Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. The words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless the plain meaning is inconsistent with the specification. 2111.01 (I). See also In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ("'[C]laims are not to be read in a vacuum, and limitations therein are to be interpreted in light of the specification in giving them their ‘broadest reasonable interpretation.'"2111.01 (II).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are “circuitry configured to in claim 1.
Examiner suggests taking out “configured to” and replacing it with something like “circuitry moves the hull…” This change will make the claim stronger and will clarify the limitation. Examiner thanks the applicant for their cooperation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 -6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cierpka et al. [US20140165898, now Cierpka], with Guo Zhiyong et al. [CN106324687, now Guo] (using copy from IDS which is included herein), further with Bidaux [US20210348945, now Bidaux].
Claim 1
Cierpka discloses a submersible vessel [see at least Cierpka, abstract (“unmanned underwater vehicle”)] comprising:
a hull; a propulsion structure that applies thrust to the hull [see at least Cierpka, Abstract; Figs. 1-2; ¶ 0089 (“For moving forward, the underwater vehicle 2 comprises drives 5 and 5'“)];
a first magnetic sensor that is attached to the hull and performs three dimensional measurement of magnetic force; a second magnetic sensor that is attached to the hull so as to be different in position from the first magnetic sensor and performs the three dimensional measurement of the magnetic force [see at least Cierpka, Figs. 1-2; ¶ 0016 (“at least one magnetic sensor”); 0023 (“magnetic sensors”)]; and
control circuitry configured to move the hull along a pipeline, which is magnetized, while calculating a sectional center position of the pipeline, wherein:
the control circuitry calculates a second direction based on the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Y direction and the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Z direction which have been measured by the second magnetic sensor, the second direction being a direction in which the sectional center position of the pipeline is located when viewed from the second magnetic sensor; and the control circuitry calculates the sectional center position of the pipeline based on the first direction and the second direction [see at least Cierpka, ¶ 0079 (further on use of “plurality of magnetic sensors); 0105 (indicates identifying the pipeline under the sediment and follow the path); 0107-111 (discusses navigation and direction control)].
Cierpka does not specifically disclose but Guo teaches when the hull is propelled in an X direction, a direction intersecting with the X direction is defined as a Y direction, and a direction intersecting with the X direction and the Y direction is defined as a Z direction [see at least Guo, ¶ 0007-0008 (discusses magnetic anomalies); 0012-0015 (discusses axis magnetic field sensors and field monitoring); 0022-0028 (discusses in more detail the monitoring and use of magnetic sensors to calculate pipeline distribution)];
the control circuitry calculates a first direction based on the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Y direction and the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Z direction which have been measured by the first magnetic sensor, the first direction being a direction in which the sectional center position of the pipeline is located when viewed from the first magnetic sensor[see at least Guo, ¶ 0007-0008 (discusses magnetic anomalies); 0012-0015 (discusses axis magnetic field sensors and field monitoring); 0022-0028 (discusses in more detail the monitoring and use of magnetic sensors to calculate pipeline distribution)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the control of an unmanned underwater vehicle using magnetic sensors and magnetic field detection of Cierpka, with the more specific use of magnetic sensors of Guo. Providing a safer, more efficient and effective technology to monitor and find pipelines and cables in the bottom of lakes, oceans, etc.
Bidaux more specifically teaches calculating direction using multiple magnetic sensors based on magnitude of magnetic force [see at least Bidaux, abstract (shows determining a position of a sensor device relative to a magnetic structure which can include a submersible); 0125 (indicated determining/calculated a plurality of magnetic fields based on ratio, including magnitude of magnetic signal)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the control of an unmanned underwater vehicle using magnetic sensors and magnetic field detection of Cierpka, with the more specific use of magnetic sensors of Guo, further with the more specific calculations using rations of Bidaux. Providing a safer, more efficient and effective technology to monitor and find pipelines and cables in the bottom of lakes, oceans, etc.
Claim 2
Cierpka, Guo and Bidaux disclose/teach the vessel of Claim 1.
Cierpka does not specifically teach but Guo teaches the control circuitry plots on a first coordinate plane, points each of which has coordinates that are the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Y direction and the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Z direction which have been measured by the first magnetic sensor while the hull moves; the control circuitry calculates the first direction based on an arrangement direction of the points plotted on the first coordinate plane; the control circuitry plots on a second coordinate plane, points each of which has coordinates that are the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Y direction and the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Z direction which have been measured by the second magnetic sensor while the hull moves; and the control circuitry calculates the second direction based on an arrangement direction of the points plotted on the second coordinate plane [see at least Guo, ¶ 0007-0008 (discusses magnetic anomalies); 0012-0015 (discusses axis magnetic field sensors and field monitoring); 0022-0028 (discusses in more detail the monitoring and use of magnetic sensors to calculate pipeline distribution)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the control of an unmanned underwater vehicle using magnetic sensors and magnetic field detection of Cierpka, with the more specific use of magnetic sensors of Guo. Providing a safer, more efficient and effective technology to monitor and find pipelines and cables in the bottom of lakes, oceans, etc.
Claim 3
Cierpka, Guo and Bidaux disclose/teach the vessel of Claim 1.
Neither Cierpka or Guo disclose/teach but Bidaux teaches the control circuitry calculates the first direction based on a ratio between the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Y direction and the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Z direction which have been measured by the first magnetic sensor; and the control circuitry calculates the second direction based on a ratio between the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Y direction and the magnitude of the magnetic force in the Z direction which have been measured by the second magnetic sensor [see at least Bidaux, abstract (shows determining a position of a sensor device relative to a magnetic structure which can include a submersible); 0125 (indicated determining/calculated a plurality of magnetic fields based on ratio, including magnitude of magnetic signal)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the control of an unmanned underwater vehicle using magnetic sensors and magnetic field detection of Cierpka, with the more specific use of magnetic sensors of Guo, further with the more specific calculations using rations of Bidaux. Providing a safer, more efficient and effective technology to monitor and find pipelines and cables in the bottom of lakes, oceans, etc.
Claim 4
Cierpka, Guo and Bidaux disclose/teach the vessel of Claim 1.
Cierpka does not specifically disclose but Guo teaches the X direction, the Y direction, and the Z direction are orthogonal to each other [see at least Guo, ¶ 0007-0008 (discusses magnetic anomalies); 0012-0015 (discusses axis magnetic field sensors and field monitoring); 0022-0028 (discusses in more detail the monitoring and use of magnetic sensors to calculate pipeline distribution)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the control of an unmanned underwater vehicle using magnetic sensors and magnetic field detection of Cierpka, with the more specific use of magnetic sensors of Guo. Providing a safer, more efficient and effective technology to monitor and find pipelines and cables in the bottom of lakes, oceans, etc.
Claim 5
Cierpka, Guo and Bidaux disclose/teach the vessel of Claim 1.
Cierpka further discloses the first magnetic sensor and the second magnetic sensor are located in front of the hull [see at least Cierpka, ¶ 0079 (“a plurality of magnetic sensors 38 as part of a magnetic field detection device 40 forming part of the multi-sensor system 8, are arranged on the sensor carriers 26 and 28 as well as on the pressure casing 4 of the underwater vehicle 2.”)].
Claim 6
Cierpka, Guo and Bidaux disclose/teach the vessel of Claim 1.
Cierpka further discloses in a plan view, the first magnetic sensor and the second magnetic sensor are respectively located at both sides across a center line extending through a left-right direction middle of the hull [see at least Cierpka, ¶ 0079].
As indicated in the ISR for the priority documents it is noted that since the inventions disclosed Cierpka and Guo pertain to the measurement of a pipeline, a person skilled in the art could easily have conceived of configuring the control device in the invention disclosed in Cierpka, as in the invention disclosed in Guo. In that event, it is a design matter that could be set, as appropriate, by a person skilled in the art to calculate the cross-sectional center position of the pipeline on the basis of the first direction and the second direction determined.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
S. Bhattacharyya and H. Asada, "Control of a compact, tetherless ROV for in-contact inspection of complex underwater structures," 2014 IEEE/RSJ International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems, Chicago, IL, USA, 2014, pp. 2265-2272.
Lebouteiller, Denis, and Yves Durand. "Automatic Pipeline Design Inspection System Using An Unmanned Submersible And ADP Surface Support Vessel." Paper presented at the Offshore Technology Conference, Houston, Texas, May 1980.
Cébron D, Viroulet S, Vidal J, Masson JP, Viroulet P. Experimental and theoretical study of magnetohydrodynamic ship models. PLoS One. 2017 Jun 30;12(6).
/JOAN T GOODBODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664
(571) 270-7952