DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Step 1: The claims are directed to a method and device which falls within one of the statutory categories of invention. Step 2A, Prong One: Independent claim(s), recite(s) obtaining and determining. The claims and background of the application do not put any limits on the plain meanings of obtaining and determining. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the steps is that those steps fall with the mental process grouping of abstract ideas because they cover concepts performed in the human mind, selection by a human and/or can be presented using a piece of paper, including obtaining and determining. Step 2A, Prong Two: The claims recite a motion sensor, memory, processor. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claims. Again, the processor and memory perform their generic functions and are recited at a high level of generality and the motion sensor is used in its standard manner of just obtaining data. With these limitations, the processor and memory are used as a tool to perform the generic function of processing and storing data. Therefore, in these limitations the processor and memory are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step, 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic processor and memory. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practice application, and the claim is directed to the judicial exception. Step 2B: As explained in the Step 2A, Prong Two, these are two additional elements. The additional elements of a “processor” and “memory” in the limitations are at best mere instructions to “apply” the abstract ideas, which cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements were both found to be insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, Prong Two, because they were determined to be insignificant limitations as necessary data processing or storing. As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the recitations of “a processor and memory” are recited at a high level of generality. These elements amount to processing information and storing information and are well-understood, routine and conventional activity. Therefore, even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception with a processor and memory and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. Further, these claims do not make an improvement in the function of the structural elements. These elements are merely used as a tool to perform the recited abstract idea. So, these claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 35, 37-41 & 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McCloskey et al. (U.S. Publication Number 2018/0349560).
Referring to claim 1, McCloskey et al. discloses obtaining motion data from at least one motion sensor in a hearing-device configured to be worn at a head of a user (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5); and determining, based at least in part on the motion data, whether the user is meeting one or more predetermined speech-language milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 2, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein the motion data is data indicative of attentional focus of the user (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 3, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein the motion data is one or more of electrooculography (EOG) sensor data, electromyography (EMG) sensor data, and/or inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor data for tracking eye, mouth, head and/or body movements of the user (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 4, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein the user is a
pediatric user and the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones include one or more pediatric speech-language developmental milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 5, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein determining whether the user is meeting the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones comprises:
comparing the motion data to age-specific normative values for respective pediatric
speech-language developmental milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5); and determining whether the motion data is consistent with the age-specific normative values in connection with at least one of the pediatric speech-language developmental milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 6, McCloskey et al. discloses further comprising outputting an indication that the pediatric user is on-track when the motion data is consistent with the age-specific normative values in connection with one of the pediatric speech-language developmental milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 7, McCloskey et al. discloses further comprising outputting an indication that the pediatric user is delayed or at risk of developmental delay when the motion data is inconsistent with the age-specific normative values in connection with one of the pediatric speech-language developmental milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 8, McCloskey et al. discloses further comprising: obtaining acoustic data from at least one acoustic detector in the hearing device (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5); and determining, based on the motion data in further combination with the acoustic data, whether the user is meeting the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 9, McCloskey et al. discloses further comprising: performing an own voice detection (OVD) process on the acoustic data to distinguish vocal input of the user from vocal input of others and/or background noise in a surrounding environment of the user, and generate OVD information based on the vocal input of the user (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5); and determining whether the user is meeting the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones based on the OVD information associated with the vocal input of the user (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 10, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein determining whether the user is meeting the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones comprises calculating one or more speech-language patterns for assessing speech-language development of the user based on the OVD information associated with the vocal input of the user (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 11, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein the acoustic data further includes non-OVD linguistic input captured via a microphone included in the-hearing device (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 12, McCloskey et al. discloses further comprising receiving user information associated with the user, wherein the user information includes one or more of an age of the user and an indication of a developmental delay associated
with the user (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5); and determining whether the user is meeting the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones based on the user information (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 13, McCloskey et al. discloses further comprising logging whether the user is meeting the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones in a log
with the motion data (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 35, McCloskey et al. discloses comprising: a network adapter for communication with a user device associated with a user, where the user device includes one or more motion sensors and one or more acoustic detectors (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5); memory (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5); and one or more processors (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5), wherein the one or more processors are configured to: obtain motion data associated with the user from the one or more motion sensors (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5), obtain acoustic data from the one or more acoustic detectors (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5), determine whether the user of the user device is meeting one or more predetermined speech-language milestones based on at least one of the motion data or the acoustic data (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5), and one or more output devices configured to provide an indication of whether the user of the user device is meeting the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 37, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein the one or more
predetermined speech-language milestones include one or more pediatric speech-language developmental milestones, and wherein, in determining whether the user is meeting the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones, the one or more processors are configured to: compare the motion data or the acoustic data or [[the]] a combination thereof to age-specific normative values for respective pediatric speech-language developmental milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5);
and determine whether the motion data or the acoustic data or a combination thereof is
consistent with the age-specific normative values in connection with at least one of the pediatric speech-language developmental milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 38, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to output an indication that the user is on-track when the motion data or the acoustic data or the combination thereof is consistent with the age-specific normative values in connection with one of the pediatric speech-language developmental milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 39, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to output an indication that the user is delayed or at risk of developmental delay when the motion data or the acoustic data or the combination thereof is inconsistent with the age-specific normative values in connection with one of the pediatric speech-language developmental milestones (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 40, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein the one or more
predetermined speech-language milestones are associated with cognitive decline, and wherein, in determining whether the user is reaching the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones, the one or more processors are further configured to: compare the acoustic data to user-specific baseline values and/or historical values
associated with respective speech-language patterns for assessing speech-language abilities of the user (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5); and identify that the user is experiencing cognitive decline over time when a result of the comparing indicates a change of at least a threshold value from the user-specific baseline values
and/or historical values in connection with one of the speech-language patterns (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 41, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein the one or more
predetermined speech-language milestones are associated with speech production decline, and wherein, in determining whether the user is reaching the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones, the one or more processors are further configured to: compare the acoustic data to user-specific baseline values and/or historical values associated with amplitude, phonological errors, rate of speech, or combinations thereof (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5); and identify that the user is experiencing speech production decline over time when a result of the comparing indicates decreasing amplitude, increasing phonological errors, decreasing rate of speech, or combinations thereof (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Referring to claim 44, McCloskey et al. discloses wherein the one or more processors
are further configured to: log whether the user is reaching the one or more predetermined speech-language milestones in a log with the motion data or the acoustic data or a combination thereof (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5); and
predict a future speech-language milestone for the user based on information stored in the log over time (paragraphs 0061-0138, Claims 1, 5 & Figure 5).
Conclusion
/KESHA FRISBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715