DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a non-final rejection in response to the communication filed 04/20/2026. Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: ¶ [0056] recites “the volute module 3,” in line four, which appears to be inconsistent with an earlier recitation in the paragraph.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 19953911 to Wagner (Wagner, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of CN 212838412 to Xie (Xie, and based on English Machine Translation).
In Reference to Claim 1
Wagner disclose a volute module (Fig. 1) for a single-stage centrifugal pump and a multi-stage centrifugal pump (as capable of for instance, the system having identical and interlocking features, see ¶ [0010]), wherein the volute module comprises:
a body (56 in 46 for instance) defining at least part of an impeller chamber (space 60 of system for instance and including space about impeller 30) as well as a volute (arced upper portions of 56 in 46 for instance) at least partially surrounding the impeller chamber (space about impeller 30 for instance, see also 52);
an unencapsulated impeller (30 for instance) rotatable about a drive axis (of 22 for instance) in the impeller chamber (60 for instance), wherein the volute module (Fig. 1) is configured such that a rotating flow of pump fluid created by the unencapsulated impeller (30) is directed towards the volute (curved portion of 56 in 46 for instance) which channels the rotating flow of pump fluid towards a pressure outlet of the volute module (outlet of 62 for instance); and
an initial-stage impeller housing (further 56 in 44 for instance) in the impeller chamber (in 60 for instance), configured for when the pump housing is used as part of a multi-stage centrifugal pump (as in figure 1 for instance), wherein the initial-stage impeller housing (56 in 44) encapsulates another impeller (24 for instance) rotatable about the drive axis (of 22 for instance) and directing a flow of a pump fluid from the impeller (24) of the initial-stage impeller housing (56 in 44 for instance) towards a subsequent stage impeller (30 for instance) of a subsequent stage (stage with impeller 30 for instance) of the multi-stage centrifugal pump (system of figure 1 for instance), wherein the subsequent stage impeller is formed by the unencapsulated impeller or by a further intermediate-stage impeller housing (others of 44 for instance) which encapsulates a further impeller (26 or 28 for instance) rotatable about the drive axis (of 22 for instance).
Wagner does not teach the initial-stage housing “... defines guide vanes ....”
Xie is related to a pump system configurable and capable of being a single-stage centrifugal pump and a multi-stage centrifugal pump (figure 1), as the claimed invention, and teaches an initial-stage impeller housing (Fig. 1, 1 for instance), configured for when a pump housing is used as part of a multi-stage centrifugal pump (as in figure 1 for instance), wherein the initial-stage impeller housing (1) encapsulates another impeller (2 for instance) rotatable about a drive axis (20 for instance) and defines guide vanes (100 and 103 for instance) directing a flow of a pump fluid from an impeller of the initial-stage impeller housing (2 in 1 for instance) towards a subsequent stage impeller (4 for instance) of a subsequent stage (stage with impeller 30 for instance) of the multi-stage centrifugal pump (system of figure 1 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Wagner wherein the initial-stage impeller housing (of Wagner) defines guide vanes (as taught by Xie) for directing a flow of a pump fluid from the of the initial-stage impeller housing impeller (of Wagner) towards a subsequent stage impeller of a subsequent stage impeller (of Wagner) of the multi-stage centrifugal pump (of Wagner), and wherein further intermediate-stage impeller housing (of Wagner) which encapsulates a further impeller (of Wagner) rotatable about the drive axis (of Wagner) and defines guides vanes (as taught by Xie), so as to use an art known technique (of using guide vanes to direct fluid flow within a pump system as taught by Xie), into the system of Wagner and predictably direct fluid flow.
In Reference to Claim 2
Wagner, as modified by Xie, disclose the volute module according to claim 1, wherein the volute (a volute of 5 as further taught by Xie for instance) is delimited in the direction of the drive axis (of 20 for instance as taught by Xie) by an upper edge (edge of 5 at 7 for instance as further taught by Xie) and a lower edge (edge of 5 at 100 for instance as further taught by Xie), wherein the unencapsulated impeller (impeller 4 as further taught by Xie for instance) comprises a lower base plate (Xie, of 4, not labeled), an upper base plate (Xie, of 4, not labeled) and at least one impeller vane (Xie, of 4, not labeled) arranged between the upper base plate and the lower base plate (as taught by Xie) and wherein a distance between an outer edge of the upper base plate (Xie, of 4, not labeled) and an outer edge of the lower base plate (Xie, of 4, not labeled) is less than a distance between the lower edge of the volute and the upper edge (edge of 5 at 7 for instance as further taught by Xie) of the volute in the direction of the drive axis (as taught by Xie for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Wagner wherein the volute (of Wagner) is delimited in the direction of the drive axis (of Wagner) by an upper edge (as further taught by Xie) and a lower edge (as further taught by Xie), wherein the unencapsulated impeller (of Wagner) comprises a lower base plate (as further taught by Xie), an upper base plate (as further taught by Xie) and at least one impeller vane (as further taught by Xie) arranged between the upper base plate and the lower base plate (as taught by Xie) and wherein a distance between an outer edge of the upper base plate (as further taught by Xie) and an outer edge of the lower base plate (as further taught by Xie) is less than a distance between the lower edge of the volute and the upper edge (as further taught by Xie) of the volute in the direction of the drive axis (as taught by Xie), so as to use an art known technique (of the configuration of an impeller and volute of a pump system as taught by Xie) into the system of Wagner and predictably pump fluid within the system.
In Reference to Claim 3
Wagner, as modified by Xie, disclose the volute module (1) according to claim 1, wherein the volute (a volute of 5 as further taught by Xie for instance) is delimited in the direction of the drive axis (of 20 for instance as taught by Xie) by an upper edge (edge of 5 at 7 for instance as further taught by Xie) and a lower edge (edge of 5 at 100 for instance as further taught by Xie), and wherein a circumference of the upper edge of the volute is greater than a circumference of the lower edge of the volute (as taught by Xie).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Wagner wherein the volute (of Wagner) is delimited in the direction of the drive axis (of Wagner) by an upper edge (as further taught by Xie) and a lower edge (as further taught by Xie), and wherein a circumference of the upper edge of the volute is greater than a circumference of the lower edge of the volute (as taught by Xie), so as to use an art known technique (of the configuration of a volute of a pump system as taught by Xie) into the system of Wagner and predictably pump fluid within the system.
In Reference to Claim 4
Wagner, as modified by Xie, disclose the volute module according to claim 2, wherein the lower edge (of 5 at 100 as taught by Xie for instance) delimits a bottom wall (bottom of 5 as taught by Xie for instance) of the impeller chamber (about impeller 4 as taught by Xie for instance), wherein the bottom wall surrounds an inlet opening for the pump fluid (as bottom of 5 as taught by Xie for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Wagner wherein the lower edge (as taught by Xie) delimits a bottom wall (as taught by Xie) of the impeller chamber (of Wagner), wherein the bottom wall surrounds an inlet opening for the pump fluid (as taught by Xie), so as to use an art known technique (of the configuration of a volute of a pump system as taught by Xie) into the system of Wagner and predictably pump fluid within the system.
In Reference to Claim 6
Wagner, as modified by Xie, disclose the volute module according to claim 1, wherein the volute module (Wagner, Fig. 1 for instance) is configured such that when the volute module is used as part of a multi-stage centrifugal pump (Wagner, system in figure 1 for instance), a rotating flow of a pump fluid created by the unencapsulated impeller (Wagner, 30 for instance) flows away from the unencapsulated impeller (Wagner, 30 for instance) towards an inner surface of the impeller chamber (Wagner, surface of 52 for instance) where the rotating flow is directed towards the volute (Wagner, 56 in 46 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 7
Wagner, as modified by Xie, disclose the volute module according to claim 1, wherein the volute module (Wagner, Fig. 1 for instance) comprises a chamber support (Wagner, 50 at 30 for instance, see also bottom of figure 1), wherein an inner surface of the impeller chamber (Wagner, space about 30 for instance) facing towards the drive axis (Wagner, of 22) partially surrounds the impeller chamber (Wagner, of space about 30) and wherein the chamber support (Wagner, 50 at 30) is configured for directing the rotating flow of pump fluid generated by the unencapsulated impeller (Wagner, 30 for instance) towards the volute (Wagner, curved portion of 56 in 46 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 8
Wagner, as modified by Xie, disclose the volute module according to claim 7, wherein when the volute module is used as part of a multi-stage centrifugal pump (Wagner, system in figure 1 for instance), the volute module is configured such that the rotating flow of pump fluid generated by the unencapsulated impeller (Wagner, 30 for instance) is directed by the chamber support (Wagner, 50 at 30 for instance) to flow between an outer surface of the initial-stage impeller housing (Wagner, of 56 in 44 for instance) and the inner surface of the impeller chamber towards the volute (Wagner, flow within the space 60 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 9
Wagner, as modified by Xie, disclose the volute module according to claim 7, wherein the chamber support comprises at least one end guide vane (100 and 103 as taught by Xie) for direction the rotating flow of pump fluid generated by the unencapsulated impeller (of Wagner) towards the volute (of Wagner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Wagner wherein the chamber support (of Wagner) comprises at least one end guide vane (as taught by Xie) for direction the rotating flow of pump fluid generated by the unencapsulated impeller (of Wagner) towards the volute (of Wagner), so as to use an art known technique (of using guide vanes to direct fluid flow within a pump system as taught by Xie), into the system of Wagner and predictably direct fluid flow.
In Reference to Claim 10
Wagner, as modified by Xie, disclose the volute module according to claim 1, wherein the volute module comprises at least one end guide vane (100 and 103 as taught by Xie) for redirecting the rotating flow of pump fluid created by the unencapsulated impeller (of Wagner) towards the volute (of Wagner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Wagner wherein the volute module (of Wagner) comprises at least one end guide vane (as taught by Xie) for redirecting the rotating flow of pump fluid created by the unencapsulated impeller (of Wagner) towards the volute (of Wagner), so as to use an art known technique (of using guide vanes to direct fluid flow within a pump system as taught by Xie), into the system of Wagner and predictably direct fluid flow.
In Reference to Claim 11
Wagner, as modified by Xie, disclose the volute module according to claim 7, wherein the at least one end guide vane (100 and 103 as taught by Xie) is part of the chamber support (of Wagner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Wagner wherein the at least one end guide vane (as taught by Xie) is part of the chamber support (of Wagner), so as to use an art known technique (of using guide vanes to direct fluid flow within a pump system as taught by Xie), into the system of Wagner and predictably direct fluid flow.
In Reference to Claim 12
Wagner disclose a single-stage centrifugal pump (as capable of and with the identical housing system, see ¶ [0010]) comprising a volute module (Fig. 1) further comprising a body (56 in 46 for instance) defining at least part of an impeller chamber (space 60 of system for in and including space about impeller 30 for instance) as well as a volute (arced upper portions of 56 in 46 for instance) at least partially surrounding the impeller chamber (space about impeller 30 for instance, see also 52);
an unencapsulated impeller (30 for instance) rotatable about a drive axis (of 22 for instance) in the impeller chamber (60 for instance), wherein the volute module (Fig. 1) is configured such that a rotating flow of pump fluid created by the unencapsulated impeller (30) is directed towards the volute (curved portion of 56 in 46 for instance) which channels the rotating flow of pump fluid towards a pressure outlet of the volute module (outlet of 62 for instance); and
an initial-stage impeller housing (further 56 in 44 for instance) in the impeller chamber (in 60 for instance), configured for when the pump housing is used as part of a multi-stage centrifugal pump (as in figure 1 for instance), wherein the initial-stage impeller housing (56 in 44) encapsulates another impeller (24 for instance) rotatable about the drive axis (of 22 for instance) and directing a flow of a pump fluid from the impeller (24) of the initial-stage impeller housing (56 in 44 for instance) towards a subsequent stage impeller (30 for instance) of a subsequent stage (stage with impeller 30 for instance) of the multi-stage centrifugal pump (system of figure 1 for instance), wherein the subsequent stage impeller is formed by the unencapsulated impeller or by a further intermediate-stage impeller housing (others of 44 for instance) which encapsulates a further impeller (26 or 28 for instance) rotatable about the drive axis (of 22 for instance); and
a motor housing (20 for instance, see ¶ [0019] of motor) attached to the volute module (at 20 for instance), wherein the volute module comprises the unencapsulated impeller (30 for instance) but no initial-stage impeller housing and no intermediate stage impeller housing (as capable of and with 52 connectable to 46 in the system of identical housing segments, see ¶ [0010]).
Wagner does not teach the initial-stage housing “... defines guide vanes ....”
Xie is related to a pump system configurable and capable of being a single-stage centrifugal pump and a multi-stage centrifugal pump (figure 1), as the claimed invention, and teaches an initial-stage impeller housing (Fig. 1, 1 for instance), configured for when a pump housing is used as part of a multi-stage centrifugal pump (as in figure 1 for instance), wherein the initial-stage impeller housing (1) encapsulates another impeller (2 for instance) rotatable about a drive axis (20 for instance) and defines guide vanes (100 and 103 for instance) directing a flow of a pump fluid from an impeller of the initial-stage impeller housing (2 in 1 for instance) towards a subsequent stage impeller (4 for instance) of a subsequent stage (stage with impeller 30 for instance) of the multi-stage centrifugal pump (system of figure 1 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Wagner wherein the initial-stage impeller housing (of Wagner) defines guide vanes (as taught by Xie) for directing a flow of a pump fluid from the of the initial-stage impeller housing impeller (of Wagner) towards a subsequent stage impeller of a subsequent stage impeller (of Wagner) of the multi-stage centrifugal pump (of Wagner), and wherein further intermediate-stage impeller housing (of Wagner) which encapsulates a further impeller (of Wagner) rotatable about the drive axis (of Wagner) and defines guides vanes (as taught by Xie), so as to use an art known technique (of using guide vanes to direct fluid flow within a pump system as taught by Xie), into the system of Wagner and predictably direct fluid flow.
In Reference to Claim 13
Wagner disclose a multi-stage centrifugal pump (19) comprising a volute module (Fig. 1) further comprising a body (56 in 46 for instance) defining at least part of an impeller chamber (space 60 of system for in and including space about impeller 30 for instance) as well as a volute (arced upper portions of 56 in 46 for instance) at least partially surrounding the impeller chamber (space about impeller 30 for instance, see also 52);
an unencapsulated impeller (30 for instance) rotatable about a drive axis (of 22 for instance) in the impeller chamber (60 for instance), wherein the volute module (Fig. 1) is configured such that a rotating flow of pump fluid created by the unencapsulated impeller (30) is directed towards the volute (curved portion of 56 in 46 for instance) which channels the rotating flow of pump fluid towards a pressure outlet of the volute module (outlet of 62 for instance); and
an initial-stage impeller housing (further 56 in 44 for instance) in the impeller chamber (in 60 for instance), configured for when the pump housing is used as part of a multi-stage centrifugal pump (as in figure 1 for instance), wherein the initial-stage impeller housing (56 in 44) encapsulates another impeller (24 for instance) rotatable about the drive axis (of 22 for instance) and directing a flow of a pump fluid from the impeller (24) of the initial-stage impeller housing (56 in 44 for instance) towards a subsequent stage impeller (30 for instance) of a subsequent stage (stage with impeller 30 for instance) of the multi-stage centrifugal pump (system of figure 1 for instance), wherein the subsequent stage impeller is formed by the unencapsulated impeller or by a further intermediate-stage impeller housing (others of 44 for instance) which encapsulates a further impeller (26 or 28 for instance) rotatable about the drive axis (of 22 for instance); and
a motor housing (20 for instance, see ¶ [0019] of motor), wherein the volute module (Fig. 1) comprises the unencapsulated impeller (30 for instance) and the initial-stage impeller housing (56 in 44 for instance), wherein the volute module further comprises one or more intermediate stage impeller housings (44 for instance), wherein each inter-mediate-stage impeller housing encapsulates an impeller (28, 26, 24 for instance) rotatable about the drive axis (of 22 for instance) and directing a flow of a pump fluid from the impeller of the respective intermediate-stage impeller housing (of series of 44 for instance) towards an impeller of a sub-sequent stage of the multi-stage pump (30 in 46 for instance), wherein the subsequent stage of the multi-stage is formed by the unencapsulated impeller or by another intermediate-stage impeller housing (by 30 or by 28, 26, or 24 for instance).
Wagner does not teach the initial-stage housing “... defines guide vanes ....”
Xie is related to a pump system configurable and capable of being a single-stage centrifugal pump and a multi-stage centrifugal pump (figure 1), as the claimed invention, and teaches an initial-stage impeller housing (Fig. 1, 1 for instance), configured for when a pump housing is used as part of a multi-stage centrifugal pump (as in figure 1 for instance), wherein the initial-stage impeller housing (1) encapsulates another impeller (2 for instance) rotatable about a drive axis (20 for instance) and defines guide vanes (100 and 103 for instance) directing a flow of a pump fluid from an impeller of the initial-stage impeller housing (2 in 1 for instance) towards a subsequent stage impeller (4 for instance) of a subsequent stage (stage with impeller 30 for instance) of the multi-stage centrifugal pump (system of figure 1 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Wagner wherein the initial-stage impeller housing (of Wagner) defines guide vanes (as taught by Xie) for directing a flow of a pump fluid from the of the initial-stage impeller housing impeller (of Wagner) towards a subsequent stage impeller of a subsequent stage impeller (of Wagner) of the multi-stage centrifugal pump (of Wagner), wherein further intermediate-stage impeller housing (of Wagner) which encapsulates a further impeller (of Wagner) rotatable about the drive axis (of Wagner) and defines guides vanes (as taught by Xie), and wherein each inter-mediate-stage impeller housing (of Wagner) encapsulates an impeller (of Wagner) rotatable about the drive axis (of Wagner) and comprises guide vanes (as taught by Xie) directing a flow of a pump fluid from the impeller of the respective intermediate-stage impeller housing (of Wagner) towards an impeller of a sub-sequent stage of the multi-stage pump (of Wagner), so as to use an art known technique (of using guide vanes to direct fluid flow within a pump system as taught by Xie), into the system of Wagner and predictably direct fluid flow.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 19953911 to Wagner (Wagner, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of CN 212838412 to Xie (Xie, and based on English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of CA 2 726 843 to Burgess (Burgess).
In Reference to Claim 5
Wagner, as modified by Xie, disclose the volute module according to claim 2, wherein in a plane extending perpendicular to the drive axis (as taught by Xie, figure 1), a distance of an inner surface of the volute (Xie, space relative to 5 and impeller 4 for instance) facing towards the impeller chamber (4 as taught by Xie) from the drive axis (20 as taught by Xie) increases from an entry region of the volute until the volute transitions into the pressure outlet of the volute module (Xie, increase of space at 5 at right to that of space at left for instance, as further taught).
Wagner does not teach “... wherein a tongue of the volute separating the entry region of the volute from the pressure outlet of the volute module is tilted away from the drive axis when viewed from the lower edge of the volute to the upper edge of the volute ....”
Burgess is related to a volute system for a pump (abstract and figure 5), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a tongue (Fig. 5, 40 for instance) of a volute (Fig. 6, 30 for instance) separating an entry region of the volute (at 40 for instance) from a pressure outlet of a volute module (38 for instance) is tilted away from the drive axis (Fig. 7, 40 tilted relative to horizontal axis for instance) when viewed from a lower edge of the volute to an upper edge of the volute (edges 45 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Wagner wherein in a plane extending perpendicular to the drive axis (as taught by Xie), a distance of an inner surface of the volute facing towards the impeller chamber from the drive axis increases from an entry region of the volute until the volute transitions into the pressure outlet of the volute module (as taught by Xie), wherein a tongue of the volute (as taught by Burgess) separating the entry region of the volute (of Wagner) from the pressure outlet of the volute module (of Wagner) is tilted away from the drive axis when viewed from the lower edge of the volute to the upper edge of the volute (as taught by Burgess), so as to use an art known technique (of the configuration of a volute in a pump as taught by Xie and including configuration of the a volute tongue as taught by Burgess), into the system of Wagner and predictably direct fluid flow in the system.
Prior At
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show volute module systems with multiple pump stages, volute module systems with multiple pump stages and disposed in a common housing, and configuration of volutes in pump systems.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745