DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1 – Statutory Category
The claims recite a method. The claim is directed to a process and therefore meets the statutory category of 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Step 2A, Prong One – Identify Judicial Exception
The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim uses a language model trained on relationships between terms. Collectively and individually, these activities fall within categories courts and USPTO guidance commonly treat as abstract ideas: mental processes (recognizing/extracting/organizing information), mathematical concepts (mapping text to numerical vectors), and fundamental data-processing/manipulation and storage activities. That is, other than reciting “various elements” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by the categories. The claim uses a generic language model to improve the informational content of data, rather than improving the technological functioning of the language model or computer.
Step 2A, Prong Two – Exception integrated into a practical application.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements which are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Step 2B – Inventive Concept
The claims do not recite additional elements that transform the nature of the claim into patent-eligible subject matter. The features recited are described at a functional level and are thus insufficient to demonstrate an inventive concept. The claim lacks limitations that identify unconventional implementation, a novel arrangement of components producing a technical improvement, or specific features that would make the claimed combination more than the abstract idea plus conventional computer activity. As such, the claim amounts to an instruction to apply the abstract idea using routine, conventional computer components and generic machine-learning/synthesis models.
The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims are directed to the abstract idea of information processing and attribute information extraction, as explained in detail below.
The limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “various elements” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by mental processing. For example, the claims describe reading a target string, identifying related words and phrases, determining attribute information from those related words or phrases and associating the attributes with the original data. The present claim language under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of mental processing and recites generic computer components, which all falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. It reads on linguistic analysis and information classification. The additional limitation is using a language model trained on relationships between terms merely implements the abstract idea using computer technology. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The claims are directed to the abstract idea of analyzing textual information to identify attributes associated with target data. The claims recite generating a string related to an input string and extracting attribute information from the generated string. These limitations describe linguistic analysis and classification information. The additional limitation is using a language model trained on relationships between terms merely implements the abstract idea using computer technology. The claims do not recite a particular improvement to the functioning of the computer or language model, but instead uses the language model as a tool to perform the information analysis process. Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Furthermore, the claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp. involved applying machine learning to generate television schedules and network maps. The Federal Circuit held that applying generic machine learning techniques to a new environment, without improving the machine learning itself, did not render the claims patent eligible.
Particularly, the present invention is very similar to Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A. The claims focus on collecting information, analyzing it and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis. The claims collect information, which does not change its character as information. The analyzing can be done by steps that goes through one’s mind, or by mathematical algorithms, which is essentially mental processes within the abstract -idea category. Presenting results of abstract processes of collecting and analyzing information is abstract as an ancillary part of collection and analysis. Here, the claims are clearly focused on the combination of those abstract idea processes. The advance they purport to make is a process of gathering and analyzing information of a specified content, then displaying the results, and not any particular inventive technology for performing those functions. They are therefore directed to an abstract idea. Nothing in the claims, understood in light of the specification, requires anything other than off-the-shelf, conventional computer, network, and display technology for gathering, sending, and presenting the desired information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta (PGPUB 2014/0348400) in view of Vozila et al. (PGPUB 2014/0324434), hereinafter referenced as Vozila.
Regarding claims 1 and 9-10, Ohta discloses an information processing apparatus comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor carrying out:
a related string generation process of generating, from a target string regarding target data to which attribute information is to be added, a related string related to the target string with use of a language model with relationships between terms (employs a structure in which a target (a person, a character string, an object or the like) included in an image is recognized when character input to an application program handling the image is to be carried out, and a phrase related to the recognized target is added to a candidate group for a phrase of input prediction.; p. 0007, 0031-0032, 0041, 0043-0044, 0055-0056, 0067-0068 with fig. 6 and figs. 1-2, dictionary 11 and related phrase database 19); and
an attribute information extraction process of extracting the attribute information from the related string (related phrase extracting unit; p. 0020, 0044-0049, 0055-0056, but does not specifically teach a related string related to the target string with use of a language model trained with relationships between terms.
Vozila discloses a target string regarding target data (fig. 3) comprising a related string related to the target string with use of a language model trained with relationships between terms (figs 3-4, elements 306-310 with p. 0002-0005, 0013-0020), to improve the selection of related phrases based on linguistic context.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to assist with predicting linguistically appropriate related phrases based on learned relationships between words.
Regarding claim 2, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Vozila discloses an apparatus wherein in the related string generation process, the at least one processor uses the language model trained to output at least one sentence including an inputted string, to generate, as the related string, at least one sentence including the target string (obtain training data and associated metadata and clustering data; figs 3-4, elements 306-310 with p. 0002-0005, 0013-0020).
Regarding claim 5, Ohta discloses an apparatus comprising the at least one processor carrying out a target string generation means for process of generating, as the target string, with use of a string indicating a name of the target data, at least one sentence including the string (name; p. 0055-0056).
Regarding claim 6, Ohta discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor carrying out:
a related term obtaining means for process of obtaining a related term related to the target data (input used to generate the related string; p. 0020-0025, 0031-0036); and
a target string generation means for process of generating, as the target string, at least one sentence including the related term (input used to generate the related string; p. 0020-0025, 0031-0036).
Regarding claim 7, Ohta discloses an apparatus wherein
in the related string generation process, the at least one processor generates two or more related strings, targeting one or both of the target data and another data (plurality of candidates; p. 0003, 0048, 0054, 0067-0068), and
in the attribute information extraction process, the at least one processor extracts, as the attribute information, one or more terms selected from terms included in the related string corresponding to the target data based on a frequency of occurrence of each term included in the two or more related strings (frequency of use; p. 0004, 0039, 0054-0056).
Regarding claim 8, Ohta discloses an apparatus wherein in the attribute information extraction process, the at least one processor extracts, as the attribute information, one or more terms selected from one or more terms included in the related string based on a similarity to a predetermined term (retrieves phrases related to a recognized character string; p. 0023-0025, 0031-0040).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta in view of Vozila and in further view of Jenkins et al. (PGPUB 2014/0120513), hereinafter referenced as Jenkins.
Regarding claim 3, Ohtain view of Vozila discloses an apparatus wherein in the related string generation process, the at least one processor generates the related string by inputting the target string into the language model trained to output, as described above, but does not specifically teach missing data.
Jenkins discloses an apparatus comprising
the at least one processor carrying out a target string generation means for process of generating, as the target string, at least one sentence in which a part that indicates an attribute of the target data is missing (filling the gap of missing information; p. 0053-0057, 0100-0125),
in response to input of a sentence having a missing part, a string appropriate to fill the missing part (generating missing attribute information; p. 0106-0108, 0129 with fig. 5), to improve completeness of data records by identifying attribute information that is not already present.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to provide missing data.
Regarding claim 4, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Jenkins discloses an apparatus the at least one processor carrying out a target string generation means for process of generating, as the target string, a question sentence regarding an attribute of the target data,
wherein in the related string generation process, the at least one processor generates the related string by inputting the target string into the language model trained to output, in response to input of a question sentence, a string that answers the question sentence (fig. 3, elements 302-308 import electronics documents, create document metadata, generate candidate questions using natural language processing and presenting question and pairs for verification), to improve the identification of relevant information associated with a target string..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
Achiwa teaches an information processing apparatus for obtaining information indicating an attribute group of a preset extraction target.
/JAKIEDA R JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657