DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-18, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20200095595 A, hereafter Kim, using machine translation) in view of Peng (US 20200247316 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a method for adjusting a depth of detail of an augmented reality user interface of a means of locomotion, the method comprising:
Determining that a finger of a user is at a predefined position on a surface in an interior of the means of locomotion (Fig. 17, [0072], where a user drags a finger on a touch pad 19 to a specific area 1710, the user being the driver), and
in response thereto, adjusting the depth of detail of an augmented reality display according to the predefined position (Fig. 17, [0072], where the size of the display information on the AR display is reduced by performing the predetermined gesture).
But, Kim does not explicitly teach the method wherein the surface is a translucent surface. However, this was well known in the art as evidenced by Peng (Fig. 1, where the touch module includes a decorative layer 2 that is partially transparent or semi-transparent). Both Kim and Peng teach touch-sensitive devices mounted inside vehicles for use by the vehicle operator. Kim teaches a touchpad for controlling an AR display but does not specifically teach that the touchpad permits light to pass through. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the touchpad of Kim using a transparent touchpad as taught by Peng to provide a convenient user interface where touch operations directly overlay the display.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kim and Peng would show the method according to claim 14. Peng in the combination further teaches the method wherein the determining that the finger of the user is at the predefined position takes place by way of an optical sensor ([0044], where an infrared method of sensing is used for the touchpad).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kim and Peng would show the method according to claim 15. Peng in the combination further teaches the method wherein the optical sensor is an infrared camera ([0044], where an infrared method of sensing is used for the touchpad).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kim and Peng would show the method according to claim 14. Kim in the combination further teaches the method wherein the translucent surface is arranged in at least one of a door panel or a dashboard of the means of locomotion ([0018], where the touchpad is removably attached to the dashboard).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kim and Peng would show the method according to claim 14. Peng in the combination further teaches the method wherein the translucent surface comprises at least one of a fabric or a wood trim (Fig. 1, [0050], where the decorative layer 2 is comprised of a fabric vehicle trim).
Regarding claim 26, Kim teaches a device for adjusting a depth of detail of an augmented reality user interface of a means of locomotion, the device comprising:
a data input (Fig. 1, [0017]-[0018], where there is a touchpad 110),
an evaluation unit (Fig. 1, [0017]-[0019], where there is a manipulation recognition unit 120), and
a data output (Fig. 1, [0017], [0021], where there is a display device 140),
wherein the evaluation unit is configured:
to determine that a finger of a user is at a predefined position on a surface in an interior of the means of locomotion by way of the data input (Fig. 17, [0072], where a user drags a finger on a touch pad 19 to a specific area 1710, the user being the driver), and
in response thereto, to adjust the depth of detail of an augmented reality display (Fig. 17, [0072], where the size of the display information on the AR display is reduced by performing the predetermined gesture).
But, Kim does not explicitly teach the method wherein the surface is a translucent surface. However, this was well known in the art as evidenced by Peng (Fig. 1, where the touch module includes a decorative layer 2 that is partially transparent or semi-transparent). Both Kim and Peng teach touch-sensitive devices mounted inside vehicles for use by the vehicle operator. Kim teaches a touchpad for controlling an AR display but does not specifically teach that the touchpad permits light to pass through. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the touchpad of Kim using a transparent touchpad as taught by Peng to provide a convenient user interface where touch operations directly overlay the display.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Kim and Peng would show the device according to claim 26. Kim further teaches the means of locomotion comprising the device according to claim 26 (Fig. 1, [0017]-0018], the device being inside a vehicle).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20200095595 A, hereafter Kim, using machine translation) in view of Peng (US 20200247316 A1) and Eckhard et al. (EP 2520453 A1, hereafter Eckhard, using machine translation).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kim and Peng would show the method according to claim 14. But, the combination does not explicitly teach the method wherein the predefined position is at least one of marked or optically highlighted by way of a rear spatial projection. However, this was well known in the art as evidenced by Eckhard (Figs. 1-4, [0025]-[0027], showing a rear projection display deployed inside a vehicle). Kim and Peng teach methods wherein there are vehicle-mounted touch-sensitive displays, but do not teach that the display is a rear projection display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a rear projection system taking advantage of a surface of vehicle trim to convey information as taught by Eckhard so as to reduce vehicle manufacturing complexity by requiring specialized trim for installing another type of display (Eckhard [0007]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kim and Peng would show the method according to claim 14. But, the combination does not explicitly teach the method wherein adjacent predefined positions are at least one of marked or optically highlighted by way of a rear spatial projection. However, this was well known in the art as evidenced by Eckhard (Figs. 1-4, [0025]-[0027], showing a rear projection display deployed inside a vehicle). Kim and Peng teach methods wherein there are vehicle-mounted touch-sensitive displays, but do not teach that the display is a rear projection display. Kim teaches the display of a marked specific area 1710 having a plurality of defined positions (Kim [0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a rear projection system taking advantage of a surface of vehicle trim to convey information as taught by Eckhard so as to reduce vehicle manufacturing complexity by requiring specialized trim for installing another type of display (Eckhard [0007]).
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20200095595 A, hereafter Kim, using machine translation) in view of Peng (US 20200247316 A1) and Iliffe-Moon (DE 102021100577 A1, using machine translation).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Kim and Peng would show the method according to claim 14. But, the combination does not explicitly teach the method further comprising: starting a rear projection through the translucent surface in response to the determining of the predefined position of the finger. However, this was well known in the art as evidenced by Iliffe-Moon (Figs. 1 and 2, [0030]-[0033], where there is an operating element 205 which display a selected element 220 in response to a user interaction). Kim and Peng teach methods wherein there are vehicle-mounted touch-sensitive displays, but do not teach that the display is a rear projection display presenting new elements in response to user interaction. Kim teaches the display of a marked specific area 1710 having a plurality of defined positions (Kim [0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a rear projection system to provide easier user response so as to reduce possible user distraction (Iliffe-Moon [0020]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Kim and Peng would show the method according to claim 14. But, the combination does not teach the method wherein the adjusting of the depth of detail of the augmented reality display comprises at least one of: an increase or a decrease of surroundings objects which are highlighted or replaced in the augmented reality display, an increase or a decrease of events which are acknowledged by way of at least one of a vibration exciter, a fan, or an aroma note, an expansion or a reduction of a display surface of a head-up display, a darkening of windowpanes of the means of locomotion, or an increase or a reduction of projectors used to display the augmented reality. However, this was well known in the art as evidenced by Iliffe-Moon (Figs. 1 and 2, [0030]-[0033], where there is an operating element 205 which displays a plurality of selected elements 220 in response to a user interaction). Kim and Peng teach methods wherein there are vehicle-mounted touch-sensitive displays, but do not teach that the display is a rear projection display presenting new elements in response to user interaction. Kim teaches the display of a marked specific area 1710 having a plurality of defined positions (Kim [0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a rear projection system to provide easier user response so as to reduce possible user distraction (Iliffe-Moon [0020]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Kim and Peng would show the method according to claim 14. But, the combination does not explicitly teach the method further comprising: determining a surroundings object via sensors by way of the means of locomotion having a predefined property, and in response thereto, reducing or removing display contents located in a line of sight of a user to the surroundings object. However, this was well known in the art as evidenced by Iliffe-Moon (Figs. 1 and 2, [0029]-[0030], where objects in the real environment 120 are detected and represented to the user). Kim and Peng teach methods wherein there are vehicle-mounted touch-sensitive displays. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a vehicle-mounted augmented reality system to ensure the user is aware of potentially dangers fixed deadly objects, so as to improve operator safety.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Kim, Peng, and Iliffe-Moon would show the method according to claim 23. Iliffe-Moon in the combination further teaches the method wherein the predefined property of the surroundings object defines at least one of: a distance, a size, a mass, a collision relevance, or a trajectory ([0029]-[0030], where the virtual object providing information about the real environment according to a fixed location reference).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Kim, Peng, and Iliffe-Moon would show the method according to claim 23. Iliffe-Moon in the combination further teaches the method comprising reducing or removing the display contents in a predefined area around the surroundings object, depending on a trajectory of the line of sight of the user in relation to the surroundings object (Fig. 2, [0031], where objects such as a tree and the road are displayed in the AR environment to be clearly visible to the user).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts on pages 8 and 9 of Applicant’s arguments/remarks that “Kim does not disclose ‘determining that a finger of a user is at a predefined position on a translucent surface in an interior of the means of locomotion’” and instead Kim only teaches “that the driver has dragged a finger on the touch pad without determining that the finger of the driver is at a predefined position on the touchpad.” Similarly, Applicant asserts that regarding the feature of adjusting the depth of detail, Kim teaches that the size reduction is performed “in response to the pinch-in action, not in response to determining that the finger of the drive is at a predetermined position.” However, the Kim reference teaches requiring that the user drag their finger until a specific area is selected in order to then perform the adjustment of the AR display. It is noted that the claim does not require the predefined position be an absolute location. The Kim reference teaches the user inputting the dragging operation to then satisfy the requirement for a predefined position on the touch surface which in turn adjusts the detail.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER D MCLOONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621