DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/17/2025 and 7/2/2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-8 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6, “the device for displaying the image” should read “the display device” based on the term established in claim 1. Further, it appears the claim should have a comma after “transmitter”.
Regarding claim 7, “a sample to be analyzed”, in line 5, should read “the sample to be studied” based on the term established in claim 1 and later used in claim 7 line 10.
Regarding claim 7, “the at least one lens” in lines 6 and 9 should read “the at least one shaping lens” based on the term established in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, “The method according to claim 10, claim 1, wherein” should read “The method according to claim 10, wherein” as it appears “claim 1” was included as a typographical error and the claim clearly depends from claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113624745 A by Wang et al. (cited in IDS; hereiafter "Wang"; translation provided) in view of US 20050024638 A1 by Lacour et al. (hereinafter "Lacour") and US20190061063A1 by Kuki et al. (cited in IDS; hereinafter "Kuki").
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a system for elemental analysis (Abstract laser-induced breakdown spectroscopy) of a sample to be studied ([0029] sample 5), the system comprising (at least Fig. 1):
an analysis device comprising a frame on which are mounted (a support structure for the device in Fig. 1 is implicit):
a laser source for generating a laser beam ([0029] laser 1 emits beam; [0035]) ,
a focusing optical element, which focusses the laser beam on the sample to be studied ([0029] focus lens 4);
a capturing device configured to capture characteristics of the laser beam emitted by the laser source ([0029] beam quality analyzer 3 and beam splitting lens 2), interposed between the laser source and the focusing optical element (see Fig. 1), the capturing device comprising:
a beam splitter which deflects the laser beam and is capable of adopting a deflection position in which the beam splitter generates a deflected laser beam ([0035] beam splitting lens 2, [0037] beam splitter divides light from laser into two beams, one directed at sample and another deflected towards beam quality analyzer, thus in a deflection position);
a photosensitive cell to acquire an image of the deflected laser beam ([0035] beam quality analyzer 3 to obtain a laser spot image);
a transmitter transmitting the image acquired by the photosensitive cell to a computer ([0014] transmit the spot image and spectrum to the computer).
Even arguendo, Wang does not explicitly teach an analysis device comprising a frame on which are the elements are mounted it has been held that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) See MPEP 2144.04 V. It would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to use a frame to support the components of the device thus avoiding damage and allowing the device to be easily transported.
Wang does not explicitly teach a laser shaping element to shape the laser beam , which comprises at least one shaping lens and a diaphragm which selects a portion of the laser beam emitted by the laser source, the capturing device interposed between the laser shaping element and the focusing optical element, a mirror which deflects the laser beam and is capable of adopting a deflection position in which the mirror generates a deflected laser beam.
However, Lacour does address this limitation. Lacour and Wang are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of laser breakdown spectroscopy.
Lacour teaches a laser shaping element (lens 10 and diaphragm 8) to shape the laser beam ([0038]), which comprises at least one shaping lens (lens 10; [0105]) and a diaphragm which selects a portion of the laser beam emitted by the laser source ([0100] diaphragm 8 capable of selecting the central part of this beam). Lacour further teaches the use of a mirror to deflect the beam ([0103] mirror 26).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a shaping lens and diaphragm in a laser breakdown spectroscopy device and to use a mirror as a beam splitter device. Further, the recitation " is capable of adopting a deflection position in which the mirror generates a deflected laser beam" is a functional recitation that does not differentiate the claimed system from the prior art. See MPEP 2114 Sec. II. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include a laser shaping element to shape the laser beam , which comprises at least one shaping lens and a diaphragm which selects a portion of the laser beam emitted by the laser source, the capturing device interposed between the laser shaping element and the focusing optical element, a mirror which deflects the laser beam and is capable of adopting a deflection position in which the mirror generates a deflected laser beam as suggested by Lacour in order to efficiently control the laser beam for laser breakdown spectroscopy.
Wang does not explicitly teach optics, which linearly magnify the deflected laser beam, and are interposed between the deflection mirror and the photosensitive cell.
However, Kuki does address this limitation. Kuki and Wang are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of laser beam analysis.
Kuki teaches optics, which linearly magnify the deflected laser beam, and are interposed between the deflection mirror and the photosensitive cell (Fig. 4; laser beam 202 from mirror 25 and prism 72; [0039] magnifying optical system 73 transmits a laser beam having an increased spot diameter to the image capturing section 77 that captures an image of the spot of the laser beam).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to magnify the beam for analysis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include optics, which linearly magnify the deflected laser beam, and are interposed between the deflection mirror and the photosensitive cell as suggested by Kuki in order to accurately measure the shape of the spot of the laser beam by increasing its spot diameter ([0039]; [0041]).
Wang does not explicitly teach the transmitter transmitting the image acquired by the photosensitive cell to a display device.
However, Lacour does address this limitation.
Lacour teaches the transmitter transmitting the image acquired by the photosensitive cell to a display device ([0114] CCD camera 32 associated with a display screen 34).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a display to view images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include the transmitter transmitting the image acquired by the photosensitive cell to a display device as suggested by Lacour in order to visually check the laser beam thus reducing error ([0114]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang modified by Lacour and Kuki teaches the system according to claim 1, but Wang is silent as to wherein the optics for linearly magnifying the deflected laser beam comprise: a first magnifying lens having a first focal length f1, and a second magnifying lens having a second focal length f2, the first focal length f1 and the second focal length f2 being selected so that the ratio f2/f1 is greater than or equal to 2.
However, Kuki does address this limitation.
Kuki teaches optics for linearly magnifying the deflected laser beam comprises a plurality of convex and concave lenses ([0039]). Further, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A.
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to at least two magnifying lens to increase the spot diameter of the beam for imaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include wherein the optics for linearly magnifying the deflected laser beam comprise: a first magnifying lens having a first focal length f1, and a second magnifying lens having a second focal length f2, the first focal length f1 and the second focal length f2 being selected so that the ratio f2/f1 is greater than or equal to 2 as suggested by Kuki in order to accurately measure the shape of the spot of the laser beam by increasing its spot diameter ([0039]; [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang modified by Lacour and Kuki teaches the system according to claim 1, and although Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the device for displaying the image acquired by the photosensitive cell, connected to the transmitter, is integrated into the system, it has been held that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) See MPEP 2144.04 V. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include wherein the device for displaying the image acquired by the photosensitive cell, connected to the transmitter is integrated into the system in order to make the device more compact and easier to use.
Regarding claim 7, Wang modified by Lacour and Kuki teaches the system according to claim 1, and Wang further teaches wherein the focusing optical element is configured to focus the image on the sample to be studied so as to produce a plasma on a surface of the sample ([0035] generates plasma 6), and
the system also comprises an optical collector configured to collect an optical emission of the plasma ([0035] light collecting device 7) and a computer unit configured to analyze a spectrum of the optical emission and to define an elemental composition of the sample to be studied onto which the laser beam is projected ([0035] computer 10; [005] LIBS for elemental analysis).
Wang does not explicitly teach the diaphragm is configured to select a portion of the laser beam emitted by the laser source, and to delimit a shape of an impact of the laser beam on a sample to be analyzed, the at least one lens is configured to infinitely project the image of the laser beam at an output of the diaphragm, the focusing optical element is configured to receive the image of the diaphragm infinitely projected by the at least one lens.
However, Lacour does address this limitation.
Lacour teaches wherein the diaphragm is configured to select a portion of the laser beam emitted by the laser source, and to delimit a shape of an impact of the laser beam on a sample to be analyzed ([0038] a diaphragm usable for selecting part of the laser beam emitted by the source, and possibly delimiting the shape of the impact of the laser beam on an object to be analysed), the at least one lens is configured to infinitely project the image of the laser beam at an output of the diaphragm ([0038] first optical means capable of projecting the image of the diaphragm to infinity), the focusing optical element is configured to receive the image of the diaphragm infinitely projected by the at least one lens and focus the image on the sample to be studied so as to produce a plasma on a surface of the sample ([0038] second optical means designed to receive the image of the diaphragm projected to infinity by the first optical means and focusing it on the object to be analysed to produce plasma on the surface of this object) and the system also comprises an optical collector configured to collect an optical emission of the plasma ([0123] optical emission of the plasma 28 is collected by the optical fibre 14) and a computer unit configured to analyze a spectrum of the optical emission and to define an elemental composition of the sample to be studied onto which the laser beam is projected ([0038] means of analysing a light radiation spectrum emitted by the plasma, means of determining the elementary composition of the object starting from this spectrum analysis).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a diaphragm and lens to generate plasma for laser breakdown spectroscopy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include wherein the diaphragm is configured to select a portion of the laser beam emitted by the laser source, and to delimit a shape of an impact of the laser beam on a sample to be analyzed, the at least one lens is configured to infinitely project the image of the laser beam at an output of the diaphragm, the focusing optical element is configured to receive the image of the diaphragm infinitely projected by the at least one lens as suggested by Lacour to efficiently perform laser breakdown spectroscopy.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lacour and Kuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20190265100 A1 by Wagenblast et al. (hereafter "Wagenblast").
Regarding claim 3, Wang modified by Lacour and Kuki teaches the system according to claim 1, but Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the capturing device is removably mounted on the frame.
However, Wagenblast does address this limitation. Wagenblast and Wang are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of laser beam analysis.
Wagenblast teaches wherein a capturing device is removably mounted on the frame ([0013] the retroreflector may be mounted on a moveable device, which is moved into the processing field in order to carry out the determination of the beam profile, and which is removed from the processing field again in order to carry out the irradiation of powder layers for producing the three-dimensional component).
Further, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 1. It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the capturing device removable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include wherein the capturing device is removably mounted on the frame as suggested by Wagenblast in order to efficiently direct the beam to the sample for analysis.
Claim 4, 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lacour and Kuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20140118724 A1 by Berthe et al. (hereinafter "Berthe").
Regarding claim 4, Wang modified by Lacour and Kuki teaches the system according to claim 1, but Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the capturing device comprises a plurality of reflecting mirrors interposed between the deflection mirror and the photosensitive cell, to enlarge the deflected beam by redirecting the deflected beam according to several directions up to the photosensitive cell.
However, Berthe does address this limitation. Berthe and Wang are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of laser beam analysis.
Berthe teaches wherein the capturing device comprises a plurality of reflecting mirrors interposed between the deflection mirror and the photosensitive cell, to enlarge the deflected beam by redirecting the deflected beam according to several directions up to the photosensitive cell (see Fig 2; [0024] prims 42, 43 enlarge laser beam deflected by prism 41 directed at CCD sensor 6).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of reflecting mirrors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include wherein the capturing device comprises a plurality of reflecting mirrors interposed between the deflection mirror and the photosensitive cell, to enlarge the deflected beam by redirecting the deflected beam according to several directions up to the photosensitive cell as suggested by Berthe in order to improve the analysis of a laser beam with a small diameter ([0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang modified by Lacour and Kuki teaches the system according to claim 1, and Wang further teaches wherein the system further comprises a computer unit coupled to the photosensitive cell ([0035] computer 10).
Wang does not explicitly teach the computer unit being configured to control actuators dedicated to the adjustment of the laser beam.
However, Berthe does address this limitation. Berthe and Wang are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of laser beam analysis.
Berthe teaches the computer unit being configured to control actuators dedicated to the adjustment of the laser beam ([0059]-[0060] the positions of the shaping lens 3 and of the imaging lens 5, and that of the sensor 6, are motorized and automatically controlled to obtain, on the sensor, the best possible image 11 of the beam to be analyzed; electronic unit 101 controls motorization).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the laser beam by changing the position of optical elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include the computer unit being configured to control actuators dedicated to the adjustment of the laser beam as suggested by Berthe in order to make the best possible image of the beam to be analyzed ([0059]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang modified by Lacour and Kuki teaches the system according to claim 1, and Wang further teaches an adjustment method for adjusting an analysis device of an analysis system according to claim 1 wherein the method comprises: positioning the deflection mirror in the deflection position ([012]; see claim 1)
generating the laser beam by the laser source ([012]); capturing the image of the deflected beam by the photosensitive cell ([013] laser spot image is captured by the beam quality analyzer);
analyzing the image captured by the photosensitive cell ([050]; [058] light spots are analyzed).
Wang does not explicitly teach analyzing the image captured by the photosensitive cell to detect a profile defect of the laser beam in relation to a theoretical profile; in response to the profile defect being detected, correcting an orientation of the laser source and/or of the at least one shaping lens or of the diaphragm, and repeating the capturing, analyzing and correcting until no profile defect is detected in relation to the theoretical profile.
However, Berthe does address this limitation. Berthe and Wang are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of laser beam analysis.
Berthe teaches analyzing the image captured by the photosensitive cell to detect a profile defect of the laser beam in relation to a theoretical profile ([0069] step C the intensity or energy distributions inter alia are compared to a preset threshold, which is considered a theoretical profile; [0071] if the beam is not collimated, that is a profile defect);
in response to the profile defect being detected, correcting an orientation of the laser source and/or of the at least one shaping lens or of the diaphragm ([0070] adjusting position of lens 2 if threshold is not reached), and
repeating the capturing, analyzing and correcting until no profile defect is detected in relation to the theoretical profile ([0070] steps are repeated until beam is collimated).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include detecting and correcting the beam profile. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include analyzing the image captured by the photosensitive cell to detect a profile defect of the laser beam in relation to a theoretical profile; in response to the profile defect being detected, correcting an orientation of the laser source and/or of the at least one shaping lens or of the diaphragm, and repeating the capturing, analyzing and correcting until no profile defect is detected in relation to the theoretical profile as suggested by Berthe in order to reduce measurement error.
Regarding claim 12, Wang modified by Lacour, Kuki, and Berthe teaches the adjustment method according to claim 10, but Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises a servo-controlling actuators dedicated to the adjustment of the laser beam.
However, Berthe does address this limitation.
Berthe teaches wherein the method further comprises a servo-controlling actuators dedicated to the adjustment of the laser beam ([0059]-[0060] the positions of the shaping lens 3 and of the imaging lens 5, and that of the sensor 6, are motorized and automatically controlled to obtain, on the sensor, the best possible image 11 of the beam to be analyzed; electronic unit 101 controls motorization).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the laser beam by changing the position of optical elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include wherein the method further comprises a servo-controlling actuators dedicated to the adjustment of the laser beam as suggested by Berthe in order to make the best possible image of the beam to be analyzed ([0059]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lacour and Kuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Femtosecond pulse shaping using a liquid–crystal display: Applications to depth profiling analysis by Samek et al. (hereinafter "Samek").
Regarding claim 5, Wang modified by Lacour and Kuki teaches the system according to claim 1, but Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the capturing device also comprises an optical filter interposed between the photosensitive cell and the deflection mirror, to filter waves of the deflected laser beam according to a wave range acceptable by the photosensitive cell.
However, Samek does address this limitation. Wang and Samek are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of beam profile analysis.
Samek teaches wherein the capturing device also comprises an optical filter interposed between the photosensitive cell and the deflection mirror, to filter waves of the deflected laser beam according to a wave range acceptable by the photosensitive cell (Fig. 1 filter F in front of CCD, light deflected from beam splitter B).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a filter in front of a CCD. Further, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the device from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 Sec. II “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990”). See MPEP 2114 Sec. II. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include wherein the capturing device also comprises an optical filter interposed between the photosensitive cell and the deflection mirror, to filter waves of the deflected laser beam according to a wave range acceptable by the photosensitive cell as suggested by Samek in order to obtain accurate results from the CCD camera.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lacour, Kuki, and Berthe as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 5959725 A by Ghosh.
Regarding claim 11, Wang modified by Lacour, Kuki, and Berthe teaches the adjustment method according to claim 10, but Wang does not explicitly teach wherein analyzing the image also comprises checking homogeneity of an intensity of the laser beam, and-wherein the correcting is carried out when an inhomogeneity of the intensity of the laser beam is noticed.
However, Ghosh does address this limitation. Ghosh and Wang are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of beam profile analysis.
Ghosh teaches wherein analyzing the image also comprises checking homogeneity of an intensity of the laser beam, and-wherein the correcting is carried out when an inhomogeneity of the intensity of the laser beam is noticed (col 2 lines 45-50 measuring the intensity of a large area energy beam, and for adjusting the beam profile to provide a more uniform distribution; col 6 lines 39-48 computer adjusts positions of laser to achieve more uniform distribution).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor homogeneity of an intensity of the laser beam to keep the beam uniform. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wang to include wherein analyzing the image also comprises checking homogeneity of an intensity of the laser beam, and-wherein the correcting is carried out when an inhomogeneity of the intensity of the laser beam is noticed as suggested by Ghosh in order to reduce measurement error.
Conclusion
/KAITLYN E KIDWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877