, upon which claim 14 depends, instead recites “one or more clutches”. In other words, claim 1 allows for only one clutch, while claim 14 would require more than one clutch, thereby rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 38, the claim recites “A crank assembly for a human powered vehicle, comprising the drive system of claim 1.” However, claim 1, upon which claim 38 depends, already recites to “a human powered vehicle”. Therefore, it is unclear whether “a human powered vehicle” of claim 38 is the same as the human powered vehicle of claim 1.
Regarding claim 39, the claim recites “A hub assembly for a human powered vehicle, comprising the drive system of claim 1.” However, claim 1, upon which claim 39 depends, already recites to “a human powered vehicle”. Therefore, it is unclear whether “a human powered vehicle” of claim 39 is the same as the human powered vehicle of claim 1.
Regarding claim 40, the claim recites “A human powered vehicle, comprising the drive system of claim 1.” However, claim 1, upon which claim 40 depends, already recites to “a human powered vehicle”. Therefore, it is unclear whether “A human powered vehicle” of claim 40 is the same as the human powered vehicle of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11, 17-19, and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahana et al. (US 2021/0009234 A1), hereinafter Shahana, in view of Garcia et al. (US 2023/0331342 A1), hereinafter Garcia, and in further view of Weinmann et al. (US 2024/0300615 A1), hereinafter Weinmann.
Regarding claim 1, Shahana teaches a drive system for a human powered vehicle, comprising:
an input of the drive system
Shahana teaches ([0057]): "The drive train B is of, for example, a chain-drive type. The drive train B includes a crank C, a plurality of front sprockets D1, a plurality of rear sprockets D2, and a chain D3. The crank C includes a crank axle C1, rotatably supported by the frame A1, and two crank arms C2, respectively provided on the two ends of the crank axle C1. A pedal PD is rotatably coupled to the distal end of each crank arm C2. The drive train B can be of any type such as a belt-drive type or a shaft-drive type." Shahana further teaches ([0058]): "The front sprockets D1 are provided on the crank C so as to rotate integrally with the crank axle C1. The rear sprockets D2 are provided on a hub HR of the rear wheel WR. The chain D3 is wound around a front sprocket D1 and a rear sprocket D2. Human driving force applied to the pedals PD by a rider, who is riding the human-powered vehicle A, is transmitted by the front sprocket D1, the chain D3, and the rear sprocket D2 to the rear wheel WR."
and an output of the drive system;
Shahana teaches ([0058]): "The front sprockets D1 are provided on the crank C so as to rotate integrally with the crank axle C1. The rear sprockets D2 are provided on a hub HR of the rear wheel WR. The chain D3 is wound around a front sprocket D1 and a rear sprocket D2. Human driving force applied to the pedals PD by a rider, who is riding the human-powered vehicle A, is transmitted by the front sprocket D1, the chain D3, and the rear sprocket D2 to the rear wheel WR."
a transmission system between the input and the output,
Shahana teaches ([0060]): "The transmission system 10 includes a control device 12 and a transmission 20." Shahana further teaches ([0061]): "The transmission 20 includes an external transmission. In one example, the transmission 20 includes at least one of a front derailleur 22 and a rear derailleur 24. The front derailleur 22 is provided in the vicinity of the front sprockets D1. The front derailleur 22 is driven to change the front sprocket D1 around which the chain D3 is wound and thereby change the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A... The rear derailleur 24 is driven to change the rear sprocket D2 around which the chain D3 is wound and thereby change the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A." FIG. 1, included below, demonstrates that the transmission system is between the input and the output.
wherein the transmission system has a plurality of different selectable transmission ratios,
Shahana teaches ([0066]): "In a case where the first shifting condition is satisfied, the electronic controller 14 changes a target transmission ratio related to the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A. The electronic controller 14 executes shifting control to control the transmission 20 so that the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A matches the changed target transmission ratio. In a case where the target transmission ratio is changed, the difference between the transmission stage corresponding to the target transmission ratio prior to the change and the transmission stage corresponding to the target transmission ratio subsequent to the change is either one stage or two or more stages."
an electric motor, connected to the drive system;
Shahana teaches ([0059]): "The electric assist unit E is actuated to assist in propulsion of the human-powered vehicle A. The electric assist unit E is actuated in accordance with, for example, the human driving force applied to the pedals PD. The electric assist unit E includes a motor E1. The electric assist unit E is actuated by electric power supplied from a battery BT mounted on the human-powered vehicle A."
and a controller configured to: receive a shift command requesting shifting from one of the transmission ratios to another,
Shahana teaches ([0061]): " The transmission 20 changes the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A in accordance with an operation signal from a transmission operating device SL." Shahana further teaches ([0062]): "The control device 12 includes an electronic controller 14 that is configured to control a component that is mounted on the human-powered vehicle A... In one example, the electronic controller 14 controls the transmission 20 to shift the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A in accordance with traveling information of the human-powered vehicle A. In one example, the predetermined shifting condition includes at least one of a first shifting condition and a second shifting condition. In one example, the first shifting condition is used to determine whether or not to shift the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A." Shahana even further teaches ([0066]): "In a case where the first shifting condition is satisfied, the electronic controller 14 changes a target transmission ratio related to the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A. The electronic controller 14 executes shifting control to control the transmission 20 so that the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A matches the changed target transmission ratio."
receive a signal representative of a torque and/or speed of the crank axle or rear sprocket,
Shahana teaches ([0065]): "The human-powered vehicle A further includes a detection device DD that detects various types of information. In one example, the detection device DD detects the traveling information of the human-powered vehicle A. The traveling information of the human-powered vehicle A includes at least one of the first reference value and the second reference value. The first reference value includes at least one of cadence, torque acting on the crank C of the human-powered vehicle A, power, and vehicle speed of the human-powered vehicle A."
wherein a crank axle forms the input of the drive system for receiving human driving force and a front sprocket forms the output of the drive system, or a rear sprocket forms an input of the drive system for receiving human driving force and a hub shell forms the output of the drive system.
Shahana teaches ([0058]): "The front sprockets D1 are provided on the crank C so as to rotate integrally with the crank axle C1. The rear sprockets D2 are provided on a hub HR of the rear wheel WR. The chain D3 is wound around a front sprocket D1 and a rear sprocket D2. Human driving force applied to the pedals PD by a rider, who is riding the human-powered vehicle A, is transmitted by the front sprocket D1, the chain D3, and the rear sprocket D2 to the rear wheel WR."
However, Shahana does not outright teach one or more clutches for shifting from one of the transmission ratios to another, and controlling the one or more clutches for shifting from the one of the transmission ratios to the other. Garcia teaches a power shift transmission for a bicycle, comprising:
and includes one or more clutches for shifting from one of the transmission ratios to another;
Garcia teaches ([0007]): "For this purpose, a power shift transmission according to the invention is provided for a vehicle that can be driven by motor power and/or pedal power, in particular a bicycle, further in particular a conventional bicycle purely operated by muscle power or an electric bicycle such as an E-bike or a Pedelec, which comprises a transmission device that transmits a torque, introduced or introducible on a drive of the power shift transmission in a transmission ratio that is settable by gears, to an output of the power shift transmission... It is substantial that the power shift transmission has exactly two or more than two separate controllable and/or regulatable shifting devices, by means of which, for setting the said transmission ratio of the transmission device, the transmission device is shiftable. For shifting the transmission device a first shifting device of the said shifting devices interacts directly and another second shifting device of the said shifting devices indirectly via a clutch of the power shift transmission with the transmission device... The said clutch makes possible in particular realising a transmission ratio preselection in the manner that the transmission device, beside a provided actually load-bearing transmission ratio, pre-shifts or provides at least one preselected load-free transmission ratio."
and control the one or more clutches for shifting from the one of the transmission ratios to the other;
Garcia teaches ([0007]): "For this purpose, a power shift transmission according to the invention is provided for a vehicle that can be driven by motor power and/or pedal power, in particular a bicycle, further in particular a conventional bicycle purely operated by muscle power or an electric bicycle such as an E-bike or a Pedelec, which comprises a transmission device that transmits a torque, introduced or introducible on a drive of the power shift transmission in a transmission ratio that is settable by gears, to an output of the power shift transmission... It is substantial that the power shift transmission has exactly two or more than two separate controllable and/or regulatable shifting devices, by means of which, for setting the said transmission ratio of the transmission device, the transmission device is shiftable. For shifting the transmission device a first shifting device of the said shifting devices interacts directly and another second shifting device of the said shifting devices indirectly via a clutch of the power shift transmission with the transmission device... The said clutch makes possible in particular realising a transmission ratio preselection in the manner that the transmission device, beside a provided actually load-bearing transmission ratio, pre-shifts or provides at least one preselected load-free transmission ratio." Garcia is modified such that the execution of shifting control is carried out by the control device 12/electronic controller 14 of Shahana.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana to incorporate the teachings of Garcia to provide one or more clutches for shifting from one of the transmission ratios to another, and controlling the one or more clutches for shifting from the one of the transmission ratios to the other. Shahana and Garcia are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of transmission shifting devices for bicycles. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Garcia, as incorporating the transmission shifting features of Garcia advantageously improves the power to weight ratio in the region of the pedal crank, as recognized by Garcia (see at least [0007]).
However, Shahana does not outright teach, in response to receiving the shift command, when a torque and/or speed of the input is below a predetermined threshold, powering the electric motor to drive the input of the drive system. Weinmann teaches a method for controlling an electric drive motor of an electrically drivable bicycle, comprising:
in response to receiving the shift command, when a torque and/or speed of the input is below a predetermined threshold, power the electric motor to drive the input of the drive system,
Weinmann teaches ([0016]): "In a further step of the method according to the invention, the electric drive motor is operated under specification of a third predefined target speed and a fourth predefined torque for the drive motor, if the rider torque is below a third predefined rider torque threshold value for a first predefined period of time. "
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana and Garcia to incorporate the teachings of Weinmann to provide, in response to receiving the shift command, when a torque and/or speed of the input is below a predetermined threshold, powering the electric motor to drive the input of the drive system. Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Weinmann, as incorporating the electric motor torque control of Weinmann advantageously serves to improve rider comfort in a manner which is preferably neither haptically nor acoustically perceptible by the rider, as recognized by Weinmann (see at least [0018]).
Regarding claim 7, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Shahana further teaches:
the electric motor is configured to drive the output to assist driving force.
Shahana teaches ([0059]): "The electric assist unit E is actuated to assist in propulsion of the human-powered vehicle A. The electric assist unit E is actuated in accordance with, for example, the human driving force applied to the pedals PD. The electric assist unit E includes a motor E1. The electric assist unit E is actuated by electric power supplied from a battery BT mounted on the human-powered vehicle A."
Regarding claim 11, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Shahana further teaches:
an automatic shift command generator, configured to automatically generate a shift command and provide the shift command to the controller.
Shahana teaches ([0061]): " The transmission 20 changes the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A in accordance with an operation signal from a transmission operating device SL." Shahana further teaches ([0062]): "The control device 12 includes an electronic controller 14 that is configured to control a component that is mounted on the human-powered vehicle A... In one example, the electronic controller 14 controls the transmission 20 to shift the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A in accordance with traveling information of the human-powered vehicle A. In one example, the predetermined shifting condition includes at least one of a first shifting condition and a second shifting condition. In one example, the first shifting condition is used to determine whether or not to shift the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A." Shahana even further teaches ([0066]): "In a case where the first shifting condition is satisfied, the electronic controller 14 changes a target transmission ratio related to the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A. The electronic controller 14 executes shifting control to control the transmission 20 so that the transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle A matches the changed target transmission ratio."
Regarding claim 17, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Shahana further teaches:
the electric motor offset relative to the crank axle.
FIG. 1, included above, demonstrates that the motor E1 is offset relative to the crank axle C1.
Regarding claim 18, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Shahana further teaches:
the transmission system includes a continuously variable transmission.
Shahana teaches ([0061]): "The transmission 20 can include a continuously variable transmission instead of the external transmission. In this case, the continuously variable transmission is provided on, for example, the hub HR of the rear wheel WR. "
Regarding claim 19, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Shahana further teaches:
the transmission system includes a belt drive.
Shahana teaches ([0057]): "The drive train B is of, for example, a chain-drive type. The drive train B includes a crank C, a plurality of front sprockets D1, a plurality of rear sprockets D2, and a chain D3. The crank C includes a crank axle C1, rotatably supported by the frame A1, and two crank arms C2, respectively provided on the two ends of the crank axle C1. A pedal PD is rotatably coupled to the distal end of each crank arm C2. The drive train B can be of any type such as a belt-drive type or a shaft-drive type.
Regarding claim 38, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Shahana further teaches:
A crank assembly for a human powered vehicle, comprising the drive system of claim 1.
Shahana teaches ([0057]): "The drive train B is of, for example, a chain-drive type. The drive train B includes a crank C, a plurality of front sprockets D1, a plurality of rear sprockets D2, and a chain D3. The crank C includes a crank axle C1, rotatably supported by the frame A1, and two crank arms C2, respectively provided on the two ends of the crank axle C1. A pedal PD is rotatably coupled to the distal end of each crank arm C2. The drive train B can be of any type such as a belt-drive type or a shaft-drive type." Shahana further teaches ([0058]): "The front sprockets D1 are provided on the crank C so as to rotate integrally with the crank axle C1. The rear sprockets D2 are provided on a hub HR of the rear wheel WR. The chain D3 is wound around a front sprocket D1 and a rear sprocket D2. Human driving force applied to the pedals PD by a rider, who is riding the human-powered vehicle A, is transmitted by the front sprocket D1, the chain D3, and the rear sprocket D2 to the rear wheel WR." The Examiner further refers to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 39, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Shahana further teaches:
A hub assembly for a human powered vehicle, comprising the drive system of claim 1.
Shahana teaches ([0058]): "The rear sprockets D2 are provided on a hub HR of the rear wheel WR. The chain D3 is wound around a front sprocket D1 and a rear sprocket D2. Human driving force applied to the pedals PD by a rider, who is riding the human-powered vehicle A, is transmitted by the front sprocket D1, the chain D3, and the rear sprocket D2 to the rear wheel WR." The Examiner further refers to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 40, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Shahana further teaches:
A human powered vehicle, comprising the drive system of claim 1.
Shahana teaches ([0057]): "The drive train B is of, for example, a chain-drive type. The drive train B includes a crank C, a plurality of front sprockets D1, a plurality of rear sprockets D2, and a chain D3. The crank C includes a crank axle C1, rotatably supported by the frame A1, and two crank arms C2, respectively provided on the two ends of the crank axle C1. A pedal PD is rotatably coupled to the distal end of each crank arm C2. The drive train B can be of any type such as a belt-drive type or a shaft-drive type." Shahana further teaches ([0058]): "The front sprockets D1 are provided on the crank C so as to rotate integrally with the crank axle C1. The rear sprockets D2 are provided on a hub HR of the rear wheel WR. The chain D3 is wound around a front sprocket D1 and a rear sprocket D2. Human driving force applied to the pedals PD by a rider, who is riding the human-powered vehicle A, is transmitted by the front sprocket D1, the chain D3, and the rear sprocket D2 to the rear wheel WR." The Examiner further refers to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann in view of He (CN 108674569 A).
Regarding claim 3, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Shahana further teaches:
the controller is configured to: receive a signal representative of a speed of the vehicle,
Shahana teaches ([0065]): "The human-powered vehicle A further includes a detection device DD that detects various types of information. In one example, the detection device DD detects the traveling information of the human-powered vehicle A. The traveling information of the human-powered vehicle A includes at least one of the first reference value and the second reference value. The first reference value includes at least one of cadence, torque acting on the crank C of the human-powered vehicle A, power, and vehicle speed of the human-powered vehicle A."
However, Shahana does not outright teach not powering the electric motor when the vehicle speed is below a predetermined vehicle speed threshold. He teaches an electric bicycle control system, comprising:
and not power the electric motor when the vehicle speed is below a predetermined vehicle speed threshold.
He teaches ([0015] of Translation): "Accordingly, this invention also provides a method for controlling the speed of an electric bicycle, the method comprising: acquiring a speed signal and an acceleration signal of the electric bicycle; determining whether the speed signal is less than or equal to a speed threshold… and cutting off the power supply to the electric motor of the electric bicycle when it is determined that the speed signal is less than or equal to the speed threshold..."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann to incorporate the teachings of He to provide not powering the electric motor when the vehicle speed is below a predetermined vehicle speed threshold. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and He are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of He, as incorporating the speed control of He beneficially serves to solve the problem of sudden acceleration caused by misoperation of the electric bicycle, and achieves the avoidance of sudden speed changes by using low-cost components, while reducing the design and manufacturing costs of the entire vehicle, as recognized by He (see at least [0007]-[0008] of Translation).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann in view of Iino et al. (US 2019/0152560 A1), hereinafter Iino.
Regarding claim 4, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Shahana does not outright teach that the controller is configured to control the power to the electric motor during the controlling of the one or more clutches to be at or below a first predetermined power threshold. Iino teaches a human-powered vehicle control device, comprising:
the controller is configured to control the power to the electric motor during the controlling of the one or more clutches to be at or below a first predetermined power threshold.
Iino teaches ([0103]): "The controller 52 is configured to switch a plurality of control states imparting different output characteristics to the motor 18 with respect to human driving force TA. The plurality of control states include a first predetermined control state and a second predetermined control state. A maximum output TM of the motor 18 is different between a first predetermined control state and a second predetermined control state. One of the first predetermined control state and the second predetermined control state can be set to be a control state where the maximum output TM of the motor 18 is 0 watts and the other of the first predetermined control state and the second predetermined control state can be set to be a control state where the maximum output TM of the motor 18 is larger than 0 watts... The controller 52 switches the control state according to the operation of the operation device 36. The controller 52 switches a transmission ratio R and the control state by the same processing as the processing shown in FIG. 6 of the third embodiment. In the present embodiment, it is possible to change the transmission ratio R and the maximum output TM of the motor 18 in order by operating one operation member 46, which can contribute to usability." Iino is modified such that the control of the transmission ratio corresponds to the transmission ratio control of Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann (in particular realizing a particular transmission ratio via the use of a clutch, see [0007] of Garcia).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann to incorporate the teachings of Iino to provide that the controller is configured to control the power to the electric motor during the controlling of the one or more clutches to be at or below a first predetermined power threshold. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Iino are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Iino, as doing so beneficially serves to improve usability through the changing of the transmission ratio R and the output of the motor, as recognized by Iino (see at least [0103]).
Regarding claim 5, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Shahana does not outright teach that the controller is configured to control the power to the electric motor during the controlling of the one or more clutches to be at or above a second predetermined power threshold. Iino teaches a human-powered vehicle control device, comprising:
the controller is configured to control the power to the electric motor during the controlling of the one or more clutches to be at or above a second predetermined power threshold.
Iino teaches ([0103]): "The controller 52 is configured to switch a plurality of control states imparting different output characteristics to the motor 18 with respect to human driving force TA. The plurality of control states include a first predetermined control state and a second predetermined control state. A maximum output TM of the motor 18 is different between a first predetermined control state and a second predetermined control state. One of the first predetermined control state and the second predetermined control state can be set to be a control state where the maximum output TM of the motor 18 is 0 watts and the other of the first predetermined control state and the second predetermined control state can be set to be a control state where the maximum output TM of the motor 18 is larger than 0 watts... The controller 52 switches the control state according to the operation of the operation device 36. The controller 52 switches a transmission ratio R and the control state by the same processing as the processing shown in FIG. 6 of the third embodiment. In the present embodiment, it is possible to change the transmission ratio R and the maximum output TM of the motor 18 in order by operating one operation member 46, which can contribute to usability." Iino is modified such that the control of the transmission ratio corresponds to the transmission ratio control of Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann (in particular realizing a particular transmission ratio via the use of a clutch, see [0007] of Garcia).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann to incorporate the teachings of Iino to provide that the controller is configured to control the power to the electric motor during the controlling of the one or more clutches to be at or above a second predetermined power threshold. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Iino are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Iino, as doing so beneficially serves to improve usability through the changing of the transmission ratio R and the output of the motor, as recognized by Iino (see at least [0103]).
Regarding claim 10, Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Iino teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 4. However, Shahana does not outright teach that the controller is configured to set power to the electric motor to the second predetermined power threshold in response to receiving the shift command when the present power level is lower than the second predetermined power threshold. Iino further teaches:
the controller is configured to set power to the electric motor to the second predetermined power threshold in response to receiving the shift command when the present power level is lower than the second predetermined power threshold.
Iino teaches ([0103]): "The controller 52 is configured to switch a plurality of control states imparting different output characteristics to the motor 18 with respect to human driving force TA. The plurality of control states include a first predetermined control state and a second predetermined control state. A maximum output TM of the motor 18 is different between a first predetermined control state and a second predetermined control state. One of the first predetermined control state and the second predetermined control state can be set to be a control state where the maximum output TM of the motor 18 is 0 watts and the other of the first predetermined control state and the second predetermined control state can be set to be a control state where the maximum output TM of the motor 18 is larger than 0 watts... The controller 52 switches the control state according to the operation of the operation device 36. The controller 52 switches a transmission ratio R and the control state by the same processing as the processing shown in FIG. 6 of the third embodiment. In the present embodiment, it is possible to change the transmission ratio R and the maximum output TM of the motor 18 in order by operating one operation member 46, which can contribute to usability." Here, when the initial state corresponds to the first predetermined control state, the maximum output TM of the motor 18 is 0 watts. The power to the electric motor is then set to the second predetermined power threshold of a value larger than 0 watts when receiving the shift command.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Iino to further incorporate the teachings of Iino to provide that the controller is configured to set power to the electric motor to the second predetermined power threshold in response to receiving the shift command when the present power level is lower than the second predetermined power threshold. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Iino are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Iino, as doing so beneficially serves to improve usability through the changing of the transmission ratio R and the output of the motor, as recognized by Iino (see at least [0103]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann in view of Hahn et al. (US 2020/0262510 A1), hereinafter Hahn.
Regarding claim 8, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Shahana does not outright teach that the controller is configured to maintain power to the electric motor in response to receiving the shift command. Hahn teaches a bicycle control system, comprising:
the controller is configured to maintain power to the electric motor in response to receiving the shift command.
Hahn teaches ([0129]): " In act 516, the processor instructs a motor (e.g., a motor of the derailleur or the assist motor 140) to actuate and shift to maintain a gear that results in a rider cadence close to (e.g., within the range discussed above) the target cadence speed identified in act 506. After act 516, the method returns to act 502."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann to incorporate the teachings of Hahn to provide that the controller is configured to maintain power to the electric motor in response to receiving the shift command. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Hahn are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Hahn, as incorporating the motor control of Hahn beneficially allows for maintaining a gear that results in a rider cadence close to a target cadence speed, as recognized by Hahn (see at least [0129]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and He in view of Iino.
Regarding claim 9, Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and He teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 3. However, Shahana does not outright teach that the controller is configured to set power to the electric motor to the first predetermined power threshold in response to receiving the shift command when the present power level is higher than the first predetermined power threshold. Iino teaches a human-powered vehicle control device, comprising:
the controller is configured to set power to the electric motor to the first predetermined power threshold in response to receiving the shift command when the present power level is higher than the first predetermined power threshold.
Iino teaches ([0103]): "The controller 52 is configured to switch a plurality of control states imparting different output characteristics to the motor 18 with respect to human driving force TA. The plurality of control states include a first predetermined control state and a second predetermined control state. A maximum output TM of the motor 18 is different between a first predetermined control state and a second predetermined control state. One of the first predetermined control state and the second predetermined control state can be set to be a control state where the maximum output TM of the motor 18 is 0 watts and the other of the first predetermined control state and the second predetermined control state can be set to be a control state where the maximum output TM of the motor 18 is larger than 0 watts... The controller 52 switches the control state according to the operation of the operation device 36. The controller 52 switches a transmission ratio R and the control state by the same processing as the processing shown in FIG. 6 of the third embodiment. In the present embodiment, it is possible to change the transmission ratio R and the maximum output TM of the motor 18 in order by operating one operation member 46, which can contribute to usability." Here, when the initial state corresponds to the second predetermined control state, the maximum output TM of the motor 18 is larger than 0 watts. The power to the electric motor is then set to the first predetermined power threshold of 0 watts when receiving the shift command.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and He to incorporate the teachings of Iino to provide that the controller is configured to set power to the electric motor to the first predetermined power threshold in response to receiving the shift command when the present power level is higher than the first predetermined power threshold. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, He, and Iino are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Iino, as doing so beneficially serves to improve usability through the changing of the transmission ratio R and the output of the motor, as recognized by Iino (see at least [0103]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann in view of Deleval (US 2017/0291660 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Shahana does not outright teach a freewheel clutch between the crank axle and an input of the transmission system and/or an input axle of the electric motor. Deleval teaches a powertrain for a pedal vehicle, comprising:
a freewheel clutch between the crank axle and an input of the transmission system and/or an input axle of the electric motor.
Deleval teaches ([0035]): "Configuration A, as shown in FIG. 5A, is the preferred configuration as described in FIG. 1. Freewheel 24 is placed between the crank axle and the planet carrier, thus preventing the output chainring for turning more slowly than the crank axle. When freewheel 24 moves into the locking position, there is a 1:1 ratio between the crank axle and the output chainring... Under certain conditions, the steep gradient mode is activated. In this operating mode, the two electric motors are controlled according to a setpoint current. The setpoint current of the second motor will be close to its maximum current. The setpoint current of the first motor will be such that freewheel 24 will remain in the locking position until the torque supplied by the cyclist falls to below a certain positive threshold close to zero torque. The two motors thus supply power to the output chainring of the powertrain... This configuration has the further advantage that the strong torque contributed by the user and the second motor passes directly through freewheel 24 without forcing the gears of the planetary gearing."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann to incorporate the teachings of Deleval to provide a freewheel clutch between the crank axle and an input of the transmission system and/or an input axle of the electric motor. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Deleval are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Deleval, as incorporating the freewheel of Deleval advantageously allows for the strong torque contributed by the user and the electric motor to pass through the freewheel without forcing the gears of the planetary gearing, as recognized by Deleval (see at least [0035]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann in view of Hendey et al. (US 2016/0303961 A1), hereinafter Hendey, and in further view of Deleval.
Regarding claim 13, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Shahana does not outright teach a clutch for decoupling an output of the transmission system from a wheel. Hendey teaches an integrated electric bicycle drive system, comprising:
a clutch for decoupling an output of the transmission system from a wheel,
Hendey teaches ([0043]): "The inner spindle 245 functions in combination with crankshafts 850L and 850R as a traditional bicycle crankshaft, attached to the pedals (not shown) on either side of the bicycle 1000. The outer spider 202 or “outer spindle” is connected to the rear wheel 802 through a ring gear 860 and a chain, belt, shaft, or other transmission means 870... The outer spider 202 functions as the “e-assist,” or the means by which the electric motor 300 and drive system 200 assists in driving the sprocket 860, transmission means 870, and rear wheel 802. The pinion gear assembly 236 may or may not feature a clutch or freewheel (not shown) to prevent the motor 300 from being overspun. The inner spindle 245 and outer spindle or spider 202 are coupled together with a freewheel ratchet clutch as described herein (FIG. 12), so that the outer spindle or spider 202 can rotate proportionally to the movement of the rear wheel 802, whereas the inner spindle 245 can optionally remain stationary, allowing the rider to coast without needing to pedal."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann to incorporate the teachings of Hendy to provide a clutch for decoupling an output of the transmission system from a wheel. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Hendy are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Hendey, as incorporating the clutch of Hendey beneficially allows the rider to coast without needing to pedal, as recognized by Hendey (see at least [0043]).
However, Shahana does not outright teach that the controller is configured to decouple the output of the transmission system from the wheel when powering the electric motor in response to receiving a shift command, when a torque and/or speed of the crank axle is below a predetermined threshold. Deleval teaches a powertrain for a pedal vehicle, comprising:
wherein the controller is configured to decouple the output of the transmission system from the wheel when powering the electric motor in response to receiving a shift command, when a torque and/or speed of the crank axle is below a predetermined threshold.
Deleval teaches ([0035]): "Configuration A, as shown in FIG. 5A, is the preferred configuration as described in FIG. 1. Freewheel 24 is placed between the crank axle and the planet carrier, thus preventing the output chainring for turning more slowly than the crank axle. When freewheel 24 moves into the locking position, there is a 1:1 ratio between the crank axle and the output chainring... Under certain conditions, the steep gradient mode is activated. In this operating mode, the two electric motors are controlled according to a setpoint current. The setpoint current of the second motor will be close to its maximum current. The setpoint current of the first motor will be such that freewheel 24 will remain in the locking position until the torque supplied by the cyclist falls to below a certain positive threshold close to zero torque. The two motors thus supply power to the output chainring of the powertrain... This configuration has the further advantage that the strong torque contributed by the user and the second motor passes directly through freewheel 24 without forcing the gears of the planetary gearing." Thus, when the torque supplied by the cyclist to the crank axle falls below the certain positive threshold close to zero torque, the freewheel no longer remains in the locking position (i.e., freewheel has been decoupled from the output of the transmission system).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Hendey to incorporate the teachings of Deleval to provide that the controller is configured to decouple the output of the transmission system from the wheel when powering the electric motor in response to receiving a shift command, when a torque and/or speed of the crank axle is below a predetermined threshold. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, Hendy, and Deleval are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Deleval, as incorporating the decoupling of Deleval advantageously allows for the strong torque contributed by the user and the electric motor to pass through without forcing the gears of the planetary gearing, as recognized by Deleval (see at least [0035]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann in view of Hendey.
Regarding claim 14, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Shahana does not outright teach that the clutches of the transmission system are configured to shift under load. Hendey teaches an integrated electric bicycle drive system, comprising:
the clutches of the transmission system are configured to shift under load.
Hendey teaches ([0043]): "The inner spindle 245 functions in combination with crankshafts 850L and 850R as a traditional bicycle crankshaft, attached to the pedals (not shown) on either side of the bicycle 1000. The outer spider 202 or “outer spindle” is connected to the rear wheel 802 through a ring gear 860 and a chain, belt, shaft, or other transmission means 870... The outer spider 202 functions as the “e-assist,” or the means by which the electric motor 300 and drive system 200 assists in driving the sprocket 860, transmission means 870, and rear wheel 802. The pinion gear assembly 236 may or may not feature a clutch or freewheel (not shown) to prevent the motor 300 from being overspun. The inner spindle 245 and outer spindle or spider 202 are coupled together with a freewheel ratchet clutch as described herein (FIG. 12), so that the outer spindle or spider 202 can rotate proportionally to the movement of the rear wheel 802, whereas the inner spindle 245 can optionally remain stationary, allowing the rider to coast without needing to pedal."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann to incorporate the teachings of Hendy to provide that the clutches of the transmission system are configured to shift under load. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Hendy are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Hendey, as incorporating the clutches of Hendey beneficially allows the rider to coast without needing to pedal, as recognized by Hendey (see at least [0043]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann in view of Nishikawa (US 2015/0276042 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Shahana does not outright teach that a rotation axis of the front sprocket is laterally offset relative to an axis of the crank axle. Nishikawa teaches a bicycle drive unit, comprising:
a rotation axis of the front sprocket is laterally offset relative to an axis of the crank axle.
Nishikawa teaches ([0058]): "The front sprocket 28 rotates about the rotational axis X1 of the crank axle 14. Thus, the rotational axis X1 of the crank axle 14 and the rotational axis of the front sprocket 28 are coincident with each other. However, of course, it will be apparent to those skilled in the art from this disclosure that front sprocket 28 and the crank axle 14 can be arranged with respect to each other such that the rotational axes of the front sprocket 28 and the crank axle 14 are offset with respect to each other."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann to incorporate the teachings of Nishikawa to provide that a rotation axis of the front sprocket is laterally offset relative to an axis of the crank axle. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Nishikawa are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bicycle transmission systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Nishikawa, as Nishikawa teaches that the positioning of the rotational axes of the front sprocket and the crank axle to be laterally offset from one another is a matter of design choice which "will be apparent to those skilled in the art", as recognized by Nishikawa (see at least [0058]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann in view of Mercat et al. (US 2022/0081063 A1), hereinafter Mercat.
Regarding claim 16, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Shahana does not outright teach that the electric motor is concentric with the crank axle. Mercat teaches an electric assist device for a bicycle, comprising:
the electric motor is concentric with the crank axle.
Mercat teaches ([0030]): "The objective of the invention is achieved by the supply of an assistance device for a bike comprising a motor, a reduction gear, a freewheel and a shaft rotating solidly with a right crank and a left crank; said motor being coaxial with the shaft and transmitting an assistance torque to the shaft via the freewheel; said device being intended to be housed inside a bottom bracket shell; said shaft being mounted with the ability to rotate relative to said shell by virtue of two ball bearings; said freewheel being made up of several components which are placed between the motor and the shaft;"
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann to incorporate the teachings of Mercat to provide that the electric motor is concentric with the crank axle. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Mercat are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Mercat, as incorporating the coaxial electric motor of Mercat beneficially allows for transmission of an assistance torque to the crank axle, as recognized by Mercat (see at least [0030]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann in view of Turner (US 2002/0014366 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Shahana does not outright teach a reduction transmission between the electric motor and the transmission system. Turner teaches an electric bicycle, comprising:
a reduction transmission between the electric motor and the transmission system.
Turner teaches ([0044]): "One important feature of the invention is that it includes a motor/gear reduction assembly that is an integral part of the bicycle bottom bracket and is employed to drive the front sprockets directly by use of a motor driver. By directly driving the front sprockets, the motor may take full advantage of the large range of mechanical gear reductions common to the modern bicycle. Use of such gear reductions allows for the efficiency of the electric motor and battery to be maximized."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahana, Garcia, and Weinmann to incorporate the teachings of Turner to provide a reduction transmission between the electric motor and the transmission system. Shahana, Garcia, Weinmann, and Turner are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of electric drive bicycle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Turner, as utilizing a reduction transmission between the electric motor and the transmission system beneficially improves the efficiency of the motor and battery by allowing the motor to take full advantage of the large range of mechanical gear reductions common to modern bicycle, as recognized by Turner (see at least [0044]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kinpara (US 2018/0009503 A1) teaches an electric power-assisted bicycle and drive system therefor, including a combined torque transmission mechanism which transmits torque through a one-way clutch, and further includes a transmission ratio change mechanism and associated one-way clutch (see at least [0042] and FIG. 2). Ljøsne et al. (US 2024/0059372 A1) teaches a pedally propelled vehicle gear system, including a multi-speed gear arranged in the wheel hub of a wheel of the pedally propelled vehicle, further comprising a pedally propelled crank drive and crank transmission and an electric motor and motor transmission further driving the crank transmission (see at least [0213] and FIG. 2).
/F.T.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662