DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stojanovic et al (US Pub. No. 2020/0021899 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stojanovic et al teaches an optical circuit for distributing one or more clock signals, the optical circuit comprising
an optical arrangement adapted to receive a primary modulated optical signal and split the primary modulated optical signal into a plurality of secondary modulated optical signals (para [0067]; “The optical receiver bank 369 includes five ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) respectively connected to five receiver circuits 377(1)-377(5). Each of the five ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) has a corresponding resistive thermal tuner (heater) 379(1)-379(5) that is controlled to operate the corresponding ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) at a prescribed optical wavelength. The thermal tuner 379(1) controls the ring resonator 375(1) to operate at the optical wavelength λ1. The thermal tuner 379(2) controls the ring resonator 375(2) to operate at the optical wavelength λ2. The thermal tuner 379(3) controls the ring resonator 375(3) to operate at the optical wavelength λ3. The thermal tuner 379(4) controls the ring resonator 375(4) to operate at the optical wavelength λ4. The thermal tuner 379(5) controls the ring resonator 375(5) to operate at the optical wavelength λ5.”; para [0093]; “…the SmartDistribuTOR module 111-x disclosed herein provides for tunable ring resonator multiplexing/demultiplexing in dense WDM systems to multiplex/demultiplex wavelengths to servers in a server rack.”; the ring resonators split the combination optical signal into the respective wavelengths);
a plurality of transducers adapted to convert each secondary modulated optical signal into a corresponding secondary clock signal (para [0069]; “The receiver circuit 377(1) generates the electrical data communication stream b0 as an output based on the light of wavelength λ1 coupled into the ring resonator 375(1) from the optical waveguide 373. The receiver circuit 377(2) generates the electrical data communication stream b1 as an output based on the light of wavelength λ2 coupled into the ring resonator 375(2) from the optical waveguide 373. The receiver circuit 377(3) generates the electrical data communication stream b2 as an output based on the light of wavelength λ3 coupled into the ring resonator 375(3) from the optical waveguide 373. The receiver circuit 377(4) generates the electrical data communication stream b3 as an output based on the light of wavelength λ4 coupled into the ring resonator 375(4) from the optical waveguide 373. The receiver circuit 377(5) generates the electrical data communication stream b4 as an output based on the light of wavelength λ5 coupled into the ring resonator 375(5) from the optical waveguide 373. The receiver circuits 377(1)-377(5) operate in accordance with clock signals generated by a clock detection and redistribution circuit 383.”);
a first input port for receiving a first drive signal derived from a primary clock signal (para [0063]; “The optical transmitter bank 351 includes five ring resonators 353(1)-353(5) respectively controlled by five modulator drivers 355(1)-355(5).”); and
a modulator adapted to receive a first optical signal from a first light source, wherein the modulator is adapted to modulate the first optical signal using the first drive signal to obtain the primary modulated optical signal (para [0063]; “… to modulate five different wavelengths of continuous wave laser light to in turn generate five modulated light data streams, ….”; para [0065]; “The modulator drivers 355(1)-335(5) operate to modulate the light coupled into the respective ring resonators 353(1)-353(5) to respectively generate modulated light streams representing the input electrical data communication streams b0-b4, respectively. The modulated light streams travel on through the optical waveguide 361 and through an optical output port 363 (optical grating coupler). The modulator drivers 355(1)-335(5) operate in accordance with clock signals generated by a clock distribution circuit 365.”).
Regarding claim 2, shown on Fig. 2E, Stojanovic et al teaches the optical arrangement comprises a primary splitter having an input for receiving the primary modulated optical signal and a plurality of outputs, each output being coupled to a corresponding primary channel for transmitting a corresponding secondary modulated optical signal (para [0066]; “The five modulated light streams travel from the optical waveguide 367 through an optical input port 371 (optical grating coupler) and into an optical waveguide 373.”; para [0068]; “The optical waveguide 373 extends past each of the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5). As the five modulated light streams travel through the optical waveguide 373 past the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5), the wavelengths λ.sub.1 to λ.sub.5 of the laser light optically couple into the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) based on the resonant wavelengths at which the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) are operated. In this manner, wavelength λ.sub.1 couples into ring resonator 375(1). Wavelength λ.sub.2 couples into ring resonator 375(2). Wavelength λ.sub.3 couples into ring resonator 375(3). Wavelength λ.sub.4 couples into ring resonator 375(4). Wavelength λ.sub.5 couples into ring resonator 375(5).”; optical waveguide 373 and ring resonators (375(1)-375(5)) are considered splitter since optical signals are split to respective its wavelength).
Regarding claim 3, shown on Fig. 2E, Stojanovic et al teaches the optical arrangement comprises a plurality of splitting stages comprising at least a first stage and a second stage (para [0068]; “The optical waveguide 373 extends past each of the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5). As the five modulated light streams travel through the optical waveguide 373 past the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5), the wavelengths λ.sub.1 to λ.sub.5 of the laser light optically couple into the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) based on the resonant wavelengths at which the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) are operated. In this manner, wavelength λ.sub.1 couples into ring resonator 375(1). Wavelength λ.sub.2 couples into ring resonator 375(2). Wavelength λ.sub.3 couples into ring resonator 375(3). Wavelength λ.sub.4 couples into ring resonator 375(4). Wavelength λ.sub.5 couples into ring resonator 375(5).”).
Regarding claim 6, shown on Fig. 2E, Stojanovic et al shows a total length between the primary splitter and individual output ports is designed to be the same for the different paths (shown on Fig. 2E, ports coupled to receiver 377(1)-377(5) is considered as output port; Fig. 2E shows that the length coupled to each receiver is the same for different paths; for example, length from 375(1) to 377(1) is the same as the length from 375(2) to 377(2)).
Regarding claim 7, Stojanovic et al teaches the first light source configured to generate the first optical signal (para [0063]; “… to modulate five different wavelengths of continuous wave laser light to in turn generate five modulated light data streams, ….”).
Regarding claim 8, shown on Fig. 2E, Stojanovic et al teaches a first optical source adapted to generate a first optical signal having a first wavelength; a second optical source adapted to generate a second optical signal having a second wavelength; and a combiner adapted to receive the first optical signal and the second optical signal to generate the primary modulated optical signal (para [0093]; “…the SmartDistribuTOR module 111-x disclosed herein provides for tunable ring resonator multiplexing/demultiplexing in dense WDM systems to multiplex/demultiplex wavelengths to servers in a server rack.”).
Regarding claim 9, shown on Fig. 2E, Stojanovic et al teaches a second input port for receiving a second drive signal and a second modulator adapted to modulate a second optical signal using the second drive signal to obtain another primary modulated optical signal, wherein the second drive signal is derived from another primary clock signal; wherein the first optical signal has a first wavelength and the second optical signal has a second wavelength (para [0063]; “… to modulate five different wavelengths of continuous wave laser light to in turn generate five modulated light data streams, ….”; para [0065]; “The modulator drivers 355(1)-335(5) operate to modulate the light coupled into the respective ring resonators 353(1)-353(5) to respectively generate modulated light streams representing the input electrical data communication streams b0-b4, respectively. The modulated light streams travel on through the optical waveguide 361 and through an optical output port 363 (optical grating coupler). The modulator drivers 355(1)-335(5) operate in accordance with clock signals generated by a clock distribution circuit 365.”; para [0068]; “The optical waveguide 373 extends past each of the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5). As the five modulated light streams travel through the optical waveguide 373 past the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5), the wavelengths λ.sub.1 to λ.sub.5 of the laser light optically couple into the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) based on the resonant wavelengths at which the ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) are operated. In this manner, wavelength λ.sub.1 couples into ring resonator 375(1). Wavelength λ.sub.2 couples into ring resonator 375(2). Wavelength λ.sub.3 couples into ring resonator 375(3). Wavelength λ.sub.4 couples into ring resonator 375(4). Wavelength λ.sub.5 couples into ring resonator 375(5).”).
Regarding claim 10, shown on Fig. 2E, Stojanovic et al teaches wherein the optical arrangement comprises a wavelength multiplexer or combiner to combine the primary modulated optical signals (para [0093]; “…the SmartDistribuTOR module 111-x disclosed herein provides for tunable ring resonator multiplexing/demultiplexing in dense WDM systems to multiplex/demultiplex wavelengths to servers in a server rack.”).
Regarding claim 11, shown on Fig. 2E, Stojanovic et al teaches wherein the optical arrangement comprises at least one wavelength demultiplexer to separate the primary modulated optical signals (para [0093]; “…the SmartDistribuTOR module 111-x disclosed herein provides for tunable ring resonator multiplexing/demultiplexing in dense WDM systems to multiplex/demultiplex wavelengths to servers in a server rack.”).
Regarding claim 12, shown on Fig. 2E, Stojanovic et al teaches the optical circuit is an integrated optical circuit (chip 1 and chip 2) (para [0063]; “FIG. 2E shows an example optical transmitter bank 351 within a first chip (chip 1)…”).
Regarding claim 13, shown on Fig. 2E, Stojanovic et al teaches an optical circuit as claimed in claim 1 coupled to a clock source (clock) (para [0065]; “The modulator drivers 355(1)-335(5) operate in accordance with clock signals generated by a clock distribution circuit 365.”).
Regarding claim 20, Stojanovic et al teaches a method of distributing one or more clock signals (Fig. 2E), the method comprising
receiving a first drive signal (para [0063]; “The optical transmitter bank 351 includes five ring resonators 353(1)-353(5) respectively controlled by five modulator drivers 355(1)-355(5).”) at a first input port (from clock distribution 365), wherein the first drive signal is derived from a primary clock signal (para [0063]; “FIG. 2E shows an example optical transmitter bank 351 within a first chip (chip 1) operating to modulate five different wavelengths of continuous wave laser light to in turn generate five modulated light data streams, where each modulated light data stream corresponds to an input electrical data stream.”);
receiving by a modulator (353(1)) a first optical signal from a first light source (205) (para [0063]; “… to modulate five different wavelengths of continuous wave laser light…”; para [0064]; “Laser light that includes the five wavelengths λ1 to λ5 is transmitted from the laser chip 205 through the optical waveguide 213 to the optical port (optical grating coupler) 359 and through an optical waveguide 361.”);
modulating, with the modulator, the first optical signal using the first drive signal to obtain a primary modulated optical signal (para [0063]; “… to modulate five different wavelengths of continuous wave laser light to in turn generate five modulated light data streams, ….”; para [0065]; “The modulator drivers 355(1)-335(5) operate to modulate the light coupled into the respective ring resonators 353(1)-353(5) to respectively generate modulated light streams representing the input electrical data communication streams b0-b4, respectively. The modulated light streams travel on through the optical waveguide 361 and through an optical output port 363 (optical grating coupler). The modulator drivers 355(1)-335(5) operate in accordance with clock signals generated by a clock distribution circuit 365.”);
splitting the primary modulated optical signal into a plurality of secondary modulated optical signals (para [0067]; “The optical receiver bank 369 includes five ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) respectively connected to five receiver circuits 377(1)-377(5). Each of the five ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) has a corresponding resistive thermal tuner (heater) 379(1)-379(5) that is controlled to operate the corresponding ring resonators 375(1)-375(5) at a prescribed optical wavelength. The thermal tuner 379(1) controls the ring resonator 375(1) to operate at the optical wavelength λ1. The thermal tuner 379(2) controls the ring resonator 375(2) to operate at the optical wavelength λ2. The thermal tuner 379(3) controls the ring resonator 375(3) to operate at the optical wavelength λ3. The thermal tuner 379(4) controls the ring resonator 375(4) to operate at the optical wavelength λ4. The thermal tuner 379(5) controls the ring resonator 375(5) to operate at the optical wavelength λ5.”; para [0093]; “…the SmartDistribuTOR module 111-x disclosed herein provides for tunable ring resonator multiplexing/demultiplexing in dense WDM systems to multiplex/demultiplex wavelengths to servers in a server rack.”; the ring resonators split the combination optical signal into the respective wavelengths); and
converting, with a plurality of transducers, each secondary modulated optical signal into a corresponding secondary clock signal (para [0069]; “The receiver circuit 377(1) generates the electrical data communication stream b0 as an output based on the light of wavelength λ1 coupled into the ring resonator 375(1) from the optical waveguide 373. The receiver circuit 377(2) generates the electrical data communication stream b1 as an output based on the light of wavelength λ2 coupled into the ring resonator 375(2) from the optical waveguide 373. The receiver circuit 377(3) generates the electrical data communication stream b2 as an output based on the light of wavelength λ3 coupled into the ring resonator 375(3) from the optical waveguide 373. The receiver circuit 377(4) generates the electrical data communication stream b3 as an output based on the light of wavelength λ4 coupled into the ring resonator 375(4) from the optical waveguide 373. The receiver circuit 377(5) generates the electrical data communication stream b4 as an output based on the light of wavelength λ5 coupled into the ring resonator 375(5) from the optical waveguide 373. The receiver circuits 377(1)-377(5) operate in accordance with clock signals generated by a clock detection and redistribution circuit 383.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5 and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Davenport et al (US Patent No. 11,402,576 B2) is cited to show WDM system comprising ring resonators associated with respective wavelengths.
Paniccia et al (US Patent No. 6,125,217) is cited to show clock distribution network.
Bausman et al (US Patent No. 5,442,475) is cited to show optical clock distribution system.
Rao (US Patent No. 5,812,708) is cited to show apparatus for distributing an optical clock in an integrated circuit.
Koh et al (US Patent No. 5,416,861) is cited to show optical sync clock distribution system uses modulated light source with sufficient power and stability to drive component clock receivers using laser diode with modulation current driving circuit.
Gallo et al (US Patent No. 5,208,879) is cited to show optical signal distribution.
DALZID E. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635