DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the preliminary amendment dated 06/17/2025, claims 1-15 have been amended, are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim to priority under 35 U.S.C. 371 to PCT Application No. PCT/EP2023/086015 filed on 12/15/2023, which claims priority to EP 22215830.5 filed on 12/22/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS)(s) submitted on 06/17/2025 follow(s) the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has/have been fully considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. See e.g., MPEP 2181(V). Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a source configured to generate a synthetic signal… is positioned on the medical system” (claim 12).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The Specification describes the corresponding structure, material or acts as follows:
“a source” corresponds to a gantry part of the medical system (see Spec. at pg. 9, lines 8-20: “the at least one sensor may comprise at least one of the following: an acoustic sensor, a vibration sensor, an electromagnetic sensor and a thermal sensor… the medical system may comprise one or more parts… the obtained signal may stem from a source configured to generate a synthetic signal and the source may be positioned on the medical system. The synthetic signal may be, for example, a noise signal or a heat signal… For example, the sensor may thus capture the acoustic source [signal] originating from the spinning gantry”, emphasis added). Note: The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) in light of the specification for the corresponding structure and equivalents thereof is understood to be a spinning/rotating gantry and functionality programmed to generate and transmit acoustic, vibration, electromagnetic, or thermal data.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) use of this word is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the word is not preceded by a structural modifier. See e.g., MPEP 2181(V). Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means configured to carry out the steps…” (claim 13).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The Specification describes the corresponding structure, material or acts as follows:
“means” corresponds to a processor (see Spec. at pg. 9, lines 20-25). Note: The Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) in light of the specification for the corresponding structure and equivalents thereof is understood to be a computer and functionality programmed to obtain, provide, and determine data and/or instructions.
Note: Citing MPEP § 2181 (II)(B), the Applicant’s specification has the description necessary to support the claim limitations invoking 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), since the claimed functionalities are ‘coextensive’ with the corresponding structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected for lack of adequate written description. The claims each recite functional steps for which the Applicant has not adequately described the steps in sufficient detail for one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that the Applicant had possession of the invention.
MPEP 2161.01(I): When examining computer-implemented functional claims, examiners should determine whether the specification discloses the computer and the algorithm (e.g., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter. [...] If the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention including how to program the disclosed computer to perform the claimed function, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, for lack of written description must be made. For more information regarding the written description requirement, see MPEP § 2161.01- § 2163.07(b). […]
Specifically, the claims recite “an evaluation algorithm” (claim 2 being representative). The Applicant has provided no disclosure of how this evaluation algorithm executes any of a plurality of evaluations (i.e., failure/anomaly detection, position estimation, failure localization, failure prediction/anomaly analysis). Any analysis and subsequent determination could potentially read on the as-claimed invention.
The Specification (at pg. 5, line 32 - pg. 6, line 2) states:
The term evaluation algorithm, as used herein, is to be understood broadly and may relate to any algorithm configured to analyse a workflow phase. The evaluation algorithm may relate to an algorithm configured to analyse a subunit of the medical system (e.g. a coil of the MRI system or a patient table). The evaluation algorithm may detect a failure of at least a part of the medical system (e.g. start-up noise of a coil of a MRI system). The evaluation algorithm may localise a failure in at least a part of the medical system (e.g. uncommon vibration in a drive of a C-arm of a projection X-ray imaging system). The method may provide a plurality of evaluation algorithms.
See also Spec. pg. 7, lines 1-20.
This is inadequate for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to conclude that the Applicant had possession of the claimed algorithm. Unlike the workflow phase determining algorithm, no evaluation algorithm is presented.
The Examiner prospectively notes that this written description rejection is not based on whether one skilled in the art would know how to program a computer to perform any form of analysis and determination (i.e., an enablement rejection), but rather is directed to the Applicant’s lack of specificity as to how the analysis and/or determination is specifically performed with respect to the Applicant’s claimed invention. The Applicant's description of analysis and determination claims any and all types of analysis and determination evidencing that the Applicant did not have possession of their invention at the time of filing.
Note: Original claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. MPEP 2161.01.
Claims 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 recites “the at least one evaluation algorithm”, which lacks antecedent basis. Claim 1 does not recite an evaluation algorithm. Claim 2 introduces the evaluation algorithm.
Claim 4 recites “the at least one selected evaluation algorithm”, which lacks antecedent basis. Claim 1 does not recite an evaluation algorithm or selection thereof. Claim 2 introduces the evaluation algorithm and selection thereof.
Claim 6 recites “the at least one selected algorithm”, which lacks appropriate antecedent basis and is missing the distinction of the at least one selected evaluation algorithm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
According to MPEP 2106.03 (I), there are four categories of invention: process, machine, article of manufacture, and composition of matter. One example of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories includes products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as "data per se") or a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations. Claim 15 is/are recited to comprise a computer program that under the broadest reasonable interpretation as well as in light of the Specification does/do not have a physical or tangible form. The programs may be entirely embodied in software. Therefore, claim 15 is directed to "software", which is neither a category of invention nor a subset of one of the categories (See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1354, 84 USPQ2d 1495, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 2007)). As such, Claim 15 is/are not directed to a statutory category of invention.
A product must have a physical or tangible form in order to fall within one of the four statutory categories (see Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1348, 111 USPQ2d at 1719). A product claim to an intangible collection of information, even if created by human effort, does not fall within any statutory category (see Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1350, 111 USPQ2d at 1720 (claimed "device profile" comprising two sets of data did not meet any of the categories because it was neither a process nor a tangible product)). Similarly, software expressed as code or a set of instructions detached from any medium is an idea without physical embodiment (See Microsoft Corp. v. AT&T Corp., 550 U.S. 437, 449, 82 USPQ2d 1400, 1407 (2007)). The computer program of claim 15 does not have a physical or tangible form (note: the claim does not recite a “non-transitory” computer-readable, discussed infra). As such, claim 15 is/are directed to software per se. An “idea” is not patent eligible (see Benson, 409 U.S. 67, 175 USPQ2d 675). The program of claim 15 does not consist of any additional structural recitations.
Furthermore, Claim 15 is rejected because it does not sufficiently recite a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319(Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. §101, Aug. 24, 2009; p. 2.
The USPTO recognizes that applicants may have claims directed to computer readable media that cover signals per se, which the USPTO must reject under 35 U.S.C. §101 as covering both non-statutory subject matter and statutory subject matter. In an effort to assist the patent community in overcoming a rejection or potential rejection under 35 U.S.C. §101 in this situation, the USPTO suggests the following approach. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §101 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim. Cf. Animals – Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (suggesting that applicants add the limitation "non-human" to a claim covering a multi-cellular organism to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §101). Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. The limited situations in which such an amendment could raise issues of new matter occur, for example, when the specification does not support a non-transitory embodiment because a signal per se is the only viable embodiment such that the amended claim is impermissibly broadened beyond the supporting disclosure. See, e.g., Gentry Gallery, Inc. v. Berkline Corp., 134 F.3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1998). As such, claim 15 is not patent eligible.
In furtherance of compact prosecution, Examiner will further consider the claims under 35 USC § 101 as if the claims were amended to be directed towards a computer hardware (e.g., a “non-transitory” computer-readable medium) and not software per se.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 (YES)
The claims recite a CRM, device, and method for information retrieval, which are within a statutory category (or are interpreted to be within a statutory category for subject matter eligibility analysis purposes).
Step 2A1 (YES)
The limitations of obtaining signals; providing a workflow phase determining algorithm configured to determine workflow phase data of the medical system; determining the workflow phase data by utilizing the workflow phase determining algorithm and the obtained signals, as drafted (claim 1 being representative), is a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a processor (claims 1 and 13) or a CRM (claim 15) implemented by a computer device (Claim 15), nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the processor or the CRM implemented by a computer, this claim encompasses a person thinking about signals, a workflow phase determining algorithm, and determining workflow phase data in the manner described in the identified abstract idea, supra. The claims describe the determining as performed by a workflow phase determining algorithm. The specification (at pg. 2, lines 32-36) describes the algorithm as any logic including a heuristic algorithm and a regression model; and decision trees, linear regression, logistic regression (pg. 9, lines 1-5). The algorithm is considered to be part of the abstract idea because it falls under data manipulations that humans can practically perform in the mind and thus is part of the mental process. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of a computer device including a processor and/or a (presumably) non-transitory CRM that implements the identified abstract idea. The additional elements are not described by the applicant and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic computer or component performing generic computer functions that facilitate the identified abstract idea) such that these amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see specification at pg. 8, lines 19-25; pg. 9, lines 20-25; pg. 10, lines 8-9). See MPEP § 2106.04(d)(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims further recite the additional element of at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor is external to the medical system, as collecting, transmitting or outputting data. The additional element is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a general means of collecting, transmitting or outputting data) and amounts to a location from which data is received or to which data is transmitted or outputted, each of which represents insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., mere data gathering and data output). MPEP § 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that extra-solution data gathering and data output activity cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims further recite the additional element of the at least one external sensor is configured to monitor the medical system, which represents insignificant extra-solution activity. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that extra-solution activity cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims further recite the additional element of a medical system in a medical environment being monitored. which under practical application merely generally links the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using a computer including a processor and/or a non-transitory CRM to perform the noted steps (represented by claim 1) amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
Also discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor is external to the medical system (i.e., a device that collects, transmits or outputs data) is considered extra-solution activity. This additional element has been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that receiving, transmitting or outputting data over a network has been held by the courts to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity (citing TLI Communications, Symantec, OIP Techs., and buySAFE). See also MPEP 2106.05(g) (citing Cybersource, Mayo, OIP Techs.) Well-understood, routine, conventional activity cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”).
Also, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of the at least one external sensor is configured to monitor the medical system is considered extra solution activity. This additional element has been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The prior art of record indicates that an external sensor monitoring a medical system is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field (see US 2024/0006063 to Vogtmeier at para. 0018-0019, 0024, 0039; see US 2015/0201912 to Mercer et al. at para. 0011-0013, 0029; see US 2018/0064365 to Srinivasan at Fig. 11 and para. 0092, 0097-0100). The Examiner notes that there is no indication that the monitoring feature of the external sensor is any different than how monitors normally capture objects. Well-understood, routine, conventional activity cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not provide significantly more.
Also, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of the medical system in the medical environment that is monitored is considered generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. These have been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and has/have also been found insufficient to provide significantly more. MPEP § 2106.05(A) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide significantly more. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not provide significantly more. As such, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-12 and 14 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide as inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination.
Claim(s) 2 merely describe(s) using the workflow phase data to select at least one evaluation algorithm for a medical system, which further defines the abstract idea. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification (see pg. 6, lines 33-36; see also pg. 7, lines 1-20, which encompass a wide variety of algorithms without limitation of a specific type of evaluation algorithm utilized by the Applicant), the evaluation algorithm is considered to be part of the abstract idea because it falls under data manipulations that humans perform and thus is part of the mental process (e.g., a person thinking about failure/anomaly detection, position estimation, failure localization, or failure prediction/anomaly analysis). Also claim 2 merely describes providing the determined workflow phase for further processing comprising display or analysis of the workflow phase, which further defines the abstract idea. See analysis, supra.
Claim(s) 2 also includes the additional element of “the processor” which is analyzed, supra, and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 3 merely describe(s) the evaluation algorithm for a medical system as a failure detection algorithm, a position estimation algorithm, a failure localization algorithm or a failure prediction algorithm that is selected for analysis of the obtained signal describing the medical system, which further defines the abstract idea. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification (see pg. 6, lines 33-36; see also pg. 7, lines 1-20, which encompass a wide variety of algorithms without limitation of a specific type of failure detection algorithm utilized by the Applicant), the failure detection algorithm is considered to be part of the abstract idea because it falls under data manipulations that humans perform and thus is part of the mental process (e.g., a person thinking about failure/anomaly detection, position estimation, failure localization, or failure prediction/anomaly analysis). See analysis, supra.
Claim 4 merely describes executing the at least one selected evaluation algorithm and presenting a result of the executed at least one selected evaluation algorithm, which further defines the abstract idea. See analysis, supra.
Claim 4 also includes the additional element of “a user interface”, which is analyzed the same as the other generic computer components and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons. See spec. at pg. 9, lines 25-30.
Claim 5 describes the limitations of analysing the determined workflow phase data based on corresponding reference workflow phase data; transmitting the obtained signals via a data connection to an analysing platform for further analysis based on the analysing result; or deleting the obtained signals based on the analysing result. The limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions) but for recitation of generic computer components. The claims encompass a series of rules or instructions for a person or persons to follow, with or without the aid of a computer, to monitor workflow phases and identify inefficiencies in the workflow (see specification pg. 3, lines 5-15 describing day-to-day clinical operations as human activity; and specification pg. 4, lines 5-20 describing identifying workflow/administration inefficiencies as human activity) in the manner described in the identified abstract idea, supra. The rules or instructions are the claimed steps of “analysing… to obtain/identify… transmitting… [and/or] deleting…” as indicated supra.
Other than reciting generic computer components (discussed supra), i.e., a system implemented by a data processor (computer), the claimed invention amounts to managing personal behavior or interaction between people. The Examiner notes that certain “method[s] of organizing human activity” includes a person’s interaction with a computer (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. The multiple types of identified abstract ideas are considered together as a single abstract idea for analysis purposes.
Note: The Spec. at pg. 8, lines 10-15 describes an analysing platform may be a cloud application or embedded in a workstation, i.e., instructions that are part of the abstract idea.
Claim 5 also includes the additional element of the “processor” which is analyzed, supra, and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Claim 5 also includes the additional element of “a cloud system” which is analyzed the same as the external sensor that collects, transmits or outputs data at a high-level of generality. It does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Claim 6 merely describes executing the at least one selected algorithm at a connected location, which is further defines the abstract idea. With two locations performing data manipulations, the limitations as drafted, is a process that, under the BRI, covers certain methods of organizing human activity for the same reasons given in claim 5 analysis.
Claim 6 also includes the additional element of the “processor” which is analyzed, supra, and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Claim 6 also includes the additional elements of “a cloud system”, “a data connection” and “an edge device” which are analysed the same as the generic computer components and do not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons. See specification at pg. 8, lines 10-15; and specification at pg. 8, lines 19-25.
Claim 7 merely describes signal processing of the obtained signals, wherein signal processing comprises signal conditioning, digitization, transformation and ni particular feature extraction (i.e., data manipulations), which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim 8 merely describes the workflow phase determining algorithm is based on a machine learning algorithm trained to predict the workflow phase data, in particular the workflow phase comprised in the workflow phase data, which further defines the abstract idea. The Examiner notes that the Applicant has described this machine learning to encompass simplistic mathematical models such as linear and logistic regression (see Spec. at pg. 9, lines 1-5). The recited machine learning is considered to be part of the abstraction--the rules or instructions that fall under Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity or the thinking that falls under Mental Process.
The Examiner notes that the ML algorithm is not trained in the claim. Even if it were recited, when given its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure, the type of training encompasses any suitable training algorithm. Any step(s) performed to train step(s) of the model/algorithm would be considered part of the abstract idea because it/they would fall(s) under data manipulations that humans perform (i.e., fitting a model to data) and thus would be interpreted to be part of the abstraction--the rules or instructions that fall under Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity or the thinking that falls under Mental Process. See, e.g., Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., No. 2023-2437 at 12 (Fed. Cir. April 18, 2025) (finding that “[i]terative training using selected training material…are incident to the very nature of machine learning.”).
Claim 9 merely describes the workflow phase determining algorithm is based on a classification algorithm, in particular a classification algorithm configured to determine the workflow phase based on the obtained signals, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim 10 includes the additional element of the “at least one sensor” as one of “an acoustic sensor, a vibration sensor, an electromagnetic sensor and a thermal sensor” which is analyzed the same as the external sensor and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons, with the inclusion of the following the work analysis:
(1) MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that receiving, transmitting or outputting data over a network has been held by the courts to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity (citing TLI Communications, Symantec, OIP Techs., and buySAFE). See also MPEP 2106.05(g) (citing Cybersource, Mayo, OIP Techs.)
(2) The prior art of record indicates that an external acoustic, vibration, electromagnetic, or thermal sensor monitoring a medical system is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field (see US 2024/0006063 to Vogtmeier at para. 0018-0019, 0024, 0039; see US 2015/0201912 to Mercer et al. at para. 0005, 0011-0013, 0029, 0043-0044, 0048, 0053; see US 2018/0064365 to Srinivasan at Fig. 11 and para. 0092, 0097-0100). The Examiner notes that there is no indication that the monitoring feature of the external sensor is any different than how monitors normally capture objects.
Claim 10 does not recite receiving a particular type of sensed signal from one of an acoustic, thermal, electromagnetic, or vibration sensor. In the alternative and under practical application, the additional element of “at least one sensor” as one of “an acoustic sensor, a vibration sensor, an electromagnetic sensor and a thermal sensor” generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and MPEP 2106.05(A) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application or significantly more. See analysis, supra.
Claim 11 includes the additional elements of “the medical system comprises one or more parts” and “at least one of the following: a CT system, an X-Ray system, a MR system, an ultrasound system, a catheter system, a respiratory system and a patient table”, which also generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and MPEP 2106.05(A) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application or significantly more. See analysis, supra.
Claim 12 further describes the obtained signals and generating a synthetic signal, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim 12 includes the additional element of “a source positioned on the medical system”, i.e., a spinning gantry, as a location from which data is received (passively or actively) at a high-level of generality, which is analyzed the same as the external sensor that collects, transmits or outputs data at a high-level of generality. It does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons. Alternate analysis applies as set forth below.
Claim 12 also includes the additional element of the source/the spinning gantry positioned on the medical system and configured to generate a synthetic signal, which also generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and MPEP 2106.05(A) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application or significantly more. See analysis, supra.
Claim 14 includes the additional elements of “a device”, “at least one sensor” and “a medical system”, which are analyzed, supra, and do not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Claim 14 also includes “optionally a user interface”, which also generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and MPEP 2106.05(A) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application or significantly more. See analysis, supra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mercer et al. (US 2015/0201912; “Mercer” herein).
Re. Claim 1, Mercer teaches a method for determining a workflow phase of a medical system in a medical environment (see Fig. 1 and [0028]), comprising:
obtaining, by a processor, signals from at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor is external to the medical system and configured to monitor the medical system (Fig. 1 and [0029] teach different kinds of data-collection sensors… later-deployed sensors 116 configured to monitor a parameter or characteristic of the medical imaging device 108 itself… Collection of data by the different sensors 112, 116, and 120 may be coordinated locally to the medical diagnostic environment 104 with a diagnostic processor 124.);
providing, by the processor, a workflow phase determining algorithm configured to determine workflow phase data of the medical system ([0030] teaches two-way access of the diagnostics processor 124 permits real-time remote access of the operating system of the medical imaging device 108 in evaluating actual or predicted malfunctions. [0031] teaches maintenance functions are coordinated by a remote maintenance system 144… The maintenance system 144 communicates … with the local diagnostic processor 124 in providing maintenance functions (algorithms). Fig. 3 and [0056]-[0057] teach the data collected from the later-deployed sensors 116, e.g., single-value numerical parameters, may be evaluated to determine whether the value of the measured parameter falls within the predetermined acceptable range (workflow phase data).);
determining, by the processor, the workflow phase data by utilizing the workflow phase determining algorithm and the obtained signals (see previous citations. Fig. 3 and [0060], [0063] teach the single parameter evaluations… may be performed locally by the diagnostic processor 124. See also [0061], “a determination”.)
Re. Claim 3, Mercer teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one evaluation algorithm comprises at least one of the following: a failure detection algorithm of at least a part of the medical system (Fig. 3 and [0030]-[0031] teach evaluating actual or predicted malfunctions (see steps 308-328) … maintenance functions are coordinated by a remote maintenance system 144… The maintenance system 144 communicates … with the local diagnostic processor 124 in providing maintenance functions (algorithms). [0056]-[0057] teach for each type of sensor, a check may be made respectively at block 316, 320, or 324 whether a parameter measured by the sensor is outside a predefined range. [0062] teaches alerts prompted by measured data being outside a defined range generally have a more critical status than other types of alerts that may be issued since they generally indicate that a malfunction has already occurred.), a position estimation algorithm of at least a part of the medical system, a failure localization algorithm of at least a part of the medical system, a failure prediction algorithm of at least a part of the medical system (Fig. 3 and [0063] teach the maintenance system 144 can apply predictive modeling to the data (see steps 332-340 and 328)… consider correlations among different parameters in light of the maintenance history of the particular medical imaging device 108… the predictive techniques may in this way predict component malfunctions. [0064] teaches there are multiple ways in which such predictive modeling may be implemented and provides an exemplary correlation function for such predictive modeling.)
Re. Claim 5, Mercer teaches the method according to claim 1, comprising
the processor analysing the determined workflow phase data based on corresponding reference workflow phase data to obtain an analysing result, the analysing result particularly comprising identification of an anomaly in the workflow phase data ([0010] teaches a set of parameter measures is derived from the received sensor data. [0012] teaches using the derived parameter measures to identify an anomaly. [0014] teaches embodiments of the invention also accommodate a variety of ways to perform the analysis of the derived parameter measures (determined workflow phase data). For example, the derived parameter measures may be analyzed by comparing each of the derived parameter measures with a respective normal operating range maintained as part of the set of operational characteristics (reference workflow phase data). If each of the derived parameter measures is within the respective normal operating range, the analysis may proceed further by identifying the predicted malfunction from a combination of the derived parameter measures (identification of an anomaly). [0029] teaches the collection of the data and assembly of the data into log files and error files (an analysing result) may be coordinated locally by the diagnostic processor 124.),
the processor transmitting the obtained signals from the at least one sensor to an analysing platform, in particular a platform on a cloud system, via a data connection for further analysis based on analysing result or deleting the obtained signals based on the analysing result (Fig. 2 and [0031] teach the maintenance system 144 (a cloud system) communicates through a network 136 (data connection), e.g., the Internet, with the local diagnostic processor 124 in providing maintenance functions; and a database or set of databases 148 in communication with the maintenance system store information related to maintenance functions, such as the log files, error files, and the like (transmitting). See also Fig. 3 step 332 and [0063] (transmitting). [0038] teaches the maintenance system 144 also comprises software elements… computer programs designed to implement the methods of the invention (an analysing platform). The Examiner notes that “deleting…” is not required for the claim to be met.)
Re. Claim 10, Mercer teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor (116) comprises at least one of the following: an acoustic sensor, a vibration sensor, an electromagnetic sensor and a thermal sensor ([0042] teaches other sensors that are deployed to measure parameters directly from the medical imaging device 108 itself or from components that supply the medical imaging device 108 are denoted with squares 116 in FIG. 1. Such sensors may include sensors that measure additional electrical characteristics. [0043] teaches medical imaging devices 108 that use a coolant fluid may be monitored with sensors that check the temperature or available volume of the coolant. For instance, sensors may be deployed on water-supply pipes to measure both inlet and outlet temperature of water being supplied to and drawn from the medical imaging device 108. [0044] teaches in addition to measuring the temperature of coolant, temperatures may be measured at… positions proximate an X-ray tube in any of the medical imaging devices 108 that use X rays… Similarly, temperature sensors deployed on high-power electronic cabinets or components may provide an early warning of overheating of components. [0045] teaches magnetic field sensors may be used with medical imaging devices 108 that generate magnetic fields, such as magnetic-resonance imaging devices. Such sensors may advantageously be deployed proximate the device 108 at points where magnetic fields are present during normal operation of the device to monitor the overall strength of the magnetic field and variations in the field strength. See also [0046]-[0047]. See also [0049] (sensors 120).)
Re. Claim 11, Mercer teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein medical system comprises one or more parts (Abstract teaches identifying a predicted malfunction of a component of the medical imaging device. See also [0006], “components”) and wherein the medical system comprises at least one of the following: a CT system, an X-Ray system, a MR system, an ultrasound system, a catheter system, a respiratory system and a patient table ([0026] teaches examples of medical imaging devices include projection-radiograph X-ray devices; computed-tomography devices, including computed-axial tomography devices and single-photon-emission computed-tomography devices; positron-emission tomography devices; mammography devices; magnetic-resonance imaging devices, including those equipped for functional magnetic-resonance imaging; scintiscanner devices; A-scan, B-scan, and other ultrasound devices; and others. As will be readily appreciated by those of skill in the art, different types of devices may include different types of components. Magnets, for example, are needed by magnetic-resonance imaging devices, but are not needed by some of the other devices. Magnetic-resonance devices also typically have cooling requirements that make use of liquid helium as a coolant that are not shared by some of the other devices. Ultrasound devices typically have a large number of probes, each of which may be at risk for malfunction. Furthermore, each of these different kinds of devices may be more or less sensitive to different kinds of variations in environmental conditions in which the devices operate.)
Re. Claim 12, Mercer teaches the method according to claim1, wherein the obtained signal stems from a source configured to generate a synthetic signal and wherein the source is positioned on the medical system (116) (The Spec. at pg. 9, lines 8-20 discloses: “the at least one sensor may comprise at least one of the following: an acoustic sensor, a vibration sensor, an electromagnetic sensor and a thermal sensor… the medical system may comprise one or more parts… the obtained signal may stem from a source configured to generate a synthetic signal and the source may be positioned on the medical system. The synthetic signal may be, for example, a noise signal or a heat signal… For example, the sensor may thus capture the acoustic source originating from the spinning gantry” (emphasis added). [0046] teaches … acoustic sensors may be used to detect such arcing events by identifying sounds (a source) associated with the arcing (the obtained signal stems from a source). [0047] teaches such acoustic sensing is one example of a broader class of sensors that may be deployed in various configurations to monitor an acoustic signature (synthetic signal generated) of the medical imaging device. A properly functioning device will have a characteristic acoustic signature that is recognized by the maintenance system so that deviations from that signature may be used to identify a malfunction or to predict a malfunction. For example, in addition to identifying X-ray tube arcing events, such acoustic sensors may be attached directly to components to sense bearing issues or other abnormal behavior of components such as a rotating anode in an X-ray tube or gantry rotation issues in tomography systems (wherein the source is positioned on the medical system).)
Re. Claim 13, the subject matter of claim 13 is essentially defined in terms of a device, which is technically corresponding to method claim 1. Since claim 13 is analogous to claim 1, it is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of claim 1. Mercer also teaches the computer/device ([0037] teaches the maintenance system 144 comprises hardware elements that are electrically coupled via a bus 220, which also provides for coupling with the database 148… a processor 204… a digital signal processor… a combination comprehensively representing… storage devices plus storage media… communications system 224 comprising a type of interfacing connection permitting data exchange with external devices. [0038] teaches the maintenance system 144 also comprises software elements… that may respectively be loaded… comprise computer programs designed to implement methods of the invention. [0039] teaches a generally similar structure may be used for the diagnostics processor 124, which may be equipped with a local storage device.)
Re. Claim 14, the subject matter of claim 14 is essentially defined in terms of a system, which is technically corresponding to method claim 1. Since claim 14 is analogous to claim 1, it is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of claim 1. The Examiner notes that “optionally a user interface” is optional language. As a matter of linguistic precision, optional claim elements do not narrow claim limitations since they can be omitted; “[c]laim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed.” MPEP 2111.04 & 2173.05(d) (see also In re Johnston, 435 F3d 1381, 77 USPQ2d 1788 (Fed Cir 2006)).
Re. Claim 15, the subject matter of claim 15 is essentially defined in terms of a manufacture, which is technically corresponding to method claim 1. Since claim 15 is analogous to claim 1, it is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of claim 1. Mercer also teaches a non-transitory computer program or computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the instructions ([0037] teaches the maintenance system 144 comprises hardware elements that are electrically coupled via a bus 220, which also provides for coupling with the database 148… a processor 204… a digital signal processor… a combination comprehensively representing… storage devices plus storage media… communications system 224 comprising a type of interfacing connection permitting data exchange with external devices. [0038] teaches the maintenance system 144 also comprises software elements… that may respectively be loaded… comprise computer programs designed to implement methods of the invention. [0039] teaches a generally similar structure may be used for the diagnostics processor 124, which may be equipped with a local storage device.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercer.
Re. Claim 2, Mercer teaches the method according to claim 1, comprising:
using, by the processor, the workflow phase data to select at least one evaluation algorithm for a medical system corresponding to a workflow phase comprised in the workflow phase data [not required]; and/or
providing, by the processor, the determined workflow phase for further processing, wherein the further processing comprises displaying the workflow phase and/or analysing the workflow phase ([0062] teaches even if all measured data conform acceptably to defined ranges (the determined workflow phase), it is still possible that the maintenance system 144 will issue an alert (further processing), but in such cases the alert may have a different character. Alerts prompted by measured data being outside a defined range generally have a more critical status than other types of alerts that may be issued since they generally indicate that a malfunction has already occurred. Other types of alerts, as described below, may be more predictive in nature. [0063] teaches at block 332, sensor data are transmitted to the maintenance system 144 over the network 136 via the diagnostic processor 124 so that the maintenance system 144 can apply predictive modeling to the data (providing… for further processing)… such predictive modeling is not limited to the evaluation of a single parameter but may also consider correlations among different parameters (analysing).)
Mercer teaches providing the sensor data via the diagnostic processor so that the maintenance system can perform the determination (see para. 0060, “Alternatively…”) and further, the predictive modeling of 0062-0063. Note: Para. 0039 teaches these may have a generally similar structure. Mercer does not explicitly teach providing, by the processor, the determined workflow phase for further processing. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the noted features of Mercer with teachings thereof, since the combination is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR rational A). It can be seen that each element claimed is present in Mercer. Providing transmitter technology does not change or affect the normal evaluation or prediction-related functionality of the diagnostic processor or the maintenance system of Mercer. Transmitting/receiving medical device-related information to/from another networked system would be performed the same way even with the addition of transmitting/receiving machine diagnostics-related information of the single parameter evaluations. Since the functionalities of the elements in Mercer do not interfere with each other, the results of the combination would be predictable.
Re. Claim 4, Mercer teaches the method according to claim 1, comprising executing the at least one selected evaluation algorithm (The Examiner notes that claim 1 recites a workflow phase determining algorithm. [0056] teaches, for each type of sensor, a check may be made respectively at block 316, 320, or 324 whether a parameter measured by the sensor is outside of a predefined range. Fig. 3 at steps 308-328 shows execution of a checking process for the later-deployed type of sensor 116.), and in particular presenting […] of the executed at least one selected evaluation algorithm on a user interface (Fig. 3 and [0061] teach a determination that measured data, from any of the different kinds of sensors described herein, are outside a defined range may result in the issuance of an alert at block 328. [0072] teaches, when the field service engineer receives an alert… he or she connects to the medical imaging device through the connections illustrated in FIG. 1… a web-based interface may be provided to allow the field service engineer to review sensor readings and to interact with both the sensors and with the medical imaging device 108. See also [0073].)
Mercer may not explicitly teach presenting a result on the web-based user interface. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the noted features of Mercer with teachings thereof, since the combination is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR rational A). It can be seen that each element claimed is present in Mercer. Providing user interface technology does not change or affect the normal evaluation or prediction-related functionality of the diagnostic processor or the maintenance system of Mercer. Transmitting/receiving medical device-related information to/from another networked system would be performed the same way even with the addition of outputting that information on a web-based interface. Since the functionalities of the elements in Mercer do not interfere with each other, the results of the combination would be predictable.
Re. Claim 6, Mercer teaches the method according to claim 2,
wherein the at least one selected algorithm is executed on a cloud system (The Examiner notes that this step is not required as explained below.),
wherein the processor and the cloud system are connected by a data connection (Fig. 2 and [0031] teach the maintenance system 144 (a cloud system) communicates through a network 136 (data connection), e.g., the Internet, with the local diagnostic processor 124 (the processor) in providing maintenance functions.), and
wherein in particular the processor is implemented on […] (The specification (pg. 8, lines 19-25) discloses: “The processor may be part of an edge device, such as a tablet or smart phone.” [0030] teaches the two-way access of the diagnostic processor 124 permits real-time remote access of the operating system of the medical imaging device 108… In some configurations, such access may be complete, permitting a remote technician to perform the same operations with the medical imaging device 108 in providing maintenance as a local technician. [0037], [0039] teach the diagnostic processor 124 has a processor 204. [0073] teaches providing access to the field service engineer using… a tablet computer (edge device).)
*Regarding contingency steps of method claims:
The Examiner notes that the limitation of “wherein the at least one selected algorithm is executed on a cloud system” in claim 6 is contingent upon the selecting step in claim 2 (“using, by the processor, the workflow phase data to select at least one evaluation algorithm for a medical system corresponding to a workflow phase comprised in the workflow phase data”). The prior art of record teaches the providing step of claim 2 (“providing, by the processor, the determined workflow phase for further processing, wherein the further processing comprises displaying the workflow phase and/or anlaysing the workflow phase”) is met, while the selecting step is not met. Only one of these steps in claim 2 is required to be met. Because the selecting limitation is not met, any claim(s) or limitation(s) relying on this unmet contingent step is/are not required by the claim(s) to be met. As such, the Claim 6 executing step is not addressed because it is not required to be met.
Note: Were the limitation required to be met, the following references listed on the PTO-892 would be used to reject the limitation: Mercer for teaching at least the execution of an evaluation algorithm on a cloud system; and Kaira et al. (US 2022/0004174) for teaching at least the selection of an evaluation algorithm.
Mercer may not teach the diagnostics processor as an edge device. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the noted features of Mercer with teachings thereof, since the combination is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR rational A). It can be seen that each element claimed is present in Mercer. Providing tablet technology does not change or affect the normal sensing, data acquisition or access-related functionality of the diagnostic processor of Mercer. Transmitting/receiving medical device-related information to/from another networked system would be performed the same way even with the addition of the tablet technology. Since the functionalities of the elements in Mercer do not interfere with each other, the results of the combination would be predictable.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercer in view of Nagesh (US 2019/0090840).
Re. Claim 7, Mercer teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising signal processing of the obtained signals, wherein signal processing comprises […] transformation and in particular feature extraction ([0029] teaches the collected sensor data may be assembled (signal processing) into log files that record the value of different measured parameters at different times, into error files that record the presence of an identified error in one of the sensors 112, 116, or 120 at particular times, and the like (transformation). [0031]-[0032] teach the maintenance system stores the log files and the error files; and such files may be organized in a variety of ways so that information can be extracted in aiding the identification of malfunctions (feature extraction). Abstract and [0061]-[0062] teach such identification of a predicted or actual malfunction of a component of the device. [0037], [0039] teach the maintenance system comprises a digital-signal processor; and the diagnostics processor 124 has a generally similar structure.)
Mercer does not teach signal conditioning, digitization.Nagesh teaches
signal conditioning (Fig. 5 and [0036] teach the sensor network provides the data collection to a signal conditioning circuit 502 to preprocess and/or otherwise “clean up” obtained sensor data for processing by the DSP 314. The signal conditioning circuit 502 removes noise… also selects one or more frequencies of interest…),
digitization (Fig. 5 and [0037]-[0038] teach the DSP 314 can process the acquired signal data to provide Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), i.e., the DSP 314 applies digital signal processing to the input signal data to derive peak frequency information from a time domain signal such as FFT. See alternately [0004], teaching processing, using a digital signal processor, vibration information representing the vibration detected by the sensor to generate x-ray tube characterization information.)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system and method of remote maintenance of medical imaging devices of Mercer to perform sensor data acquisition, preprocessing and digital signal processing and to use this information as part of methods and apparatuses as taught by Nagesh, with the motivation of improving medical device monitoring, maintenance scheduling and downtime as well as reducing unnecessary patient exposure to harmful ionizing radiation (see Nagesh at Para. 0002, 0022-0023, 0029-0030).
Re. Claim 8, Mercer teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the workflow phase determining algorithm is based on a[n] […] algorithm trained to predict the workflow phase data, in particular the workflow phase comprised in the workflow phase data ([0030]-[0031] teach the maintenance functions are coordinated by a remote maintenance system 144… The maintenance system 144 communicates … with the local diagnostic processor 124 in providing maintenance functions (algorithms). Fig. 3 and [0056]-[0057] teach the data collected from the later-deployed sensors 116, e.g., single-value numerical parameters, may be evaluated to determine whether the value of the measured parameter falls within the predetermined acceptable range (to predict the workflow phase data, in particular the workflow phase comprised in the workflow phase data).)
Mercer does not teach a machine learning algorithm trained to predict the workflow phase data, in particular the workflow phase comprised in the workflow phase data.
Nagesh teaches a machine learning algorithm trained to predict the workflow phase data, in particular the workflow phase comprised in the workflow phase data (Fig. 16 and [0021] teach, as the x-ray tube ages, the rate of fail frequency increases. In certain examples, a learning model in the cloud-based system extrapolates from the function information to produce a non-linear transfer function which models the rate of fail frequency for the LM bearing of an x-ray tube (a machine learning algorithm trained to predict the workflow phase data). Using the model, a slope can be identified in the function of the data which provides a prediction of how much time (e.g., hours, minutes, second, etc.) is left before the bearing fails (the workflow phase comprised in the workflow phase data).)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system and method of remote maintenance of medical imaging devices of Mercer to perform sensor data acquisition, preprocessing, digital signal processing and failure prediction for a medical device and to use this information as part of methods and apparatuses as taught by Nagesh, with the motivation of improving medical device monitoring, maintenance scheduling and downtime as well as reducing unnecessary patient exposure to harmful ionizing radiation (see Nagesh at Para. 0002, 0022-0023, 0029-0030).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercer in view of Kaira et al. (US 2022/0004174).
Re. Claim 9, Mercer teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the workflow phase determining algorithm is based on […], in particular […] configured to determine the workflow phase based on the obtained signals (see claim 1 prior art rejection. [0031] teaches providing maintenance functions (algorithms). Fig. 3 and [0056]-[0057] teach the data collected from the later-deployed sensors 116, e.g., single-value numerical parameters (the obtained signals), may be evaluated to determine whether the value of the measured parameter falls within the predetermined acceptable range (determine the workflow phase). [0061] teaches the determination (workflow phase) that measured data are outside a defined range, which indicates that a malfunction has already occurred, may result in issuance of an alert.)
Mercer does not teach a classification algorithm.
Kaira teaches
a classification algorithm ([0078] teaches the predictive models may be trained using a variety of different types and combinations of artificial intelligence and/or machine learning, such as logistic regression, random forest, decision trees, classification and regression trees (CART), gradient boosting (e.g., extreme gradient boosted trees), k-nearest neighbors (kNN), Naive-Bayes, support vector machines (SVM), deep learning (e.g., convolutional neural networks), and/or ensembles thereof. [0079] teaches the resulting models 210a-n are then deployed and used to perform inference or classification on live data streams to generate predictions 212 associated with those data streams.)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system and method of remote maintenance of medical imaging devices of Mercer to perform train machine learning models and deploy these in machine learning tasks and to use this information as part of a system and method of predictive analytics model management as taught by Kaira, with the motivation of improving predictive maintenance and quality control in an environment with many different types of machines and equipment (see Kaira at para. 0003, 0024).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al. (US 2022/0296930) for teaching predictive maintenance of dynamic leaf guide based on deep learning (see abstract and para. 0063).
Patil et al. (US 2021/0012891) for teaching a monitoring method for generating maintenance alerts including a medical imaging device with a gantry configured to generate synthetic signals (para. 0028-0029, 0034); and generating a maintenance alert optionally after the out-of-range parameter value is detected for a certain time interval (possibly sensor-dependent) to avoid overaggressive triggering of maintenance alerts by occasional inaccurate sensor readings (para. 0034).
Choubey et al. (US 2007/0162190) for teaching automated generation of transfer functions based upon machine data (for predictive maintenance) (see para. 0001-0003, 0019-0020, 0028).
/J.M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3683
/CHRISTOPHER L GILLIGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683