DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This communication is a non-final action in response to the communications filed on 6/17/2025. Claims 1-24 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a controller configured to execute operations” in claim 14.
In paragraph 0066 of the specification, the term controller is defined including a processor (i.e., generic computing device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claims 1-24 are determined to be directed to an abstract idea.
The claims 1-24 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea), without providing a practical application integration and without providing significantly more.
As per Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, Claims 1-24 are directed to a method (i.e., process), a system (i.e., apparatus) which are statutory categories of invention.
As per Step 2A-Prong 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, Claims 1 and 14 recite the abstract idea of managing a construction schedule comprising: storing the construction schedule comprising two or more phases including a first phase and a second phase scheduled to begin after the first phase begins, wherein the first phase comprises two or more tasks including a first on-site task performed at a construction site and a first pre-task scheduled to begin before the first on-site task begins, and the second phase comprises two or more tasks including a second on-site task performed at the construction site and a second pre-task scheduled to begin before the second on-site task begins; receiving first progress status data including progress status of at least one of the tasks in the first phase; updating the construction schedule based on the first progress status data to bring at least one of the second on-site task or the second pre-task phase forward to shorten a time interval between the first on-site task and the second on-site task, wherein the first on-site task includes physical work or manufacturing, and the second on-site task includes physical work or manufacturing; and outputting the updated construction schedule; which include mental processes (observing and evaluating work schedule/status data for making an opinion or judgment on construction), and certain methods of organizing human activity based on fundamental economic practice (managing construction schedule), and based on managing personal behavior and interactions between people (following rules and instruction for updating construction schedule). Claims 2-13 and 15-24 are directed to the abstract idea of claim 1 or 14 with further details on the parameters/attributes of the abstract idea which includes mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity for similar reasons as provided above for claim 1 or 14. After considering all claim elements, both individually and in combination and in ordered combination, it has been determined that the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
As per Step 2A-Prong 2 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, while the claims 1-24 recite additional limitations which are hardware or software elements, such as computer, the system comprising a controller configured to execute operations, the operations comprising…, these limitations are not enough to qualify as a practical application being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these elements are merely invoked as a tool to apply instructions of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment, and mere application of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological field do not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(f)&(h)). The claims do not amount to "practical application" for the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Alternatively, receiving and/or transmitting data between devices is mere data gathering and insignificant extrasolution activity, which does not provide a practical application for the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
As per Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility analysis, while the claims 1-10 recite additional limitations which are hardware or software elements, such as two or more autonomous artificial intelligence software agents, said two or more autonomous artificial intelligence software agents being individually assigned…, real-time (via computer), providing a predictive signal from each of said two or more autonomous artificial intelligence software agents based on a collection of said specific real-time, real-world data in said specific domain; fusing each of said predictive signals from each of said two or more autonomous artificial intelligence software agents…, machine learning, these limitations are not enough to qualify as “significantly more” being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these elements are merely invoked as a tool to apply instructions of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment, and mere application of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological field do provide significantly more to an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05 (f) & (h)). The claims do not amount to "significantly more" than the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field; (6) add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application; nor (7) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Alternatively, receiving and/or transmitting data between devices is mere data gathering and insignificant extrasolution activity, and also is well-understood, routine and conventional which do not provide a practical application for the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g) & (d)).
Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claims 1-10 that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, the claims are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cami et al (US 20230229986 A1)
As per Claim 1, Cami teaches a method for managing a construction schedule, the method (Abstract) comprising:
storing, by a computer, the construction schedule comprising two or more phases including a first phase and a second phase scheduled to begin after the first phase begins ([0007] improve workflow related to construction projects, including but not limited to, creation of schedules; [0078] At block 215, a conception phase [a first phase] of a construction project can be created. At the conception phase, a client for a construction project can describe what needs to be built; [0089] Once the project is scheduled, a build phase can start [a second phase scheduled to begin after the first phase begins]), wherein the first phase comprises two or more tasks including a first on-site task performed at a construction site and a first pre-task scheduled to begin before the first on-site task begins ([0012] determining, by the one or more processors, from possible tasks, a scheduled sequence of tasks to complete the construction activity; Fig 2D [a first on-site task performed at a construction site]; [0042] Designs can be provided by an architect, which can include for example, the size, types of materials, start of construction, end of construction date, or structural aspects of the design. The algorithm can provide an estimate of the cost of the design to the firm. In some examples, Revit can be used by architects to generate a 3D model. Cost related information for each 3D component in a model, and other algorithms can be used to generate a cost estimate for the 3D construction model; [0078] The concept of the project can be laid out as it can form the basis of the work and price. The client will be able to select "Work Blocs" that represent their ask for the project. The Work Blocs will be loaded into a smart contract structure to set up for the bid process. In some examples, a Work Bloc can be a discrete construction task which can be described in human interpretable language, such as "add bathroom," "install generator," "finish flooring," "install bathtub," "replace vanity." FIG. 2B illustrates some example Work Blocs as they may appear on a user device [a first pre-task scheduled to begin before the first on-site task begins]), and the second phase comprises two or more tasks including a second on-site task performed at the construction site and a second pre-task scheduled to begin before the second on-site task begins ([0012]
determining, by the one or more processors, from possible tasks, a scheduled sequence of tasks to complete the construction activity; Fig 2D [a second on-site task performed at a construction site]; [0042] Designs can be provided by an architect, which can include for example, the size, types of materials, start of construction, end of construction date, or structural aspects of the design. The algorithm can provide an estimate of the cost of the design to the firm. In some examples, Revit can be used by architects to generate a 3D model. Cost related information for each 3D component in a model, and other algorithms
can be used to generate a cost estimate for the 3D construction model; [0081] At block 225, scheduling can occur. Once the bid is accepted by the client through the smart contract structure, then the scheduling of the work can begin through or displayed on an application disclosed herein. In some examples, a smart contract will include "pay milestones" that will automatically pay the contractor once related elements of construction work as established in the contract are completed. Each task can be scheduled by start date and end date. Additionally, the worker or crew that will perform the task can be determined SO that at the
end of scheduling resources needed and end date are defined [a second pre-task scheduled to begin before the second on-site task begins]);
receiving, by the computer, first progress status data including progress status of at least one of the tasks in the first phase ([0012] evaluating, by the one or more processors, a current status of at least one task from the schedule of tasks; [0079] At block 220, a bidding stage can occur. A smart contract can contain all of the request work blocks from block 215 above to be done. A contractor can provide a bid price to the client electronically based on the work block; [0081] At block 225, scheduling can occur. Once the bid is accepted by the client through the smart contract structure, then the scheduling of the work can begin through or displayed on an application disclosed herein; [0089] Once the project is scheduled, a build phase can start. The "Cost to Complete" or other metrics for the project can be continuously updated as tasks are completed and verified [first progress status data including progress status of at least one of the tasks in the first phase]);
updating, by the computer, the construction schedule based on the first progress status data to bring at least one of the second on-site task or the second pre-task forward to shorten a time interval between the first on-site task and the second on-site task, wherein the first on-site task includes physical work or manufacturing, and the second on-site task includes physical work or manufacturing ([0089] Once the project is scheduled, a build phase can start. The "Cost to Complete" or other metrics for the project can be continuously updated as tasks are completed and verified [second phase forward]; [0011] Revising the sequence of tasks can take place upon evaluation of the current task; [0033] constraints can be added on the construction project which can affect the schedule of tasks. For instance, if a project must be completed more promptly or in a smaller time frame, the sequenced schedule of tasks can be updated); and
outputting, by the computer, the updated construction schedule ([0032] As updates are obtained related to one or more active tasks, a completion metric can be updated; [0041] displayed and/or updated in real time as particular tasks related to a construction site are completed; [0089] At block 230, building can occur. Once the project is scheduled, a build phase can start. The "Cost to Complete" or other metrics for the project can be continuously updated as tasks are completed and verified. The client can follow along and see how tasks are progressing on a regular basis; [0105] FIG. 2E, similar to FIG. 2D, illustrates an example schedule 275 which can reflect updates or completions to the schedule based on user inputs or a calculation of a percentage of an event being completed).
As per Claim 2, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches wherein the updating the construction schedule comprises rescheduling the second on-site task to begin after the first on-site task ends in the construction schedule to prevent the first on-site task and the second on-site task from being performed simultaneously at the construction site ([0011] Revising the sequence of tasks can take place upon evaluation of the current task; [0137] In this environment tasks can be rescheduled and/or reassigned; [0147] An example state in the algorithm can be that a framing task needs to be put on hold for inspection. The algorithm will look at the remaining tasks on the project and suggest to the supervisor that a plumbing task can be moved up in the schedule while the framing inspection is completed; [0150] The starting state of the agent is when a task is put on hold or delayed. The actions that the algorithm can take are to move up another task in schedule, move resources to other tasks within the project and do nothing; [0152] FIG. 6 illustrates graph 605, which reflects various tasks at various timelines, and the generation of graph 610, by adapting to a change in the tasks when task 2 cannot be completed and the order of tasks is changed).
As per Claim 3, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches wherein the updating the construction schedule comprises rescheduling the second pre-task to begin before the first on-site task ends in the construction schedule ([0011] Revising the sequence of tasks can take place upon evaluation of the current task; [0137] In this environment tasks can be rescheduled and/or reassigned; [0150] The starting state of the agent is when a task is put on hold or delayed. The actions that the algorithm can take are to move up another task in schedule, move resources to other tasks within the project and do nothing; [0152] FIG. 6 illustrates graph
605, which reflects various tasks at various timelines, and the generation of graph 610, by adapting to a change in the tasks when task 2 cannot be completed and the order of tasks is changed).
As per Claim 4, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches wherein the updating the construction schedule comprises rescheduling the at least one of the second pre-task or the second on-site task to shorten a time interval between the second pre-task and the second on-site task ([0011] Revising the sequence of tasks can take place upon evaluation of the current task; [0033] constraints can be added on the construction project which can affect the schedule of tasks. For instance, if a project must be completed more promptly or in a smaller time frame, the sequenced schedule of tasks can be updated).
As per Claim 5, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches wherein each of the tasks in the second phase is stored in association with a start condition, the updating the construction schedule comprises: determining a target task to be brought forward among the tasks in the second phase based on the first progress status data and the start condition of the each of the tasks; and bringing the target task forward ([0081] At block 225, scheduling can occur. Once the bid is accepted by the client through the smart contract structure, then the scheduling of the work can begin through or displayed on an application disclosed herein; [0089] Once the project is scheduled, a build phase can start. The "Cost to Complete" or other metrics for the project can be continuously updated as tasks are completed and verified FIG. 2C can be displayed on a user device to indicate current tasks which can be determined according to aspects of the technology described herein. During this phase, information can be obtained from a smarttool as the smarttools are being used;
[0089] Once the project is scheduled, a build phase can start FIG. 2C can be displayed on a user device to indicate current tasks which can be determined according to aspects of the technology described herein).
As per Claim 6, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches wherein each of the tasks in the second phase is stored in association with a weather condition under which the each of the tasks can be performed ([0087] - 6. Weather conditions, which can be related to certain tasks), the method further comprises receiving, by the computer, weather information ([0027] intelligent workflow generation and metrics related to the workflow and construction projects based on updatable parameters (e.g., tasks, sub-tasks, weather)), and the updating the construction schedule comprises: determining a target task to be brought forward among the tasks in the second phase based on the first progress status data and the weather information; and bringing the target task forward ([0027] intelligent workflow generation and metrics related to the workflow and onstruction projects based on updatable parameters (e.g., tasks, sub-tasks, weather; [0033] constraints can be added on the construction project which can affect the schedule of tasks. For instance, if a project must be completed more promptly or in a smaller time frame, the sequenced schedule of tasks can be updated. The completion metric can be updated for the new sequenced schedule of tasks. In other examples, if a delay or impossibility to complete
a particular task, due to (e.g., weather, zoning changes, permitting issues), the algorithm can update the completion metric).
As per Claim 7, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches wherein the two or more phases further include a third phase scheduled to begin after the second phase begins ([0090] At block 235 a completion phase can be implemented. Once the final task is completed, then the completion phase can start to close out the smart contract [a third phase scheduled to begin after the second phase begins]), the third phase comprises two or more tasks including a third on-site task performed at the construction site ([0117] a tile installation error detection algorithm and "on-site" material counting algorithm can be included to obtain information about errors in tile installation and available materials on-site for planning purposes) and a third pre-task scheduled to begin before the third on-site task begins ([0042] Designs can be provided by an architect, which can include for example, the size, types of materials, start of construction, end of construction date, or structural aspects of the design. The algorithm can provide an estimate of the cost of the design to the firm. In some examples, Revit can be used by architects to generate a 3D model. Cost related information for cach 3D component in a model, and other algorithms can be used to generate a cost estimate for the 3D construction model), and the method further comprises: receiving, by the computer, second progress status data including progress status of at least one of the tasks in the second phase ([0089] The client can follow along and see how tasks are progressing on a regular basis; [0090] Once the final task is completed, then the completion phase can start to close out the smart contract by allowing for final verification by the client and final payment to the contractor); and updating, by the computer, the construction schedule based on at least one of the first progress status data or the second progress status data to bring the third phase forward ([0089] the "cost to complete" algorithm can continually or periodically adjust the schedule or completion cost based on information obtained; [0090] Once the final task is completed, then the completion phase can start to close out the smart contract by allowing for final verification by the client and final payment to the contractor).
As per Claim 8, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches wherein the two or more phases further include one or more phases scheduled to begin after the first phase begins and before the second phase begins ([0079] At block 220, a bidding stage can occur. A smart contract can contain all of the request work blocks from block 215 above to be done. A contractor can provide a bid price to the client electronically based on the work block; [0081] At block 225, scheduling can occur. Once the bid is accepted by the client through the smart contract structure, then the scheduling of the work can begin through or displayed on an application [one or more phases scheduled to begin after the first phase begins and before the second phase begins]).
As per Claim 9, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches wherein the first on-site task is scheduled to begin after the first pre-task ends in the construction schedule, and the second on-site task is scheduled to begin after the second pre-task ends in the construction schedule ([0012] determining, by the one or more processors, from possible tasks, a scheduled sequence of tasks to complete the construction activity; Fig 2D [a first on-site task performed at a construction site]; [0042] Designs can be provided by an architect, which
can include for example, the size, types of materials, start of construction, end of construction date, or structural aspects of the design. The algorithm can provide an estimate of the cost of the design to the firm. In some examples, Revit can be used by architects to generate a 3D model. Cost related information for each 3D component in a model, and other algorithms can be used to generate a cost estimate for the 3D construction model; [0078] The concept of the project can be laid out as it can form the basis of the work and price. The client will be able to select "Work Blocs" that represent their ask for the project. The Work Blocs will be loaded into a smart contract structure to set up for the bid process. In some examples, a Work Bloc can be a discrete construction task which can be described in human interpretable language, such as "add bathroom," "install generator," "finish flooring," "install bathtub," "replace vanity." FIG. 2B illustrates some example Work Blocs as they may appear on a user device).
As per Claim 10, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches wherein the second pre-task comprises at least one of: finalizing a timeline of the second on-site task ([0120] summary information related to current and anticipated timelines for a construction project; [0152] FIG. 6 illustrates graph 605, which reflects various tasks at various timelines); arranging a worker for the second on-site task ([0137] Tasks are also assigned to individuals; [0036] a worker assigned to the task; Fig 2D [Brad]); requesting an additional worker for the second on-site task ([0036] a worker assigned to the task; Fig 2D [Brad, Ishmael]); waiting until a weather condition permits the second on-site task to be performed ([0033] constraints can be added on the construction project which can affect the schedule of tasks In other examples, if a delay to complete a particular task, due to (e.g., weather)); or waiting until materials used in the second on-site task is delivered at the construction site ([0033] if a delay or impossibility to complete a particular task, due to material).
As per Claim 11, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches storing, by the computer, recipient information associated with the second phase; and upon bringing the second phase forward, selectively transmitting, by the computer, a notification to the recipient ([0079] At block 220, a bidding stage can occur. A smart contract can contain all of the request work blocks from block 215 above to be done. A contractor can provide a bid price to the client electronically based on the work block).
As per Claim 12, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches storing, by the computer, worker information about availability of workers assigned to each of the tasks in the second phase ([0148] The environment for the algorithm is defined by the tasks available for a project and the workers available; [0116] Database 405 can contain information related to workers), wherein the updating the construction schedule comprises: determining a target task to be brought forward among the tasks in the second phase based on the first progress status data ([0089] Once the project is scheduled, a build phase can start. The "Cost to Complete" or other metrics for the project can be continuously updated as tasks are completed and verified FIG. 2C can be displayed on a user device to indicate current tasks which can be determined according to aspects of
the technology described herein.); and bringing the target task forward to a time slot where the worker assigned to the target task is available ([0148] The environment for the algorithm is defined by the tasks available for a project and the workers
available; [0092] each task for a given project can have a specific amount of UOMs that need to be completed, the allowed hours to complete the UOMs and an assigned worker or crew; Fig 2D).
As per Claim 13, Cami teaches a method as provided in claim 1 above. Cami further teaches wherein storing, by the computer, worker information about availability of workers assigned to each of the tasks in the second phase ([0148] The environment for the algorithm is defined by the tasks available for a project and the workers available), wherein the updating the construction schedule comprises: determining a target task to be brought forward among the tasks in the second phase based on the first progress status data ([0089] Once the project is scheduled, a build phase can start. The "Cost to Complete" or other metrics for the project can be continuously updated as tasks are completed and verified FIG. 2C can be displayed on a user device to indicate current tasks which can be determined according to aspects of the technology described herein.); bringing the target task forward to a new time slot; and in case where the worker assigned to the target task is not available at the new time slot, assigning another worker to the target task ([0033] The completion metric can be updated for the new sequenced schedule of tasks; [0137] In this environment tasks can be rescheduled and/or reassigned; Fig 6 #610); and in case where the worker assigned to the target task is not available at the new time slot, assigning another worker to the target task ([0089] Additionally, the technology disclosed herein can learn to schedule
tasks and have suggestions ready if tasks are blocked or delayed to keep available resources being utilized towards completing the project; [0137] In this environment tasks can be rescheduled and/or reassigned; [0150] The starting state of the agent is when a task is put on hold or delayed. The actions that the algorithm can take are to move up another task in schedule, move resources to other tasks within the project).
Claims 14-24 recites substantially similar limitations as claims 1-7, 10-13, respectively; therefore, claims 14-24 are rejected with the same reasoning and rationale as recited above for claims 1-7, 10-13, respectively.
As per claim 14, Cami further teaches a controller configured to execute operations (para. 0009 and 0054-0057).
Conclusion
Additional relevant art not relied upon includes:
Kumar (US 20230153716 A1), regarding “Techniques to generate a digitally optimized schedule for a construction activity to meet a construction objective(s) of a construction project are disclosed. An artificial intelligence system receives a plurality of input data sets that impact the construction project. Each of the plurality of input data sets is processed to achieve the construction objective(s). The artificial intelligence system processes the plurality of input data sets using a respective ensemble of machine learning models. The artificial intelligence system generates machine learning validated intermediate output data sets corresponding to each of the plurality of input data sets. The artificial intelligence system implements a supervisory machine learning model to generate an optimized schedule for the construction activity based on the machine learning validated intermediate output data sets and the construction objective(s).”
Sugg (US 20220215314 A1), regarding “The present disclosure is directed to management of the supply chain in the construction field, and includes generating a workflow comprising a plurality of ordered tasks relating to a construction project, wherein each task of the plurality of ordered tasks is associated with a provider of a plurality of providers and is further associated with one or more status identifiers indicating a status of each task; receiving a real-time status update related to a given task of the plurality of ordered tasks, the given task associated with a given provider of the plurality of providers, wherein the real-time status update is associated with status information input by the given provider via a provider interface of a provider platform; updating a status identifier associated with the given task based on the received real-time status update; and generating an updated workflow for display on provider devices associated with the plurality of providers.”
Mizikovsky (US 20220164741 A1), regarding “The present invention relates to an automated building construction project management system. The system includes a data receiver for receiving project data relating to a project. A processor processes the received project data. The system also includes an action generator for automatically generating actions based upon the processed data. Advantageously, the processor may include a multitude of processing modules relating to various aspects of the project, thereby enabling the system to provide automatically generated actions that represent a clear overall picture of the project. The system of the preferred embodiment provides for a reduction in management of up to 95% and a reduction in office staff of up to 75% when administering building construction projects. Furthermore, the inherent errors associated with project management are substantially reduced.”
Wang et al (K. Wang, Z. Zhang, R. Deng and Y. Mao, "Automated Construction Progress Monitoring and Controlling Framework Based on Computer Vision and Internet of Things System," 2023 6th International Conference on Electronics Technology (ICET), Chengdu, China, 2023, pp. 1045-1051, doi: 10.1109/ICET58434.2023.10211573.)
Sincerely,
/MEHMET YESILDAG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624